reviews for: listing #19700 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Keauhou2/2Condo,Upscale,Low Traffic Area, Discounts
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Keauhou
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $91 - $106 /nt
    $635 - $745 /wk
    $1,850 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Restful Vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

It was a fabulous holiday. I enjoyed my hours spent on the deck overlooking the grounds. I enjoyed my many hours spent lounging by the pool. It was the perfect location for starting out on my road trips (frequent trips south to snorkel at Two-Step - next to Pu'uhonua o Honaunau).

Keauhou Shopping Centre (KTM) made stocking up on supplies easy (Tropical Dream Toasted Coconut Ice Cream), especially when I did not feel like venturing far. There is also a movie theatre (attended several times), desserts (crepes, ice cream), dining.

As a solo traveller I felt safe at the complex and the areas nearby. As a solo traveller I liked the option of cooking my own meals rather than being alone in restaurants. I enjoyed all my meals on the deck overlooking the garden/pool area. I often had some feathered friends to keep me company.

It was convienent to use the tour companies departing from Keauhou Harbour nearby (Early Riser Dophin Quest kayak/ Night Manta Ray kayak) short walk - limited parking.

Having the washer/dryer in the unit made travelling light alot easier. It was also nice having a full-size refrigerator and stove. There is a BBQ for use on the deck as well.

Dealing with Larry was so easy. He is very helpful and friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Condo was very nice, quite roomy and had everything we needed for our stay. The location was great and very quiet. My only complaint was the 2 bikes were a big draw for us but we weren't able to use them at all. The first day my husband pumped up the first tire and by the time he pumped up the second tire, the first was flat again. I told Larry that the bikes needed new tubes or patches on the second day of our two week stay but nothing was done.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Well,where to start.Firstly,I have to say that I tried to book this condo last year but Larry,the owner was waiting on a return visitor to reply and did not want to let him down.This impressed me,someone who put loyalty above profit and was prepared to forgo a rental in order to accommodate a regular guest.Anyway,we made sure we reserved early this year and even then Larry was prepoared to wait until I had my free flights with United.
The area is perfect,close enought to Kona and the stores but far enough away from the hustle and bustle,besides,there is a good grocery store plus other amenities such as a movie theatre,a drug store and restaurants close by.Although the apartment is above ground level,there are no stairs just a bridged walkway from the parking lot and it overlooks the pool and beautiful gardens which are carefully tended by the staff;the lanai is huge and quite private so it is just like an extra living room.The pool and hot tub area ( well used by us ) were never crowded,indeed there were times when we felt they were our own private preserve and the public areas were clean and quiet.The house itself is well furnished,clean and spacious and the kitchen has everything one needs to cook independently as we are not ones for eating out,there was plenty of crockery etc so the dishwasher did not need to be working constantly.Having our own laundry facilities was an added bonus and the beach equipment provided was very useful.
Working with Larry was so easy he answered all our questions and was courteous,friendly and helpful without being intrusive;I felt confident that had any problems arisen,he would have dealt with them immediately.We would certainly return to this property or even his 3-bed apartment and would have no hesitation in recommending either of them to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice Vacation Home on Big Island

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

My family had a very pleasant week at this Condo. It is clean and spacious, very elegantly furnitured. Its kitchen and main bath are both recently remodeled. Location wise, it is situated next to a beautiful golf course. Kahaluu beach (good for Snorkeling) and Keauhou Shopping Center are just 5 minutes away. Larry (the owner) greeted us in person on the first day we arrived. He provided all the beach toys for kids, beach chairs, boogie boards, and even two bikes for us to get around. We definitely would like to recommend it to friends and our kids are already asking for coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Vacation Home on Big Island

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

My family had a very pleasant week at this Condo. It is clean and spacious, very elegantly furnitured. Its kitchen and main bath are both recently remodeled. Location wise, it is situated next to a beautiful golf course. Kahaluu beach (good for Snorkeling) and Keauhou Shopping Center are just 5 minutes away.

Larry greeted us in person on the first day we arrived. He provided all the beach toys for kids, beach chairs, boogie boards, and even two bikes for us to get around. We definitely would like to recommend it to friends and our kids are already asking for coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay in Paradise

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

This is a wonderful home away from home. My wife and I have stayed here for the past two winters and are so looking forward to our return this year. It is a beautiful 2 bedroom condo with all of the amenities we need. The entire complex is beautifully maintained with garends all around. The pool is normally in the mid 80's and is sparkling clean. Larry is a wonderful landlord and more like a host for your visit than any where else we have stayed. He is only a phone call away if needed and is there to solve any problems if they should arise. Magic Sands Beach is a short ride away and other beaches a bit further that are spectacular. You can either bike (provided with the rental) or walk to the nearby shopping mall that also contains a medical centre if need be. We highly recommend this rental and do not mind answering any questions if sent through Larry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place!

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

This place was recommended to us by a friend and it did not disappoint. Great location, immaculate grounds, and a condominium with everything you need to have a great holiday. The owner (Larry) is great as well. We really enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

Wonderful and peaceful place to stay!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

We stayed in this lovely apartment for our first-ever trip to Hawaii. We really loved the condo. Here are some reasons why:

-it's nearly at the end of Ali'i Drive, which means it's very quiet. Lots of people were out on the street running in the mornings, especially nice because fewer cars are down at this end of the road.

-the condo entrance is on the ground floor, which meant that we could roll our son's stroller directly into it (!)

-when going onto the lanai, you see the condo is actually on the 2nd level, which meant that we felt safe leaving the sliding doors open.

-the lanai faces toward the pool, so we had a quick view as to how crowded it was. (But it was never very crowded.)

-the lanai faces north, so we never had direct sunlight & the condo stayed at a really comfortable temperature.

-we had everything we needed in the condo, and Larry met us at our arrival to go over things.

-Larry had lots of helpful tips & information, both before we arrived and when we were there. He stayed in contact throughout our stay, to make sure things were going well. (They were, no problems.) Very friendly and helpful!

-Although the condo isn't walking distance to a beach, several good ones are just a short drive away.

-It's a 20 minute walk to the Sheraton Resort, a great place to walk and have a drink at the seaside bar.

-It's a quick drive to the shopping center; Saturday mornings a great farmer's market was in the parking lot.

-The description and photos of the condo are accurate.

I'm sure there are other reasons why we loved this condo for our stay, but that's what I remember right now. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope lots of other people will book this condo, too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 24

 

Kona Heaven

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Wow...What a wonderful place to stay. A very short ride to all of the action,restaurants and bars.
Not to mention so close to Jack's Diving Locker who I also recommend for Diving.
Less than a mile down the road is the best Grocery Store for all of your needs!

The condo is very spacious and has a wonderful kitchen and a great deck with a BBQ Grill. We only went out for dinner a couple of times because the Condo in the evening was the best place to be.
Also, the pool is right outside for mor R&R.

The beds in this condo are all comfy and there are two separate bathrooms for privacy if you have two couples going.
We are returning again this year with my Mom and Sisiter and are looking forward to another great stay!
10 out of 10 stars
Kevin & Wendy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 23

 

Hawaii, Kona / Keauhou Big Island

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

This is a great property to rent. Clean, well maintained, overlooks the pool and is as pictured and presented accurately. We enjoy this property over the hotel scene because it is quiet, provides privacy and a place to relax after a full day of scuba diving, snorkeling or site seeing. No stairs, so you park your car in a designated space and walk into a one level condo. It is close to restaurants and several beach activities. We are renting it again July 2010. The owner (Larry) is great to work with and everything is there for your use, 100% turnkey ready. So all you need to bring is a swim suit, shorts, T shirts, flip flops and your personal products. Mahalo, Ron & Jan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 18

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

We stayed here in January 2009 and LOVED the condo and the location. Because the complex is near the end of the road, it's very quiet and there's little traffic -- this was important to us. We loved that the lanai looked directly on to the pool area, so we could see whether or not it was busy. Also, the lanai never got direct sunlight and stayed cool and shady all day, another "plus" for us. Larry, the owner, was very helpful with information before and during our stay. If/ when we return to the Kona Coast, we would DEFINITELY like to stay here again. We strongly recommend this condo!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 11

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

We took my folks in February 2009. Four of us stayed in this condo. It was great! Plenty of room for all of us. The great bonus was that Larry had so many extras in the kitchen cupboards like spices and oil. He also had some boogie boards and bikes available. We had a wonderful time. Nice,quiet location. It was great to have it on the 2nd floor but no stairs. Thankyou so much for a great tay. Paulette and Dave

Helpful votes: 4 / 12

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

We stayed at this newer 2br 2ba condo over the July 4th week in 2009 and it was perfect for the two of us. Lots of room. 100% turnkey ready, drop your bags, stock the frig and head for the ocean. 10 minutes to Kona and Jack's Dive Locker. Very clean, comfortable furniture, convenient location, easy drive to shops and restaurants. Nice swimming pool, quiet and relaxing environment. Great place to unwind and not be in the mix of the busy Kona area. This condo is not on the beach but is highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 4 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review