reviews for: listing #19720 - Wilmington, North Carolina Condo rental

Luxurious Retreat in Historic, Riverfront Wilm - DISCOUNTS!!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic District
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $139 - $195 /nt
    $760 - $920 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,490 /mth

sort by:

WOW!! Fantastic Getaway! Will be back again!!

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 17, 2009

My husband and I throughly enjoyed The Gallery during our five night stay! The Gallery is beautifully decorated and was spotless and I am a clean freak! It is located in the middle of where you want to be...everything is within walking distance yet the condo is very quiet (no noise) which made for very relaxing sleep (we slept in every morning because the bed is extremely comfortable and I don't sleep in. So, I checked to find out what kind of mattress and wrote it down :). My husband and I frequently visit Wilmington and we are so glad that we found The Gallery and now have a home away from home!! "Two thumbs up!" "Raise the Roof!" "Love it!" You will be hearing from us shortly to book our next visit! Regards, April

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Don't Stay Here...

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Now that I have your attention. The only reason I say don't stay here is so that it wall always be available for me to rent. The condo itself is awesome, very very clean and it's quite obvious the owners see this as a home and not just an income property. From the 100 year old hardwood floors to the nice artwork on the walls I can't say enough. The location is perfect. Plenty of places to to eat, the river is about a 90 second walk away. Beaches are a short drive away. The only thing I can say negative about the owners is that they failed to control the rain for the first 2 days we were there,but you can't have it all!

Owners response: So glad to hear that the three of you enjoyed yourselves Cedric! We really do try to make our guests' visits as enjoyable as possible. Hope you three can plan another visit soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely for our short visit

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 28, 2014

Location is great, and the gallery is very clean and comfortable. It's a little awkward to get to (parking across the street, two locked doors, long hallway), but once inside it's got everything a person would want for a short stay. The only thing we missed is easy access to fresh air/outside space on the property. However, it's right in the midst of Wilmington's historic district and lots to see and do just walking around. The owner was very easy to work with, and we would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A gem!

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

Beautiful, fun condo minutes from just about anything you want to do. The condo was clean and very well stocked. We would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring get away

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

We thought the place was nice, however the dishwasher was full of water and did not function, there was no hair dryer which was listed, the bedroom clock did not work and many of the light bulbs were burned out. We spent 1/2 of a morning getting light bulbs replaced - they did have replacement bulbs available. Also, the dryer in the building did not work so after we washed clothes we had to hang clothes all over the place to dry. We did not check for dryer function prior to washing. Location is nice for downtown activity and you can walk to many locales. It was clean and had all the other things we needed. We did have to wash the dishes prior to using since they were dusty and sort of gross. The bed was comfy and lots of movies available. Probably would not stay there again.

Owners response: Thank you for your review although it is not completely accurate. I cannot remember if you emailed me or called me about the dishwasher and hair dryer, but I do remember responding stating that the hairdryer could be found in the dresser or under the sink and that the dishwasher breaker may have tripped. I don't remember you mentioning anything about light bulbs... I do apologize and we do keep extras on hand and it sounds like you found them. We did stay the weekend after you checked out so that we could replace the hairdryer and check on the dishwasher and found the hairdryer in the dresser and that the breaker to the dishwasher was tripped and also that the clock was blinking indicating a power outage (I easily reset the clock within seconds and it is working fine). As far as the clothes dryer, you did not mention this and I wish you would have because there is another washer and dryer on the other floor. Again, I am sorry for any inconvenience. We do correct any problems/issues as soon as possible. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic. A jewel in the city.

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Loved, loved, loved this condo. Everything was as advertised, actually a little better then advertised. The location can't be beat. Right in the middle of all the action, but secluded and quiet. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise. I'm a light sleeper and I was a little worried about noise levels, but it was a non-issue. We enjoyed dinner at the Shucking Shack across the street. The fried oysters were fantastic. The service wonderful. Matter of fact we went back for drinks the next night. Loved the selection of movies, great tv and very comfortable couch. Everything was very clean. Coffee was even provided, though we went to the Dixie Grill (not to be missed) each morning for breakfast and didn't need to make coffee. Don't be put off by the line at Dixie Grill, they move people in and out quickly and we never waited longer then 15 minutes. Again, loved the place. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The Gallery Rocks!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

From the moment you enter until the time you leave, The Gallery aims to please. The owners have paid close attention to every detail to insure your stay at The Gallery is simply perfect. We are a family of three who found the loft to be spacious and comfortable. While located in the middle of everything, The Gallery affords you privacy not found in hotels or motels. Visually, The Gallery is a plethora of color. The custom décor, fully stocked kitchen and comfortable bedding add to the uniqueness of the loft. What a treat it was to spend the weekend here!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Marlane! So, glad to hear that you three had a great time because we really do want all of our guests to enjoy their visits to The Gallery!! Hope you can plan another visit soon! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun stay!

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Would do it again. The owners were very responsive and the place was fun and immaculate!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves Jill! We hope you can plan another visit soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing location and beautiful condo!!!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We had a blast during our vacation in historic downtown Wilmington. Numerous restaurants within walking distance. The River-walk is only two streets away from the gallery for a relaxing walk along the beautiful river. We found ourselves walking on the river-walk everyday. Carolina beach is minutes away. There is also a very helpful home-made guide in the gallery for idea on what restaurants to visit, "The inside scoop" was very helpful! We look forward to our next stay in the gallery at downtown Wilmington! We have decided that this will be our yearly vacation spot! :)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Location And Privacy!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

First Class accommodations! There is nothing better than having your own Private Entrance and FULL Kitchen while you are on vacation. I will never stay at a Hotel again. The price was the same as the Hilton.

The privacy of the Loft was unbeatable. Not having to consistantly pass-by strangers, deal with hotel staff, and share ammentities was ABSOLUTELY PRICELESS!

The Gallery Loft is the only way to go for your Visit in Wilmington NC.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Susan, so very glad to hear that you two had a good time! We really do try to make our guests' visits an enjoyable and memorable one! We hope you can plan another visit soon! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Great condo - great location. I would definitely recommend to anyone interested in a Wilmington weekend. The customer service was great - Liz was very responsive, and so helpful when I booked the weekend. The condo is very well stocked and makes the trip so easy. Great linens - so comfortable, and more towels than we could have ever needed! The art and décor is so neat - my son walked in and said 'Awesome - we are staying here every weekend!' :) Thank you for having coffee, filters, etc available - loved that I didn't need to leave to get my morning coffee!!! It can be a little loud at night (noises from back alley)... didn't bother us one little bit!! Only mentioning it in the event someone who is sensitive to noise plans to stay. Playing a little music or using some earplugs will easily take care of it - do NOT let it deter you from this great property!!! Just don't want to be caught at 10:30 at night without your trusty earplugs or white noise :)

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much Lori and we hope you can plan another visit soon! Yes, sometimes folks can get a little noisy outside while walking by since we are in the heart of the historic district where everyone walks to everything. And, that is one of the reasons we chose our condo to be in the back of the building instead of streetside.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Gallery was the star of our Wilmington vacation

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

My family decided to take a last minute long weekend trip to Wilmington. We considered the Gallery as well as another larger house a little farther out. We were SO glad we went with the Gallery. The location just CAN'T BE BEAT. The property is colorfully adorned with contemporary art, well stocked, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. We just parked our car and toured the city by foot for most of our stay. There are many great restaurants in this area - some of our favorites were The Basics (brunch), Chops Deli (my son declared it the best sandwich he ever ate), and Phun Seafood bar (dinner). Many others as well--the pizza place and diner on the block are great for quick eats. The horse carriage tour and Ghost Walk both begin just a half block away (the Ghost tour was our favorite!) Lastly, The Gallery's owner, Liz, is just great to work with--she is very helpful and responsive. We definitely plan on coming back to The Gallery.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Julie, so very glad to hear that you and your family had a great time! Hope you can plan another visit soon!! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

This place is just perfect. The location could not be better and parking is close if you do need to get in the car and go to the beach. The property was immaculate and very well maintained. the owners have thought of everything even an umbrella or two await you in case of rain. Liz makes you feel very welcome from the moment you reserve until your stay is over and you know she cares about your whole experience. I would recommend this property definitely and we will definitely come back. Everyone is correct about the bed, super comfy!! All the artwork is fun to interpret and discuss. All the restaurants close by were excellent choices, also great that a store is close by. This is one of the best on Home Away which is my favorite site for finding places to stay "away from home"!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We loved The Gallery and downtown Wilmington

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

From all the positive reviews, we had a feeling that The Gallery was going to be a great home-base for our vacation in Wilmington, NC. Turns out, we were pleasantly surprised to find that The Gallery was even better than we expected. Throughout the booking process, Liz was very helpful and responsive to our questions. When we arrived, we found that The Gallery to be in a fun section of the downtown area (yet amazingly quiet inside), well-stocked with anything we could possibly need (grocery shopping was a lot less expensive than we had planned) and the living space was immaculately clean and well-maintained. It was certainly a comfortable space for two people, though I wouldn't recommend it for a larger group due to the kitchen/dining area size.
The only info not included in the description of The Gallery was specifics on parking, though Liz provided the info ahead of time when I emailed her about it. There is a public garage directly across the street ($8/day) and a lot a little down the road. Most days, we could not find street parking on our block, but even so, it was all metered at the standard $0.25/15-minutes with a 2-hour limit. I'd recommend using the garage. It was only an inconvenience on the first and last days when we had to bring in/out all our luggage and groceries.
We had a wonderful time at The Gallery and in Wilmington. Thanks Liz!

Owners response: Hello Christa! We are happy to hear that you and Mason enjoyed your stay! We do hope that you can plan another visit soon! I am a little confused about the parking info as we do provide it twice; initially in the rental agreement upon booking the reservation and again when the reservation is confirmed outlining the location and fees of both the parking lot and deck. Again, we hope you can plan another visit soon! Take Care! Liz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place ... Amazing Price ...

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We had to be in Wilmington for a wedding on June 30th and decided that we would make a week long trip of it since my birthday was coming up and also to celebrate the 4th of July. We found The Gallery online and thought it might be too good to be true. Downtown Wilmington historic district just a block from the river. What's the catch ?? Absolutely nothing !!! This was a wonderful vacation destination. The Gallery has every amenity that you can imagine, plenty of towels, nice linens, fully stocked kitchen, privacy and security. The condo is located in a wonderful historic building with tons of old world charm and just steps away from all the great shopping Wilmington has to offer. This is a vacation destination that you will remember for a long time to come.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We have been vacationing in Oak Island NC for the past 10 years. We normally stay somewhere 3-7 days prior to extend our vacation. This is our third time to Wilmington and have previously stayed at the Hilton and Riverview suites. There are 4 families in our group and we all decided to stay in rentals this year. We all found places on Market St.
The Gallery was perfect for our family. My 11 and 13 year olds enjoyed the artwork and my son enjoyed the Xbox, when we were actually there. My wife and I found the bed to be extremely comfortable. Having 1 bathroom posed some problems but we worked through it.
There was a folder that Liz and Mark put together that gave some excellent information on restaurants and bars in walking distance. We used that everyday. There are 2 places we ate the most because of proximity, the Dixie Grill and Slice of Life( both are excellent ). We left the kids at home one night with our friends 18 yr old and went on a pub crawl to all of the restaurants in Liz and Marks book, stopping at each one for an appetizer and drink. We ended up on the rooftop bar dancing and playing ring toss.
Our stay at the Gallery was great and hope to make it back next year. Thanks Liz and Mark!

Owners response: Kyle, we are so glad you and you family enjoyed yourselves!! We do try and cater to people of all ages! I agree that the bed is extremely comfortable, it took a few mattress stores and a lot of "testing" to find just the perfect one! The location is why we chose to purchase this condo, you can walk to everything that the historic area has to offer. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you can make it again next year!!! Cheers! Liz

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place in the heart of Downtown

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

The Gallery was a great find for our weekend stay in Wilmington. A great hideaway tucked right in the center of downtown. Great furnishings, quiet at night even though the party is just around the corner. Very clean, wonderful amenities, movies, free WiFi, the kitchen was really well-equipped. Love the decor and all the art. Walking distance to everything downtown. We were lucky enough to find the wonderful Farmer's Market by the boardwalk on Saturday morning. Also, a surprise Classic Car show was going on. Good food and coffee within walking distance. Great pizza right next door as well as breakfast. We'd definitely stay there again. The owner was very responsive and wonderful to work with since we were signing up at the last minute. Got all the paperwork done asap. We highly recommend this funky little art gallery for your next stay!

Owners response: Thank you so much Stephanie! Yes, the location was what sold us on this condo.. in the middle of everything yet very quiet. So glad to hear that you enjoyed it! We do try to make our guests' visits as enjoyable as possible. Thank you and I hope you three can plan another visit soon! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Had a great time! Excellent location and accommodations! Will be back!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

My husband and I were in Wilmington for five days and four nights and we are so glad that we found this condo! The location is unbeatable and the condo was like home to us... one of the reasons we chose this condo is that I am a high school art teacher and because of the great reviews. The art is fabulous! And, the reviews were right on target! Very well appointed and clean! We love this place! Thank you Liz and Barry! We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Laurie, I am so glad to hear that you two enjoyed yourselves! Hope you can plan another visit soon! Best, Liz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

Hi Liz,

I just wanted to take a moment to Thank You!

We had such a wonderful time in Wilmington … mostly stalking everything OTH: studios, basketball court, past and current filming locations and more. The beach was great too! (We added a small 50 SPF parasol to your collection of beach paraphernalia.)

My daughter met Shantel VanSanten and Bethany Joy Galeotti. But absolutely amazing was that Rob Buckley was strolling by as we were parking the car across the street. He was completely charming and even got her on the set as an extra for the day on Thursday … she is still ten feet off the ground and my sister-in-law and I along with her!!

I hope that the tradition of Dawson’s Creek & OTH continues for Wilmington. It would be sad if people did not get to see this charming location in the future now that OTH is finishing up!

Enjoy and thanks again.
Anna

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Pied-a-Terre In the Heart of Wilmington

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at The Gallery over Memorial Day weekend and couldn't have been happier. I stumbled upon the Gallery lissting when we were looking for a place to stay and was sold by all of the great reviews. All of the reviews are spot on! The decor is lovely and guests will have all of the creature comforts of home (including a great sound system, play station, and DVD player with a fantastic collection of movies) in a centrally located condo at an excellent price for the value. The location is just superb - walking distance to the boardwalk and great restaurants. Liz, the owner, is courteous, prompt in her communication and a great resource for all things Wilmington. My only complaint? I wish we could have stayed longer! We will most definitely be staying at The Gallery when we return. Skip the hotels and book your stay at The Gallery.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Portia, thank you for your very eloquent review! It is our goal to ensure our guest's visits are as enjoyable and memorable as possible. We do hope the three of you can plan another visit soon! Best, Liz

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great cozy stay

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

I had a great time staying at the gallery. It was very convenient.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Accommodations and Location! We'll be back!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

My husband, son, and I had a great time in Wilmington and a fabulous stay at The Gallery! The Gallery was very well appointed and comfortable and the location can't be beat! You can walk to everything that the historic, downtown riverfront area has to offer! We wished we could have stayed longer than two nights and are already planning our next trip this summer. I am so glad I found The Gallery and have already ranted and raved to my friends and family about it. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. It was exactly what the doctor ordered.. relaxing and yet plenty to do just outside the door!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad Sue that you and your family enjoyed your visit! We hope you can plan another visit soon. :) Liz

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

Perfect place for a getaway! Great location, great owners, very clean :) My husband and I stayed for a long weekend and this place was perfect. Easy to get around town from this location and right next door to the best breakfast and dinner in town!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Swan for your kind words! We are so glad that you two enjoyed yourselves!! Hope you can plan another visit soon! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Accommodations and Location!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

My sister, two girlfriends and I rented The Gallery for a girls, five-night getaway from our hectic lives/family!! it was exactly what we all needed! We hated to leave, but we did miss our kids and husbands. The Gallery is located in the center of everything and yet it is very quiet so we all got a good nights sleep every night, rearing and ready for the next day's/night's adventures. The Gallery is brilliantly decorated and we all loved all of the art!! Very comfortable and the condo had everything that we needed to make it feel like home. We will definitely be back! We are already planning another trip in the Spring! Thank you again Liz for sharing your wonderful condo with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Laura, thank you for kind words and I am so glad that the four of you enjoyed yourselves and got some much needed R&R and "girls time!" We look forward to your next visit in the Spring! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Better than Staying at a Hotel!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

My husband and I rented this place during our honeymoon to Wilmington. I was so glad I found it, it is like staying at a home away from home. Walk to anywhere in town, this place is literally in the middle of town! It was very clean and beautiful! I would certainly stay there again on our next trip to Wilmington. And to make things better-it was less expensive than any hotel in the area! Don't pass it up!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan congratulations again to you and Cliff! I am so very glad you two enjoyed yourselves! We really do strive to make our guests' visits as comfortable and enjoyable as possible! Hope you can plan another visit soon! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Couples Getaway!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We loved The Gallery! The location could not be more perfect and the loft is a wonderful place for a couple's weekend away. Parking in the deck across the street is very convenient and we walked to everything in downtown! We hope to return to The Gallery again soon!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous accomodations and awesome location! Can't be beat! We will be back!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

All I can say is WOW!! My husband and I have pretty high expectations and thoroughly do our homework before booking accomodations for our vacations and The Gallery did not disappoint in any respect! The Gallery is fabulous; the decorating and furnishings are like no other I have seen - very well done; very well stocked with everything that you need for a very comfortable stay; and the location... you can walk to everything with some fabulous restaurants even on the same block... I was extremely surprised to find The Gallery smack dab in the middle of everything to do in Wilmington, but yet the condo is extremely quiet (and I am a very light sleeper) maybe due to the fact it is not located street-side (which can be very loud... I know this from past experience). Again, extremely well done! Thank you Liz and Barry for a very memorable vacation! We will be back... probably for our anniversary in March!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Linda and Steve! We do really strive to make our guests' visits as pleasureable and memorable as possible! We look forward to your next visit! Take Care! -Liz

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Gallery is the perfect place for R'n R

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

The Gallery was the perfect place for our time away. It had all we needed and more
with no need to go out. We did enjoy the sites to see all within a walk away. We were
able enjoy one full day out and about but mostly loved our time in this wonderful
rental. All was provided so we packed light knowing this.

Thanks to Liz and hubby ! Know that if we decide on a coastal trip, this will be
our regular retreat location at your lovely 'Gallery'.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments Christine! We greatly appreciate your feedback as we are always striving to make our guests' vists as pleasurable and memorable as possible. We hope you can plan another visit soon! :) Liz

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

We spent 4 wonderful days at The Gallery. The condo was everything we expected - clean, great location, funky decor, everything we needed!!! We loved Wilmington - perfect weather and lots to do. Great restaurant suggestions from the owners. We felt like Liz's special guests!!! Thanks for the clear communications/directions and local information. We'll recommend The Gallery to our friends.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

Our stay at the Gallery was wonderful. The place was clean and welcoming. Located in a great downtown area, we were close to great food and fun. Parking can be tricky on Friday and Saturday night if you arrive late. I was amazed to be so close to clubs without being bothered by the noise. I would def recommend this place to anyone looking for a great downtown location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

So glad we found out about the Gallery for a nice getaway. It was quiet and private, yet a short walk to restaurants and shops. Everything we needed was there. It's entertaining to look at the paintings and pick out favorites. Loved the bright colors. Hope to stay again someday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

My fiance' and I had a wonderful stay at The Gallery. We love Wilmington and it was a perfect place in the perfect location to enjoy all of the downtown fun! They have everything you need and are always there to answer any questions :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

We had a wonderful experience staying here for our Wilmington family trip. The accommodations were very clean, provided us with all the kitchen necessities, and a great library of dvd's for the too much sun or rainy days ! It's location couldn't have been any better with restaurants, shops, and the boardwalk within close walking distances. For me, having the Brewery right around the corner provided for great choice of brews and delicious food to go with it. We highly recommend this loft to anyone going to the Wilmington area !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

The Gallery is a fabulous place to stay if you want to see downtown Wilmington! We absolutley loved the decor and were very comfortable there. As we arrived back at the condo after a long day of sightseeing, I said to my husband, "Isn't it nice to be home?" We are already talking about our next visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

My daughter and I just stayed at the Gallery over the Labor Day weekend. The place is fantastic. We found it to be super clean, quiet, and perfectly located in downtown Wilmington. We enjoyed the whimsical decor and found the Gallery stocked with everything we needed. Liz was wonderful to work with. I am certain I will be a repeat vacationer to the Gallery. Thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

Not sure exactly where to start! The loft was fabulous, clean, well equipped, EXCELLENT location, park your car and WALK to basically anywhere!If I had ANYTHING that I would have like to have had it would have been a second bath or hlf-bath(shows how far our society has become spoiled, our parents woulda never thought about that!) BUT that being said, it was the ownership that will forever leave a lasting impression on my wife and myself, you see, on Sunday morning(departure morn) at 6am , I suffered 2 Clatonic seisures(sp) one at the loft, the second in the ER. Knowing NOONE, and being rushed to New Hanover Med Ctr, my wife, after seeing me placed in ICU, contacted Liz,she and my son had NO PLACE to go!Liz and Barry were there in an hour, found her a hotel around the corner(new guests were coming to the loft) and kept in touch DAILY to see if they could do anything to help her.At New Hanover for a week, will NEVER be able to repay or thank the owners for thier thoughtfulness, courtesy and just donwright southern hospitality!Wilmington was a beautiful little town(our first visit)and perhaps someday we'll try it again , but the bottom line,its people like Liz Mark that leave a positive lasting impression on those folks that have never graced the door before. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

The Gallery was great! Very clean, loved the old
hardwood floors (really nice, and NO squeaky boards!)
nicely decorated and cozy. It pretty much has all the
conveniences and comforts you need for a relaxing
time in Wilmington. We really enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We can't say enough complimentary things about our stay at "The Gallery!" It was immaculately clean, amazingly decorated, and had every amenity for a perfect weekend getaway in Downtown Wilmington! We’re already looking forward to our next return trip, and The Gallery will certainly be our #1 choice. Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

We had a wonderful week at the Gallery. The apartment was beautiful and a wonderul place to come "home" to after a day of exploring the wonderful Wilmington area. We would love to return again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful ~week vacation at "The Gallery", and really enjoyed the great décor, and spotless housekeeping! The condo is also very well furnished, with all the dishes/utensils, spices etc that allowed us to cook in part of the time, as well as an excellent restaurant guide. The location is so convenient which enabled us to walk all week to excellent pubs & restaurants, river walk, and other tourist sites. We would definitely stay here again! Make sure you try the “Slice of Life” while you are there!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Another great stay at The Gallery! I love this place . Thank you, Liz and Barry for all the extra effort you put into this place. I look forward to my annual trip all year. Wendy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 7, 2009

Another great stay at The Gallery! Also, another beautiful weekend for the Azalea Festival. I look forward to my annual stay all year (it gets me thru the cold winter months!) I discovered another great low-keyed place for seafood*** Dock St Seafood and Grill*** Delicious. Thanks Liz and Barry for another great weekend. Wendy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

The Gallery was a great spot to spend a weekend. My fiance and I got engaged during our trip to Wilmington and our stay at The Gallery. It was absolutely perfect! Location is outstanding as we were real close walking distance to restaurants and bars for a weekend of entertainment! A must stay if you visit Wilmington!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

my boyfriend and i stayed at the gallery for a week last may. it was amazing. if we could have lived there, we would have stayed forever. i look forward to making my stay at the gallery a yearly event.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The SHAZAM

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: October 29, 2008

My wife and I loved our stay at The Gallery!! Super convenient Liz had everything you could ask for. We will definetly book again on our next trip.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Mitchell and Liz! Yes, we definitely agree that The Gallery is centrally located in the heart of historic, riverfront Wilmington and within walking distance of so many great restaurants, river, cafes, shopping, theater, museums, clubs, etc. And, we do try to equip The Gallery with the vacation and business traveler in mind! We strive to make The Gallery our guests' retreat/getaway!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

this was a truly awesome place to stay.
we enjoyed the decor and the close proximity to everything downtown. I would highly recommend this location to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We stayed at The Gallery for two wonderful weeks while Lauren looked for a job and an apartment. (She found both in record time.) The Gallery is a perfect spot in historic downtown Wilmington. The only negative comment I could make is that it is too close to Kilwin's Ice Cream - we had far too many treats during our two weeks!!! Thanks for allowing us to share your great place. I will certainly recommend the Gallery to anyone who wants to really experience your great downtown area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We wanted to do something special for the fifth wedding anniversary of our friends. The Gallery was exactly the right place! It is an amazing combination between space, colors, art and style. Every detail in the apartment is very well thought of. We kept on looking at the paintings on the walls and still discover some we haven't seen so far. The location is also perfect for people that like to go out and enjoy good restaurants and art galleries. Wrightsville beach is just a few miles away and we avoided the crowd there by staying at The Gallery. If there was a rating scale from 1 to 10, I would give this place a #10! We would definitely visit The Gallery again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 27, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Great location!! We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My son and I just returned from a fantastic stay at the Gallery. It was my son's first visit to the Wilmington area, and my second stay at the Gallery. He absolutely loved the Gallery! He thought the location was convenient to everything, was fascinated by the decor, and enjoyed using the TV, DVD collection, and X-Box games. As with our previous visit, the Gallery was immaculate and stocked with everything we needed for our stay. We actually got to use the beach chairs this time and enjoyed some beautiful weather at Wrightsville beach. We look forward to staying at the Gallery again and actually planned this trip around the Gallery's availability as we liked it so much last time. Thank you again for another wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We have just returned from our stay at "The Gallery" and it was as fabulous as everyone said it was! I'm ready to do it again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We just returned from our wonderful week long stay at the Gallery. Everything was absolutely perfect. The Gallery was immaculate (and I'm very picky). Liz and Barry thought of everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable from plentiful towels for our week long stay, to beach chairs, a well stocked kitchen, and even a great DVD collection. The location was the best! The Gallery is located right in the middle of the Wilmington downtown tourist area with great restaurants nearby. The condo is surprisingly quiet without any street noise at all. We were there during the Azalea Festival. The street fair was right outside the door and the parade turn around was just a half block away.

We loved the Gallery and will definitely be back. Thank you Liz and Barry for a wonderful week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 16, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Wonderful change of pace from the overpriced cubicles passing for hotels these days. Everything you will need or want is thoughtfully provided, and you're just steps from numerous interesting restaurants (Elijiahs is overrated, imo). Most importantly, the bed is very comfortable. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 4, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Our vacation and especially the stay at The Gallery was absolutely wonderful. My family will definitely see if it is available if we plan to go to Wilmington again. My teenage daughter and her friend are already talking about coming back. Being right downtown was perfect...walking to over 95% of the things we were interested in. The beach was a short distance away, and we thank The Gallery for use of the beach chairs. I can't think of one thing that Liz and Mark overlooked in stocking the place with anything and everything you might need. IT WAS GREAT!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Gallery on our annual anniversary trip. It's a beautiful space with so much privacy. The Gallery is so close to everything that we parked our car on the first day and didn't move it until it was time to leave. We did lots of touristy things in Wilmington and in the evenings, going back to The Gallery felt like going home instead of back to a rental unit. The Gallery was well-equipped with everything we needed and more. We would love to stay there again and we have recommended it to many of our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Our stay at The Gallery couldn't have been better. Liz thought of everything right down to the beach chairs and cooler. The location is exceedingly convenient to just about everything, and we had no problem aclimating oursevles to the area thanks to Liz's helpful guidebook that was on the table when we entered The Gallery. The place was super-clean, cozy, quiet, and relaxing. We would return in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 14, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

The Gallery is such a wonderful and unique retreat. Right in the heart of downtown and was easy to venture out but felt perfectly comfy staying and lounging around. My friends and I enjoyed the wonderful art and modern touch from the blue walls and the exposed brick. My compliments to the designer, or designers =) Thank you so much for making our girls getaway a little more special. We'll definitely be back soon... Thanks again Liz for making us feel so comfortable and welcome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 17, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The Gallery is GREAT!!!!! Everything was clean, nice and cozy. The Gallery is a perfect place to stay if you are visiting- it is located in the middle of everything !!!! The Dixie Grill is a great place to eat breakfast and lunch. I would recommend this wonderful place to everyone and will be back next year for the 2008 Azealea Festival and maybe before!~ Wendy Abbott

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 19, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

This place was great! Ronnie & I felt very comfortable in your condo. Its such a cozy place and very well decorated. You thought of every detail down to the towels that were very soft and smelled wonderful. I felt like I could do a "Downy" commerical! It rained most of the day of our arrival, but it was nice just to curl up on the comfy couch and watch a movie. The Pizzeria next door has wonderful pizza and Elijah's has the best "Bloody Mary's" around. We liked that is was a very quiet and peaceful condo. Everything is within walking distance which was great. Thanks again Liz! We loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 20, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We loved our stay at the Gallery! We were able to obtain a reservation last minute and are so happy we did! The Gallery is cozy and wonderfully decorated with awesome modern art covering the walls. Liz was fantastic to work with. We found downtown Wilmington to have everything one would want in a small town area. Circa 1922 was definitely a Shazam! We hope to return in the near future. Thank you. ~Holly and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 5, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We loved it! So colorful and cozy. There were 3 adults and a baby in a pack and play and we all were very comfortable. It was clean and so convenient to all the shops and restaurants nearby. I would recommend it to everyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

This was the second time that I have stayed at The Gallery. It is such a nice place and VERY clean. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Wilmington. It is full of amentities, including high speed internet, so for those of you who have to work (like I did) this makes life alot easier. Most of all, Liz has been a pleasure to work with and I know I will do business with her again.

Thanks,
Stephen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 17, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

The Gallery is the greatest place. Our daughter was getting married in Wilmington and with us being out of state I wanted a CLEAN, NICE and COZY place for us to spend the last couple of days alone with our daughter. It was absolutely perfect! I could not get over how clean it was, how it was actually equipped with anything you could ever need, I felt as if I were at home. My daughter, husband and I were able walk to everything downtown and enjoy the sites, while we set up last minute things for the wedding. I have never sent in a comment on a place that we have stayed (we have traveled a lot) but this one deserves the comment. I will recommend The Gallery to everyone I know for a great get a away. All I can say is thank you for the wonderful memory at "The Gallery" ! Jack and Sabrina Crumpton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

This place is amazing! The pictures do not do it justice. Not only that but the location is excellent! So close to the river and all the cool stuff Wilmington has to offer. My friends and I had a blast and we are so appreciative of the furnished place. We felt comfortable and at ease staying at The Gallery. I wouldn't think twice about staying there again. We were all impressed. Thanks so much Liz!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We had a great stay. Condo was fun and convenient. Especially enjoyed book of restaurant suggestions. Had a terrific breakfast at Dixie Grill!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We had a great week at your condominium. Everything was as advertised--as well as very clean. We enjoyed the location and all of the amenities that accompany the property. It was nice to have beach chairs and a cooler already there. We will certainly be back next summer. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Dear Liz,
We enjoyed our stay in "The Galery". Very comfortable, very clean, decorated with taste / You guys have it all!/. Short /very, very short/ walk to the river and all the attractions. Food - everyone should try the "Carolina bucket" in Elijah's /2 Ann street is the address/.
You look for perfect service and friendly people - you'll find them in Wilmington.
Thank you for everything! We were extremely pleased and very happy!
We'll be back!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

4/11-12-13/06 This was only a three night stay, wish it was longer. We set our goals high when renting and this exceeded our expectations. Thanks again Liz for being so understanding when a medical concern came up abruptly, and cancelling our payment which allowed us to reschedule at the last moment. We both loved your condo and the location was perfect..Bryant and June

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

We stayed at the Gallery for our 43d anniversary and it was a delight. Great location, great decoration and amenities.
The riverwalk is a block and a half away and most terrific restaurants are within walking distance. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 23, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Gallery. It's so convenient to shops, restaurant, bars, the river...EVERYTHING!!! The loft is immaculate and beautifully decorated. Our three year old had a blast too! I will recommend it to all my friends and family and will stay at The Gallery again on our next visit to Wilmington.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 10, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

I came to Wilmington to work on NBC's "Surface" for 6 months from Los Angeles. I needed a comfortable place to stay that was furnished and had everything I needed, and The Gallery was great. Art covering the walls, all the kitchen amenities, a super comfortable and well decorated bedroom, cable, internet, even an XBOX, it was exactly what I was looking for. The owners are nice people, always checked in to make sure things were okay in the place. Its a lovely place to stay in Wilmington, right in the heart of downtown, which was great for me, I like to go out occasionally, and here it was easy. Short term or long term, this is a great place to stay while in town.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 21, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

wE ENJOYED OUR STAY AT THE gALLERY. tHE LOCATION IS PERFECT! WE RECOMMEND THE CIRCA RESTURANT (YUMMY)! WE LOOK FOWARD TO COMING BACK AGAIN.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Although it was a short stay, we had a wonderful time. My wife did specially as we got to visit old friends of hers from college. He and his wife own the Folks Cafe coffee houses in Wilmington. They are really into art and were really impressed by all the art and the decor of your loft. Your location is great as we enjoyed good restaurants, live music, artists, jugglers; it kinda reminded us a little of Mallory Square in Key West! Thank you again, and we look forward to our next Wilmington visit.

Sincerely,

The Cortez's, South Carolina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

I knew the gallery would be great from reading
past reviews, and it did not dissapoint. We
stayed a week and from the moment we
walked in, we could tell it would be a great
vacation. A bottle of wine and 2 glasses
greeted us when we opened the door. The
fridge was stocked with bottled water to take
on our adventures and the place itself was
fantastic - right in the heart of downtown and
only 20 minutes from Wrightsville beach. Every
detail was thought out including little fizz
balls for the bath. We don't even want to wash
our clothes now that we are home because it
still has the pleasant smell of the Gallery. Our
trip was a vacation / exploratory trip to see if
Wilmington was somewhere we would want to
move to and we decided that we would. This
was our first visit to Wilmington and the
gallery made us feel right at home. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

My husband and I celebrated our Fourth of July holiday weekend with another couple at “The Gallery". The four of us had an absolute blast during our 3 night, 4 day stay in Wilmington's downtown historic district. The Gallery was everything we had hoped it would be, it was of course beautifully decorated, yet it was also cozy, inviting and extremely comfortable. I also want to mention how convenient the “Welcome Book” was when selecting restaurants and entertainment for our nightlife activities. We can't wait to vacation again at "The Gallery", it was a very relaxing vacation getaway! Thanks again Liz :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 6, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Wow! What a fun place! We just stayed at the Gallery for a long weekend getaway and had the BEST time! Spotless & smartly decorated, the Gallery is definitely a destination that you will want to return to again and again. Since I had a young child with me, we particularly enjoyed having the best of both worlds at our fingertips -- the fun river walk district and the beach! The Gallery is in the middle of everything, but very private and quiet. The staff at the Dixie Grill made us feel right at home! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 17, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

The Gallery is the most wicked awesome place I've ever stayed. I just left
and spent my 21st birthday weekend with some girl friends. It is the perfect location and decorated equisitely. I just love The Gallery, it is my new home away from home. You guys supplied everything and my girls and I never wanted for anything. You did an excellent job on the decor. I will definately be back at least 3 more times before the year is up. Keep up the great work.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 26, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

"The Gallery" is a destination unto itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10th anniversary and looked forward to each return to "The Gallery". I really don't want everyone to know about this great find. However, I do want the gracious hosts of "The Gallery" to do very well. I would award "The Gallery" six stars (on a scale of 5 stars). It was well designed, convenient, clean, comfortable, private and memorable. In addition, the owners were very pleasant to work with.

We'll be back! Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 21, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

My wife and I spent a post-Valentines Day weekend at The Gallery. What can I say? It was beyond our expectations. We absolutely loved it!

We particularly liked feeling like Wilmington "insiders", as a result of living in a non-hotel, non-B&B spot for a few days. The suite is gorgeus, and the location is unbeatable.

There's simply no better place to stay on a getaway to Wilmington! Thanks for making this place available!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 13, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

My husband, John and I just returned home from a weekend staying at The Gallery. Wow, what a GREAT place. John was playing in a soccer tournament in Wilmington and instead of staying in a hotel, I found The Gallery while searching the internet. We absolutely loved it. The colors were wonderful. The owners did a superb job of renovating it. It was much better than staying in a hotel room.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 20, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

My husband and I stayed in the Gallery in June of this last summer. If it tells you anything, I am still remembering what an incredible stay we had in Wilmington. The Gallery was so well put together...we relaxed a lot in the loft...just watching movies. It felt like a home away from home. It is definitely decorated with a unique touch - the bedroom is gorgeous with it's brick wall. I slept so well here... I loved the fact that staying in the Gallery really gave us the feeling that we were not on vacation, but that we actually lived in this fascinating city. We ate at a variety of nice resturaunts and they were all very good. If you are into shopping patronize edge of urge, go in and see what they are doing, it is incredible! All in all, our stay in Wilmington was wonderful due to the fact that the Gallery exists! We will definitely be back! Thanks.

Owners response: Thank you so much Ellen for your kind words. We hope that you and your husband will visit us again soon from the great state of Colorado. :) Liz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

We had a wonderful time at the Gallery.
A couple of best buds and I decided to
make it a girls retreat, and we simply
had a blast. There is no doubt in my
mind that I will come back, and I will
be sure to recommend the place to
others. My sister (UNCW senior) fell in
love with the Gallery and swore that she
would someday live there :) The
highlight was our "star spotting". We
ran into Chad Michael Murray at the Reel
Cafe, took a couple of pictures, and
drank a few drinks with him. I cannot
express how much we enjoyed our
vacation. Thank you for opening up your
doors to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

What a unique experience! The incredible combination of art and contemporary style make The Gallery just as exciting as the downtown Wilmington area around it. You've managed to make its loft style feel both comfortable and spacious, while being a feast for the eyes. Having the outstanding restaurants, shops and nightlife right outside the door made it tough to sit still, though. We didn't have to move our car the entire weekend! We loved always being just steps away from our accomodations. It sure made it easy to swing by for a quick break before heading back out for more fun. If you're looking to enjoy all that downtown Wilmington has to offer, and want more than just an everyday hotel room, than a stay in The Gallery is an experience-enhancing must!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

I highly recommend The Gallery for a get away from stress. It is very colorful and relaxing to stay in. I love the bright colors and all the pictures everywhere. It is equiped with all the necessities anyone could need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

This was my first trip ever to Wilmington and I enjoyed staying at the Gallery because it was soooo cozy and I loved the color scheme! It reminded me of New Orleans. Also, It was great being in walking distance to every good restaurant and bar. This was the first girl's trip I had been on in 4 years and I enjoyed every minute I spent with my mother and stepsister. The Gallery was the BOMB!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

We had a wonderful time at the Gallery. Such a great place to stay in a convenient location. The decor was loved by all, especially my teenage kids. If you can inpress them, you got a good thing going. We unfortunately had only 2 nights to stay in the Wilmington area, but made the best of them. When and if we can make it back to NC, we will definitely try and get back to the Gallery to enjoy it even more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

WOW!!! "The Gallery" is incredible. You feel relaxed and happy the minute you step into this beautifully decorated apartment. The colors, funitishings and art work is superb! Not to mention how well "stocked" the kitchen is! I've stayed in several vacation rentals over the years and have never found one this well stocked...dishes, pots and pans, applicances, and even a spice rack! The location was perfect for exploring historic Wilmington as well as an easy drive to the beach. Can't wait for the next visit! This was a "girls only" stay for us...worked perfectly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

WONDERFUL!!!! So many things come to mind whenever I think about The Gallery. The layout was great. Fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, right down to a corkscrew. It couldn't have been better located. Convenient to tours, shopping, eating, clubbing and relaxation. We loved it!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 14, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

WOW! What a transformation from before pictures and the actual condo. You guys should have no problem having couples stay here for a, "getaway" from it all, vacation. Awesome location to everything downtown, most of the best resturuants are within walking distance. Excellent choices on shopping too, are within walking distance. And of course if you like bars and/or clubs they are definitely walking distance. I would recommend staying there!

Owners response: Thanks so much Julie for your great comments! Yes, we did a lot of renovation. We fell in love with historic Wilmington's riverfront and found this gem in the rough. We invisioned what it could be - and hence transformed it into The Gallery for our vacation getaway. We then decided to share it with others. Yes, the Gallery has a great central location and is really geared towards a "couples getaway" or a "getaway with some close friends."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 14, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

We spent our honeymoon there and we loved it. It was convenient to all the tours and resturants. Loved the layout in the loft.It was very comfortable, and when they say all you need to bring is your linen, that's what they mean. It was well equiped.

Owners response: Thanks so much Crystal for your wonderful compliments!! And, congratulations again to you and Jeff!!! FYI: We are now providing linens for our guests for any new reservations made after 6/22/04.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 7, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

We just got back from our stay at the gallery and miss it already. The gallery is a great getaway as everything is in the apartment or located in the vicinity. Very well thought out to what a vacationer may need. The apartment is very well decorated and has a very urban feel. I felt like I was still in New York City! The location is wonderful as you have a million shops and restaurants as soon as you walk out the door. The Dixie diner is 2 doors down and has the greatest breakfasts. On the weekends, the area is just alive. We regret not having a lot more time but there is always a next time. We look forward to visiting Wilmington again and our home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

The Gallery is such a great place to stay. It is in the heart of Downtown Wilmington and walking distance to everything. The waterfront is amazing and has a great walking pier. My favorite restaurant is Circa. A MUST! Then pop into the Sofa Bar for your favorite Martini. I highly recommend to Gallery for any couple that wants a romantic getaway. It is even great for a small group who wants to explore all the many different bars. We did a girls weekend!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 17, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

Oh, I just absolutely loved my first visit so much that I have been going at least once a quarter! The Gallery reminds me of a fabulous apt. that one of my friends has in Manhattan - lots of style and energy. The owners have obviously put a lot of effort into the decor and choosing such comfortable furnishings. Anyone I have taken with me has fallen in love with it!! If I'm not planning a trip to the beach I can literally park my car and don't have to get back in ti until it's time to leave. The restaurants (Circa is a must), lounges, shops offer a great variety and the people you meet are always so friendly and laid-back. I plan my trips around The Gallery's availability and can't wait for my next visit : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review