reviews for: listing #19779 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean House rental

Vieques Island - Caribbean Views and Tropical Breezes
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Vieques Island
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time at Colina de Brisas - one of the best vacation rental home I've stayed in. The furnishings are lovely, the kitchen is well-equipped, and the views are amazing. I can't imagine another way of vacationing on Vieques - I hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

AMAZING for families

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

My family of 5 (3 kids ages 7, 9, and 11) and parents stayed at this house for spring break in 2014. We had an amazing time. The owner and property managers were AMAZING! The owner provided so much valuable information prior to and during our stay and the house managers were so accommodating. I can't put into words how great our stay was....... Highly recommend this house. Can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellant home away from home.

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We are a family of 4, which includes to adlut kids. It was pleasant superise to find out that the picture's is what we were hopeing for. The house is great, well maintained, the beadrooms are big & comfortable. The only draw backs at the place was that there is no TV reception, but they have plenty DVD & games after you get back from your day's activities. If your not use to the sound of wildlife & night it could bother you, but we slpet like new borns. We felt very secure alarm system. We didn't have a car for the first two days, but that was ok because we were within walking distance (10mins) of Isabel II. Our first night we eat at Richard's cafe good food, great rum punch. For dinner a must is Trade Winds, breakfast Roy's Cafe & Internet, lunch Bananas & Williams Pizza's. If you want to hang out at a bar for small talk with the locals & tourtist Al's Mar Azul is the place to be. The people are friendly & full of lots of info on where to go & what to see. You do need a taxit or car to get to the beaches. Sun Bay was fun but crowed the locals said it's the most people they seen in a long time, Red Beach is nicer, but Blue Beach was the place to be, only about 50 people there. they have Gazbo's like Sun Bay, but unlike Sun Bay no bathroom's. But don't let that stop you it's by far the best beach to go too. The caretakers at the rental Patirck & Pat are great, always available to reach by phone & very helpful. From what I've heard from other renters else where car rentals were very high, but we got a great deal from Patrick far better then going thru a car rental place. Make friends with the taxi driver who pick you up from the airport, they will be available to take back when time to leave & we took the taxi from Luis Muniz airport to Fajardo. We took the ferry to Vieques which we recommend. I would also like to thank the owner Renee' Chandler she was also a phone call away. Your place is beautful. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay in Vieques

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

The view was beautiful at all times, everything we needed for our stay was available. Fully equipped and spacious, the air conditioning was a blessing after a day at the beach. Ease of reservation process was great. The responsiveness of the property manager was exceptional. Would recommend this property without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Vieques and a large part of that had to do with Colina de brisas. It literally had everything that you would need to enjoy a day at the beach and be able to come home and cook a great meal. Renee was very helpful in securing the place and the property managers also had additional information to help with the stay. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Had a wonderful time in Vieques in no small part
due to our stay at Colina de Brisas. Clean and well-
kept, it was such a relaxing place to come back to
after enjoying the beaches and restaurants on the
island. Renee was friendly and very helpful! She
provided a thorough list of places to visit. Would
highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

For our third trip to the phenomenal island of Vieques, my husband and I chose Colina de Brisas as our home away from home. From the very beginning of the rental process we were extremely impressed by how easy and professional the owner Renée Chandler made things. The website’s photos and information was wonderfully comprehensive, the information they needed from us was requested via easy to fill out forms, they accept PayPal, and answers to questions and confirmations were sent immediately.When the date of our trip was near, we were sent terrific verbal and visual directions (that ultimately navigated us to the home flawlessly), as well as were given the opportunity to select our own entrance code in lieu of a key. We loved the simplicity of not needing to worry about keeping track of a key on the beaches!Our arrival at Colina de Brisas took our breath away! The views from the enormous veranda are even more stunning than the website can give them credit for. The home is bright, airy, spacious, exceedingly comfortable, meticulously clean, and had all of the amenities we could ever imagine desiring. There is an easy to use home security system and a safe in the bedroom. The kitchen was huge and vastly stocked with more cooking and dining supplies than we could even get around to using. The two (that’s right, two) bathrooms had massive counter and storage space, as well as great lighting. The volume of bathroom towels and beach towels available to us was astonishing. We particularly enjoyed the wide array of DVDs, Playstation games, books, and board games available for our use during the stay. We really appreciated having use of the in-house washer and dryer so that we could pack far less than we normally would for the trip. Colina de Brisas also has a big selection of beach bags, coolers, chairs, body boards, and other fun supplies we made full use of. In conclusion, we have never had a better experience dealing with a renter, nor stayed at such a magnificently beautiful, perfectly appointed home. Renée Chandler and Colina de Brisas have ruined us for all other possible vacation rentals!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

We had a very nice stay. The view from the verandah is beautiful. The drive to the beaches on the south side is only 10-15 minutes, and the restaurants in Isabel II are very accessible. This vacation rental gives a good value for your $.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Our experience was explendid, the house was more than we expected. Everething was in place, clean, neat, on time, by far one of my best esperiences in a vacation place. I've been in Vieques before, but having these acommodations improve the experience and my family loved the place, the surroundings, THE VIEW (what a view!). If anyone is finding a place to stay in Vieques, this is it!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

What a wonderful place! The island is gorgeous, the people friendly, and the house is perfect! We really enjoyed all the extras in the house - the movies, books, beach chairs and coolers - as well as it's location. And the information on beaches and restaurants that the property owners put together was VERY helpful. Even the kids can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

My family visited Vieques Island on May 27th and 28th 2009. We stayed at Colina de Brisas and found the home to be perfect. We had a total of 6 people (one being a 2 year old) and there was more than enough space for the family. The home is equipped with everything you would need including beach towels, beach chairs, sand toys, movies, games, cooking supplies etc.. If we return to Vieques one day we would be delighted to stay at Colina de Brisas again. Try Bananas and Quenepo Rest. in Esperanza. Quenepo is $$$$ but fabulous food. Bioluminescent Bay is a must. Island Adventures gives a great tour to that.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

We had a great week at this house. We chose it over
others that were perhaps fancier because it seemed
to be a fantastically well-run rental and we were
right. We set off the alarm when we entered (our
fault) and the owner was right on the phone to
help. We also locked our things in the safe as we
were about to catch our plane (again, our fault: her
instructions suggest taking things out the night
before you leave so this doesn't happen) and the
owner was able to help us right away. We also
emailed her with a few house-related questions
during the week and she responded quickly. We
have rented a lot of vacation homes and never had
such communication with the owner. The house is
clean, it does indeed have fantastic breezes, the
beds are comfortable, the kitchen is equipped. The
driveway is cartoonishly steep but our rental SUV
had no problem. It was great for kids: there were
plenty of books and toys and beach toys for them
to play with. There was a crib and a high-chair
waiting for us. We walked to town, to the fort, and
to the colmado down the way for ice cream in the
afternoons. There are lots of roosters of course,
starting at 3:30 am. But the upside of getting up at
6 every morning was that we were on the beach
(secret beach was our favorite with little kids: sit
over on the left end so the kids can snorkel in two-
feet deep water) by 8:30 am so our days weren't
too taxing for our sleep-deprived state. Nothing a
medalla couldn't cure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had a great time at Colina de Brisas. The owner is very organized, the property was as described and promised, and the location, view, and house were superb. Two adults and three teenagers were very comfortable, and the house would be comfortable for 6 or 7. Can't say enough good about the house or our vacation here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We had a wonderful experience in Vieques! Colina de Brisas is a great rental spot - it is beautiful, clean, and comfortable. And the view from atop the hill is superb, especially in the morning. All of our interactions with the owner were very pleasant. I can't wait until I have the opportunity to visit again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Colina de Brisas is a very confortable house specially for families with kids. The house have everything to entertain us. Many beach toys, games and books which my 2 year old loved. Playa Caracas(Red Beach) was amazing! Definetely will come back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 4, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We stayed at Colina de Brisas for our 27th anniversary, and couldn't imagine a more inviting, comfortable place to stay. All rooms were spacious and clean. Although there is air conditioning, the evening breezes made it unnecessary. The villa is located on the edge and above the town of Isabelle Segunda, with a wrap around veranda showcasing a glorious view of the fort and the Atlantic Ocean. The feeling is of being above the town, while enjoying the sounds of authentic Vieques drifting up from below. Fabulous. The Bio-Bay is not to be missed, the beaches are breathtaking and wonderfully deserted. Renee, the owner of Colina de Brisas, answered any and all of our questions in preparation for our trip. We fell in love with Vieques and it's people and will definitely return. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Colinda de Brisas. It's always a little uncertain to book and stay at someone's home, but Renee was professional from start to finish. The views from the house were incredible and it had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. I haven't slept that well in years! I would highly recommend this location if you're looking to experience Vieques in an authentic way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The name Colina de Brisas is perfect for this little piece of paradise; every morning at the verandah you will understand the name. The house is HUGE and it has everything you need to spend a great time on the island. The beaches at Vieques are georgeous; our favorite was Blue Beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a lovely stay at Colina de Brisas and on
Vieques. The views from the house are beautiful
and the accommodations very comfortable, as well
as affordable. We enjoyed visiting various different
gorgeous beaches on the island the most. The art
(Latin American painting) exhibit at the Fort was
also quite interesting and educational. We only
wished we could stay longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

the house was very conftable. it had every thing we needed , from beach chairs, neverita, movies, towels,ect.
we had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Truly the pictures do not do Colina de Brisas justice. The beds were comfortable and we immediately felt like we were at home. My husband and I started each day with a cup of coffee while watching hummingbirds in the flowered tree off the porch. We had to contact the Chandlers over some minor questions and they were always very kind. Beaches were great; Red beach has a nice snorkeling area by the rocks and Bio Bay incredible (chose a night with little to no moon, and don't miss the "glitter" on your hands when you scoop up the water). A wonderful place to stay..can't say enough. Would be my first choice, when we return to Vieques.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

What a beautiful place with every thing you need to enjoy your time on this wonderful island. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your home. The view was spectacular and the location makes it easy to visit any part of the island in no time at all. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 30, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Our stay at Colinas de Brisas was great in every way from the breezes and the view from the verandah, to the beautiful, spacious and well equipped home. The owner and property manager were very helpful w/ details for our first visit to Vieques. It was great to have a home right among the people (and roosters, dogs and horses) of Vieques. Everything we needed (and more) was there for the 5 of us to use. The beaches were incredible and the biobay tour was an experience of a lifetime. I can’t imagine we could have picked a better house for our time in Vieques. You won’t be disappointed. I just wish I was there now.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My family of five (one teen, two young adults,and parents)loved our stay at Colina de Brisas during the last week of December/early January. The house is spacious, attractive, well equipped and wonderfully sited on a hill providing fabulous views and breezes. The short walk to town, and the short drive to the grocery store, produce truck, and beaches enhanced the location. We loved all the sounds that emanated from the outside - roosters, tree frogs, birds, etc. The beaches on Vieques do NOT disappoint - great for swimming, taking long walks, picnics, and privacy - even in "peak " season. I would not hesitate to recommend this property and hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Best vacation rental ever. House is very comfortable and accomadating to everybody's needs. Child friendly! Owner and property manager were very helpful in every way possible. Cant wait to go back. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

This house was a perfect selection for my family and our stay in Vieques. The house was very open and extra clean and the view was impressive. We ate breakfast and dinner on the wrap-
around porch. The place gets nice
breezes from the many windows surrounding the house. The owner and the property manager were very helpful. We will return next year to Vieques. We recommend this house a 100%.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We vacationed at the end of May 2007 with our two boys. We had an absolutely fantastic time and cannot wait to visit again for a longer time. The beaches are absolutely breathtaking. Biobay is a must! We even ventured out to black sand beach which unfortunately does not have much "black" sand anymore but still a fun trek through the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 17, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Our family of 4 ,two older children and parents all had a fun week in your house. We found the open floor plan very comfortable and all bedrooms were great. The owner is very organized and all details were thought of. Do not miss the bio bay and do go out in a kayak and swim for a most memorable experience. We also found the island fairly easy to get to. The view from the porch is worth the trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 6, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We are a family of five and had a wonderful vacation at Colina de Brisas. It is nice roomey and well equipped house. The views are beautiful and peaceful. Our teenagers were not distracted by shopping malls and spent time talking, cooking and sunbathing with us. Out 10 year old son loved the horses that came into the back yard. What a wonderful family vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 24, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Exceeded our expectations. Our 2 kids loved all the amenities - the Playstation an added plus. Fabulous views and breezes. The property manager, Annette was a great help and tour guide.
We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 19, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Our family of 5--2 adults and 3 high school aged children--loved the house. The location high on a hill resulted in a constant breeze blowing through the house. The wrap-around porch afforded wonderful views of the Fort and the ocean as well as a place to eat dinner in the evening. It was an easy walk to the Fort and into town for morning pastries.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 26, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Great views, and there is always a wonderful breeze on the verandah. For more views, it's an easy walk to the fort, with a museum and programs. The house had everything we needed: beach towels, grill, cooler, etc. and plenty of information for getting around the island. Very serene and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 23, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

We've been to Vieques many times and stayed at one of the luxury hotel. However, our visit this time and accomodation at Colina De Brisas was the most memorable and amazing vacation we had with our family and friends. The property is very comfortable, has all the amenities you will need if you are looking for a place like home. Our 75 yr old grandma loved the place and would like to stay longer. She enjoyed the scenery and the mango, papaya, banana, guava trees right at the front of the premises. We will definitely come back and stay at Colina De Brisas and will highly recommend. Thanks to the owner, Renee who is very helpfull and accomodating to our needs. Our visit at Vieques was memorable to all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

This house was the perfect fit for my friends'
and my stay in Vieques. The house was very
open and clean and the view was AMAZING.
We enjoyed bbq's while looking over the ocean
and Isabel II, and ate breakfast on the wrap-
around porch. The place gets a lot of light,
but as the name implies, it also gets beautiful
breezes from the many windows surrounding
the house. The owner and the property
manager were very helpful and provided us
with an information packet about Vieques and
the house before we even arrived. I was
originally looking for a place to stay on the
Esperanza side of the Island, but now that I've
been to Vieques I would do everything the
same way again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2006   Date of arrival: April 20, 2006

From our guestbook at the house:

"Thank you for thinking of so many details that made our vacation with friends comfortable. The porch and breezes for meals was spectacular, the bedrooms cozy. Vieques is a very special place! Do not miss the luminescent bio bay! What a magical place! The beaches - spectacular! Snorkeling & scuba diving A+

Enjoy - we'll be back!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2006   Date of arrival: April 20, 2006

From our guestbook at the house:

"We couldn't have asked for a better home away from home for our vacation! the house is wonderfully open and inviting and the view spectacular! Thank you for our welcome pack - it was totally helpful.

Vieques is a magical place - we wish it prosperity & respect!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2006   Date of arrival: April 20, 2006

From our guestbook at the house:

"Hello. Thank you so much for the option of staying at this cozy, yummy house! We loved the veranda and open areas. It is a great location and we enjoyed our stay immensely! The view is wonderful. And it is a terrific setup if you have a little one! It made the trip even better."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2006   Date of arrival: March 29, 2006

From our guestbook at the house:

"What a wonderful vacation home! I have enjoyed not only the island but this special spot, where I could sit on the porch watching the ocean and wake up to the warm breezes. It really was a much needed vacation and I cannot imagine a better spot for this kind of R&R!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2006   Date of arrival: March 29, 2006

From our guestbook at the house:

"Ditto (Anne Pfrimmer's comment) - plus I came here with my 2 year old. It was so well setup for kids - both fun & safe. It was a true vacation for both of us!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2006   Date of arrival: March 21, 2006

From our guestbook at the house:

"Our whole family enjoyed this much needed vacation in this unbelievable spot! From the beaches to Bio Bay, it was a great vacation. Loved being "perched" up here - great view."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2006   Date of arrival: March 17, 2006

We had a wonderful time in your place. Thanks for attending to our needs promptly and with a lot of attention and care.

Sincerely,

Tracy and Nandini

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review