reviews for: listing #198 - Bahamas, Caribbean Villa rental

"On-A-Whymm" - Beachfront Villa with Private Pool and Boat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Whymms - Long Island
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $485 - $65,756 /nt
    $3,400 - $4,600 /wk
    $12,250 - $16,500 /mth

sort by:

Not your typical Caribbean beach house.

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

On-A-Whymm was exactly as described, and the location, and layout were perfect for a relaxing vacation. The property was clean and well maintained and we were greeted with a smile. No detail was overlooked in designing and decorating this home. I especially enjoyed the view from the back porch across the pool with the beautiful blue Caribbean waters as a backdrop. Be sure to check out the local attractions: Cape Santa Maria, Columbus Point, Deans Blue Hole, and stop by the Outer Edge Grill at the Flying Fish Marina. I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect family vacation at 'on-a-whymm'

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My family and I recently stayed 2 weeks at 'on-a-Whymm' and it exceeded expectations in every way. The house/yard/pool/beach were absolutely immaculate and everything was very well maintained. Carol's attention to detail is quite impressive to say the least. Our kids loved the calm, warm waters out front and playing in the pool. The first week we toured all over the beautiful island and enjoyed all the sites and always had good meals at any of the restaurants we tried (Our favorite was lunch and the moonshine bar at Stella Maris so the kids could snorkel and swim at the rock pool while we relaxed at the bar and enjoyed the amazing views). The second week of our vacation we just found the 'on-a-whymm' villa too nice to leave and we mainly just stayed close to home. The private chef meals also come highly recommended.

We used the boat for snorkeling excursions and did lots of fishing. The snorkeling off of the small islands in the bay was fantastic (easily accessible with the boat) and the fishing was great. We caught lots of snapper for the odd meal and the barracuda provided some additional entertainment on light tackle. My son who is 13 also caught a bonefish right out front on the villa on his fly rod. We also seen dolphins one day from the boat as well.

I can't say enough about Long Island - the local people were very friendly and would go out of there way to help. Carol provides recommendations for car rentals, tour guides, groceries, restaurants, beaches, etc. and everything we did based on those recommendations seemed to always exceed our expectations. With my only previous Caribbean experience being from a cruise ship and being hounded at ever port like vultures I can now truly see what the draw to this area is for people wanting a vacation of a lifetime.

I would return with my family and would recommend this rental property to anyone without hesitation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Russell and Kim,

So happy to hear how much you enjoyed Long Island and "On-A-Whymm"! Thanks for sharing your great pictures especially the one of the kids with the mutton snapper your son caught - Priceless! Looking forward to your return! My Best - Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Villa

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

The beautiful villa is just as great as in the pictures!! We had a unforgettable time in the villa, on the boat and on the island. The best beach house we have ever been to!

Owners response: Hello Amelia - so happy that you and yours enjoyed the villa so much and Long Island - it's a very special place to me so it's lovely to be able to share it! Hope to see you back again very soon! My Best - Carol

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

There are really just two words to describe the house and the experience at On-A-Whymm. Just perfect. We travel several times a year all over the world. Although we always try to find the more "out of the way" spots, we still like to be spoiled and have stayed at many of the most luxurious resorts in the world. Staying at On-A-Whymm was like having your own little luxury resort and your home all wrapped up in one. One of our favorite spots is the St. Regis in Punta MIta and as strange as it sounds, we felt like we had our own private St. Regis. The only difference was my husband was the bartender. The feeling I had the first morning waking up and looking out the sliders at the beautiful flowers, the pool and the ocean is indescribable.

The house had every imaginable convenience. It just felt like home. The house was missing nothing. The kitchen was fabulous and we had a wonderful local chef cook for us a night. The kids are still talking about her coconut cake.

Carol was so helpful getting us up to speed on everything before we arrived, so we could just relax and enjoy when we got there.

If you enjoy remote, out of the way spots, you cannot go wrong with On-A-Whymm. With all the places we have travelled it is our new favorite and we hope to be back very soon!

Owners response: Ann-Marie, Jim and Family - really so pleased to hear that all was "JUST PERFECT" - my only regret was that I was traveling and unabe to meet you personally! I so hope you return and we can enjoy a drink on the beach together. Stay in touch! My Best - Carol

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The ultimate beach vacation experience!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We stayed at On-A-Whymm for 2 weeks in July of 2012. After a year that posed many challenges for our family, including a total loss house fire, we were in dire need of a special and relaxing vacation for us to reconnect. Although Carol does not typically welcome young children, after several lovely email exchanges, she felt comfortable opening her home to my husband, myself, our daughter (then age 7) and our son (then age 9). I can honestly say, this was THE BEST family vacation we ever had and will forever be the standard to top. Everything was easy and worry-free from the my first contact with Carol; from the initial planning stages, to making sure the house was well stocked upon arrival, to ensuring we were well aquainted with the island sights and amentities, she made sure every possible detail was covered. This same attention to detail is seen throughout the house, garden, pool and beach area; it is relaxed luxury epitomized. The thing we loved about Long Island is the laid back pace and lack of glitsy tourism; the island has almost a rustic, back in time feel, but On-A-Whymm has every modern amenity you could desire. The vacation was the perfect balance of seclusion and luxury.
As others have noted, if you are looking for a trip with active nightlife, restaurants and shopping, I would be inclined to steer you elsewhere. But, if you are looking for the ultimate, well appointed, enjoy natural island beauty vacation, then this is THE trip to take. We spent hours relaxing on the beach right outside the home, but also explored the island; including the Columbus monument, Santa Maria beach, the Long Island Museum, 2 trips to Dean's Blue Hole and I think every little small beach we could find on the island. Many are totally off the map and we were often the only people there! Where else can you experience that! Amazing! And don't forget to stop for conch salad at Max's after a long day of beach combing. A must! The shell hunting in general was the best I have ever encountered; we came home with a collection second to none! We had Ursula cook an amazing dinner for us one evening; an experience in Bahamian culture and food and a glimpse of gastro-heaven. I would highly recommend! We also scheduled a fishing/lobster spearing/conch trip with her husband, Ken, which was incredible! We came back with more fresh fish, conch and lobster than we could eat! If you decide to visit On-A-Whymm, your only regret will be that you have to leave. Thanks, Carol!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Emilie and John - it was such a pleasure helping you plan your trip and even more fun meeting you and your family. Great to hear how much you enjoyed it here and found Long Island to be so special. Hope all is well with the new house and that you return here very soon! My Best - Carol ps. - I think of you both at every Patriots game!! Next season will be here soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation in a perfect paradise!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

Paradise with all luxurious amenities! We stayed at the On-A-Whymm for two weeks during the Christmas time 2011 and we loved every moment of it, except the return to home… On-A-Whymm offered us everything and much more we had hoped for. The house is magnificent! It has carefully planned floor plan with beautiful décor and upscale amenities. Bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and well ironed linens, bathrooms are beautiful with lovely outdoor showers, kitchen is great and stocked with all utensils you can think of, dining and living room offers you a great space for entertaining. Even though, the house is so amazing we cannot forget the landscaping and the pool area with the fabulous view to the sea. It was delightful to wake up every morning and have breakfast on the porch while watching the palm trees, white beach and turquoise water in front of you - you just knew you had another great and relaxing day in paradise ahead of you. Quite a few evenings we finished watching the beautiful sunset while enjoying the freshly caught Snappers, which my husband, son and father in law just brought home after taking the boat out to the sea.

The boat, which belongs to the house, offered us some exciting outings. The fishing was #1, but we also got lucky to see two playful dolphins give us a private show. And not to forget the amount of big and small starfishes and an octopus we saw.

The location of the house is great in the mid island. We explored the north and the south. The most memorable excursions we made include the fascinating Dean’s Blue Hole and the Columbus Monument with its surrounding white beaches. Both places left unforgettable memories!

A beautiful house doesn’t happen on it’s own! We had the great pleasure to meet the owner, Carol and her two lovely boys, Nikko & Sketch. Carol is an amazing person who made everything possible during our two weeks in her paradise. She always knew which strings to pull to solve our questions.

Thank you Carol, Nikko and Sketch for a great vacation in the beautiful paradise!!!! We will be back, hopefully sooner than later!

Take care,
Suvi & co

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a gem!!!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

What a gem!!!!

The pictures we saw online made this home look gorgeous and upscale and we were excited as we drove from the airport to the home on the first day...
We were elated when we arrived and found that the home not only lived up to the online pictures but it exceeded our expectations with gorgeous appointments, a fully decked out kitchen and wonderful high-end finishes at every turn.

This is a wonderful property and it has everything you'll need for a great Long Island vacation. Since Long Island doesn't have many great restaurant options (Max's Conch Bar is a must though!), cooking in is the best bet and this house makes cooking a breeze with top of the line appliances and pretty china and all the kitchen utensils you'll ever need

The beds are made with fine linens and the outdoor showers are delightful. The pool is perfect to cool off in and the pristine beach is so private, we never saw another soul except Carol's adorable puppies Niko and Sketch (our new friends)

My husband and I are planning to return to this home and hopefully book it and the one next door that Carol also owns next year. We're thinking a family vacation will be fun with our parents and a sibling or two...if only we can make it that long before needing to return...this place is terrific!

We visited the Cape Santa Maria resort and loved the beach there (it's a show stopper) but we felt that the accommodations and food options couldn't hold a candle to Carol's place. We also visited the Stella Maris resort and loved the natural stone beach pool and the cute beach side grill but again the accommodations weren't even close to Carol's.

If you take this vacation be sure to check out the Columbus Memorial and the beach just below - what a special spot! And don't neglect to kayak or boat out to the island near Carol's beach where there's a cave you can swim up to and explore. The snorkeling and fishing off Carol's beach with the included boat made our trip so memorable! We fished and ate what we caught...what a treat!

Thanks Carol for creating such a well designed and beautiful property. And thanks for allowing us to experience this little niche of paradise!!!

Best Regards,

Rachel and Rob Alday
Park City, UT

Owners response: Rachel and Rob - so glad you had such a great time and enjoyed "On-A-Whymm" and visiting Long Island. Let's plan that family trip with the side by side villas soon! We look forward to seeing you soon along with the newest member of your family!
All the best - Carol (and Sketch & Nikko too!)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect getaway

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

The house and grounds are absolutely beautiful, everything was perfectly thought out and arranged making for an extremely comfortable and relaxing vacation. And Carol's help with the transportation and car rental and provisioning were most appreciated. We explored all of Long Island from one end to the other and found some of the most beautiful and private places we've ever been to. We had some great lunches at Max's Conch Bar(cracked conch, conch salad and breadfruit chips, yum) and at Forest's new location just south of Max's (grouper sandwich and conch sandwich). We mainly cooked dinner at the house, the kitchen is spectacular. I would love to return to On a Whymm, and would recommend it to friends and family, everyone I've told about our trip has been extremely envious. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeds all Expectations

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We’ve been renting Out Island vacation homes since 2001. On-a-Whymm has set a new standard for us. Everything about this home is designed to assure a wonderful experience. From the location to the construction to the kitchen utensils – all the way down to the remote control that drives the entertainment system – every detail is spot-on.
On the last day of our great week on Long Island, we walked around the house taking photos. Every conceivable angle in every location, inside and out, looks like something from a “this is how I’d want my island home to look” magazine layout. It’s upscale without being uptight.

So many times we’ve felt like vacation rentals have been cobbled together from leftovers and remnants – fine if you’re the homeowner who gets to visit four or five times a year, but a real disappointment for our once-a-year vacation. Not so with On-a-Whymm. It’s all very intentional, better than it really has to be. If you can imagine something to make your stay more pleasant, it’s already been done – well. And the net result is a wonderful experience – a getaway that lets you pamper yourself while still experiencing an authentic Out Island environment. Long Island is beautiful, the people are friendly and hospitable, and On-a-Whymm is literally the perfect place to vacation.

We were met at the airport and driven to the house where the fridge was stocked just as we’d ordered, our rental car was waiting, and someone was there within minutes to show us around. For the rest of the week, answers and advice were only a phone call away. Need some fresh grouper or lobster? Looking for someone to make a great guava duff island dessert? Want to take a boat tour of the most amazing lagoon in the Bahamas? No problem. It was really that easy.

Whether you're looking for an all-out adventure launching point or just want to plop yourself on a beach chair for the week, Long Island is a great destination and On-a-Whymm is a great vacation rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing In Every Way Imaginable

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We've rented dozens of vacation homes all over the U.S. and Caribbean. This is one of the best we've ever stayed at. When waking up in the morning in the master suite, you turn your head to look out the double french doors and what you see is the quintessential Caribbean scene. Perfect beyond words - the palm trees, the calm turquoise water, the sky.

No detail has been left out. The decor, appliances - everything - is very high quality. It doesn't feel like a "rental" at all. Luxury defines the feel. The en suite baths are well appointed. The kitchen is equipped to satisfy the most avid cook. Everything was impeccably clean upon arrival.

This home is on the Caribbean side with calm, warm water. The beach is perfect with a beautiful sandy bottom as you walk into the water. The water stays shallow for quite a distance - making it friendly for younger children.

The experience wouldn't have been complete with out dining at Chez Pierre. (pronounced "shay") We went for dinner and had to go back for breakfast. Don't miss!!!

We can't wait to go back and would highly recommend this property and location!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was such a pleasure meeting you and your family. We (Sketch and Nikko and I) are delighted you had such a nice time and we can't wait to have you back!! My Best - Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Long Island On A Whymm

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

Long Island offers stunning panoramic ocean views with long stretches of white sandy beaches that live up to its billing as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is isolated and the few inhabitants in the remote villages are friendly and courteous, making it a perfect place to get away to relax and enjoy.

On A Whymm is simply wonderful, even better than the raving reviews and spectacular photos!

The calm Caribbean Ocean and white sand beach are picture perfect - great for wading, walking, fishing, snorkeling, boating, kayaking or just relaxing and enjoying the serene beauty. When the tide goes out, numerous starfish can be observed in the shallow flats.

Carol's designer home has every possible amenity and yet is extremely comfortable to live in. We cannot imagine a more beautiful setting to create lots of great memories with family/friends.

In addition to the beautiful home, Carol provided excellent recommendations to enhance our short one week stay.

We immensely enjoyed Urshula, an amazing native cook - she arrives at the house, prepares an incredible fresh seafood meal, and leaves the kitchen cleaner than when she arrived, all while providing insight into Long Island's history and highlights. Urshula's cooking surely rivals most upscale seafood restaurants.

Charter with Captain Delbert Smith and you will not regret it. He does it all - scuba (day and night), snorkel, all sorts of fishing, including bone fishing and deep reef fishing. He took us under his wing and went above and beyond to ensure safety and unforgettable experiences. He is a great person, reliable and experienced. We thoroughly enjoyed our outings with him.

And Dean’s Blue Hole is touted as one of the deepest recorded blue holes in the world is a diving/snorkeling experience.

Also, in all of our travels, we have yet to find kinder people than those who call Long Island their home.

Our Long Island get-away was an amazing trip. Thanks Carol for sharing your beautiful oceanfront Long Island home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

On a Whymm

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

This is an amazing getaway! We stayed at the property for a week during Feb. of 2011. The house is immaculate and in a great location. The beach in front of the house is incredible. We went for long walks on the beach each day and walked for hours and rarely saw another person.

We really enjoyed the use of the boat which is positioned right off shore in front of the house. The water was warm and clear and the weather could not have been better.

It was a very cool experience to be on a small island that is very sparsely populated, and yet have all the luxuries of home in the house. It has everything you would want. We cooked in the kitchen or on the BBQ by the pool each day. There are three bedrooms and all the furnishings are top shelf.

Carol was a great hostess. When we arrived, the fridge and cupboards were stocked with all the food items we had requested. We had a few challenges with the WiFi Internet Access the first day, but Carol was great and had it solved for us quickly.

Overall, for us, the house and location were a 10 out of 10. It was just what we were looking for. If you are looking for a hotspot with night clubs, shopping and restaurants, this is not the place.

But if you want a beautiful home, right on the beach with access to great fishing and privacy. I can't recommend On a Whymm highly enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Chris - so glad that you and Trina and the kids enjoyed your stay so much - it was just too short!!!. You seemed a great fit for our sleepy little island and we hope to see you back here very soon! My Best - Carol

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a Gem!

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

The attention to detail, the absolutely beautiful design, the level of comfort, the view, the peace. It's a gift to all of us that this beautiful property exists in Whymms, which is so beautiful and peaceful. We were frankly surprised by the architecture and furnishings, as we'd never seen anything at that level in the Bahamas, and certainly not on Long Island. The private beach and pool were as if we were living in a travel magazine. I kept marveling at the color of the water and the beauty of the horizon.

The bed was so comfortable, with Frette sheets and the softest towels ever. I wish my kitchen at home was anywhere near as beautiful and functional as the one in the house. The eye for color and style that the designer demonstrates is luscious. I would get lost just looking around at the interiors.

We thought we would try many different islands for vacations, but now we've been returning the house again and again. Nothing could be finer or more relaxing for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for your lovely words Tom - Can't wait to see you back here in March! You'll love the new porch and patio furniture! We may have to have a brass plaque made for you for one of the chaises - or should that go on the beach float!!!! - My Best, Carol

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

On a Whymm is superior

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We have visited all but 2 off the major islands in the Bahamas, staying in houses, resorts, and on boats. In 25 years of enjoying these islands, our recent trip to Long Island (we have visited the island 10 times prior) was on an entirely different level thanks to the amazing accomodations at On a Whymm.

The house was beautifully appointed and reminded us of a combination of the best of Bermuda and St. Barths. The chef-level kitchen was stocked with every possible tool, the appliances started at Sub Zero and worked up. The beds, furniture, AV System, were unbelievable. The location of the house is near all of the island's activities, and the nearby market, fish store and restaurants made day to day living easier than our home in Georgetown. The owner could not have been more helpful, and the islanders were over-the -top with providing any services from cars to cooking dinners. We will be back again, and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so pleased you enjoyed "On-A-Whymm" so much and even more delighted to have met you. I truly hope you come back again and again. Don't work too hard up in DC before you get back here! My Best - Carol, (Sketch and Nikko!)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Beyond Expectations

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

I had a phenomenal time at On-A-Whymm! What a beautiful home and beautiful location. The house was luxurious, immaculately clean, and had everything I needed. The landscaping is gorgeous and I loved spending time outside on the deck, patio, or beach. I think my favorite part of my vacation was waking up on the beach and drinking coffee with my feet in the sand. I also spent many relaxing hours on the floating chaise lounges. Long Island is a fun island because it isn't overcrowded with tourists. Carol recommended great places to explore on the island. We explored a couple other beautiful beaches, Max's Conch Bar, and the Blue Hole. She arranged transportation to and from the airport and even put together a day out to snorkal. I would definitely recommend this accomodation and hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nellie - so nice to hear from you! Please do come back soon - this time we will send you out on a fishing charter! My best - Carol

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Felt Like Royalty

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

Where do I begin.....there is so much about this property that is WOW- that stands for W-onderfully appointed and maintained, O-utstanding comfort, W-orry-free no hassle assistance to our desires!
We were met at the airport by a friendly driver who took our bags to the front door of 'On a Whymm'(where our parked rental car awaited us). The view is INCREDIBLE when you open the front door, to look every window of the back of the house onto the patio, pool and beyond the palms and the calm Gulf waters! I was there in winter and summer and it is equally beautiful.
The kitchen has everything you would need, or arrange to have meals prepared by the owners great chef. One evening after a long day on the beach, she prepared us delicious local cuisine!
Not only are the beds SO comfortable but sleeping in a bed with the the water's edge 100 yards away is naturally soporific.
The water is delicious and the pressure is incredible!
You would not be disappointed rain or shine. I almost don't want to comment because our time at 'On a Whymm' was so magical I want to keep it our secret, but that would not be fair to the owner as this property is meant to be discovered by more people who are looking for that out-of-the-ordinary-vacation. This is a true getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments about "On-A-Whymm" - we are delighted when our guests not only enjoy themselves so much - but tell others. Just give us a call when you can get back again and we'll roll out the red carpet - or the plush terry beach towels as the case may be! Wait until you see all the new outdoor teak and comfy cushions we added this year. -Cheers!!!! - Carol

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

In March our family of 7 stayed at Out on a Whymm for a week... what we were looking for was relaxation, beautiful views and a forever memory... and that is exactly what we got!!! It truly was a a unique experience from the small airplane over to the wonderful Bahamian people to Deans Blue Hole! I think we all would agree we had a fabulous time and would recommend it to anyone! The accommidations were fabulous and as beautiful as the pictures look they still don't do them justice. The interior decorating, landscaping, and views were breathtaking. Out on a Whymm gets a 10!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Our family of 7 stayed at 'The Lodge' in the Whymms... it was the idea of paradise! We did not have to wake up at 7 am to reserve beach chairs, we did not have loud music we didn't want to listen to, or people running by kicking sand in your face. What we had was our own private beach with comfortable chairs, the decision to listen to the amazing sound system (option to play on inside, on the deck or even on the beach from an ipod, television, etc) if we wanted to, and the only people that were nagging us on the beach were eachother (haha, only kidding)! As for the accomidations, they were immaculate! Beautiful interior and exterior design and as clean as a whistle!!! As for the island itself- REMOTE AND QUIET! If you are looking for fine dining or sportsbars, this is not the place for you; although I will say, it's all what you make it! Be sure to check out the Blue Hole... breath taking!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Couldn't be better!

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2008

Still basking in the afterglow of having returned from a wonderful two weeks in Long Island. On-A-Whymm served as a perfect home away from home for us. The residence itself is beautiful, with every amenity you'd ever want. Carol, the homeowner, made sure all our needs were met, including a stocked fridge, complete with a birthday cake and candles for one of our daughters.

Can't say enough positive things about the island. It's beautiful, with true Bahamian unspoiled character. Every off-the-main-road turn holds an adventure. Friendly native people. Fabulous assortment of beaches: some with white, powdery sand; some with terrific snorkeling; some with fabulous beach finds of sea glass, shells, sea beans, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review