reviews for: listing #19809 - St Simon's Island, Georgia Cottage rental

Four Oaks Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Near Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $350 /nt
    $750 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,650 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Family of Four + Dog

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We loved the location (3 minute walk to the beach)
and the house was quaint and comfortable. We'd never been to
St. Simons before and the house was perfect for a relaxing getaway.
We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Return visitor

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This was our third time at Four Oaks Cottage, but our first stay for a whole month. This comfortable cottage is exactly as described, and is in a quiet neighbourhood within easy walking distance of stores, parks and the beach. St. Simon's is a wonderful place to stay for couples or families with lots of interesting sights within driving distance, including several offshore islands, the Okefenokee Swamp, Savannah and north Florida.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you John. So happy you'll be returning again in 2014!! Four Oaks Cottage IS your home away from home.
Debbie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Convenient location close to the Village

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This cottage is close to The Village and Pier and plenty of Restaurants! It is located in a very quiet neighborhood with lots of beautiful Trees just one block from the Ocean. The home has 2 very large bedrooms and 1 large bathroom. The kitchen has been updated and has plenty of work space and is fully furnished. We felt like the price was very reasonable. The owner was very accommodating for our last minute request to rent from her.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great SSI Vacation Cottage

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Cute cottage in beautiful setting. Very close to beach and easy walk to Village and shopping/restaurants. Great golf nearby as well as fishing at Village pier. Easy drive to either Jacksonville or Savannah. Very friendly neighborhood and good area to walk in. Owner easy to work with and could not be any nicer. our second visit there and we plan to come back regularly.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much John and Stephanie. So happy you'll be returning in 2014! Your home away from home!:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute cottage

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

This cozy cottage has it all. Near the village and the beach. Sunrise on the beach was amazing! Restaurants and shopping are all within a short distance and some are within a 10 minute walk. Don't forget to climb the lighthouse for an unforgettable view. Cottage has everything needed for a quick getaway or an extended stay. Will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Classic cottage. Awesome location!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation in quaint St. Simons. Four Oaks cottage was a perfect place for us to feel right at home for the week. It has a great layout and our 5 year old loved the bunk beds! A great rental and our little dog loved it too! We walked to the beach everyday and the village is within walking distance too. It was quiet, clean and a great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Beach Cottage

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

The location and ambiance of Four Oaks were ideal for our vacation for our family of four women. The photos show how appealing each room is. What they can't show is how warm & cozy it is as a whole, and how well the floor plan facilitates both togetherness &/or privacy depending on how it is used.

We would definitely recommend this also for the ease of working with the owner and for the excellent condition she maintains it in.

As for St. Simons itself, we particularly enjoyed the Nautical and the Lighthouse Museums, and the local pet ferret who gets walked downtown on a leash once a day by his owner.

We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Beautiful and relaxing place

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

The cottage is an ideal getaway to the St. Simons and Golden Isles area. Easy walking distance to reataurants, beach and "The Village" area and in scenic little area to walk in. Very neat and clean with all necessary amenities and comfortable furnishings.Wonderful, easy to work with owner. Close enough to visit Jacksonville or Savannah also. Plan to return often in winter months!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Wish this was Home

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Comfortable and relaxing true beach cottage. A short walk to my favorite beach on St. Simons and less than a mile to the Village, we walked to dinner via the beach at low tide and back to the cottage under the oaks on Ocean Boulevard. The rental process is simple and the cottage is perfect for a low key couples vacation. Highly recommend breakfast at Mallery Street Cafe and sunset at the pier - it is becoming as famous as the Key West sunset! We'll be returning to Four Oaks Cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Charming and authentic

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Four oaks is a charming get away full of authenticity and real beach cottage feel. Our family of four had plenty of room for relaxing and sleeping as well as nice family meals around the big table. The kitchen is very well equipped and we felt at home right away. We were just a short stroll to the beach and the village. We would absolutely rent again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cute, comfortable and cozy

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Spent the month of January 2012 at Four Oaks Cottage. We spent a long weekend there last year and loved it so much we went back for the month. We loved the cottage feel to it immediately. Hardwood floors, lots of windows added to the ambiance. Cottage was only a block and a half from ocean, we enjoyed walking the beach and the great neighborhood. It was a great change from the snow in New York state! Kitchen was well stocked (I love to cook), lots of books to read on the shelves. Owner was very nice.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 9

 

A Perfect Island Cottage

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

My cousin, who lives in Canton GA, introduced me to Saint Simon's last spring I was so taken by the Island that I convinced my husband that we should take a break from the long Massachusetts winter and plan a getaway for this spring. So we rented 4 Oaks Cottage. It was even more charming than the photos. We lacked for nothing. Within a few hours, it felt like home. There were so many little touches that made it unique....a shell collection and a book about shells, decorative birdhouses over the kitchen cupboards, wicker furniture. My husband declared it "The best house we have ever rented." We spent our late afternoons in the adirondak chairs out front under the oaks. A great way to end a lazy day on the beach. We rented bikes for the week and rode them into the village for breakfast and dinner, but the cottage is so conveniently located that we could have walked to town too. And the beach was just one street over. We spent most of our time on the beach or bike riding. My husband golfed at Sea Pines, and also enjoyed fishing from the pier while I browsed all the wonderful shops in the village. Christ Church and Fort Frederica should not be missed. One day we drove to Jeckyll Island to see Driftwood Beach....a must see. As far as food goes, we would recommend Crab Daddy's, Iguanas and the she crab soup at Barbara Jeans The breakfast buffet at Sand Castles is excellent, too. If you get a chance, get some native shrimp and boil them up. So good! We would definitely recommend 4 Oaks to our friends....even though it's tempting to keep this little treasure to ourselves. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May 31 - June 4, 2011

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

"We came down from Atlanta/Macon with our new 8 week old granddaughter, June Elizabeth, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your wonderful little cottage! The weather was wonderful and the water was gorgeous. This is truly a "special place" for family and friends. Will recommend your house to family and friends."
Mark and Beth
Matt and Erin
"June Bug"

Helpful votes: 1 / 10

 

Keep Looking

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

This cottage was conveniently located near the beach and village. However, it took lots of elbow grease and cleaning supplies to bring this rental up to a comfortable standard. Four Oaks cottage was not only very dirty (with lots of long black dog hair everywhere), but after a few days there, we noticed squirrel noises (we think they were squirrels) in the attic. Before our arrival on Feb. 1, 2012, we paid in full for 6 weeks, but we left after 4 1/2 . Originally the owner was nice to deal with , but tried to defend her cleaning ladies feelings when we complained about the condition we found the cottage in. Although we were told that someone had been contacted to remove the attic rodents, the nightly noises persisted. To date, we have been waiting for nearly 1 month and the owner has still not forwarded our damage deposit refund ( even though we reminded her via email). There are lots of beautiful rental properties on St. Simon Island, but this is not one of them.

Owners response: OK folks. I hope you DO keep looking...at my other reviews that is, and that you will find this one to be very much an outlyer. Unfortunately, these guests from Canada turned out to be particularly unreasonable. For one thing, they waited a full 2 weeks before bringing any issue whatsoever to my attention. Once, they did send an email fourteen days into their stay, I immediately sent someone over to check on squirrels in the attic and discussed their other issues with my housekeeper. She went to the house and they wouldn't let her do anything or see anything. She had thoroughly cleaned the house, although she only had 3 hours between guests, so we think they probably found some dog hair she missed, likely under the sofa. Prior to their arrival, I had made the mistake of making an exception to my policy of only allowing small, nonshedding dogs. Therefore, the prior month of January, the guests had a large German Shepherd. Although I offered the guests who wrote this review several hundred dollars to compensate, they turned me down. Apparently they just wanted to be spiteful. I have had numerous guests return time and again. In fact, this issue has prompted me to solicit some reviews - 99.5% of my guests have been very satisfied. I receive the nicest emails and my guest book at the cottage is filled with wonderful, positive comments. So stayed tuned for more reviews in the works. Regarding damage deposits, my policy is to hold the $100-$200 check(uncashed)until after departure and if there are no damages, I just shred or return the check uncashed. It is very rare I have to retain any portion of the deposit check since my guests have taken very good care of my cottage. In this case, I had just started a new job at the same time they departed, and since they had not sent a personal check, but an international money order, I was having a tough time finding the time to get to the bank and get a cashier's check for their refund and then go to the post office for international mailing. But I have learned my lesson not to proscrastinate even when I am of the impression it is not urgent for the guest. Thank you in advance, for keeping an open mind and giving Four Oaks Cottage a chance.

Helpful votes: 27 / 28

 

Location! Location! Charming Cottage

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

My husband and I spent our anniversary week at the Four Oaks Cottage and it couldn't have been more relaxing and perfect! Close proximity to all the good restaurants, village shopping, and OCEAN! We walked 1- 1/2 blocks to Ocean Lodge Inn for a rooftop, ocean view, glass of wine during a full moon. So convenient. The house has a terrific floor plan and is the epitome of beach cottage decor. We hope to come again and enjoy this home and it's perfect location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 

Cute & Cozy

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

A cute cozy cottage, Very quiet and relaxing. Owner made sure everything was right. Close to everything but afforded the privacy for a nice relaxing weekend. Not on Ocean Blvd which was great. Easy for Bike riding and close enough to walk to the beach. We will be back. Looking forward to the New room being added.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 7

 

Very good location, very good owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We would highly recommend the location and the owner. We would seek to stay here again should our travels bring us to this part of the world. Thank you Debbie and Fran for a fine stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 12

 

Comfortable cottage with lots of charm

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at Four Oaks Cottage. The cottage is spacious and clean and and sits in a very quiet neighborhood. Only a short walk to the beach and close to the pier/lighthouse and shops. Debbie was very responsive to questions I had regarding booking our trip to St. Simons.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

"It was such a pleasure to spend our month's vacation at Four Oaks Cottage.
This spacious cottage is nestled in a quiet residential area is within 2 very short blocks of the ocean and a easy stroll to the charming village. The house is well equipped and the owner was truly interested in our comfort and satisfaction. The island itself has SO much to offer with broad beaches, amazing restaurants, unique shops, a wide choice of golf courses and wealth of history to investigate. With it's charming feeling of "Coastal Living," Four Oaks Cottage is the perfect spot from which to enjoy a delightful holiday on beautiful St. Simons Island."

Helpful votes: 10 / 20

 

Great location, comfy cottage!

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

Our family had a lovely week at St. Simons and enjoyed staying at this cottage very much. Owner very responsive to needs. Great size for our family (2 adults, one child) -- close to beach and village. We rode our bikes but could also walk, esp. to small public access beach just 5 min away. Quiet neighborhood, too. Definitely recommend Four Oaks to couples/small families! Thanks Debbie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

Deborah said she and her family had a great time. She likes antiques and loved the vintage furnishings in the cottage.

Helpful votes: 1 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review