reviews for: listing #19819 - San Juan Islands, Washington House rental

Pinecone Cabin on Orcas Island
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,475 - $1,990 /wk

sort by:

TERRIFIC

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

We have stayed at several VRBO rentals and this one is one of the best. Location, ambiance, amenities, you name it and it couldn't be better.
The owners have thought of everything. Even two bottles of complimentary wine as a welcome. We were three generations of family and everyone had an extraordinary time. The view is wonderful.
Our grandson-in-law discovered he had lost his wedding ring after we left and it took only a phone call for the cleaners to find it and arrange for it's return. You can't beat that. We would return in a heartbeat. Our thanks to all, the rental agents, the owners, and cleaning personnel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to have you stay at Pinecone Cabin. It's always rewarding to us to bring extended families together to share the beauty of Orcas Island. We hope you will return soon. The eagle and whales are waiting for you! K&K

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2 sisters and a niece

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

This house exceeded our expectations. Besides having everything you'd need at your fingertips, the furnishings were very comfortable and the bedrooms quite spacious. Our favorite feature was the view and feeling of seclusion. Because of the way the property is situated, you feel like you're the only house on the island. The view was outstanding. Even if weather prevented outdoor activities for a day, it would be no hardship to stay in and enjoy yourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being such conscientious guests and taking good care of the house. We appreciate your kind words and are glad you found everything to your liking. Come back anytime! Karen and Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Music week and rehearsal retreat for quintet

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

Orcas Island was the music education destination for the WindSync Quintet, a group of five virtuoso players, based in Houston, who specialize in creative, engaging, and interactive concerts. As guests of the Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival (OICMF) WindSync needed a very special place to stay to allow for both music education outreach on the island as well as focused rehearsal time to prepare for upcoming performances in their northwest tour. Pine Cone Cabin was the perfect island accommodation providing both individual privacy and several "commons" spaces to work together. Plus...the view, the hot tub, ease of access to Eastsound Village - it all worked wonderfully for our guest musicians. OICMF would highly recommend Pine Cone Cabin for similar small work/team group sessions. Thank you K&K for your warm welcome.


based in Houston

Owners response: Hi OICMF and WindSync,
Thanks for the lovely feedback. We were quite honored to be home base to the quintet and are gratified that it served them well. We enjoyed their public performances and hope they will return to Orcas soon. Best of luck also to the 2014 Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival. K&K

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had an amazing time

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

I planned a surprise farewell for my girlfriend at the island. She was leaving Seattle and Orcas was on her bucket list of places to visit. This cabin was just the perfect place to be. The fireplace, hot tub and the VHS tapes were the highlight of our stay! The cabin is well equipped so you don't have to bring a lot of stuff with you. We were a group of 8 and had an amazing time over there. The owners are quite friendly and accommodating. I'll definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write. We're very pleased you chose our home for your special farewell gathering. Come see us again under happier circumstances! K&K

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Senior Perspective

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

We (3 senior couples who travel together each year) just returned from spending a week in The Pine Cone Cabin. After reading all of the 5 star reviews (with which I thoroughly agree), I wasn't going to write anything. What more is there to say? Then I decided to let the reader know that as of August 25, 2013, the charming "cabin", helpful hosts, spectacular view, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, hiking trails through the forest, friendly Eastsound Village, and peace and quiet are still there.

If you want to enjoy a piece of paradise on pastoral Orcas Island viewing sparkling Puget Sound and distant mountain ranges , rent this "cabin"

Owners response: Hello - we're glad you decided to echo the sentiments of those who stayed before you! The more the merrier. It makes us proud and happy to share Pinecone Cabin with others. They way you write "cabin" tickles us, as it really is far from a small cabin, isn't it? At about 2200 square feet, everyone has their own bedroom and generous bathroom space, but the views are big enough for many! K&K

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It's everything it says!!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The house is fantastic and the view is to die for. Sometimes you don't know what you're getting from pictures, but the pictures tell the "real" story. Plenty of room for our group of 7, each with own private bedroom and bathroom. The property is immaculate and very nicely maintained. Although some may be discouraged from the "lists" of things of do's and don'ts, that's how the property is staying in pristine condition. We saw eagles and baby eagles, seals, and a whale "blow hole" sighting. There is so much to do on Orcas: we headed out everyday for a new destination in the 6 days we were there. The only "downer" is you have to take out your garbage, or pay to have it removed. Never had that at a VRBO in all the years we have been renting. But don't let that dissuade you - this is a FANTASTIC house!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We take pride in our home and try to keep it like new year after year.
Thanks for noticing our efforts. We are glad you saw lots of wildlife and had a good stay! Come again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect spot for our wedding week

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Pine Cone Cabin was the perfect spot for our Wisconsin group to stay for our daughter's wedding on Orcas. With 4 bedrooms and a bunk room, we had room for all. All the comforts of home: a well supplied kitchen, lots of spices and supplies, games, books, irons and ironing boards, blow dryers in all the bathrooms, 2 washers and dryers, and to top it all off wireless Internet access. We felt right at home as spent the week finalizing the wedding. It sure was nice to relax in the hot tub at the end of the night. Enjoyed the daily sightings of the eagle, otters, and even saw a whale pass by.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Being from the midwest ourselves, it's a treat to welcome you. Glad you had a good week, family gathering and wedding! Thank you. Ken and Karen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We ranged from 8 years to 70 with 4 scattered in the middle. Everyone had a glorious time. For those hikers, kayakers and zip-liners there was plenty to do. Others helped the economy in the many interesting shops of East Sound. The views were incredible, the accommodations spacious and well appointed. Ample space for all of us. We loved the private beach with otter and the daily bald eagle flyby. We loved the unspoiled nature all around us and the creature comforts that abounded. There were things left for our use that really helped (spices, etc.) Our July weather was fabulous. We were not able to get an internet hook-up but perhaps that will change. Great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The weather has been lovely, though we could use some rain. Glad it didn't happen for your vacation though! The internet was out intermittently county-wide and it created problems in many modems. It is repaired now! Come back again! K&K

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We have rented from VRBO many times and never been disappointed. This was true of our Orcas Island experience. The property was as described. It is off the beaten path and although we had planned an adventure or two off the island, we ended up never leaving. The town is charming, the people friendly and helpful with a great focus on use of local products. We especially loved "The Kitchen". In regards to the house, my only suggestion is to place a shoe rack or even a bookcase close to the door so there is a place to put your shoes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, How wonderful that you felt Orcas was "substantial" enough that you didn't need to travel elsewhere! We do have a shoe tray inside the door, but we will consider your suggestion for a shoe rack/tree. We hope you will return and make Pinecone Cabin your home base again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family House in a Great Location

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Pinecone cabin was an ideal and very spacious getaway for my family of five. The location was quiet with awesome ocean views. The hot tub was an delightful bonus The listing was very accurate and the property was clean and well-maintained with an ample supply of little extras like binoculars, books and board games that helped keep everyone amused. Karen was prompt and thorough in her responses to all my questions. Our experience at Pinecone cabin and on Orcas Island was well worth the long haul from Albuquerque New Mexico!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, I don't think we've ever had guests from NM before. Thanks for choosing our home for your Orcas visit. We hope you can escape the heat and come see us again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we needed!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Our family of 4 (Two children ages 4 and 2) wanted a getaway from Montana mudseason. We packed up the car and made our way to Orcas. We were so happy to spend 7 nights at the PineCone Cabin. From the beginning, the process of renting from Ken and Karen was smooth. We felt so at home and so relaxed the entire time. No exaggeration, while at the house the only sounds we heard were the ocean waves, eagles soaring, hummingbirds buzzing, seagulls calling, and other natural, peaceful sounds. We were in heaven. The kids explored the beach at various times each day and loved discovering shells and huge purple and orange starfish at low tide. We saw porpoise and seals and watched the resident eagles coming and going from their beautiful nest up the road. Even though it was chilly, we slept with the window open and relaxed to the sound of the ocean.
The house had everything we needed... everything. It was so convenient-especially with kids.
The location of the house was perfect for our family. We rode bikes, took walks from the house and loved every minute of it... Getting to town for coffee shops, the bookstore, library, stores, and restaurants was so easy!
This is not to be missed. A wonderful time!
Thank you Ken and Karen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Most of your week was showery, but it was really great to wave as we saw you bicycling, walking, etc. We always have said, vacations are what you make of them. We knew you were doing just that. It was nice that you took the time to come see us during your vacation to comment on the house and the fun you were having. Sometimes, when we are having to work...we can "vacation" vicariously by knowing our guests are having a good time! Thanks for writing and staying with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful views and cozy rooms

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

my family loved spending easter weekend at this beautiful home. I couldn't believe that this home had everything I needed for my young family- high chair, pac-n-play, bunk bed- the owner has thought of everything. the hot tub and beach are the icing on the cake.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking good care of our home during your stay.
We are pleased it fit your needs and hope that you will see us again next year! K&K

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfort, beauty and family friendly

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

This beautiful waterfront home is simply the best equipped rental we have ever seen. Absolutely everything needed for a 3 generation vacation is provided, from the baby high chair, dishes and bedding, to the comfy rocker, slippers and luxury king bed for Gramma & Grampa. The place was spotlessly clean, the view just breathtaking. Thanks for a grand time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for taking time to share your experience with us. We want you to be comfortable and appreciate knowing we have succeeded.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

c-city runners weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Orcas Pinecone Cabin provided a lovely homebase for a group of friends looking to enjoy a weekend getaway. We traveled to the island to participate in the Orcas Island 25K trail race. The cabin was well situated on a quiet road between the town of Eastsound and Moran State Park. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a beautiful view and two complementary bottles of wine. The home was well appointed, clean and comfortable with plenty of space for everyone to relax. We enjoyed the hot tub, exploring the beach and sightseeing around the island. Thank you for helping to make our trip one we will remember fondly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Your group might be the first group of runners we've ever had stay with us! Thanks for considering us as your home base and we hope the hot tub soothed your tired muscles after such a long run. Thank you, K&K

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

My family's Christmas present to each other--3 beautiful nights on Orcas together. The house is lovely and in impeccable condition. Every time we needed something we turned around and there it was. Felt like a secluded hideaway even though it was just a few minutes away from town. The kids loved the "games cupboard" and we loved the amazing views from the upstairs master suites. I would highly recommend the house to any family (or famiies) who needed space and wanted to get away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The holidays with family are a very special time and we're so pleased they were shared in our vacation home. The game closet now has even more new games, so come back and spend some more special moments with us on Orcas!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely wonderful home!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

My husband and I and our two kids along with my extended family including grandfather, sister-in-law, husband and three teenage niece and nephews, for a total of 10 people, stayed at the Pinecone Cabin and could not have been more pleased! We didn't want to leave :-) The cabin is very well laid out for groups such as this as it has private toilets/bathrooms for all four bedrooms! The bedrooms are large and very comfortable and the bunkbed room off of one of the master bedrooms was just perfect for the two teenage girl cousins to have their own "hang out" area. The cabin is remarkably comfortable and furnished and equipped extremely well. Highly recommend this cabin for its amenities as well as beautiful and convenient location. We look forward to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We had our family at Pinecone Cabin this past week and it was outstanding. The location is just a couple of miles outside of Eastsound, which is delightful and has everything we needed. The house itself has a stunning view all the way to Canada. It was immaculate and well stocked with kitchen gear, towels, and very nice furnishings. It's the kind of place our whole family would like to go back to!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your visit is important to us and we're very pleased you took the time to share your positive review. We hope Pinecone Cabin afforded you happy family memories and we look forward to your return. K&K

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun With The Girls!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

This is such a lovely, clean and well appointed place to relax, cook gourmet dinners and sit in the living room with friends talking and laughing. The photos attracted us to this place and we were not disappointed. The views from the deck were spectacular and we enjoyed sitting on the logs on the beach watching a few seals swim by.
We had a great time cycling around Orcas and shopping in the lovely shops in nearby Eastsound.
When we arrived, there was a special treat on the dining room table......bottles of wine! We enjoyed them that night with our gourmet meal.
The bathrooms are very clean and huge with lots of towels. The beds are very comfortable.
We would definitely return here on our next visit to Orcas Island. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi there,
Thanks very much for taking the time to write and to tell of your adventures while staying with us at Pinecone Cabin. We're glad the seals came by while you were at the beach! Please come see us again.
We're having a great Indian summer right now!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House on Orcas!!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

My husband and I rented Pinecone Cabin for a family vacation and were so happy with our week there. We had 9 people including 2 young (3 & 6) children. The house was perfect for our group and everyone loved the layout of the house, beautiful views, hot tub and beach. We also enjoyed seeing the eagle each day.....just a beautiful location. The house is centrally located, so it was easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go on the island. The owner of the house stopped by to check on us midway through our stay and to see if we needed anything....a very kind gesture that made us feel very welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi,

It was out pleasure to have you stay in our Pinecone Cabin. You were great guests and we appreciate you sharing your good times with us! Do visit again and we'll ask George, the Eagle to also stop by again, too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful view, very clean and spacious.

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

My wife, two kids and I went with our two friends and their daughter as well as my aunt and uncle. The first thing I noticed when we arrived was the large deck and fabulous view. The next thing I noticed were the two bottles of wine waiting for us (thank you very much for that by the way, nice touch). The cabin was well decorated and CLEAN, not that im a clean freak but when staying away from home i really appreciate it. The rooms are very spacious as well as the bathrooms and we never felt crowded. We fished from the shore and saw half a dozen eagles as well as a dolphin, otters and seals...no whales tho. This really is a nice cabin with lots of privacy and ALL the amenities, in fact we were trying to figure out what the cabin DIDN'T have. Thank you for renting out such a wonderful place.

P.S. If your looking for something fun for your kids to do in the cabin have them try counting all the pinecones throught the home.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad the wildlife came out for your visit. We like to tease folks that we cue the animals to show themselves for guests. The abundant wildlife is one of the main reasons we love the forested north shore.

We have tried to be thorough in supplying the home with many things one might want while on vacation. Thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great wildlife viewing

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

The Pinecone Cabin was the perfect place for our week on Orcas! Quick drive to Eastsound and Moran State Park. Saw eagles, dolphins, and river otters almost every day. Loved the private beach access. House is in good shape and nicely decorated. We will definitely come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi,

As the home is only 3.5 miles from Eastsound it is convenient - as nothing is very far from anything on Orcas. We like how the house location feels private yet it is not far from town. Thanks for taking time to leave us a positive review. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

40th Anniversary Retreat

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 40th anniversary with our two sons and daughters-in-law and three grandchildren on Orcas Island. The Pine Cone Cabin proved to be the perfect house for all three families, providing each of us with our private spaces and room enough to gather and eat together as a family. The house was by far the cleanest property we have ever rented. We were blown away by the spectacular views right on the water and the beach access below, where we watched a family of seals cruise by as we took turns skipping rocks over the water. We loved watching the bald eagle fly over and hunt right outside the deck, and my husband was able to capture a photo of him in flight with a fish in his talons. We had so much fun on a whale watching trip, following a pod of transient whales for almost an hour. ( We don't have whales in the South, so this was a special treat.) We also enjoyed visiting San Juan Island and one couple made a short day trip to Canada, since we were so close. The hot tub was a welcome treat in the evening and both decks provided peaceful views and beautiful spaces to gather to eat outdoors. The prolific wildlife viewed right outside our cabin and elsewhere on the island was amazing, and we all were impressed with the Moran park, where we hiked, canoed, and kayaked. Our children treated us to a dinner cruise on a beautiful yacht, which was the icing on the cake for our week long celebration. The close up views of the Sucia fingerling islands were spectacular and the dinner cooked on board fit for a king and queen. Each evening as we returned to our lovely base at the Pine Cone Cabin, we felt blessed for having found the perfect place and perfect island to celebrate 40 years together. Thank you so much for putting so much thought and care into a vacation rental for others to enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for sharing your lovely experiences while staying in our rental.
It is wonderful to experience our home and the island through other eyes!
Thank you. K&K

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect mini reunion

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Pinecone was the perfect house for our family to gather together in memory of my sister who loved Orcas Island. We came from California, Oregon and Bellingham to eat, drink, kayak,hike and go whale watching. The setting wais amazing and perfect for our family to eat, drink and finish off our day in the perfect spa. thanks for providing such a lovely spacious home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi,
We're honored to have been part of your memorial and so pleased our home was your home base. Please return soon and add some additional happy memories. K&K

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Pinecone cabin

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We fell in love with Pinecone cabin for the week. Our party was made up of four couples in our 50's and 60's. The listing was spot on for information about size and comfort. This is a room house, that was nicely decorated,with all of the things we needed to live comfortably--kitchen was well set up and accomodated, large dining table, plenty of clean linen and towels,comfortable furniture, working grill and hot tub, etc. The view was excellent looking out over the Sound and Sucia Island from the spacious deck. And we put in a lot of time in that comfy and always welcoming hot tub!
We moored a 34' sailboat on the buoy in front of the cabin. That went flawlessly. It is a pretty steep trail from beach to cabin about 200 feet long or so. If you want to use the beach you need to be fairly flexible.
It is a few miles out from town on a gravel road. The road was fine, but you need to have transportation. One of our party spent much of the trip taking day bike trips, and we had a few cars for the four couples.
Lindholm Real Estate was great to work with. They replied very quickly with what we needed to set up the rental and with a lot of questions from us about the cabin and the area. They even went the extra step to mail us the music CD we left in the CD player within 24 hours!
When they call it "Pinecone Cabin", you really should believe it. The pinecone theme shows up in everything from artwork to plates and utensils. While it received a bit of ribbing from our group, it was tastefully decorated and the theme really did add to the overall wonderful experience. Thank you for one incredible week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for taking time to share your positive review with us.
We do care that your time was memorable and hope you will
return to visit us again. (We might even add one more pinecone
for when we see you next! <G>)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Memory for the Ages

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My wife and I had a remarkable weekend with our four adult boys and two step-daughters in the most beautiful waterfront house we have ever stayed. The accommodations were roomy and comfortable and the views were breathtaking. Everything you need is stocked in the house from videos, hairdryers and all the dishes and cooking ware you need. The memory will last us forever. Our sincere thanks to Karen Speck who is the property manager....she was very responsive on the providing us the information to rent the house and we appreciate her kind assistance. Thank You Karen! We'll be Back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You make us want to stay in the house for a weekend, ourselves!
Thank you to you and your family for the kind words and gentle treatment of
our home. We welcome your return. K & K

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kayak trip headquarters

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Eight of our friends enjoyed using this house as a headquarters for taking day trips around the island. The house was exactly what we were looking for. We found that it worked well for the eight adults, it would have been cramped for ten adults--the bunks would be great for kids. The hot tub was a treat after a long day's paddle.
Dinners looking out to the nearby islands were an inspiration. The trip by our experienced paddlers to Patos was a highlight of the week.
The bedrooms were very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with items we needed to cook with.
Everyone enjoyed the two large water heaters--this house is well designed and appointed for a group of adults enjoying a week or two on the island.
The internet access was very good and as it turned out very necessary for a couple of our working vacationers.
Although it was a long walk to the beach with our kayaks, we found the house to be just as represented in the ad.
I found that my experience in renting the house in the off season went very well.
I think the real question in a review is: Would you rent the same house again? In my case I hope to rent it 2-4 weeks next year--we loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Wish we too could have been kayaking! Sounds like you had a great time. Thank you for staying at our Orcas home and we do hope you'll return again and again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

a recent family fall trip to Orcas we were dying to go back. This time we wanted to have a holiday break with another family that we don't get to spend very much time with. This property was the PERFECT spot for this. For starters. . .the rental company was great and easy to work with. There was no question that this is a professional outfit with a wonderful family touch. The house handled the size of our group very well. 9 people. . .four adults and 5 kids and never once did it feel small or crowded. The layout is very efficient and allows for privacy and space when needed. The house was highly organized and well equipped. Everything you might need was intuitively placed and easy to use. We arrived at night and had no idea the quality of the view we would be in for when we woke up. In the morning we were totally floored by the beautiful view from the living room. It was fantastic! My five year old said "The ocean is coming right up to our window!" It was awesome. After a great day of hiking in the state park we came back to the house and took advantage of the wonderful hot tub that was clean, easy to use and really comfy. I can't thank you enough for this wonderful property and helping our family to have a christmas vacation that we will always remember! We will be coming back for sure! Best wishes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's heartwarming to know we assisted in a memorable holiday for your family! Thank you for the positive feedback and we hope will return soon! K&K

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Magical Moments on Orcas Island

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

What an absolutely magical Thanksgiving celebration my family had in your beautiful "Pinecone cabin!" We all enjoyed especially the breathtaking water view....from not only the kitchen while we were preparing our turkey feast, but also from the living room and two upstairs huge bedrooms. Indeed, your cabin is very spacioius and exquisitely furnished. You thought of everything we needed during our stay, plus many quality "pinecone" and other special touches which added a lot of cheer to our festive celebration. Moreover, we really enjoyed using the hot tub and appreciated your "entertainment" closet, full of a wonderful selection of games, music and videos.

All and all, it was such a special treat to relax and enjoy being together in your unique, immaculate cabin. Now we each have memories we'll cherish forever. How much we all would love to come back here someday!

HEART-FELT THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi E. We always want our guests to enjoy our vacation rental, but especially when it's a family holiday. Thank you for choosing Pinecone Cabin and we look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Eastsound paradise

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

8 people, 4 couples, 5 nights, 12 meals....this wonderful house became the perfect comfortable base of our Orcas exploration. We all had our own space and bathroom, the beds were exceptionally comfortable, the kitchen, though small, was well stocked and supported our hearty group meals, the hot tub eased our muscles after days of hiking...and the gorgeous water view...ever present...never let us forget how lucky we were to be staying in the beautiful San Juans. Sincerely, it was absolutely perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's very important to us for guests to be comfortable in this home-away-from-home. Your comments warm our hearts. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The pix dont do it justice; the view is spectacular, the cabin is spacious, just beautiful! Cant wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: T., It was a pleasure to have you stay at Pinecone.
Come see us again soon and thanks for taking the time to write. K & K.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pinecone Cabin review

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

This house provided a great getaway for my two young boys (16-mo, 4.5 years), husband, and parents. The view is fantastic and the private beach is lovely (you must walk down a fairly steep hill to get there...not for those with mobility challenges). Lots of rocks to throw in the water and plenty of logs to climb on made our boys happy. We saw harbor seals in the water at night and had a bald eagle perched in a tree outside the home for several hours one afternoon. A doe and her fawn passed us, as well as other deer, several times while we were at the beach or on our way.

We were quite surprised by how spacious the upstairs bedrooms were (King beds with plenty of space in the room, enormous bathrooms). Our oldest loved his bunkbed room between our bedroom and bath. We were also pleased with the provided highchair and pack n' play for our youngest. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and even some baking/cooking food, towels abounded, the hot tub was relaxing, the washer and dryer pairs worked great, beds were comfortable, etc... We enjoyed reading the provided books about the San Juans and using the provided binoculars, too. There are board games and VHS tapes abounding and one functioning VHS player (the main room one was broken). There was also a DVD player in that tv and a few DVDs are also present.

Finding the house was tricky and the provided map actually made things more difficult because of how it was written and drawn. We ended up using GPS on our phone to find it. My parents, who heard the verbal directions upon getting the keys, had no difficulty, so I recommend asking for clarification when you get your keys or printing your own map before you come. This, along with trying to clarify our cleaning requirements upon departure, would be my only complaint. Oh, and if you're pinecone phobic, this isn't your place. ;)

We would definitely come here again and highly recommend it! Access to Eastsound is quick and easy (5-10 minutes), making this quiet, secluded spot a lovely getaway but allowing for access to plenty of amenities as needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Pinecones are beautiful! <G> Thanks for your thorough review. We'll work at improving the map. Didn't know the living room VHS was faulty. It will be replaced today!
Hope to see you again at Pinecone Cabin. K & K

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Orcas Getaway

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

We had a incredible time in this house. It was outfitted perfectly with furniture and accessories. The view was excellent and the space we each had was very much appreciated. This is a perfect house for 4 couples or singles or a family. The bedrooms are very spacious and well appointed. I would highly recommend this to anyone. The decks were relaxing and the private beach was wonderful. There were 4 of us and we all had a great time in the house and on the island. Thank you very much for the hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We're glad you visited Orcas with us and hope you will return soon. K & K

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Our week stay at Pine Cone Cabin was absolutely wonderful. We spent our time with our son, his wife and our 2 1/2 year old grandaughter. Everything was just so comfortable,the beds, the linens, the convenience of the washer and dryer. The spectacular views from the patio and the roomy king size bedrooms were "to die for". I looked forward to every day and what experience we would have.
Among the memorable ones our trek to the beach below "our home", the bald eagle sightingson the pine tree outside our patio doors, gazing on the nearby San Juan Islands, the cookouts, the jacuzzi. The internet was a big plus for the computer whizzes. We did take the whale watching tour near the ferry. The boat was comfortable, the captain "was on a mission" to see the orcas and the naturalist identified the pod with the mom, teenage son and a very young one. The mission was completed with a great crew and of course some great passengers. The time went so quickly and I will return. Thank you Karen and hubby for a truly wonderful vacation on Orcas Island. PS. Loved the beautiful hanging flower baskets outside!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello E. & P.
We're so glad the wildlife made their "scheduled" appearances for you! <G>
Come stay with us again and thank you for your positive review. K&K

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House for Big Groups

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We had 10 people stayed at the house during memorial day weekend. Upon arrival, the house is nice and clean. Kitchen is full of utensils and tools. Big grill on the deck. The house has great view of the ocean. And don't forget to enjoy the quiet private beach. Great for sunset watching.
Overall: We really enjoyed the stay. It's a great value for bigger groups.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to share your postive review. We enjoyed having you and hope you can return! K&K

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect even after our 5th time

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Getting here was fantastic with a beautiful ferry ride through the San Juan Islands as a wonderful start to our vacation. We have been back to this home five times now. Everything imagineable is provided and the hot tub at night is a great place to ease back and listen to the waves touching the shoreline. We saw Orca whales right in front of the house just off the beach and it was incredible. Many amenities here are provided, and they even provided flowers and wine for our anniversary. The log book says everyone who stays here had a wonderful time. Great hosts that made us feel welcome. See you again next year at the Chamber Music Festival. We love Orcas Island and this is the most comfortable home we have ever stayed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and positive review of our Orcas rental. Tell everyone and come back again! Many thanks, Karen and Ken Speck

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

Great stay! The place is very clean and well equipped. Someone dropped by the first day of our stay to make sure we had everything we needed. Although they tell you to buy your own cleaning items and toilet paper etc. it seemed that so many people previously had that there are plenty of left over. The house has a great layout for multiple families. Lots of games and old movies in the closet. Wireless Internet on site (although slightly confusing to use - read the directions prior to touching anything). Limited television because the cable company has gone bankrupt but no issues finding something to watch. Great view from the upper bedrooms and living room/kitchen. Shoes aren't allowed on the carpet so bring slip ons (although they kindly offer slippers for you to use). The only trouble we had was finding the place (it's a little bit confusing trying to get there - even with directions). The place has two washer and dryer units which helps out great when you're washing everything prior to leaving (if you do it yourself) - however give yourself a good 6 hours or so prior to when you want to leave to get everything washed. Mind the ferry schedule when planning arrival and leaving times (it can get rather busy). While visiting Orcas Island we went whale watching, kayaking, horseback riding, and to the farmers market during our stay. A little southwest/Mexican restaurant called Chimayo was excellent! Everything on the menu was great and it was well priced. It was also one of the few places open past 8. Our deposit came back quickly without any issues. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your positive and respectful review of our Orcas Island vacation rental, Pinecone Cabin.

We appreciate you taking the time to write and welcome your return! K&K

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review