reviews for: listing #198724vb - Nosara, Costa Rica rental

Best Deal in Nosara! Surf Monkey Villa!,Free Transportation!!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  7
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Great House!

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

We loved the place, easy access, near everywhere and full amenities.
We have stayed many times in Nosara, but this one has been one of the greatest. The place is private, no need to share the pool or common areas with other guests. And the Bajaj is incredible, an extra value for a great stay.
Maybe at beginning the fact that you can see cameras in all the outside areas made us free like a big brother like sensation, but you get used to them.
We were familiar with the area but I am sure that Dave and Eduardo would do anything you need to get the best experience.
We will come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Loved it!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Sarah and I fell in love with Nosara, we stayed over a month, Costa Rica is a remarkable country and we will return many times, a great place to bring up children, especially in Nosara. Of course most time is spent at Playa Guiones, surfing is awesome! the boards at the house are good but I opted to rent at Coconut Harry's for a more tailored board to fit my needs. Sarah was involved with a teacher/trainer Pilates course, if you surf, Pilates is amazing for relief and flexibility. We loved the location of the house, off the main dirt road to Ostional, 3 miles outside the surf towns. After a vigorous day at the beach, coming home to surf monkey was perfect. The pool is GREAT, and totally private, in fact the whole house is totally private, there are neighbors, which is good, but the hedges and trees give you freedom to be yourselves. Waking up to monkeys howl still resonates in me and waking up at dawn was normal. The sun sets around 6pm everyday and should never be missed, beautiful! The house is immaculate, minimum mosquitos compared to beach which was a concern, the house has no windows, only huge doors that fold open to the outdoors, seems nuts since you're in the jungle, but for some reason it totally works, i'm convinced its the dragon flies, look up while laying at the pool and you'll see thousands of them above you! I recommend a visit to SIBU, a monkey rescue operation and of course try hard to experience the Arribada at Ostional, only make sure you can get there through the rivers. We had a Daihatsu Bego, only adequate, the roads are rough, get a good big 4x4 to travel through country. Eduardo the manager is incredibly helpful as is David the owner. The beds are comfortable, the layout is perfect for 2 couples (but we liked it to ourselves) you'll be greeted by a calico cat we named Josie, she is a very sweet and remarkable cat. Frankie's organic store is 200 meters north, a must, the Yoga spa is across from him. This house was a very smart move and we will return to it. Enjoy living in surf shorts and flip-flops, and while in CR, don't touch toads, caterpillars, spiders and snakes!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

I have rented through VRBO for years now and find many people now how to take pictures to make their homes look better so you will rent. This home is the exact opposite. If you go in the dry season the vegetation won't be as thick, but the home is beautiful and the pictures online are not camera trickery. All the appliances you need are there and in great working order. Safe location with neighbors close enough, but not too close. All the amenities such as the boards, bikes and buggy are exactly as shown and in good condition. This place could be rented by anyone from families to young adults. I rented it for a romantic getaway/surf vacation and it worked out excellent. It is far enough away from the town so you are not in the middle of all the tourists, but close enough that you can get to the main surfing locations in minutes.
The Owner was extremely helpful in planning out our vacation with his local knowledge and pointed us to some very informative websites, which took a lot of the guess work out of the trip. Even when I had issues unrelated to the home the owner made himself available to assist in resolving the situation. I would highly recommend this wonderful villa to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This vacation was everything we expected it to be and more! It was adventurous: we surfed, zip-lined, tried new fruits (I recommend the Guanabana!), SUP (stand up paddle board) down the river, and saw monkeys in the trees right next to us! It was romantic: we had beautiful dinners and watched the sunset. It was amazing -- meeting the Ticos and people who have lived there for years, and meeting first-time visitors, like ourselves!
As much time as we spent exploring Nosara (the city and beaches) and the neighboring Ostional (the turtles and black sand beach!), we spent a lot of time in the Surf Monkey Villa. It was really relaxing to jump in that pool, or take a nap in the brand new hammock. We spent nights in watching DVDs that we rented for a couple dollars at the Frog Pad. Jason loved disconnecting from technology, but of course, I appreciated the WiFi and checked my emails once a day :)
We learned so much about the city and it was amazing to see that some of the visitors have come year after year for 5, 10, 15+ years -- and we understand why! The Bajaj is awesome with the surf racks and can get you to downtown Guiones and Nosara town! We rented a car because we knew we'd want to explore some neighboring cities, and I'd recommend that if you'd like to do the same. Also, the roads are not well-paved all the time, so it's a bumpy drive in the bajaj or four-wheeler or car. This is a great place to practice your Spanish if you're not fluent ... because everyone here speaks English :) Ahora hablo espanol perfectamente!
Lastly, it's a great place to get connected to your body and wellness -- with lots of great fresh food (especially fruits and seafood) and activities (yoga, surfing, pilates, massages, etc.). We took beginner's yoga classes at Nosara Yoga Institute in a tree house which was so fun and the Costa Rica Yoga Spa is next door to the Villa -- what an amazing view!

Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved Surf Monkey Villa!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

We had an amazing time in Nosara and staying at Surf Monkey Villa. The house was perfect and made for a great experience in the jungle. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the pool, the minimalist lifestyle and the location. We had a few occasions where we lost power and water (as everyone there does) but we made due and had a great laugh about it. My only suggestion is to definitely rent a car. You'll want to drive to all the different areas of Nosara. The roads aren't the greatest but it adds to the charm of the town. The neighbors behind us were extremely nice and took us on a hike so we could see the ocean from our area. They didn't speak English and we don't speak Spanish but we communicated just fine. They even opened up coconuts for us to drink! If you're looking for things to do contact both Dave the owner of the house and Heidi at Nosara Travel. They offered great advice and we loved everything they suggested. Heidi took real good care of us and planned every day's activities perfectly. We ate at every place Dave suggested and loved all of them. I was very sad to leave and can only hope to come back real soon and stay at Dave's place and be around the amazing, friendly people of Nosara. This place won't disappoint you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Brand New! Surf Monkey Villa

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

We spent the month of January at Surf Monkey and loved every minute of it. The pool was beautiful and very private. Other than the gardener, we seldom saw people. The house was roomy and all necessities had been provided. The plantings were lovely and made you feel like you were in a forrest. The monkeys in the morning and evening were delightful. The birds, butterflies and iguanas were lovely. We were disappointed that the 3 wheeled vehicle was not available. That would have been fun. It was also right on the main road, and the dust and noise were considerable. The location, between Guiones and Pueblo Nosara, was great! I would recommend the house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

Yes!!! Nosara is a great area and Surf Monkey was a
super place to stay. The pics are accurate except
that it's even more beautiful in real life. Monkeys
were right outside the front door. We'd heard them
but hadn't seen them for a couple of days. Finally!!
It's really amazing seeing wild animals just hanging
around, literally. Once you know how to spot them
they are suddenly all around.

As for Surf Monkey, it's clean and nice. The Balinese
design is nice because the entire front half of the
house opens up and become a giant patio by the
pool. There's sunken jacuzzi baths in both
bathrooms. Very relaxing.

It's not right in Nosara, but that made it even easier
to go north to the turtle beach. There we saw little
baby turtles walking to the ocean under the full
moon. Something we'll never forget.

All in all I highly recommend Surf Monkey. There's 3
surfboards available plus a boogie board which
saves rental fees from the surfboard shops. If you
want to get away from it all and see more stars in
the sky than you ever thought possible you couldn't
find a better place.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review