reviews for: listing #19952 - San Francisco, California Condo rental

Spectacular Top Floor 1500 Sq ft Flat in Heart of Noe Valley
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Noe Valley
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $350 /nt

sort by:

Perfect return visit with grandchildren

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 6, 2014

About three years ago we were here for a week with our 13 y/o grandsons. When we decided to bring our granddaughters for their San Francisco vacation, there was no question as to where to stay. The apartment is beautifully appointed and immaculately clean, the beds supremely comfortable, and the neighborhood quiet but with lively 24th St just one block away, with its Whole Foods, shops, and eateries. The "J" trolley, two blocks away, brings you downtown to Powell Station and the cable cars in 22 minutes. Phyllis, who lives downstairs, is a kind, helpful, but unobtrusive host. We have one more pair of yet younger grandchildren. Guess where we hope to stay again in a few years! One hint: It paid to spend a little extra for a parking space, which Phyllis arranged.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place in Noe Valley

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

We loved the condo and neighborhood. It was just as Phyllis described. She answered all our questions in advance and provided detailed info about getting into the unit and then notes and labels within it. She provided info about the neighborhood and surrounding area. The unit was very roomy, clean and adorable. It accommodated my family (2 from KY) and my sister's family (4 from IN) and 2 cousins (2 from CA) 7/25 thru 7/27. It was an easy walk to many businesses, church, etc. The only concerns were a single bathroom (split with stool in one room and shower/sink in another), but we made it work with 8 of us. There was no air conditioning and it was some of the hottest days in that area. Fortunately, it cooled down at night so with the windows open, we were comfortable. Would definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply wonderful!

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

This is a great place! As a VRBO owner, I am always impressed when I stay in a top-notch rental – and this is certainly one of the best! Spotless, luxurious beds, impeccably equipped kitchen in a beautifully bright space. It could not have been more comfortable. Every aspect of the condo was as advertised, and Phyllis was very responsive when we asked for extra help with parking. Noe Valley is delightful pedestrian neighborhood with very easy access to downtown/financial district. Staying here absolutely helped make our visit to SF a wonderful one. HIghly recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved This Place

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Our trip to SF was rated a 6 out of 5. We had a wonderful time and your condo was a great contribution to that. It is so beautiful, clean and well located. We did not want to leave.  We found everyone in San Francisco to be so nice. We left with great memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EM

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

The flat was beautiful and comfortable - it actually exceeded my expectations. The photos and descriptions are accurate. The unit was extremely clean and had all necessary appliances.
The owner lives downstairs and was available if needed but was totally not obtrusive.
The neighborhood is great for walks and for cafes and small shops.
I would definitely recommend this flat and would return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic stay

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Our family of five stayed in this apartment for a week over spring break, and it couldn't have been more perfect.

Quiet neighborhood to escape the hustle and bustle of the city after a days adventure, a Whole Foods and coffee places around the corner, it's a wonderful neighborhood - we were so sad to leave. Phyllis filled the apartment with thoughtful touches, great linens, and even coffee in the canister.

One consideration - and this is not a criticism, just be aware - it's a haul into main points in the city. We'd take the light rail (2 blocks over), it takes 20 minutes into Embarcadero, to transfer to the street car, and another 20 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf - so factor in some extra time to get where you're going.

Love love love this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Noe Valley Apartment

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying in your apartment last week. The place is beautifully decorated and very user friendly. Your patio is a wonderful little oasis. We loved the neighborhood and used the muni and BART from there on a daily basis. We've already recommended your place to a few friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing flat; location couldn't be better

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at 247 Jersey with our two little boys and my parents for a week in September while in town for a wedding and an extended vacation. We had previously lived in San Francisco for over a decade and know the city well. This flat was one of the nicest places I've ever been in in San Francisco and you really can't beat the location, Noe Valley. It has some of the best weather, has great restaurants, shops and cafes, street parking isn't too bad and you are close to freeways and public transportation. 247 Jersey is only a block away from the main strip, 24th Street, but being a block away, it is quiet. This is the type of flat I'd always wanted to live in San Francisco, but never could afford. It has a great layout, with a sunny open living and kitchen area and nice big bedrooms in the back overlooking a beautifully manicured garden. It has all of the amenities you don't get in a big city; big full size kitchen, eating bar and dining table, 3 good sized bedrooms with closet space, an in-unit washer and dryer and remodeled bathroom. The furniture and linens are so nice and luxurious. They are nicer than what I have at home! The unit has new windows and is well heated, which is not common for San Francisco. Most of the buildings are older, many windows are difficult to custom fit and access, but in this flat the windows keep the place comfortable, quiet and clean. The unit is decorated very well, completely remodeled, but with the old character maintained and it is just very comfortable and pleasant to be in. There was a stroller, pack and play crib, safety gate and even childrens' dishware for our use, which was very helpful with our two little ones. We were close to a great playground on 24th and Douglas that we walked to and we took the J Church to Dolores Park and downtown. We were very comfortable with 4 adults and 2 children. I would highly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous apartment for a family

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and found it to be a wonderful base for exploring San Francisco. Phyllis was extremely accommodating and helpful. It was great to have 3 spacious bedrooms so that our two young teenagers could spread out. After travelling for two weeks it was lovely to have a gourmet kitchen in which to cook. Wholefoods is an amazing store and the farmers market on the Saturday had lots of quality organic fruit and vegetables. We enjoyed that feeling of being locals rather than tourists, if only for a few days. I can see how one bathroom could be inconvenient if the guests were not one family but for us it was fine. Great to have the washing machine, dryer and ample washing liquid. We had a car so it was a lot of fun trying to find a car park but we soon learnt where to look for one within a short walk. When in SF you need to get used to the hills anyway! Highly recommend La Boulange (still dreaming about those almond croissants!) A very special place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful property in a wonderful neighborhood

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

My wife and I and our adult son came out for the US Open. We had a great time and found the apartment even better than the pictures. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything was good quality. This was our first VRBO in San Francisco and it could not have been better. We felt like "residents" instead of tourists. Everything we could need was easy walking distance. Great restaurants, bakeries, shops, and even an Irish Pub. People were friendly and helpful and we even conquered the public transportation. We are from a small city in the south and felt at home and safe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific place to stay

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

This flat was perfect for my family's needs. The description is accurate and it is actually nicer than the photos! The kitchen was spacious and fullly equipped. It was in a great location - near restaurants, shops and Whole Foods grocery store. Easy access to the muni and you could easily get downtown via the muni.
If i was to say there was a flaw, it would be that there is only one bathroom. But as long as your group knows that ahead of time, it shouldn't be a problem. It wasn't for us and there was 6 of us.
I would definitely recommend this to my friends and hope to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My family came to town and stayed in this flat for 4 nights. It's in a perfect location, and the house is clean, beautifully decorated, and so comfortable. Everyone had a wonderful time, and Phyllis could not have been more helpful. I am definitely recommending to friends, and hope to have my family stay here again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

We stayed in this apartment in April 2012 with our adult children aged 22 and 19. We loved it! Much, much better and cheaper for four adults than being in a hotel in a touristy part of town. We had rented a car when we arrived in the USA and had a couple of days in Yosemite, but once we had settled into the apartment we returned the rental car. It was easy and quick to get to the central city by public transport and great to have a retreat when we had had enough of the city and were (temporarily) tired of shopping or doing tourist things. The street is quiet but only a block away from the local shopping area of 24th street with its restaurants and the great foodstore for the times we wanted to eat in, there is even a Walgreens a 5 minute walk away (this may not sound exciting to Americans but even lower end cosmetics are about 4 times more expensive in New Zealand). My 22 year old daughter and I had a great time in the boutiques and shoe stores on 24th St. The bedrooms in the apartment are large so we were each able to feel that we had our own space. The beds are comfortable with gorgeous bedlinen, and the decor throughout the apartment is stylish. The kitchen is well set up and there is a washing machine and drier. The owner Phyllis lives downstairs and is very friendly and approachable but never intrusive. We were very happy with our stay here and would recommend the apartment wholeheartedly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous place to stay!!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We just spent a week at this rental (my husband and I and two kids, 10 and 15) and we found it to be even better than expected! Phyllis is wonderful to work with, provided lots of info about visiting the city, transportation, etc...The apartment is very clean and spacious, with everything you might need. Very comfortable bedding. Easy to share the single bath as the toilet is in a separate room from the shower and sink. My daughter especially loved the private garden area. Location is perfect -- very short walk to easy public transportation. Just around the corner from groceries and many shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again! We did rent a car as we planned a few day trips outside of town. It was a little difficult to find parking in the neighborhood, particularly on friday evening. Watch out for parking restrictions on different days/hours. We did get a parking ticket one day! Also plan to dress in layers and always have a jacket. Even in mid-september we wore jackets every day and sometimes layered sweatshirts underneath. It was so nice to have a lovely home and neighborhood to return to after sightseeing each day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1 week in Noe Valley

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

The apartment could not have been more perfect. We were in San Francisco with our 2 young adult children (joined by our 3rd adult child and her partner at the end of our stay) for a combination family vacation and medical conference. The property was immaculate and Phyllis had thought of absolutely everything. The layout was perfect, the kitchen remarkably well appointed and well equipped. She even provided boiled wool slippers in sizes for everyone to be worn in the apartment. She provided a nice assortment of guidebooks for SF and vicinity, including self-guided walks. The neighborhood is a significant draw, with a wonderful farmers market each Saturday, great shopping (my daughter found the perfect dress for an October wedding at one of the boutiques on 24th st), many food options (both restaurants and sources for ingredients to make your own gourmet feasts in the wonderful kitchen. We particularly liked Firefly (need to make reservations in advance), Tartine (18th and Guerrero), and Bi-Rite market on 18th for fresh local produce and carry-out soups and sandwiches. Thank you Phyllis for making our week wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Real Gem

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

I can't say enough about this beautiful flat. It is clean, spacious, bright and airy. It is located in a lovely, family friendly area but still close enough to the city fun spots. Local restaurants were just one street over and so yummy. Phyllis was wonderful to work with. We accidentally forgot the key code information and she was very responsive and helpful. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular place, wonderful host

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

My sisters and mother stayed here for four days at the end of July and I cannot recommend the host Phyllis and the apartment highly enough. First of all, it is decorated with a real flair that makes it feel like a second home. Second of all, Phyllis is a great host, there if you need her, but if you don't, she is completely unobtrusive. Third, the neighborhood is wonderful. A great Whole Foods just around the corner and across from that is Fresca, a tasty Peruvian restaurant where we had delectable ceviche and very tasty Pisco Sours. Bernie's Coffee is my brother's favorite hangout (he's the native we were visiting) and you must stop by the Noe Valley Bakery.

The apartment is really quite large and our party of five did not feel cramped at all. The kitchen is huge and everything is there for you to cook if you are so inclined. The WiFi is fast and reliable (and we put it to heavy use) and if you've time to watch TV she's got a very nice flat screen. The beds were very comfortable and had soft linens. Bath towels are huge and the washer and dryer were a bonus. I would stay here again in an instant.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Everything about this VRBO is top notch - from setting up the rental with owner Phyllis to enjoying our stay in this spacious high-end flat. This is a great place for a family vacation. My husband and I rent a place, then host family who stay for one or two nights for visiting and vacation. The flat is beautifully decorated and laid out with a large open granite kitchen, living room and dining area. Muni train is only a block away with easy access to all the sights, but we really enjoyed the neighborhood of Noe Valley, with its family feel, lots of shops, organic farmers market and many small reasonably priced restaurants.

We have been renting VRBO homes for over 10 years, including 4 other flats in San Francisco. We rate Phyllis' place as the best yet.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Locatio

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Location was excellent - enjoyed morning walks to different cafes every morning, shopped at neat boutiques along the way. The upscale neighborhood is quiet, and yet not far from Whole Foods, and restaurants. There is a nearby park , with designated age appropriate play areas, which our 3 girls (ages 2,4,and 6) enjoyed. The flat is beautiful, welcoming and very spacious, even for our extended family of 5 adults and 3 girls. The beds and bedding were plush, and we particularly liked the walk in closets. Having a washer and dryer there was very convenient.
We left a piece of jewelry which Phyllis returned after diligent searching. We loved our stay there and would definitely recommend it for families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We stayed for a week in early summer with our two pre-teen grandsons. The unit was perfection personified. Spotlessly clean, meticulously maintained, spacious, and wonderfully located in a quiet neighborhood with excellent public transport into town -- what could be better? The kitchen is amazing, the washer and dryer quiet and effective. Phyllis is a wonderful host, who does not encroach on one's privacy but who eagerly volunteers information about local events and things to do. We feared having to find parking for our rental car but had little trouble doing so on the street. 24th Street, with its lovely small emporia and a Whole Foods market, is a block away, and there is a 24-hour Safeway within a five-minute drive. We hated to leave this wonderful unit in an extraordinary city.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wondeful visit in your lovely sunny flat!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

We loved our visit to San Francisco. Your home was clean and well maintained, beds were comfortable, kitchen was great; everything worked out really well, even for our larger family. Public transit was easy to access and the neighborhood had great food and grocery options for our natural-minded family. Thanks for a great stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

Our stay here was the perfect ending to our California excursion.
This unit is even more spacious than the photos indicate, impeccably clean and full of natural light!
The place had everything we needed for cooking in (with Whole Foods, Noe Bakery and Noe Cheese Shop on the next block) and it is walking distance to our favorite SF restaurant, Incanto!
We would definitely recommend this place for anyone hoping to get a local, non-tourist feel of San Francisco, but be sure to leave some days open for our return ;)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome!!!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

couldn't have been better! the flat was gorgeous, in very good state and very clean and well-stocked!!! the only difficult part is parking in the area...the owner was really pleasant :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot in a great location!

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

These accomodations exceeded our expectations. The beds were comfortable, the decor was nice and simple and the amenities (nice kitchen, laundry) were perfect for us. We were a group of three adults and three young kids and the apartment was a great fit for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Choice!

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Excellent location one block from 24th with shops and restaurants so close by. This gave us a real feel for what it's like to live in San Francisco since we were in a neighborhood and not among all the tourists. Close to two convenient muni stops and very very quiet. Well decorated with comfortable beds and linens. I wish there had been one more television for my kids to watch in the evenings, but that was a minor point. I would stay here again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for Families

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

This lovely flat was the perfect home away from home for our family's stay in San Francisco. It was a great home base from which to explore all the wonderful things to do and see in San Francisco and the surrounding area. We loved the large gourmet kitchen, spacious living and dining areas, and the cozy bedrooms. The owner was very helpful in answering questions and making arrangements before our trip, provided everything we needed in the flat--including some wonderful guidebooks and histories of the city--and was there to greet us upon our arrival. The neighborhood--one of the sunniest in the city--is as nice as the flat, with scores of restaurants, shops, and a Whole Foods market just around the corner. Nearby street parking is easy to find any time of the day. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a lovely stay in a captivating city.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place in a wonderful location

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

Having spent a week here with my wife, 8-month old son, sister and brother-in-law, this place exceeded our high expectations! The area is very baby-friendly with a close-knit smaller community feel (eg. check out the "Rumors" section of the Noe Valley Voice) and many interesting boutique-type stores. The flat is relatively easy to get to/from the SF airport (SFO) by car while still being only a few miles from downtown. Public transportation to other parts of the city is close by and easily accessible.

The flat itself is warm & elegantly decorated, equipped with just about everything you might need. In particular, the kitchen is great and the beds were a dream to sleep in, comfortable (but not too soft) and covered in a wonderful bedding.

Of the inconveniences, I never found parking on the same block as the flat although I was able to find spaces more reliably a block over on 25th. Walking up two flights of stairs to the flat with baby and stroller in hand was also not ideal. Other than that though, our thoughts on the place are overwhelming positive and would definitely stay there again when we return to SF!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful weekend getaway with chef's kitchen

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My friends and I hosted a bridal shower weekend here and could not have been happier with the space. Phyllis (the owner) was easy to contact, super friendly, and very responsive. The apartment is spacious, with a well-equipped HUGE kitchen--perfect for cooking together with a larger group. Everyone had an amazing time and couldn't stop raving about the apartment, especially our bride-to-be! Full stereo system, comfy beds with high quality bedding, excellent location, and nice decorative touches throughout made this a stay to remember!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful weekend getaway with chef's kitchen

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My friends and I hosted a bridal shower weekend here and could not have been happier with the space. Phyllis (the owner) was easy to contact, super friendly, and very responsive. The apartment is spacious, with a well-equipped HUGE kitchen--perfect for cooking together with a larger group. Everyone had an amazing time and couldn't stop raving about the apartment, especially our bride-to-be! Full stereo system, comfy beds with high quality bedding, excellent location, and nice decorative touches throughout made this a stay to remember!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

My husband, two children (ages 2 and 5) and I stayed in this great place for a week. We loved it! It's clean, quiet, spacious, comfortable and convenient to shops, restaurants and public transportation. We had a car and found it easy to get onstreet parking. The place is better than the way it appears on the website. Thanks for a lovely stay, Phyllis! We give our absolute highest recommendation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2008   Date of arrival: May 27, 2008

My family really enjoyed their stay at Phyllis's apartment. The place is just wonderful and Phyllis was a great person to work with! The flat was clean, charming, warm, and so perfectly decorated! Only a quiet side street but one block off the 24th street shops and next to MUNI for easy transportation. We couldn't have asked for more! Thanks Phyllis!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2007   Date of arrival: July 19, 2007

This is truly a fabulous very-San Francisco accomodation with a prime location in a very prestigious neighborhood. The apartment is very luxurious and exquisitely designed/decorated with huge attention to elegance and comfort with all of the right amenities. My wife and I were able to have a true escape with peace and quite yet we were able to take advantage of the best neighborhood (I lived in SF for 6 years) atmosphere (amazing restaurants, shops, gelato!) all a block away - and so convenient to the rest of this wonderful city. I would highly recommend this property for singles, couples and families - truly unique.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2007   Date of arrival: June 15, 2007

The apartment is gorgeous, everything in pristine condition. Comfortable beds, fabulous kitchen. Could not be a better location in SF - nearby cute stores and beautiful victorians. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review