reviews for: listing #19954 - South Haven, Michigan Condo rental

A Sweet Retreat
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Shore
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $910 - $910 /wk

sort by:

wonderful and cozy

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

My wife and I found the condo to be perfect for a couple who have been married for forty three years, to relax and enjoy the wonderful location. We can't wait til next year to go back. Laura was gracious and answered any questions we had.It was well kept and had everything we needed. All the sights and the lake were a short distance from the condo!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quaint and cute

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Laura is a great renter. Her "sweet retreat" was a perfect get away for my boyfriend and myself. I could not believe how close of a drive it was into town, and it was nice and quiet--tucked away, but not too tucked away to where you feel isolated. She kept the place very tidy and clean, and really maintains it very nicely.
With all of the wonderful things that this "Sweet retreat" did obtain, there are just a couple of things I would like to say. It does seem a tad bigger in pictures--so yes, it is really just perfect for two--maybe even a little small--it did look bigger in pictures! Also, (and this isn't the biggest deal in the world) but it did say there was wifi in the condo, but actually there wasn't. You had to step outside about 50 ft. out of the condo to get any kind of wifi reception. Those are really the only two "flaws" that this place has. Other than that, we truly had a great visit, and would recommend it to our friends and family! Like I said though, perfect for couples!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A nice place to stay

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Sweet Retreat. We are a family of 4, and prepared every meal there for a week. The kitchen was clean and well-appointed. The things in this condo are nice. We were pleased with everything and Laura was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay! Perfect location to enjoy Lake MI.

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We had a great, effortless stay. The apartment was cute and had everything we needed. The pool was a huge hit with our 6 year old. We found manyu places to eat in downtown South Haven and it was only a 10 minutes drive from the Retreat. The beaches down the road were picturesque and quiet for kids. I would highly recommend the Retreat to everyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Condo

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Very nice place to stay for a short visit. Clean and comfortable. The sofa bed is as comfortable as a bed to sleep in which is an unexpected plus. Plenty of space for 4 with a bonus deck for outdoor grilling and dining. Quiet area with pool and tennis courts. Short drive to the city of South Haven where there is shopping and dining and a great harbor to walk along. Owner is a pleasure to deal with. Would recommend highly.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Definately A Sweet Retreat

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

The condo's decription is very accurate. Well shaded to keep you a cool, but can enjoy your morning coffee on the deck as the sun comes up. Very clean, cozy and comfortable with all the amenities that I needed. 3 beachfronts to pick from, with the 1st one only a very short walk away. Well equipped with everything that you will need for your stay. Laura is very accomodating and helpful.

Owners response: I want to thank all my 2012 renters for making this season the best! I don't charge a damage deposit, I just ask that they take good care of this adorable condo. I have never had a problem because my renters have respected the Sweet Retreat. I feel blessed for the good, responsible and thoughtful guests that have stayed here throughout the years. I have enjoyed having all of you and do hope everyone returns. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Laura

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Enjoyable Stay!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the sweet retreat in South Haven. The condo was cozy, clean and very comfortable with enough room to accomodate us(2 adults and a 2 year old). The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals. We used the grill on the deck most nights to cook and enjoyed eating our meals outside. The pool was also very nice.
The nearby town was very nice with shopping, restaurants and great beaches. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

nice revised

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

I wanted to update my prior review as I could not find a place to edit prior to sending. They are not Noisy neighbors they were a little nosey. Of course, looking out for each other is not a bad thing either.
Great place - beautiful town.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

After reading the two other reviews about limited beach access I was concerned. They were, however, unfounded. First Beach is in fact only a .5 mile walk and the walk was enjoyable on the flat shaded hike. It was little but served it purpose.
The best thing about the sweet retreat is the quality items in the house. While the kitchen was small it was well equiped with weighted silverware and good bake ware. The dishes, though limited but enough for four if you washed them after every use, were colorful and cute. As a cook I totally appreciated the pots and pans left for our use.
I arrived a day ahead of my friends and spent the time exploring South Haven and finished by relaxing by the sparkling clean pool. During the complete stay if was never over crowded. We of course were more interested in the beaches and had three to choose from with only minimual daily parking fees.
Our owner had the place very clean for us and was a pleasure to work with. Watch out for noisy neighbor however if you exceed the limit on occupants. We had company for dinner and she was all over reporting us ( inoorrectly).
The condo was also VERY WELL equipped with beach umbrella, beach chairs, basketball and tennis rackets all at our disposal to use.
Very Friendly - had a wonderful time and would go back in a heart beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Stay and Homey

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

First of all my description of this property is a "cottage" type. More than enough room for two people. We found it affordable, nice/cute and comfortable. We loved the pool. Walking distance (10 minutes) to First beach.
First beach is down First street, it looks like you are entering someones yard- but there is a public access.(keep going!)
We did grill out- so if you choose to cook it's easy enough.The kitchen is more than adequate and everything you need is there. Laura is very helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Thanks Laura for a wonderful week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the good review. I enjoyed having you stay. Also thank you for the gift!
Sincerely,
Laura

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Unique & lovely with tons of charm

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

I tried to figure out exactly what the building was actually used for "back in the day", maybe to house the horses ? Anyway, we found it to be very interesting and was more than enough for the amount of time spent there.
The bath was on the small side and we did kill several spiders in the bathroom.
The bed was great, firm and comfortable. The kitchen, well who cooks on vacation anyway ?? We had some fresh veggies for making salads, and usually had a small breakfast there, but other than that, we didn't need to cook. ( could have used a toaster though )
Neighbors were quiet all though they did have dogs that barked. The deck was lovely.
We didn't mind the 1/2 mile drive to North Beach, but we didn't fine the beach called 1st beach.
It is a very quiet area & it seems like everyone respects that .
Almost ever place we have rented for vacation has turned out a little
"iffy" and we wish we had not stayed there, but this place was very well represented by the landlord Laura. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

cute but small

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

The place is very cute bute also very small, i don't see how 4 people could stay there for more than 2 days. The kitchen has all you need to cook full meals. It will not fit more than 1 person in it. The entire place needs new paint, especialy the bathroom which by the way has the only access from the bedroom. We did not find gas grill, instead had a small charcoal grill. Poll is a good size and tennis courts are nice as well. However, the decent access to the beach is about 1.5 mile away, closer access is about .5 mile but the beach is not that nice. Wireless internet wasn't working, owner was trying to get that fixed. Overall good place for budget minded people.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: 550 sq.feet is small and that is why I list it as perfect for a couple or small family. This condo is a very old unit and it needs painted constantly! However I appreciate you commenting on how cute it is. I truly am sorry about the gas grill, as I didn't realize I had put that down. I thought the Webber Grill would work beautifully for my tenants. The pool is beautiful and nice tennis courts but I totally disagree with you about First Beach. It is beautiful and I don't think I have heard one thing bad about it except it doesn't have public bathrooms which are included closer to town. I am having problem with my Wireless Internet and have been working with the company to get it resolved. Believe me, as soon as we can get other Internet sources, I will be the first to change. However you were able to connect via cable. Thank you for your review, it is best to know how people feel even if it isn't always good. I appreciate your honesty and I will try and resolve the issues that is possible for me to do.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review