reviews for: listing #19991 - Savannah, Georgia House rental

Wilmington Island - Historic Savannah
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $600 - $600 /nt
    $4,200 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

An Outstanding Rental Home

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

I rented this property while I was in Savannah for my son's wedding. We loved it and can't wait to rent it again. We held the Rehearsal Dinner in the dock house. The house was so spacious. The beds were very comfortable, and the house came with so many ammenties. My parents are older and it was perfect for them since everything is on one level. My children, parents, siblings, nieces and nephews have all asked when we can go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

I can't say enough about the whole experience. We had 20 adults and 10 children under 8 years old, a total of 30. The pictures do not do justice to this property. We had three large tables and 30 folding chairs delivered and ate our evening meals together set up on the lawn by the river and it was wonderful. Mrs. D was terrific to work with and any little thing we needed help with were handled immediately. This was the perfect setting for an intimate family reunion. I do recommend you bring extra towels. The children loved hunting crabs while the tide was out. Everything was nearby, groceries, beach, restaurants, and even CVS minute clinic for a sick grandchild. We highly recommend renting this property and enjoying every minute of the beautiful sunsets.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful Home, Outstanding Value

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Don't let the outside fool you, the inside of this home is wonderful! The pictures just don't do this home justice. 5 large bedrooms, a fantastic kitchen, den, mud/laundry room, pool table, etc. You can't beat it for price or location, and it's pet friendly. It is off the beaten path but yet close to Savannah for the restaurants, and shopping. It is quiet and peaceful on the river, with beautiful sunsets. The owners are easy to work with and are very pleasant. My group of 10 adults highly recommend this rental (although I really want to keep it a secret!).

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything We'd Hoped For!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Our family had not been together for many years after my grandparents had died. We talked about it, but things just didn't seem to work out....that is until we found this special little spot on Wilmington Island! Growing up, we all used to gather at a lake house my grandparents owned. This place was all it was advertised to be and more! We found our perfect place for our family reunions! We couldn't believe the beauty of the view and the house that was perfectly laid out for our large gathering. (We totalled 24, from all parts of the country) We did spill over to the apartment for an evening. The owners worked with us and made the rental process easy and seamless. Even invited us to bring our boats for some fishing and offering pots for the Low Country Boil.

There's plenty of room at the house to be together or move into small groups. We had a great time fishing off the pier and just hanging out on the water. Cooking in the large open kitchen or in the backyard on the gas grill was a plus! We found everything we needed at the local Kroger and prepared all of our meals at the house. We did take a morning away for some to head over to the beach at Tybee, while others headed to River Street for some sightseeing. All within easy driving distance. Then we were back for our first annual Low Country Boil. We left our recipe in the kitchen drawer, for any of you wanting a true southern coastal dining experience!

I highly recommend this for large families or gatherings. In fact have already done so! We'll be back next year for the Second Annual Family Reunion,,,can't wait! C'mon down, you're in for a treat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bring a Kayak

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We had a great time at this property. It's right on the river ... actually just a few steps, you can sit in the living room and watch a thunderstorm cross the river and it's spectacular.

Our group of 21 brought 8 kayaks to share. If you time it right (by checking the tide schedule) you can kayak out with the tide, stop for a snack at the marina, then kayak back with the tide also. The water is really nice, after tying back up jump in to cool off.

Louise worked really well with us and she was eager for us to have a happy stay, which we did. Be sure to bring towels because they are not provided. We forgot this and Louise helped us out with her emergency stash; but bring your own, it's much easier.

We enjoyed lunch at the Crab Shack on Tybee, it was really good. A highlight was the Savannah Theater production of "Savannah Live!," the whole group had a great time there.

Our group of 21 was spread out among the three houses. We had 19 adults and two kids. That was about right for adult sleeping. If you had a bunch of girl scouts that could double up on the queen beds you could get 36 on the property; but don't expect to get 36 adults in here and maintain any privacy.

Really good value, dollar wise, for a week's stay at a gorgeous location close to many fun activities. I highly recommend this property. Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Had a great time at this location. The pictures online don't do it justice. Used this for bachelor party with 11 guys and had tons of room. Dock is very nice to fish from or use to just relax and jump off into water. All new appliances and comes with a very nice grill we used several times. Will definitely use his place again if I'm in Savannah

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place to visit

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Nice house, clean and roomy. Nice clean sheets and good beds. Kitchen was well equipped, everything we needed except a blender. The boat dock is great with a wonderful air conditioned boat house. I did sit on the two person swing at the boathouse to watch a sunset and the bottom broke right out of the bottom, due to wood rot and the age of the swing (I weigh 180lbs). But this is just a maintenance item to be repaired and we accepted it as a non issue since an old wooden swing on the water will surely have problems due to the moisture. The house has two grills, one that was hooked up to propane was very low on propane. We could not reach the owner so we tried to remove the tank to swap it for a replacement at the local store. Due to the ocean air the connections were rusted together so we could not change the propane tank. There is a second grill at the house but the grate was so coated with old food residue that even the available wire brush couldn't make a dent in it. We ended up buying a charcoal grill for our visit in order to grill out. (We didn't leave the charcoal grill). We noticed that there was no way to lock the back door so we had to keep a person at the house at all times for security (not that there really is any need since you feel 100% safe here). This is an important item that needs to be fixed! Owner was very nice but phone call returns took 24 hours so don't expect a rapid response. House had no towels that we could find. Luckily from reading another review we all had brought our own towels. Also be sure to bring your own toilet paper and paper towels as there was just a couple of rolls in each bathroom and when you put 10 people in a house with three bathrooms for a week, you need a lot more than 6 rolls of toilet paper and one roll of paper towels. We noticed many lamps in the house that were broken (no working switch) or were placed for decoration where there were no outlets. We changed numerous lightbulbs as many were burned out, but the house was well stocked with bulbs as this must be a common occurance on a waterfront home. Besides these negatives, we had a great time and would certainly visit again. The fishermen in our group loved it (expect to catch and release tons of baby black tip sharks). The ones we caught ranged from 15" to 3 feet. Only one or two other small fish were caught off the pier. Nice lawn in the backyard and a couple a super friendly large dogs roam around the area. Good family vacation spot

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wilmington Island house

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Beautiful home, beautiful sunsets and pleasant place to stay. The house was beautiful, clean, spacious. I would suggest that anyone who rents should bring their own towels as there was only one provided per queeen-sized bed and bring soap (body, dishwasher, clothes washer). The grills provided were filthy and I refused to use them even though we wanted to grill out. Also, there needs to be a better indication as to where to turn to get onto the property. Overall, though it was a wonderful place to stay and very comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: So glad that June found our home beautiful, clean and spacious!

As far as the linens, we provided towels for 8 people according to the number stated in the contract. Each person would have had their own bed.

I have decided to buy extra racks for the grills so that they can be rotated between renters, to insure that the grills are immaculate. I wouldn't have thought of this, but think it's a good idea.

Hope that June and her group will visit again and find everything to their liking!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Savannah in September with Miss Judy Charters Fishing Excursion

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I would recommend this beautiful home to anyone that wants to spend time with family and friends for a relaxing celebration. It is very spacious and clean, very convenient and extremely unique! Everyone enjoyed the Joggling Bench at the front entrance. Louise, the owner, was extremely pleasant and very helpful. During our stay, a family of dolphins romped right out in front of the dock behind the house and upon leaving for the week-end we were seen off by two gorgeous Golden Retreivers! This is a great place to stay, especially if you have a fishing trip planned with Captain Judy! Her place is just right down the road from here. My favorite room was the one that had the Daybed in it, we all found ourselves drinking coffee there on Sunday morning! Thank you so much Louise and Brad!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Girl Scout Trip

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

This was the perfect place for our Girl Scout troop of 19 girls and 9 adults to stay. There is tons of living space besides all of the bedrooms. Our girls had plenty of room to play, relax, play cards, read....etc. It was such a nice trip (very little drama), and we felt that it was due to having so much space that the girls could go and do their own thing if they needed to.
The accomidations are very nice and it was clean and comfortable. We cooked dinner at home every night and had everything we needed to do that with: crock pots, pans, griddles, utensils, pitchers, blender, etc.. It was awesome.
The owner (Louise) was helpful and friendly with all of our questions. She made our stay very easy. I highly recommend renting this house, and would rent it again and again if I were to travel to Savannah many times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Girl Scouts Troop Trip

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Our troop spend 5 nights @ this big beautiful home!! We are a large troop and this house fit all of our needs! All the rooms were big with decent bedding. The house was clean, well maintained. The owner was helpful and was available to answer any questions or concerns that we had. This location was perfect for all of our day trips. We went into downtown Savannah for the trolley tour, a day at Juliette Low's house, a day trip to Tybee Island for the Marine Center/ beach walk, and swimming.
All of these locations were about a 15-20 min. drive. Our girls loved the yard, and the large deck to sit on. The sunsets were beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

awesome tranquil place

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I recently rented this beautiful home for my family who came from Canada to attend my daughter's wedding in Savannah Ga. I could not have asked for a better place for all of us to be together. We so enjoyed this spacious beautiful home on the water. It was perfect. The home is very comfortable. The location is awesome and private. Everything you need is already there. The grocery store and drugstore is just a couple of miles up the road. It's a great place to spend time with family and friends and all be together in one house. It was a great experience! I highly recommend this home. You will love it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

Had four great days and three nights of fun in the yard and fishing off the dock. Perfect place to relax, spread out, and enjoy time with friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review