reviews for: listing #2002 - Fripp Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Best Beach Location
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $233 /nt
    $995 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

Wish we could have stayed longer!

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 27, 2014

Our stay was lovely. This condo was exceptionally clean and decorated just beautifully!! We loved being just a short stroll to the beach. Everything you might need is provided for you. We love Fripp...in fact, we bought a small condo while we were there. Sorry we won't have to rent again but if we did, it would be 101 Capt. John Fripp Villa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Place, But......

Review submitted: August 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We loved the Condo and had a truly great vacation. All of the other posts are true but there is one thing I wish had been mentioned. There was a little note next to the thermostat that said not to lower the temperature below 74 degrees or the unit would freeze up. Being a woman of a certain age, 74/75 is great during the day but I need 72 at night. There was a fan in the bedroom but it was not very effective. I had several bad nights that required naps during the day.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your 5 STAR rating. We wish you had called us regarding the small note which should have been removed from the thermostat by our maintenance personnel. In addition to the beautiful new kitchen with all new appliances, our villa has a BRAND NEW top-of-line central air conditioning unit which can quickly and easily cool the villa to as low a temperature as our guests desire. We hope you will be like many of our guests who return year after year to enjoy our OCEANFRONT John Fripp Villa 101. Thank you. Carol and Charles, owners and Fripp Island residents.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Little Piece of Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 4, 2014

This condo is in the best location on the Island. It is on the best part of the beach and very close to the Marina and has several pools within walking distance. The condo description and photos are very accurate for this unit. It was very clean and well maintained. The owners were great to work with. I would definately recommend this property to my family and friends. We took a sea shell cruise on the Fripper II and found some great shells and saw dolphins. Bonita's Boathouse was a great place to eat and watch wonderful sunsets. The Cabana Club has a great pool with views of the water and a bar and restuarant. Our nine year old son had a great time and I think this unit is a fantastic place for a couple with 1 or 2 children. Beautiful view of the ocean right out the living room and dining rooms. Great patio with a gas grill. Awesome to wake up every morning and have breakfast on the patio and watch the ocean. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need for a wonderful stay, right down to the beach chairs, boogie board, beach towels and all the sand toys for the children. Walk out your door and the beach is right there. We will definately rent this unit again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. We strive to keep our villa perfectly clean and well equipped. We believe that is why we enjoy a high percentage of repeat guests Your family's fun times at Fripp is what Fripp is all about. After living here nearly 30 years we still enjoy the same activities with our grown up children and grand children when they visit. We hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and view

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

This was our 2nd time to stay here and it's even better than before. The location is on the best beach on Fripp Island and has easy access. When you walk in, the first thing you notice is the wall of windows overlooking the ocean. We love being on the lower level with the car at the back door and a patio out the front. It's very comfortable, especially the bed. And the newly remodeled kitchen is very nice. It comes with a great owner. We look forward to going back to this very special place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed the beachfront location and the recent upgrades. Our goal is to maintain our villa in a high quality manner to encourage repeat visits by our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great rental with great hosts!

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the villa last week! Charles & Patty were great hosts. Charles met us when we checked in, showed us around, & answered all our questions. When we asked to extend an extra day they were most accomodating. The villa was perfect - clean, beautifully decorated, everything we needed & right on the beach. We couldn't have asked for more! We hope to come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

This condo s perfection! Beautiful beach at high or low tide, tastefully decorated, close to everything, very clean! This condo will not disappoint ! Roomy enough, & quiet. I cooked in the kitchen every night & there was plenty of equipment to put a nice meal on the table. There were lots of towels & the shower was large. Covered porch area was a welcome refuge each evening as we watched the deer walk down the beach & the shrimp boats trawl the ocean. We can't wait to stay here again! Thanks to the owners for thinking of everything a person on vacation may need!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

COUPLE FROM WEST VIRGINIA

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

WOW ;-)...WE HAD A WONDEFUL TIME @ FRIPP ISLAND...THE CONDO WAS EXACTLY WHAT WE NEEDED..IF I COULD OWN A CONDO IT WOULD BE JUST LIKE THIS ONE!! WE WOULD AND HAVE CERTAINLY RECOMMENDED THIS CONDO TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY..HOPE TO RETURN SOON...THANKS FOR EVERYTHING...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Never experienced Fripp Island before, but after this trip will most definately be a returning guest to 101 Captain John Fripp. This villa exceeded our expectations! Very clean with up to date furnishings......all you would need or want to have a great vacation. We only used our car once to go off of the island exploring and the rest of our visit was spent enjoying the beach, villa and pool. Charles and Carol were very quick to contact and provided a list of guidelines to help answer our questions since we were first time visitors. Excellent experience!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect "Get A Way"

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This villa was absolutely beautiful and such a perfect get a way. It's the perfect location right on the beach with easy access. The room was clean and full of life and sunshine. Everything was fantastic....and the Patty's live right there on the island and are very helpful for any of your needs. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone looking for the perfect place to stay on Fripp :)

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Beautiful Beach

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Wonderful villa. Clean, everything we needed. Nicely furnished. Owners very nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Right on the beach--no long boardwalks here. This place was great! It was especially nice to have the beach chairs and two adult bikes to ride. The place was clean, quiet, and had everything we needed. The wildlife on the island was like no other beach location we've seen. The owners were wonderful to accommodate our last minute booking. We hope to return one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PERFECT RELAXING VACATION

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

I had not been to Fripp Island in 19 years but have always had fond memories of spending a week their with extended family in one of the large houses on the beach. When planning for a well needed vacation my husband and I decided we wanted a beach vacation - something we had not done in a while (we usually travel to the National Parks and spend time driving a lot) but this time wanted a quiet, relaxed week and that is certainly what we found at Fripp. Things have changed a little - there are more houses and there were no condos I recall in the early 1990's or restaurants, but so much had not changed. It is still quiet, not crowded, quaint, beautiful beach, turtle rescue groups and pleasant people wherever we went. Enjoyed all the deer - the last nite of our stay I walked out on patio and there were 5 just standing on the grass! We rented a one bedroom condo at Captain John Fripp Villlas - it was directly on the beach - literally just a few steps and your feet were in the sand. We spent most of our days laying on the beach, taking long walks, gathering shells, and then spending time at the adult pool (which we loved since we don't have kids and again, were looking for QUIET). At nite the walks on beach were amazing with the quiet, few lights on b/c of turtles, and AMAZING star lit skies. We had one and 1/2 rainy days and spent time in Beaufort and Hilton Head. Wonderful restaurants on nearby Islands with good recommendations from the owners of our villa. The villa was immaculate, beautifully decorated and an ambience that made you feel right at home. The owners of the villla were wonderful and so pleasant to work with in helping plan our trip. They called when we arrived and the night before we left to be sure everything was okay. What a nice touch! We plan to return to our new found beach spot and would certainly rent the same villa if available. I am from the South so loved being back drinking sweet tea and homemade banana pudding and I was able to convince my Northern husband that the South isn't so bad - he is still talking about what a wonderful vacation we had!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Great things come in small, beautiful packeges! Our little family find this condo to be a perfect fit. We hope to return again soon. This was our fifth time to stay. The owners are very helpful with any need that we had, its all around a wonderful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The Beach At Its Best

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This is an outstanding location for anyone who enjoys a beach front vacation. The villa is in very good condition, attractive, comfortable and well appointed.The kitchen is well equipped with the important dishes, cookware and accessories. Clearly, the owners are conscientious about offering a pleasant experience for the renter.

The villa is well located for the island's dining and activities. Tennis, pool, workout and island shopping are easily within walking distance.

For island dining, we particularly enjoy the Bonito Boathouse. Upstairs seating offers the diner a memorable view of sunsets over the marsh to complement good low country menu selections.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Michael, Columbia SC

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

My stay at the John Fripp Villa was wonderful! The villa was immaculate and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect with the beach just steps away! The bicycles provided allowed us to explore the island using the trails that start as soon as you leave the parking area. We saw many deer, several alligators, and myriad species of bird. The porch provided an excellent view of the beach and is comfortably shaded with a refreshing breeze that is constant. The kitchen is fully equipped for dining in and there is a nice gas grill as well. This is the perfect romantic getaway for two, but the sleeper sofa allows for four to stay comfortably. The stars are magnificent on a clear night. I would definitely recommend this villa to anyone and would happily return.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing, Romantic, Beautiful Beach

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Everything was better than expected. Can't wail to return. We didn't have to move our car for the entire week. We bought fantastic local seafood, used the villa's grill for cooking and had a wonderful oceanfront dinner.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2005   Date of arrival: January 12, 2005

Our oceanfront villa is even better than it was when you stayed with us or looked at our website last year! Our villa has all new floor coverings and many upgrades throughout! Views of the ocean from the living room and dining room are spectacular! Please note that amenities ARE included and that you can step right out onto the beach from our villa! We have dry, sandy beach 24 hours a day because we are located on the best part of the beach! Most importantly, we are offering our beautiful villa at last year's rates, with NO increase! Bookings are already well ahead of last year. Please contact us soon to book your next oceanfront vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

We had the best time! Fripp Island is perfect for us and our 3 year old son. Your villa was convenient to all of the Island activities. Having the beach right outside our door was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Your villa was so bright and comfortable. Oceanfront is the only place to be. This was our best anniversary celebration so far! We love Fripp's safe, uncrowded ambiance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review