reviews for: listing #20093 - Lake Burton, Georgia House rental

Almost Heaven
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Charmont
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

This was a vacation that our children and the adults will always remember. We celebrated my Dad's 70th birthday with a total of 13 family members. The home was beautiful with a wonderful layout and many rooms to accomodate all of us. The kitchen was well stocked with all the essentials to cook. The view was "Heaven" and we enjoyed eating breakfast, lunch and dinner on the porch with the spectacular view. Our children enjoyed the boat that we were able to use on Lake Burton with the youngest child learning to knee board. There were many walks that we enjoyed on the trails around the home and we experienced several days on Chattooga River on rafts and duckies and the great shops in the quaint town in Clayton, GA. We look forward to returning next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time with your family. When we get up to the home, we take great joy in reading the guest book. There are so many stories just like yours.
Many of our guests are families that come year after year. It Blesses us, to hear when you are enjoying the home like this.
Thank you again for your review! I hope you will be able to come back soon. God Bless You!

Helpful votes: 13 / 16

 

All you could ask for and more....

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We have stayed here twice. The property is modern, well maintained, spacious and the information offered is accurate. We retreated here with 6 adults and I still think it was one of the best vacations of our lives. The views out the full length deck are unforgettable. One could spend days just relaxing out there with the constantly changing weather. The kitchen is spacious with most of the necessary items needed to cook just about anything. The deck has a huge gas grill with natural gas piped in. The road up to the house is well-maintained and paved but is steep and intimidating in a larger vehicle. The pontoon boat offered is very large, well maintained and conveniently moored about 3 miles down from the house at the Anchorage Marina which has full services. The lake for me is the prettiest one in all of Georgia and features beautiful upscale homes along the shores. We are already planning our next get-away here. A warning if you have small children: The property's edge slopes off very steeply and although the totally wrap-around porch is contained, the drop to ground level from there is significant. Better for adults and older children. Nearby is the quaint town of Highlands, N C and Franklin, NC where there is excellent shopping and restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nostalgic Sojourners

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

We are a group of eight senior citizens who laughingly call ourselves the Nostalgic Sojourners. We so enjoyed our five days at the Almost Heaven property. The scenery from the porches and upstairs bedrooms was spectacular and it was so nice to have a pontoon boat available for our use. The property was very clean and was absolutely perfect for us. It was centrally located to all our sight-seeing stops, but we particularly enjoyed touring the lake and seeing the homes of the "rich and famous". The owner of Almost Heaven was excellent to deal with. We would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a peaceful mountain retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Florida Family Mountain Mesmerized!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We were definitely " Almost in Heaven " as we sat on the beautifully furnished porches and witnessed the beauty of God's handiwork. The mountain view was gorgeous and it was so peaceful to see the winding lake especially at sunset. As we came up the curving, steep road to the house we stopped and befriended two box turtles we would have loved to take home with us! Our large family consisted of grandparents, grown children and children ranging from young ones to teens and we all ventured out each day to some new adventure! The well-maintained pontoon boat was a huge hit as we tubed, kneeboarded and skied! The swimming hole by the lake was lots of fun for the kids. After checking out Helen,falls,gorges and lots of day trips we would settle in for evenings of hot cocoa,popcorn, games, and family comraderie in front of the fireplace. It was truly a blessing to have everyone together making unforgettable memories. The house and furnishings were lovely and we are grateful to the Jones family for sharing their home so that others can share in the blessings of God's bounty. Come and visit and you will feel "Almost in Heaven!"

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Beautiful Home, Nicely Decorated with Great Views!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

We rented this house for our wedding celebration weekend! Three couples and two children stayed here and there was room left to spare! It is in a very centralized location for traveling to Lake Burton or Clayton GA. Our family did not want to leave this heavenly place! We also rented two other houses, one was on Rainwater Trail (very close to this house).. The other house was on Lake Burton at 1025 Perrin Cove Road and there we ran out of water the first night after two baths (never re-gained water for the entire stay), so our guests (family and friends) were fortunately able to take showers here and never run out of water! We had a blast on the pontoon boat, it was in perfect working order and condition. We would definitely rent this home again! Just Beautiful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice with pleasant ownership

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

This is a great property for anyone wishing to get away for the weekend or an extended vacation. It is very well maintained and the owners are great to work with. The pontoon was a great added benefit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Our two families consisting of 4 adults and 9 children had a great week at Almost Heaven. Plenty of space, very clean, great kitchen set up.

The boat was the icing on the cake, engine was strong enough to pull two skiiers plus a boat full of passengers. The marina was 10 minutes away, and the staff there was very helpful. Lake Burton is has perfect non-murky water at just the right temperature.

The town of Clayton is a bit of a drive for groceries, so make sure to stock up. Very steep winding drive up Charlie Mountain, so be aware if you are pulling a trailer.

The sunsets and clouds over the mountains were breathtaking, and it is very peaceful. The pictures on the web site don't do it justice!

The Talluhlah River offers great fishing and wading for the kids. We had many teenagers in our group,be aware this is not an area with a ton going on other than out door activities during the day, so come prepared with board games or DVD's when you settle in at night. Our kids were so exhausted by days of skiing, wake boarding and fishing it was not much of an issue!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We really appreciate your taking the time to review our property.
We are glad to hear that your stay went so well. It sounds like your family had a blessed time of vacation! We look forward to serving you in the future.
May God bless you and your family!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

This beautiful, spacious, clean and comfortable
house has the most incredible deck from where all
the family can enjoy the splendid view of Lake
Burton surrounded by mountains. Watching the
sunsets from this deck makes you feel closer to
heaven.
Every single member of our family, no matter what
age, had a great time and tremendously enjoyed
the boat rides. There are lots of great places to
visit within few miles. It is the perfect place for a
family reunion and we hope we can visit again
soon.
Thanks to both Mr. Jones for sharing their "Almost
Heaven" with our family.
The Calzada's

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review