reviews for: listing #2014 - Sunset Beach, Hawaii House rental

$295/nt Sunset Beach & Perfect for Familes!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $295 /nt
    $1,925 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: August 26, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Perfect location and best family trip we've had! Sunset beach and backyards straight out in front of the house so I was surfing right out in front every day! Outdoor shower was awesome. Teds Bakery across the street very convenient and had the best pasteries in the world! My wife and kids loved the beach and tidepools out in front. Thanks for all the added extras in the house for the kiddos!
See you next year!

Helpful votes: 26 / 30

 

Slice of Hawaiian Heaven

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

We are currently half way through our two week stay at this property. We found it to be all that was promised. If you are looking for 5 star Hyatt accommodations this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a laid back neighborhood, great beach access to a uncrowded section of sunset beach, quite trade winds cooling you down at night, as well as a place away from all of the high rise complexes, this place is for you. The property has been well kept including new Pella Windows and sliders. The beds are comfortable and the house is well equipped. We appreciated the outdoor shower, beach toys and mats and plenty of beach towels. The grocery store is close and Ted's Bakery was almost across the street, which was actually bad for our waistline. Everyone talks about the pie but the Malisadas in the morning were the thing that my children looked forward to. We needed a few extra bikes and they were delivered to us upon recommendation of the property management company. The walk to the beach was just a few minutes and the access appeared only known to locals. We loved the outdoor shower and it is perfect when trying to clean off from the beach. Sharks cove, Turtle bay, the fruit stands, shrimp trucks are all within minutes by car. The other thing worth noting is that it is listed as 1.5 baths but there is really only one bathroom with a shower and toilet and one outdoor shower. Also, there is not A/C or dishwasher. Not a big deal for us but someone reading this might want that clarified. The property management company was top notch. We had to call when we first arrived for more spoons as there were only four spoons in the kitchen. They were there that day with plastic spoons until they could get us the real spoons purchased and delivered. Also, the bike lock was missing and they delivered us a new one with the spoons. We would definitely rent this house again and found it a perfect quite, clean and well maintained unit. I should also add that the back yard is wonderful and we ate all of our meals on the back patio. True outdoor living! Thanks for sharing your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Home Away Home

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

Our family of four people had a great time staying at Sunset Beach house. This is our first Hawaii trip. The house has euipped everything we need for our 8 days stay, just like our own home. The house is very well maintained and have a beautiful back yard and front yard. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the beach. Our college student son and teenage girl enjoyed the stay very much and my daughter wrote a very long thank you note on the guest feedback book. We truly enjoyed the stay there. We will return for sure for our future Hawaii trip. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset house

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

Our stay at the Sunset house was great. I would Highly recommend this house to anyone wanting to stay in the North Shore area. There was plenty of things to do from the beach, waterfalls, shopping and of course Shaved ices.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My husband, 3 year old daughter, and I spent a dreamy 8 days in this well equipped home in safe neighborhood, short walk from gorgeous beaches. We loved the ample space, well equipped kitchen, and awesome backyard/lounge area. First time experiencing hot shower outdoors, and was surprised how private it was. My daughter loved the play structure, bunk bed, ceiling fans, and variety of kid seats.

We were disappointed that the bikes were not usable- they were either falling apart with rust or flat-tired (with no air pump in site). Didn't stop us though- we simply called up local bike rental shop in Haleiwa who delivered bikes to our doorstep within 20 minutes, and were all set to enjoy the bike paths.

There was one night (Saturday) when the neighbors kept loud music blasting until around 9pm, which was tough on us considering our jet lag and little one trying to go to bed. The rest of the nights were much more quiet.

Overall a fuss-free experience, with so many bonuses heavily outweighing any small drawbacks. Did I mention fully equipped with gear for enjoying the beach? Buckets, shovels, mats, boogie boards, sun shade tent, etc which we made good use of.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this home to any family wanting a comfortable getaway to the North Shore, and look forward to coming back again someday.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed our home as do all of our families with children. I am so sorry the bikes were not in working order for you. You simply could have called Christa and she would accommodate any issues you would have had with your stay. Glad you got the bikes delivered as that experience is great to have and why we offer the beach cruisers to our guests. We will replace the bikes right away and be sure to have a bike pump available to all our guests. Thank you and aloha!

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Home, sweet home...in Hawaii!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Sunset Home and there is simply no words to describe this place. I wish I could leave in this house for the rest of my life. Everything was clean, organized and the house was fully equipped. I think the photos and description actually misses all the energy of this neat home at Sunset beach. Management was very responsive and kept us well taken care during our stay. We will be back! Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Place in North Shore!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

After many debates on the perfect place to stay for our first Hawaii trip I have to say there are now 4 adults and 2 kids (10,13) with smiles from ear to ear and memories that will last a life time, so glad we picked this home! We all enjoyed this perfect spot in the North Shore. Had everything we needed to cook and live comfortable for the week in "the country". Love the friendly neighbors and Grandma Lee's stories. We swam, tanned, relaxed, snorkeled, biked, hiked and had tons of laughs. BBQ's out back and taking a stroll down to watch the sunset was a perfect end to each day. We explored the whole island and have to say we really like the relaxed feel of the North Shore. We look forward to returning and making this a yearly family tradition! Thanks Tamar and Family for making this home a great place to vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Family Beach House

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Thank you very much Tamar for opening up your home to us! This house was more than we could have dreamed! We traveled with 2 small children (4.5 & 1.5) and 3 Adults. The house was very clean, in a perfect location, and all the toys & beach items were great to have! The swingset, lanai, and outdoor shower were wonderful as well. We loved cruising around on the bikes in the neighborhood. Sunset beach is right around the corner and Ted's is very close as well. I would highly recommend this property to families who are looking for a North Shore vacation close to the beach! We hope to be back again someday!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic and just as advertised

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Tamar - Thanks again for a perfect vacation get away. Your house provided a great place to gather for our family of 6 with an infant. The North Shore experience was fantastic! Quiet and centrally located in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery we could have imagined. Sunset beach was perfect for our 16 month old to get wet and play in the sand. Thanks again for everything!

Randy, Angie and kids

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dreamy Vacation on the North Shore

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

This was my husband and my third trip to the North Shore and this was by far the best home we've stayed in. It was extremely clean, well kept, well-stocked (bikes, boogie boards, the works!), and we loved every minute. We were seconds from the beach, seconds from Ted's Bakery (my *favorite* place for chocolate haupia cream pie!), and minutes from Turtle Bay and Haleiwa Town. It felt like another world from our Colorado home. We will most certainly be back. Thank you again, Tamar! Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect for Families

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

I loved it, it was perfect for my little boys...They have a pack n play, high chair, lots of toys, bikes, beach toys, chairs, you name it they have it......The house was close to the beach and close to Ted's Bakery, great place to get food.....The neighbors were nice and friendly....The house was very clean, beds were comfortable, furniture was nice.....One thing that may concern families is, there are lots of stairs outside on patio, but my one year old got around just fine.....Overall the house was great, we had an amazing time..... :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect in every way.

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We visited with four children, ages 13,10, 7 and 5.

This is a vintage North Shore beach house. It is very clean, beautifuly decorated, and up to date. I cannot think of a single thing that can be improved upon.

It is perfect for children, all ammenities that they would need-- step stool, booster seat (and high chairs), toys, dishes, beach gear. It's all here.

The beach is a very short walk. The neighborhood feels safe. Our teenage babysitter (a North Shore resident) said "this is a family neighborhood where all the kids come to trick or treat." The neighbors are friendly and the cars drive slow. We were comfortable letting the children explore the area.

We wholeheartedly recommend this rental with no reservations. We hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Our stay in paradise aka The North Shore

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

My husband and I spent 9 nights at this charming house on the north shore. Neat and tidy with a lovely covered patio for breakfast and romantic dinners. 3 minute walk from Sunset Beach (beach chairs and umbrella provided at the house along with beach toys if you have kids).
Quiet neighborhood with Ted's Bakery near by along with Turtle Bay Resort for golf or a nice dinner out. Grocery store about 5 minutes away.
May is a quiet of time to go...not many visitors yet which made the beach a very enjoyable place to read, rest and swim. The locals in the Sunset Beach neighborhood are friendly and full of suggestions of places to go. We would recommend this to a couple of family with small kids and we would definitely consider a return trip in the future.

The few questions we had after our arrival were quickly answered by the owner via email. There is a local contact for any immediate needs while at the house. All in all a most enjoyable vacation!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Surfing Dad's dream

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

My family was set up at the beach house and I could dawn surf at sunset. Caught an early winter swell while my kid played at mother's with his mum & new friends. House & location had everything to make it easy for both of us. Waimea Falls Park is just up the road & my son loved it there with the cool peacocks. We even saw a monk seal taking a break in morning at our beach. Bringing back my wife and son for sure in the middle of winter next year for great surf at sunset! Thanks for the great trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Family Accommodation

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Our family had a really special holiday in this house. Everything for those with young children is provided for, from sand buckets, boogie boards, snorkelling gear, bikes, highchairs, stools, dvds, playgym, kids cutlery and plates...the list is endless. It makes travelling with young children so much easier and stress free.
The backyard balcony is sensational for relaxing and alfresco dining and the kids loved the outdoor shower.
Places like Shark's Cove, Waimea Bay/Valley and the turtle feeding grounds are a short drive away and places our family loved.
Ted's bakery makes the best Chocolate Haupia pie and is a short walk away, as is Sunset Beach.
I would recommend a car for your stay on the North Shore.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

We stay in this house for a month and we were really like at home !
Everything was perfect !!!
hope to come back this year ....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

good for families with kids

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

We were disappointed. The beach is actually 2 blocks away. The ceiling fan in one of the bedrooms did not work.We were assured that air conditioning was not needed. WRONG....It was 88 degree outside and at least 95 in the house. The house itself is ok but not at all what we expected. The charming bakery that we thought was just across the road was 2-3 blocks away. The house was clean and well kept. The enclosed back yard was very pretty with swings for the kids. The hot outside shower was the best. Customer service was not very helpful as far as answering questions about some things.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 11 / 16

 

Great location and good for the family

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

Our family stayed at the house for 8 nights in May. The house is older style but clean and funky with a great partially covered deck out the back and a good play area for the kids. The outdoor shower is fantastic and the kids loved the play equiment and use of the boogieboards, goggles etc. The location is great and Sunset beach is a very short walk away. I would suggest a car as a part from Ted’s bakery (which is pretty limited) there are no shops nearby and a car also means its easy to do the run down to Pipeline or Waimea bay.

We had good waves during our stay which did mean that Sunset beach was a little rough for the kids but just a short walk around the corner though the beach was fine – so everyone was happy!

In terms of the neighbourhood there are some very fancy places right on the beach but some of the houses are also pretty round down. The area has a good vibe though and everyone we met was very nice.

Note the house doesn’t have a phone (there are pay phones at the bakery though) which was an issue for us as our mobiles didn’t work. Wendy who manages the property is great though and was very helpful in assisting us to keep in contact with back home.

Overall we had a great time and a relaxed and comfortable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

Our stay at Sunset House was great. The best setup you can imagine for a family who enjoys the North Shore. Very calm and safe neighborhood. The property is cosy and maintained with love and care. It was just wonderful for my kids. Wendy was very helpful and answered promptly our questions and requests. The wireless internet connection was a plus, bring your laptop and be connected w/ home, friends, airlines, rental cars, attractions, etc. Mahalo.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Our Stay at Sunset House

Review submitted: August 9, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We have 2 kids and had the most INCREDIBLE time at this rental. It made things really easy for us with the bunk beds, kids TV & DVD and the play set in the back yard! The beach is right out in front and the sun sets into the water every evening! We rode the bikes a lot because the bike path is right around the corner. We don't surf but all the locals said that the beach out in front of the house is one of the best in the world! The back deck was our favorite spot, especially in the evening after our bbq's. Can't wait to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 11 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review