reviews for: listing #20272 - Stamford, New York House rental

Lakefront House WiFi, Boats, Dock & Walkout Lake Access
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $500 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,650 /wk

sort by:

What a fun weekend at a great house

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Me and a group of about 14 friends spent MLK weekend at the Lago House and absolutely loved it. As long as you have a group that doesn't mind sleeping on twin size beds (master bedroom has a queen I believe), then it is perfect. While we were there in the dead of winter, I can see how this house would be amazing in the summer, since it is situated right on the lake. I definitely plan on coming back this summer. Thanks Troy!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Thanksgiving on the lake.

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Our Thanksgiving Family Reunion could not have been held in a better location. This lake house is one of the best places we have had our reunion. The home is much larger than it appears in the listing so that was a great plus. We were so lucky to have had unseasonably warm weather while we were there but even if it were cold I think we still would have enjoyed the tranquility and serene views both at dawn and at dusk. The home is extremely clean and private with every thing you need for you stay. The children had a blast on the lake, as did the adults, with plenty of games for everyone. The hot tub was perfect for the weather we were having; we even had a barbecue on the deck; PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT!!! The Ommegang Brewery is a must-see for the adults. Troy is attentive to any questions you may and sends an informative booklet prior to your arrival so that you are able to have a truly worry free getaway. Thank you Troy for sharing your beautiful home with us, we truly could not have asked for a better place.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Vacation Getaway !

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

The most relaxing vacation we have ever had was here at Lago House ! We were looking for a peaceful getaway home and what we found was a piece of heaven. This home has the best views of the huge pond surrounded by the beautiful trees in their fall glory, and MORE than fulfilled our space needs. Wonderfully
equipped with jacuzzi tub and my favorite (the hot tub). The owner, Troy, was so easy to contact and very quick to take care of anything! I am very thrilled to find such a beautiful vacation home and surrounding area that allowed us to have our 4-legged children to stay with us. We were also very fond Mama Maria's restaurant and Charlottesville General Store.....extremely nice people !!!! We already are anticipating our return to Lago House next fall. We are rating this vacation 5 stars .....Thanks Again Troy !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a guys only trip

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

The Lago House is absolutely beautiful as is the property and the lake. Everything was clean and furnished just as described. The owner was readily available, accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. Our search for the perfect lake house has ended. Thanks Troy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Getaway !!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We stayed at this house for Memorial Day Weekend. We had such a great time. Troy was so quick to answer any questions we had prior to our arrival and during. The place was clean when we arrived. We had 10 adults stay and there was plenty on room for all. The fire pit was very peaceful at night right by the lake. We would def. book again with no doubts. Thank you Troy !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

This was our 4th visit to Lago House and we had a fantastic time, as always. The house is clean and comfortable and a perfect place for a quiet getaway. We cannot wait to return next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 30, 2009

We recently celebrated my Mother’s birthday (she won’t allow me to say which one) at the Lago house and we had a wonderful stay! We arrived at night and the house was pretty with the moon reflecting on the lake - but when the sun rose on the lake in the morning it was breath taking! It is a very spacious, comfortable house with plenty of room for all of us. We hope to be able to visit the property again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

My party of 8 stayed at Lago House for a weekend getaway. The fall foliage was beautiful. The description of the house was completely accurate and we found everything to be just as described. The house was very clean and there was plenty of firewood. The rental process was very smooth. I would definitely recommend this property to others and my friends and I are already planning on booking another stay next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Wonderful weekend at the Lago House. Quiet and realxing as always and the place was as clean, well-ordered and welcoming as I expected. My entire group had a fantastic time. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

My husband and I and our baby just spent a week at the Lago house with my parents and adult brother and sister. The house was perfect as it was plenty large enough for everyone to spread out. There was so much to do, inside and out, that we rarely left the house except for a couple hikes in the Catskill Park. The property is completely secluded with woods on each side, and there weren't many other homes on the lake, so it was very quiet and peaceful. The lake was beautiful, clean, and a perfect size for fishing and kayaking. We even ate one of the large pickerel we caught - it was pretty good. The beach area was perfect for our dogs to swim and run around. There is a very nice fire pit area with seating for bonfires, a hammock, horseshoe stakes, swings for kids, and 2 nice grills. The owner was very accommodating , helpful, and easy to reach. We spent a lot of time looking at different places to stay in the Catskills and this looked to be the best. It definitely lived up to our expectations.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

My family and I spent a week at Lago House and had a wonderful time. There was a total of 12 adults and 1 child. The house was very spacious and clean. We had a great time fishing on the canoe, boats and off the shore. We loved seeing the frogs and fish just off the shore line. It was a good distance from the surrounding houses and also to the supermarket and shopping areas. We can't wait to come back. Thank you for a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Spent a week at Lago House with four couples (old college friends) and had a great time. The house was very well suited to our needs with five good sized bedrooms, plenty of bathrooms and living space, a good sized and well equipped kitchen, and a dining area with plenty opf seating space. Spent a lot of time on the upper deck and the lower deck (especailly good during rain storms). Caught plenty of fish on the lake--there are some good sized ones out there if you find the right spot. Saw many of the local sites, including the cheese shop, the Maple shop, the brewery at Cooperstown, Baseball Hall of Fame, and the sight of the Woodstock festival in Bethel. If you like pasta and pizza make sure you try Mama Marias on Route 23, not far from the house. All in all a great vacation spot.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Our stay at Lago House was amazing. The
bedrooms are spacious, there are plenty of
bathrooms, and everything is sparkling clean & tidy.
The yard is huge and the lake is gorgeous. I started
every morning with a relaxing row boat ride and
coffee on the top deck. The dining areas are
perfect for groups and the house is equipped with
plenty of dishes, pots, pans, and a dishwasher.
There's so much to do, but honestly most of the
time we all just lounged around the yard and decks.
It was so relaxing! Highly recommended. Oh, and
if anyone is a runner, the roads are a really fun
challenge! They're super hilly.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Escape to House Lago

Review submitted: July 27, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

1 week stay with 3 couples and 6 children(2-11yrs)
Plenty of room in the house! Very clean and comfortable!
Beautiful views! Great camp fires! Canoeing, kyacking and
rowboat loads of fun. Water not swimmable immediately at
yards edge due to algea globuals?! But a quick paddle to
the left of the property found large flat landing rocks to swim from.
Need to be able to climb lots of stairs and rock steps. Got
in shape pretty quick!
A bit of a drive to the nearest grocery store. And liqueur store. Come prepared with stock items.
Bug man & hot tub guy serviced the house while we were there. 1 did call to notify us. The other was a bit of a surprise as he came through the house to the top deck when we noticed him. Necessary, I guess..?
We would book this house again for a retreat. Shopping towns are not really near by.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a great time. The lake is awesome. Small but not too small. The house is beautifully situated, and bigger than we expected, the grounds are huge and well kept, the area is very quiet and peaceful. Great place to have some friends up, too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 14, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

My family recently had the pleasure to stay at the Lago House. We were in town for a wedding and decided to stay at a home versus a hotel room. Words can not explain how beautiful Titus Lake is. The Lago house was more than we could have asked for and it was the key ingredient to a very relaxing weekend. I would absolutely recommend the Lago house for your next family vacation. The home owner was great to deal with and the rental process went as smoothly as anything I have ever done. Thank you and we will certainly be back to spend a week there next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

The Lago House is beautiful and everyone in our group had a great time there. The house itself is spacious and clean. The lawn is huge allowing for lawn games and campfires. Titus lake is beautiful...there are only a few houses on the lake so it's quiet and peaceful. The only bad part of the weekend was when the landscaping crew came early on Saturday morning and stayed for 2-3 hours mowing and weed whacking every inch of the property. While I appreciate a well manicured lawn, our guests did not like being woken up that way. Also, some members of our group wanted to play croquet on the lawn and had to wait until they were done. Other than that our stay was wonderful and I would go back in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review