reviews for: listing #202883ha - Playa Carrillo, Costa Rica rental

Unique Carrillo House--Super View--Pool--Walk to Beach & Restaurants
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 140 - $ 225 / night
    $ 840 - $ 1,400 / week
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Didn't want to come home!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 3, 2014

We arrived March 3rd and stayed for nearly 3 weeks with our 3 kids, ages 9, 5 and 2. The house was all that we had anticipated and more!! Spotless and well-maintained, it was equipped with everything we needed. Aside from a 3 day road trip to Arenal Volcano - which, by the way, we high recommend - particularly the Arenal Hanging Bridges guided walk where we saw a Margay (small jungle cat) among many other wildlife - we spent our time in Carrillo and Samara casually. We started the day with breakfast on the upstairs balcony, followed by a swim in the pool before the sun got too high, and then off to Playa Carrillo. We can't say enough good things about Playa Carrillo - secluded, quiet (even on the weekends, when the locals used the beach, it was far from crowded by any standards), clean and safe. The water is like bathwater and the surf gentle enough on most days that our younger ones could safely play near the shore. Playa Samara was also a lovely beach, however a bit busier than Carrillo on a weekend, but certainly deserted compared to what a resort beach often looks like. As any homeowner well knows, there can sometimes be problems. We had a problem with the latch on the front door but Melissa at Samara Rentals had a handyman to the house asap and the problem was resolved within 30 minutes or so. We also had a problem with the washer, but again, this was resolved rapidly and satisfactorily. Because we had quick resolution of these issues, they had little effect on our enjoyment of the house, and I didn't feel they should detract from my 5 star rating. One thing I think is worth mentioning for those who have small children/toddlers - the cliff edge of the property has just a low fence made of wires, so we had to be very vigilant with our 2 year old when we had her outside. Also the balcony rails are horizontal and climbable, so we regretfully had to keep the gate closed at all times, as our daughter is a climber! All in all, though, small prices to pay for a few weeks in paradise! We loved just living in the community, shopping in the local Mercados and getting a taste of the Tico lifestyle. We also recommend the local restaurant El Colibri - an argentinian steakhouse, just a short walk into the main street of Carrillo. Lovely staff, delicious and reasonably priced dinners and according to my husband, the tenderloin was the best steak he's ever had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect balance of views, wildlife and activity

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

We had an amazing 2 weeks. The house was perfect for 5. Location, pool, views, design, bathrooms, amenities....everything was exceptional. We felt we were in the best part of Carrillo which is the best part of that area. Saw monkeys everyday around the house, in the area and driving to other destinations like Guiones. We surfed everyday in either Barrigona, Guiones or Camaronal....waves were amazing. Birds, iguanas, coati, monkeys were great to see. Zip lined in Nosara (45 mins) and visited La Selva which was nice. Snorkeled off Isla Chora and southern end of Playa Carrillo at mid tide. We didn't expect super clear water but were pleasantly surprised by all the fish. After visiting Nosara and Samara we felt Carrillo was definitely the best choice. Would go back to the same location and same house. Thanks to Sevana for a beautiful well planned house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a view!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 25, 2014

We arrived at Casa Sevana for the second week of a 2 week vacation. We were 2 couples travelling from the U.S. David at Samara Rentals met us at the house and briefly walked us through the house details. What a beautiful house and surrounding area. The yard is very tastefully landscaped - many beautiful and unusual flowers and trees plus an ACTUAL GRASS YARD! Seems most homes opt for the dirt/cactus type yards. We spent many hours in and by the pool staying cool in the 95+ degree heat. Nice shady areas plus 3 large umbrellas to keep off the midday sun. Carillo Beach is about 1/2 mile away - close enough to walk to if you want. It's an absolutely gorgeous swimming beach and hardly anyone is there during the week. If you're looking for a bit more excitement the village of Samara is about 4 miles away - still a small town but with a few more restaurants and such. The house looks just as the pictures show. A lot of attention to detail and quality workmanship throughout. The bedrooms are air conditioned but the main part of the house is not. The house opens up with large sliding patio doors both upstairs and down and the sea breeze kept it very comfortable inside. We were blown away with the view of Playa Carillo from the house. We saw some of the prettiest sunsets we have ever seen in our 7 nights there - each one different from the last - bring a camera! I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone. If you're feeling adventurous and are driving a 4 wheel drive vehicle I would highly recommend the ocean drive from Carillo to San Francisco - it will test your driving skills but the secluded beaches and mountain roads are a sight to behold.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

We spent two weeks at Casa Sevana in February. The pictures actually do not do justice to this property - the accommodations, location, views etc. are stunning. The house is extremely clean and well kept. The location was perfect, giving us peace and quiet, yet close to the beach and Samara. The property manager was extremely responsive and help when we had questions during our stay, not to mention her patience with our arrival due to flight delays. The property owners were also quick to respond when we had questions during our stay. While we dined-in most of the time due to the excellent equipment in the house, however, we did enjoy a meal at Hula Jungla and the local Soda restaurant in Playa Carrillo. We took in a two hour horse back ride with Louis - ride starts at the soccer field. Two hours for $35!!. It was well worth it. Our son took a surf lesson on Carrillo beach that was also very reasonable given the amount of time the instructor spent with him. The pool was spectacular and enjoyed on a daily basis. I would highly recommend Casa Sevana to anyone interested in staying in this particular area of Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magnificent view near the jungle

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

We spent 3 weeks in this very nice house and were most happy to be close to two of the best restaurants of the region. El toucan and el colibri. We also enjoyed the closeness of the beach that was clean and secure for swimming. The garden was manicured and the pool refreshing. The house was very well equipped .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Great property location. Perfect amenities. Everything we needed in the home was already there for you. I traveled with 2 small children and some adults friends. It fit all of our needs.

Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

The home was everything we hoped for and more. We are a family of 5 and stayed 8 days. The home had every amenity needed and then some we didn't expect like beach and pool toys. The home is uniquely designed for the elements with a very well maintained pool and landscaping. The woman that manages the property for the homeowners called us and kept in contact to ensure we were never in need of anything and there was never a problem. We never ate a meal indoors with such a wonderful view and the whooping of howler monkeys in the trees across from us. We never had to rent a car because everything is within walking distance and most adventure activities included pick up and delivery. The homeowners have pages of suggestions on their website that we copied and took with us. We delighted in every activity we participated in. The homeowners ask that guests sign a book at the end of their stay with comments and suggestions of their own. We found these very helpful as well. Our kids favorite activity was surf lessons from Elder, Nick, and John who run a little stand at the north end of Playa Carrillo beach. The charge was $35.00 for a 3 hour lesson and the board is yours to use for 3 days. For my husband and I it was the hike recommended by the homeowners through the mango plantation to the top of a hill for a stunning view and down to the tidal pools along the cliffs. We zip-lined with Wing Nut Canopy tours (#1 family rated by us all), they built it themselves and it is extremely unique, horseback riding with Luis to the beach and into the mountains, fishing with Marco who taught us how to hand line, (we were the only ones catching fish), eating at Soda and the Brazilian steak house. There is so much more! I have already recommended this to my family and friends and we are hoping to return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable Stay in Beautiful Setting

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We spent the first half of our month long stay at Casa Sevana. What a pleasure to work with Sevana and Herbert who are absolutely the best owners we have ever rented from. They tirelessly answered our many questions and took the time to ensure all was well both before and during our stay.
The house and grounds are exactly as they appear in the photographs. It is an amazingly restful experience to be at Casa Sevana. The home is located down a dirt road not far off the main road to Carrillo town. We quickly settled into our routine -- morning coffee and reading on the upstairs porch taking in the beautiful views and frequent monkey and bird sightings. On to the beaches in the afternoon (we explored several in addition to enjoying the beautiful and shady Playa Carrillo) and then back to Casa Sevana for a swim followed by dinner at one of the many good local restaurants in Carrillo and Samara. (We didn't cook dinner in too often, but enjoyed having the well equipped kitchen for breakfast and lunch.)
The house is extremely well built, clean, and secure. In fact, if there is a negative in that statement it is the need for the security of iron bars and sliding gates and the ritual of having to ensure all is locked when leaving the house or going to bed in the evening and then unlocking everything in the day time to take in the views and breezes. There were times unfortunately when I felt a bit like a prisoner looking out at the bars securing the porches and patio. That being said, we never felt unsafe in the house and we had no instances here or anywhere we stayed in Costa Rica with crime of any kind.
You will find as we did that the house functions extremely well with two bedrooms, one bathroom, and the laundry room on the ground level and the main living areas upstairs. While it did get very warm outside (we were frankly surprised by the intense heat) the overhead fans and the room air conditioners do a good job of maintaining a comfortable temperature, particularly for sleeping purposes. We did lose power for short periods on several occasions, but generally it and the wifi worked well.
While we enjoyed that this area is not overly developed and touristy, potential travelers should be aware that the Samara-Carrillo area is not geared for travelers wanting luxury accommodations, amenities, and food. However, it does give a view into typical Costa Rican life and Casa Sevana itself is a most comfortable environment for enjoying your time here

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Carrillo

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Our family of four (with seven year old twin boys) stayed at this wonderful house for two weeks in late February. The house and yard are beautiful with fabulous landscaping and an amazing ocean view. We enjoyed many visits from Howler monkeys and iguanas. The pool was a perfect size and so refreshing on hot days. The house was ideal: awesome views from the patio and balcony, large kitchen, spacious bedrooms. The breezes from the many windows kept it comfortable. Casa Sevana is on a very quiet street and a short walking distance to three great restaurants (El Colibri, El Tucan, and Hula Jungla). El Colibri is a must! There are two grocery stores a block or two away. Best is Playa Carrillo, the beach that is just down the hill from this home. It's lined with palm trees for shade, the sand is soft and the beach is wide. It is just so beautiful - much nicer than the beach in Samara. The waves are perfect for kids and the crabs at the end of the beach are fun to watch. We have rented homes in Maui, California and Florida and this was by far our best experience. There was so much to do (ziplining with Wingnuts, hiking with Alvaro of Samara Trails, a boat tour in Palo Verde) and it was lovely coming home to the peace of this house. We highly recommend it!
Samara town is seven kilometers away so is a short drive to do banking, souvenir shopping or just to relax over dinner and drinks on the beach (El Lagarto was fabulous).
Thank you Sevana and Herbert for sharing this piece of paradise with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

simply beautiful

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

This house is a gem, a real paradise, with the terraces, the large rooms, the superb equipment , the garden, the pool, the view. We enjoyed everything and had one of our nicest and most relaxing vacation of the last 5 years at Casa Sevana. One regret: 3 Nights were not enough . One hope: to come back and spend more time in this lovely place!

Thanks again to Sevana

Evelyne Louise and Bertrand

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return to Paradise

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

My return to Casa Sevana exceeded all expectations. The VRBO website conveys a VERY accurate description of this lovely well appointed home: the serenity, security and attention to detail are evident throughout. The property is IDEALLY suited both to adult getaways (my last visit) and family oriented holidays (this visit). My grand-daughters LOVED the pool, the monkey sightings, the parrot flocks. We all appreciated the conveniences and comforts of "home" in Paradise. The owners are so helpful in communicating suggestions and information to ensure a flawless visit and the local staff are exceptional in their response to inquiries and upkeep of the property. The house sparkles, the pool is well maintained and the gardens are a showpiece. (During our stay a minor power cut, caused us to lose water pressure and the manager had the problem fixed within 30 min. Remarkable!)
Beyond the amenities of Casa Sevana itself, the location is ideal. We took full advantage of the delicious local Pizza for take out and the acclaimed Argentinian Steak house for a family celebration. The local Saturday farmers market and the availablity of fresh fish was all we needed to prepare fabulous meals in the well equipped kitchen. MMmmm! The spectacular view from the balcony, is matched by the fabulous Playa Carrillo itself. What a stunning stretch of sand and gentle surf.
I'll be back to Casa Sevana again and I am envious of those who will savour Sevana in the interim, Enjoy Pura Vida!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house, amazing beach

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Playa Carillo is such a spectacular beach. There's nothing but palm trees, sand and surf. Perfect for small children and anyone who likes the beach without the scene. We went several times (by car and on foot) over the course of our one-week stay. We also spent a morning at Leyenda Restaurant/Resort and a morning at Islita - both of which were nice ways to break up the week, but the beach was definitely the highlight.

The house is thoughtfully designed (eg, living space on the second floor to take advantage of the sea view) and very well equipped. Just as an example, when faced with squeezing a dozen limes to make ceviche, I was thrilled to find a juicer in the kitchen.

The manager Melissa was super responsive. We couldn't get the internet to work when we first arrived and she had the technician out there to take care of it even though it was 7pm on Friday night.

We enjoyed the view from the terrace, the swimming pool and the daily visits from parrots and howler monkeys. The only thing that was a little off-putting was the level of security required (bars on windows, gates on the terraces, etc). I guess we should be appreciative that those measure are in place; but it's just a shame that crime seems to be such a prevalent problem throughout Costa Rica.

Overall, I highly recommend Playa Carillo and this property. I hope to have the chance to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thoughtful Design and Great Location

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The house is so thoughtfully designed that you are as comfortable as you would be at home, if not more so! Fabulous view down to the ocean - great pool which is a good size and kept very clean. The house stays cool so we only used the a/c occasionally in the bedrooms. Monkeys in the trees visible and photographable from the house. We had postcard-perfect Carillo beach to ourselves, and its a nice walk down there. Thoroughly recommend El Colibri - a restaurant up the road - a nice quiet stroll up there for wonderful food. We also like driving to Samara on occasion to eat lunch on the beach. Our kids loved the space in the garden and the pool. Thoroughly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in a wonderful location

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Casa Sevana is a lovely spot! The clever design, splendid execution, and amazing location combined to make it one of our all time favorite vacations. There are amazing views of the Pacific and jungle/wildlife from the back yard and upper deck. The howler monkeys put on a great show almost every day. One of my favorite activities was to gently sway in the hammock, reading and listening to the bird concert at anytime of the day. We observed 47 different species of birds; they were beautiful to see and amazing to hear.
The house is as solid as a rock and is built with a high level of craftsmanship. Many local hardwoods were used. The spiral staircase, the ceilings, the large built in butcher block, the bedroom cabinets, etc. are all fine examples.

The house is a short stroll to a pristine beach, grocery shopping and fabulous restaurants but secluded enough to enjoy the delightful garden, pool, and spectacular sunsets undisturbed. We especially appreciated the attention to detail put into the design, appointment and upkeep of the house and yard. The beds are very comfortable, the linens exquisite, the kitchen well equipped, the seating very comfortable, the pool an absolute delight at any hour of the day or night.

We highly recommend Casa Sevana as the place to stay in this beautiful area of Costa Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Honeymoon

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

My new wife and I stayed here for a week in August of 2012. It was fantastic! The house is beautiful and has everything you need. We read and drank coffee on the second floor porch while looking out at the Pacific every morning and ended every day with a dip in the swimming pool. Each morning we saw howler monkeys and green parrots come through the yard which was a great experience. The house is an easy walk to Carillo beach which is sparsely used and postcard picturesque. The house is also within walking distance of several great restaurants. We rented a car which made trips to Samara to check out restaurants or surf very easy. We also walked to Samara one day which was very pleasant, you can do the entire walk on the beach except for perhaps 1/4-1/3 of a mile. We also loved using the outdoor grill at the house to cook fish we caught! To top it all off the owners were incredibly easy to work with and very gracious in dealing with our late arrival (as we missed a connected in the States). We'd recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Costa Rica Experience

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Fantastic Costa Rica experience. Saw Howler Monkeys, Humpback Whales, dolphins and turtles. Carrillo Beach is amazing and a nice beach for families. Casa Esmeralda in Samara is a wonderful restaurant. Casa Sevana was warm and welcoming just like its owners. Sevana was always on top of answering questions and extremely helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely vacation home

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon at Casa Sevana. The house is beautifully designed and even nicer than it looks in the pictures. Our favorite part was having our own pool in the private garden! We also loved the large porch that looks out over the ocean. The house was the perfect combination of being near things that we could do, but far enough away that we had plenty of privacy and space.

The location is great, about a 5 minute drive from Playa Carrillo (which is even more beautiful than Playa Samara). We never walked to the beach because it is uphill on the way back and because we had our own car. I think you could stay at this house without a car, but we definitely enjoyed having the freedom to drive to Samara or other places when we wanted to go out. If you want to be right in the action, this house probably isn't the best for that, but if you want to have some privacy and your own space, the house is ideal.

I would recommend looking at the guest book at the house for additional recommendations on things to do and places to eat. It had some good advice that we wish we'd seen before the last day.

The only real negative for us was that the upstairs living area of the house does not have air conditioning. Even with the windows and doors opened and the fans on, the house got pretty hot in the day time. If you're used to this type of weather, it might be fine, but for us the heat and humidity of this area of Costa Rica was a bit much. However, it seems very typical for places in this area not to have AC, so I don't think it's unusual that the house doesn't have it.

I should also note that the owners were very easy to work with. They were very responsive to email, friendly, and helpful, which made our stay easier. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Attention to Every Detail ! An Outstanding Vacation Home

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

My husband and I have worked and travelled extensively throughout the world, often using VRBO and long term rentals.
Casa Sevana ranks as the best we've ever enjoyed. A truly world class accommodation. It suited our exacting (but not opulent) standards perfectly.
The proximity to nature, a short walk to beautiful Carrillo Beach, and the delightful garden and pool area were terrific. I appreciated the ease of self catering (wonderfully equipped kitchen, nearby markets) and the excellent range of dining options within walking distance. Check out the "guestbook" for lots of great hints, and join the ranks of the many admirers of Casa Sevana.
We loved the Pacific sunsets from the balcony, the view of fishing boats in the harbour, and the biodiversity at our door. Don't forget your binoculars: the birds, vegetation and monkey antics are wonderfull.
The house itself is second to none: well furnished, NO clutter! carefully appointed, comfortable, very secure and squeaky clean. I cannot emphasize enough that attentian has been paid to every detail: in the design, maintenance and upkeep of this property.
Casa Sevana: well designed, superbly maintained, ideally situated and guaranteed to provide you with a tremendously happy holiday.
I would highly recommend this special villa, we definitely plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Possible Vacation House

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Seven of us just returned from a week in paradise in total agreement that this house is as good as it gets!
Spacious, clean, air conditioned bedrooms, well-kept pool, and within walking distance of the beach and great "local" eating places.
For the flavor of uncrowded ocean side towns with more "locals" than tourists. This is where you want to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exotic and Peaceful Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

We are a famiy of four with teenagers and spent four heavenly days at Casa Sevana, a beautiful contemporary home overlooking Carillo Beach. The beach is about a 10 minute walk away, but we only had to share this beautiful stretch of sand with a handful of people at the most. There is absolutely no development along the beach -- pristine and gorgeous. Shallow, no rocks, gentle surf in the morning that picks up in the afternoon with exciting waves. A car would have been very helpful to get back and forth to Samara where there is more activity (7km distance), like souvenir shopping, bars, restaurants, etc., but for a few days, there were plenty of little places to have dinner/lunch and buy groceries just minutes walk from the house. It is really too far to walk regularly to Samara -- we did it once. Tourist buses run back and forth between Samara and Carillo, but not on a regular schedule and not at night. Also, a car would have been convenient to travel to and from the area because bus connections are not convenient (we ended up hiring a private car to take us here and back to the airport). Aside from the beach, we went horseback riding (beautiful vistas) at sunset and snorkeling (a little murky because of the waves, but hear it can be good when calmer). We didn't have time to do a nature tour, sport fish, surf, or visit the local preserve, but heard they are good. Very easy to organize these activities at the tourist office at the bottom of the hill (5-10 min walk) and fairly priced. The home itself has every amenity: Kitchen stocked with pans and utensils for real cooks, pool, outdoor shower and grilling space, laundry, lovely balcony and porch, comfortable beds. The home itself is gorgeously designed and decorated. We saw howler monkeys, parrots, humingbirds and numerous other birds from the balcony. Internet connections were great (for those who really have to bring work with them). We felt very secure all of the time here. If you want to get away from it all and visit a Costa Rica that still has incredible local charm, but has many comforts of home, this is the place to go. Thank you to Herbert and Sevana for sharing their paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pacific Paradise

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We have just returned after a wonderful short stay at this fantastic house. The house, pool, gardens and location were all we expected from the description. We especially loved the wildlife - monkeys in the trees at dawn and dusk, vultures overhead and myriad birds coming and going. A flight of brightly coloured parrots often shot over the garden while we sunbathed. The kitchen is a delight with all you could need for your stay. The bedrooms were comfortable and well furnished as were the bathrooms. The nearby beach is superb and the bathing was excellent. I would highly recommend this place and would dearly love to return for an extended period in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica Holiday

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

When writing a review you want to ensure you cover the key points good and bad....in this case I could not find a bad point if I tried..
- the view
- the accommodation
- the amenities
- the responsive contacts / owners
- the weather (ok can't always account for that !)
- the company - yes we did supply that one too - but they were good.

Overall I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone who wants a beautiful, relaxing, idyllic place to chill watch monkeys (with their babies!!) and the sea in the distance.

It was a pleasure to share and experience the wonderful house that is Casa Sevana

I and my family had the best time and would certainly be making plans to return.

If you are coming this way...make a stop and visit this heaven on earth !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home & perfect location

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

We rented Casa Sevana for 5 nights in January and had a wonderful time. The house is beautifully designed with lots of outdoor spaces to enjoy the view of the ocean in the distance and the monkeys in the nearby trees. We enjoyed having the pool all to ourselves too.

The location was perfect for us. We had a rental car and spent one day driving 2 hours south, and then beach hopping our way back. The next day we did the same thing but drove north. We also enjoyed Playa Carillo which was just a 5 minutes away. We saw some of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen sitting on Playa Carillo surrounded by many Tico families also enjoying the beach. The house is a very short walk to some great restaurants and a small grocery store. We really liked feeling like we were far enough away from the tourists, but still close enough to the amenities like shops, restaurants and beaches.

The house was very clean, easy to use, and includes air conditioning and free wifi. I highly recommend Casa Sevana and we hope to return again some day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house in a magnificent place. We will come back

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Everything as described! The house is well designed and cozy. My mother in law enjoyed very much that she was able to step in in the swimming pool without any difficulties. The sorrounding areas had plenty of monkeys and all sort of birds. We enjoyed very much the magnificent view and sunset from the second floor. In addition, we were very happy to have small market 5 minutes from the house, where we found all the basic needs. The staff were extremely helpful and the owner responded immediately to our needs. We recommend to see the sunset from Playa Carrillo as you can see many Ticos families celebrating the end of the day. My cousin from Costa Rica who visited us is telling everybody in San José about the house and they are already planning to go fishing from Puerto Carrillo Beach. I recommend this house without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

highly recommend Casa Sevana

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights of our Costa Rica vacation. The house is amazing - open terraces, nice pool with private backyard, howler monkeys/iguanas/coati to see, walk or drive to the most beautiful beach in the world - white sand, flat (not slanted) so good for walking/running, good waves, ocean not cold. Two good restaurants down the street - El Colbri and Hula Jungla, small grocery, church (mass is Sat, not Sunday). This area is very NON touristy, which we loved. We hiked up hill, kayaked, and relaxed. The house has good security and wifi. I would highly recommend Casa Sevana!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another wonderful stay in paradise

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

This was our second trip to Casa Sevana, and hopefully will not be our last. It really is a perfectly situated and designed house for a week at the beach. Melissa, the property manager is a treasure. As we were arriving on Christmas day, she took a grocery order for us, and we arrived to a fully stocked refrigerator. She also gave us wonderful advice on where to go, what to see, who to contact for tours and where to get the best fresh fish locally. Zulema, the housekeeper was also incredibly friendly and helpful, and has the house spotless for new arrivals.

For turtle lovers, the Cameronale refuge is only about a half hour drive away. We lucked out and got to see a 1000lb Leatherback lay eggs on the beach.

Carrillo Beach is confirmed as our favorite beach of all time. We are from Australia and now live in California so the bar is set high for this one. The Northern end of Samara beach was great for snorkeling, with a good array of interesting fish.

The house is truly remarkable, and if we are ever in a position to build a home we would want Herbert and Sevana to design it. Everything is optimized and easy to use, but with no sacrifice of form for function.

We have now stayed in a large number of VRBO homes in different countries and four others in Costa Rica. None of them come close to the beauty, simplicity, convenience and safety of Casa Sevana.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home, view and location!!!

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My husband, myself and my 3 children (5, 11, 12) stayed at Casa Sevana in June. Every part of a stay was incredible. Sevana was sweet and personable when making all of our arrangements.

The house is a gem. Attention to detail is in every part of it. I learned a huge lesson on this trip, I will only stay in rentals that are considered a vacation home not just an investment property. This home is well maintained and cared for.

I loved the private location, at the end of a short road but in walking distance to many restaurants. We felt very safe!

There was no airconditioning upstairs, but it was not needed. The layout of the fans and windows upstairs allows the breezes to flow through the house. In fact, one night I was actually cold upstairs, which is amazing for June.

We stayed for 2 weeks, at 4 different locations in Costa Rica. Casa Sevana was by far my favorite. It was indeed magical.

One recommendation! Stock up on groceries in San Jose or Liberia. They do have grocery stores nearby, but the power goes off fairly regularly and the cheese and meat were a little sweaty.

Thank you for our incredible stay!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

I have a wonderful time! Cant wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much more than represented

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

First, the listing was not at all accurate; this house is much more than represented on the website. It has everything you need and the owners have gone to great lengths to make sure you understand the house and the surrounding area.

The house is very clean, tight and functional. The pool and landscaping are well kept. Everything works.

The house is within easy walking distance of some very good restaurants, a couple of markets, a liquor store and the beach.

Playa Carrillo is a picture perfect beach with gentle waves and little to no rip. It's the perfect place to learn to surf or let your young ones boogie board or swim.

I would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay and if you need a little nightlife, Samara is only a ten minute drive away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five star hotel couldn't compete

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This being our second year to Carrillo, we have found during this vacation it to be heaven on earth!!!!!!!!!!!!! We think what put it over the top was our stay at the most glorious place! Attention to EVERY detail was not only in the fact that everything we needed was at our fingertips but, the tranquil, peaceful oceanview! PURA VIDA!!!!

We have decided at retirement we will make Carrillo our home. After visiting 3 other areas of Costa Rica, none can compare to this area. Can't wait to return.

If you need a sanctuary to get away, Casa Sevana is a perfect diamond! A five star hotel couldn't even compete.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place for a perfect holiday!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We had a fabulous time at Casa Sevana and at playa Carillo. The house was just a paradise, it is just perfect. Everything is so well designed, perfectly maintained. We also felt that the house was very well equiped, we just had everything we needed to cook, go to the beach, even the book on birds of Costa Rica was a nice treat for us, we enjoy bird watching so we made good use of it. And having howler monkeys coming in the nearby trees so that we could watch and hear them was very exciting. We were particularly happy to find the luxury of Casa Sevana after spending 2 weeks travelling with the local buses and spending nights in "budget" hotels! Our girls (11 and 13 years old) were just astonished when they visited the house, with its large rooms, beautiful bathrooms, incredible patios with the ocean view and the pool, oh what a pool! What a nice treat after coming back from the beach! The beach was reached after a 10-15 min. walk, no car needed while staying in Carillo. We also truly appreciated the peacefulness of Playa Carillo, and were very happy to have chosen this location instead of the nearby Samara where the beach is not so nice and the little town seems to have grown too quickly to respond to the tourist demand.

Finally, we need to say a good word for the owners which were very helpful in answering our questions before coming and by providing useful information once at the house. We felt very welcomed.

We can only highly recommend this wonderful house, it is THE perfect choice to enjoy Costa Rica beaches and relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

This was our second visit to Casa Sevana and it won't be our last. We spent 10 wonderful days enjoying the house and the beach. Of all the VRBO rentals that we have been to, this is by far the one that has the most complete website with the best recommendations and the best ideas of what to do. The house itself is amazing. I went for a run one morning and was lying on the floor stretching and enjoying just how the ceiling is put together. It's such a unique place. My favorite part of the house is the second floor balcony. There are two ceiling fans so no matter how warm it is we enjoyed the view, the howler monkeys, the parrots, and a good book. Carrillo beach is a blast. The waves are great. We brought our boogy boards from home and road waves every day. If you're looking for a lot of fun and a beautiful place to stay, I would definately recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible, better than pictures and descriptions!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

Our stay at Casa Sevana defies description! This house is beautifully designed with every possible comfort in mind, and it is impeccably maintained to the very last detail.

My wife, our four children (ages 8-16) and I recently spent 8 immensely enjoyable days at Casa Sevana, and we were all very sad to have to leave. Where does one begin describing the many ways that this house more than lived up to our (high) expectations? At the beginning. Sevana was extraordinarily helpful from the outset. She answered our many questions very graciously, and it was very clear to us from the get-to that Sevana's primary goal is that her guests have an enjoyable stay in all respects. She provided so much information, and we thank her for that!

Casa Sevana overlooks the picture-postcard beautiful Playa Carrillo, one of the finest beaches I've ever seen in my many travels, and certainly the most beautiful we've seen in Costa Rica. The home's second-floor balcony gives an expansive and breathtaking view of Playa Carillo from a small hill overlooking it. This balcony became our place of choice each morning, as we watched and listened to the birds and monkeys begin their morning adventures. In the evening the balcony became our hideaway again, from where we watched the incredible sunsets over the ocean. The in-ground pool (with a view of the ocean) was our childrens' favorite place in the lazy afternoon hours -- they spent hours of fun, even if it rained a bit!

This home is immaculately maintained, and the owners have made good local contacts to provide a flawless 'checking in' process. Every room in the house is larger than what it appears to be in the pictures. The home is in a safe, secure area (although I believe that can be said about this entire area of Costa Rica), and we felt 100% safe at all times. We were also very happy with the cooking of Zulema, Casa Sevana's housekeeper, with whom we had made previous arrangements (via Sevana herself) about cooking some meals for us. Her 'arroz con pollo' is out of this world!

In short, we would go back tomorrow. We checked out many possible home rentals before deciding on Casa Sevana, and we are glad that we did so. Everything about it is relaxing, comfortable, spacious, and super, super clean.

I would highly recommend this house, and we wish to thank Herbert and Sevana for sharing their little paradise with us!!
Bill and Marlene

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Paradise – How else can you describe this wonderful house and its location. Everything is just perfect.

We spent four wonderful weeks there and included a drive to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The ziplines were a real experience for us “old folks”; nine cables, the longest being 700 m. What a thrill!

However, what we really enjoyed the most was just being in Carrillo & la Casa. To listen to and watch the wildlife from the upstairs patio was true entertainment. We read a lot, took long walks along the beach, swam in the bathtub warm ocean, hung around the pool and tried many of the local restaurants.

A wonderful vacation for sure and we hope to return soon. Thank you, Sevana and Herbert; your home is lovely and as a Swede, like you Sevana, we truly felt at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, great beach!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We - my wife and two boys -- much enjoyed our stay in the house and Playa Carillo. It's absolutely perfect for kids. The house was everything, and more, that was promised. And the owners were 100% responsive and helpful. We can't recommend it highly enough.
Bob

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So good, we came back for more!

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Our first traveling experience to Costa Rica was last year in 2010. A part of our 3 week adventure included staying at beautiful Casa Sevana. When planning our vacation for 2011, we just could not think of a better place to stay - a beautiful home sitting atop a hillside in one of the best beach locations in all of Costa Rica. A place to sit out on the veranda feeling removed from the fast pace of life. A place to relax while viewing the ocean and surrounding flora. The continual sounds of natural fauna will engage your senses, often pulling your eyes away from your book. The house has all the amenities necessary to feel at home while on vacation. We were pleased to have made Casa Sevana our vacation destination once again, so soon after our first trip to this lovely country. You will not regret it . . . .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wish we were still there!

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

Casa Sevana is a beautifully designed home with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean surrounded by the lush, tropical paradise that is Carrillo, Costa Rica. Sevana, the home's architect, was most gracious and helpful in our vacation planning.

Highlights of our stay include:
* the chance to cool off after a day at the beach with a refreshing dip in the backyard pool!
* the view of Costa Rican flora and fauna from the second floor deck
* awakening at Casa Sevana to a visit from the howler monkeys.... Unbelievably loud and fun to watch!
• jumping the waves and boogie-boarding at Playa Carrillo (tops on the list of our two 8-year-olds)
* a drive to the nearby town of Islita -- fording a river, visiting the beach, lunching at the luxury hotel (what a view!), and viewing the town of Islita with its building murals and museum/art gallery

It was our intention to stay in a house in town, rather than in a remote location, and to visit a less touristy part of Costa Rica. While tourists were clearly present in Carrillo, most of the beach-goers were Costa Ricans. We enjoyed the interaction with those we met! Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Sevana, an amazing house in Paradise

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

We stayed as a family, reaching a maximum of six adults for a short time. We found the house is set up as a family home. It lacks for nothing. Every conceivable extra is included, from in the kitchen, through the living room with the big TV and loads of channels, to the laundry and outside on the balconies. The local fishermen selling fresh huge jumbo prawns, lobsters, and red snapper are only a short walk away down a path where the monkeys swing in the tree tops. Captain Francisco, who's boat is down by the fishermen will take you out for a paid trip to see the whales and dolphins, or even swim with the dolphins. The sun sets are idyllic, when you relax on the upper balcony at night. The local shop is a short walk away, as are all of the local facilities. It is in a local place with local friendly people. Adolpho, the ever helpful taxi driver lives just up the road, and is to be recommended. Sevana, the owner, is sooooo helpful which rounds off a beautiful place for beautiful vacations.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful & Well Managed Home

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Casa Sevana is blessed with the most beautiful view in Puerto Carrillo. The town, a small beach community preferred by Costa Ricans for its natural beauty, is an excellent destination for rest and relaxation. The home is well appointed and benefits from its owner's detailed attention and upkeep. It is an excellent choice adult vacationers or families traveling with children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous self catering home

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

This home was in a great location.
What made it so excellent for us was also the thoughtfullness of the contents and design of the home - eg. great kitchen contents and cool box for picnics on the beach
Would recommend highly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Sevana Is Paradise!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

My friends and I stayed for 10 days in this beautiful home. We all fell in love with the pool and the set up of the home. Upon arrival the green parrot from the photos came right up to us to check us out. The sights and sounds from the yard are breath taking. At 5:20pm everyone grabbed their camera and headed for the back yard to watch and shoot the sunsets. Bird watching is great since there are so many different types of birds and they always have something going on each day. The howler monkeys can also be seen and heard from the house. We will be returning this year to this magical place. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to stay in this great house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

INCREDIBLE!

It takes only one word to describe Casa Sevana. The view was spectacular, the wildlife was entertaining, the home was amazing...it was altogether INCREDIBLE!

We spent 5 days relaxing pool side at the home and beach side at Playa Carrillo. Both were breathtaking experiences. While beside the pool at the home we enjoyed watching many boats come in and out of the Harbor, Howler Monkey's swinging from the trees, birds flying to and fro, and sunsets that were breathtaking. While beach side, we were enamored by the warm bath like water that we played in, the soft silky sand that we drew names and made deep caves in, and the captivating palm trees that we found shade in. It was truly one of the most remarkable beaches we've ever experienced and just a skip down the road from our fabulous vacation home.

The amenities themselves were beyond what we expected. The convenience of the home's location, the layout and furnishings were trendy and comfortable, the kitchen was equipped with all that we needed and more, the bathrooms and showers were spa-like, and the deck with view of the ocean was amazing.

We experienced a very relaxing and enjoyable 5-days at this home-away-from-home.

We eagerly await our return trip to Costa Rica, specifically Playa Carrillo and Casa Sevana!

PURA VIDA! ! !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Allan & Carolyn, Montreal

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

We had a great time relaxing in the quiet beachside village at the lovely Casa Sevana. Everything in the house and on the property was as advertised, and as someone else stated in a previous review, much better than the photos. The local restaurants were great; El Tucan for pizza/pasta, El Colibri for excellant steaks and Hula Jungla for pizzas, 'typical' meals and salads. Lots of quiet roads/trails for walks; we didn't do much else but beach, pool, read, siesta and eat - next time we will plan on more time for other activities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Casa Sevana. The home is beautiful, well appointed, very well built, clean and well supplied with everything you need to cook in and enjoy Costa Rica. It is a great value and I intend to return. I have visited Guanacaste the last seven years and look forward to returning to Casa Sevana.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

We spent the second half of our honeymoon at Casa Sevana, and there is not a better place we could have been. The house is even better than the pictures. The views are terrific. We were worried Carrillo would be too small and all our time would be spent in Samara, but all we needed was in Carrillo. We hope to come back again.
P.S. If you want to go horseback riding, go with Luis in Carrillo. You can sign up at the little market on the hill by the beach. He's terrific.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

we spent four wonderful days at casa sevana and it was not nearly enough. the pictures on the website so do not do this house justice. it is a beautiful house with an unbelievable view. i could have spent all my time on the upstairs deck just looking out at the ocean and been perfectly content. everything in the house is so great from the kitchen full of everything you would want or need to the airconditioning in the bedrooms which is blessing on those humid costa rican nights. we loved all the wildlife in the yard. it was great to have a beer and listen to the howlers argue or wake up with a cup of coffee and watch the parrots or toucans fly through the yard. i think the beach was a great hidden surprise. if you like the surf you'll love carillo. the waves are awesome. not so big so that kids can't enjoy them but pleny big for adults. we loved having the pool to cool off in after the short walk up the hill from the beach. everything was great except for leaving. we'll be back asap. thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed Casa Sevana. The house is roomy, beautifully laid out. The view of the ocean is great, and the outside, fan-cooled verandahs are perfect for reading, cards, cocktail hours, and conversation. The household amenities (washer/dryer, a/c, pool, coffee maker, dish washer, outdoor shower, blow dryer) all add to the pleasure. The written recommendations for restaurants, groceries, and activities are excellent. The next door neighbor's free bird parrot is entertaining, and the howler monkeys are delightful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

My wife and I had a delightful 2 week stay at Casa
Sevana in April, 2009. Though the house was
bigger than we needed, we enjoyed it very much.
The air conditioning in the bedrooms, and the pool
in the yard were major benefits, since it was very,
very hot. We spent a lot of time on the balcony,
enjoying the view, listening to and watching birds
and howlers, reading and relaxing. Our days
included a morning walk and swim at Playa Carrillo
and an evening walk and swim and a beer as we
watched the sunsets. When the rain finally came
on day 10, it was in a 2 hour storm complete with
thunder and lightning - we loved it. We took one
organized tourist adventure - a short kayak trip on
the Oro River, to the mouth and then back to the
drop point after a short stroll on Playa Camaronal.
The guide was Rene. The trip was arranged by
William at the Licorera on the hill into Carrillo from
the beach. He can arrange whatever trip you want -
arrivada, Volcan Arenal, Monte Verde, etc. We
rented a car and used it to go to Playa Camaronal
where we saw Olive Ridley turtles coming to lay
eggs. Since we went in the daytime, we did not see
a full arrivada, though we had free access to the
beach and saw about 15 tortoises come up, lay
their eggs and return to the ocean. Snorkeling was
also great, at both ends of Playa Carrillo and also at
the beach below Hotel Punta Islita. We did not need
a guide for that.
The house is comfortable. There is one neighbor
who sometimes goes around his yard in the buff.
We didn't mind or pay attention - just thought I'd
mention it. We left a small boogie board in the
house. It was fun but the waves can get big.
The one addition I would suggest for the house, at
least in the hottest times, is either a screen door or
screen material on the front security door, to be
able to get ventilation through the front door.
Food - Soda Central, El Tucan and El Colibri(best)
were all good in Carrillo. The Italian restaurant and
Hotel Esperanza (?) where you turn to get to the
house, were not good, though they were friendly.
We will certainly consider this house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

Casa Sevana is an absolutely stunning house. The views onto the bay and the sunsets will make you want to stay at the house all day. Fortunately, the beach below is equally enticing and you'll have it practically to yourself. Carrillo and nearby Samara have a great blend of being authentically Costa Rican while still providing ample tourist infrastructure.
Our week here was amazing. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

We had an amazing time in Playa Carillo. The house has everything you need in terms of commodity, the kitchen is well furnished, the pretty pool, the nice ocean view, the A/C, etc. We found that Playa Carillo was the nicest beach we saw in Costa Rica. The owners were very nice and helpful. We would recommand this house anytime and hope to go back one day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

Herbert, your house made the trip for us. Comfort, style, amazing view, security, and location all were better than we anticipated. We look forward to renting this home again if it is available next year. Thanks - Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

Your house is absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 week stay. The only problem was that we were not much motivated to leave there to do any exploring. We especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking out over the sea in the early morning listening to and watching all the beautiful birds. We often swam in the pool during the day and then watched the sunsets in the evenings. We also saw some howler monkeys across the road in the trees which was quite a thrill after hearing their awesome call several times without seeing them. All in all it was a fabulous place to stay and we came home with ideas on how to renovate our barhroom and change the lighting in our kitchen and living room. We would love to rent this house again next time we go to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

We had a wonderful time. The house is a gem –its beautiful design (and the great pool!) made it feel cool even on hot days. And it’s perfect for a vacation because it had everything we could need. The location is great, close to the beach, which is beautiful and clean – wonderful for swimming and for long walks along the water. The village has a well-equipped market and several restaurants so we could have spent a wonderful week without ever leaving town, but Samara just a few miles up the road was great for a little more activity. We highly recommend your house – and we’ll be back, too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

What a great house! The interior is very nicely decorated with all the amenities that you can think of. The pool is a great plunge pool to cool off, and good for kids. Carillo Beach is huge, beautiful and not crowded at all. A good area if you want relaxation, and not a lot of action.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 17, 2008   Date of arrival: April 17, 2008

Best accomadation in Carillo/Samara area.Beautiful home with all amenities.Great views!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 15, 2008   Date of arrival: February 15, 2008

We had a great time – the house is very comfortable, clean, well-equipped and quiet. The kitchen is especially good with every gadget you could need. The laundry is a handy feature. We would highly recommend the house to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2008   Date of arrival: February 2, 2008

The pictures on vrbo do not do your place justice. It is an absolutely beautiful house! I love the kitchen, my husband is a chef, so he is cooking right now. And all the detail of your house, the beautiful wood ceiling, the fans, very nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review