reviews for: listing #20369 - Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri House rental

Huge lakefront home, private boat dock on deep water cove
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Four Seasons
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $600 /nt
    $795 - $2,995 /wk

sort by:

Amazed and Very Satisfied

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2014

With a group as large and diverse as our family, finding a house that accommodates young ‘uns and young-at-heart is difficult. But Roxann’s Lakehouse on the Horseshoe Bend of the Lake of the Ozarks fit the bill.

From kids 2 ½ and almost 4 to seventy-somethings, we were very happy at the house. The kitchen was amazing, filled with every possible platter and device to cook and mix. The sofas (on all three floors!!) were comfortable and super clean. Loved the solid walls and doors of each of the seven bedrooms. Even the sound of the kids playing a loud game of charades outside our bedroom was muted.

The bathrooms were sparkling clean. Really appreciate that. And the two sinks and large mirrors in each of the three of the bathrooms was juuuuust enough room for a horde of teenage girls.

All communications with Roxann were immediately answered and concerns quickly resolved. That is unique in my experience. Very appreciative.

The game room was way cool. And the entries of all three floors to the decks were outstanding. Chairs on the decks were plentiful and very comfortable. Grilling was easy on the main floor deck.

Our group had no particular problem with the steps. More exercise, methinks, for everyone. The parking was interesting but *shrug* no biggie.

The beds were large and the rooms massive making it possible to set up inflatable mattresses for some of the young ones. Love, love, loved the pontoon, btw.

Highly recommend.
CD Coffelt, author of Wilder Mage

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal for our family reunion

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Our family members are aged from 8 to 85 and came from as far away as Texas, DC, the Czech Republic and Russia. Everyone was extremely happy with our stay at this house. The view is wonderful from the large decks, and the fishing and swimming from the well equipped dock was great. The stairway between the house and dock is not too long and was not a problem for anyone. Having the house up on the hill just adds to the view. The rooms were especially large and the living space quite adequate for our big family. The house was well-stocked with dishes, linens, and other needed necessities. We were also glad to have WiFi. The house is also conveniently located for shopping and restaurants. The owners are great. We had a problem with the air conditioner and the owners had the repair people there right away. The only complaint was a musty smell from the laundry room. The bottom line, we want to return to this house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacatioon

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

our family had a wonderful time at the lake. There were 11 adults and 7 children. Plenty of room and very comfortable. The children had a fishing derby and enjoyed the dock very much. The house is outstanding. Roomy yet large enough for quiet time (if you need it).
Everyone is looking forward to the next time we can get together there. Thank you Roxanne and Tom and Kathy and Larry. Everyone we contacted was very helpful and gracious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location & Great Owners

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

Great place with lots of room, there were 10 of us and we had a bedroom to spare! Tom and Roxanne were great to work with. We spent the whole week there and had everything we needed!
Love it!

Owners response: Thanks:) We love to hear of people enjoying our home!!! That is why we share our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for Guy's Weekend

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

We rented this house for a guy's weekend, with ~12 of us staying there. We had a great time, and it was perfect for what we needed. It's not overly nice, but very spacious and has everything functionally you would need. Good location, easy to get to by both land and water. The dock is big and great for hanging out and swimming off of. The stairs are long and steep to get there though, so make sure you bring everything you need - you won't want to keep going back and forth.

Only slight negatives for us were the air hockey table wasn't in working condition and the shower heads are pretty awful. But overall it met all of our needs and we had a great time.

Owners response: Thank you for letting us know about the shower heads and air hockey table! We were not aware of those issues. They have been taken care of now:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family vacation

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

We had 10 adults and 4 children in our family that stayed. We had a Great time nad had plenty of space. The house was spacious and accomidated us very well. The whole family had a great time down on the dock, fishing, swimming, jet skiing, and just hanging out. There are lots of stairs but nothing any of us had trouble with.
Our only complaint would be the boat we rented, it was definately a rental boat that has seen lots of renters.
Thank you Roxann for a great stay.....the kids are already looking forward to next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, ready to go, & everything we needed

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

I waThis house had everything we needed and more! Plenty of space, all of the living items we needed and a beautiful large dock to play off of. Would be more than happy to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

NOT FOR THOSE OVER 50.

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

PARKING IS A JOKE,

STAIRS ARE DIFFERENT HEIGHTS,

SOME HANDRAILS DON'T EXIST,

THE 66 STAIRS TO BOAT DOCK ARE NEARLY STRAIGHT UP.

THE HOUSE WAS DIRTY, we spent one day cleaning.

The Stairs inside tha house are STEEP as well 45degrees doesn't do them justice. More like 55, to 60 degrees.

I can't recomend this to anyone over 20.

Owners response: So sorry to here of the continued dismay of this family. We immediately addressed the cleaning concerns, which we admit were our fault due to a scheduling issue. The parking lot and driveway are blacktop and advertised to park 6 cars....they arrived with 10 cars. A commuter lot was just down the road and available to park the extra cars in for no charge.
We do indeed have 1 concrete step that is different than the rest! The photos show the stairs to the lake and they are normal deck type steps with 2 landings to rest if need be.

I do believe this group would be better served in a one level home on a level lot, no stairs at all....which does not fit the Lake of the Ozarks topography. (At least not for the group size and price point they chose.)

Please read the e mail I received from one of the coordinators for the reunion:

Roxann, thanks for your understanding and professional handily of the issues involved. The cabin worked for us, even thought the access and parking is a bit challenging – the view was outstanding and the accommodations in total were adequate for our group.



Thanks, Don

We do our absolute best to please everyone, but cannot succeed all of the time.

Thanks
Tom and Roxann

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual trip for siblings from the Cheese State

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

There were 8 of us, brother and sisters, who converged upon this spacious home recently. Tom and Roxann had let us view this rental last year and we knew immediately that this was the place for our next vacation. And having rented a different home from them in 2013, we received a 10% discount which was 'icing on the cake'.
Three floors of living with couches for late night visits and three decks, overlooking the lake for early morning coffee, afternoon 'teenie time' and of course ,grilling those great Wisconsin Angus steaks.
As part of our week, we made a daily visit to Stewart,s restaurant for the best southern fried pork tenderloin breakfast we have ever tasted, drove across the swinging bridge and watched a polar plunge while there. But most of our time was spent just hanging out at the house. It was all it was said to be and more.

We are planning a return trip here for next year. Go Packers and Badgers!

Owners response: Thank you:) Tom and I just love to hear of families enjoying the lake as much as we do!! See you next year too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our third great stay.

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We just came back from our third stay in this home. It is just what our family likes and we will be returning again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Everything was as advertised, Roxann is wonderful to work with, and my family had such a good time that we are already working on our return visit in 2014. There were 21 of us, ages 5 to 58 and we had plenty of room for sleeping and playing and just doing nothing. We enjoyed our times cooking together in the very well equipped kitchen, relaxing on the decks, and swimming off the dock. We even caught a few fish. All in all, a great family vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We had a great time, loved the house and spent tons of time on the deck!!! Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couples Retreat

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We were here in February and we had a blast. The home is beautiful and the scenery is perfect! We will be back soon. Thanks for renting your home to our group.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks to both of you

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

My family had a great time here in the big house. First time we have been able to get together for a family vacation in a long time.
My grandchildren loved the cove for swimming and the boys love having their own area for playing video games:) The 69 steps made for a good work out:)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couples Retreat

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Our church had a couple's retreat at Lake of the Ozarks. We chose this home since it had so many bedrooms. Seven couples came, and we had a fantastic time:) The kitchen was well stocked, all beds were reported to be comfortable and the view is just as described. The grill is brand new and had 3 full lp tanks! Much more than we could ever use in one stay. The owners had just upgraded the tv to a 55 inch so we were really impressed.
We are definitely recommending this location to all of our friends, and will be returning ourselves this fall:)
Thanks for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Scenic,Relaxing, Fun time for our group

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Loved this very large house. Was great for our big group, and the kids especially loved the upper floor where they could be "without supervision" and have their own space, so to speak. The adults loved the downstairs bar area with games where they could have their space as well. The dock was great for just taking it easy, fishing, playing in the water, watching a little tv while relaxing, and just hanging out in general. There was plenty of room for everyone and we were able to take turns having our kitchen duty so no one had to spend too much time cooking or cleaning up. We liked that we weren't too far from the outlet mall so we were able to spend a little time doing some shopping while at the lake. Lots of places close by to eat if we felt like going out. Good view for fireworks too. Boat rental added to our stay, since we were there to just have a leisurely time, kick back, and forget about work. It was nice for our group to all be together, enjoy each others company, and have space to enjoy our own time. We will certainly consider coming back when we get together again in a few years. And enjoyed the fishing tips the owners gave the guys so that they had good success. Thanks for a lovely stay and the use of your house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much! We have many families that return twice a year, and hope that yours will become one of them:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Our family enjoyed this house and are glad we finally found a place to return to each year. We have multiple families who enjoy our annual trip to the lake together and this is where we will continue to go. Enough room for everyone and close to town if we need something. This year we are looking forward to going in the spring and fall.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a fun vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

What can I say other than another great year at the lake! We continue to enjoy our family get togethers with 20 + members each year and this year was no exception. We fished and caught tons, right from the dock. It's nice to be able to sit in chairs on the dock, watch some t.v., keep an eye on the kids and catch some fish. There's lots to do with the kids in town, each year we find something new. This year it was Captain Ron's. It's nice to go to those places and since we don't eat out a lot, it is affordable. We never lacked for towels or supplies, and we could have gone a whole week without washing the dishes, not that we did. We love the rustic feel of the house, and the fooze ball table and air hockey table are a nice late night activity for the kids.
we'll see you next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We grew up having family vacations at the lake, and wanted others to be able to enjoy the same! So happy to hear about families having as much fun as we did:) Thanks for the input!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quantity more than Quality

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

The pictures and descriptions on this site are a little misleading. The quality of this vacation rental is low. Almost to the point of being trashy. The photos on this site show a shiny, clean, spacious, and well appointed home with amenities that you would expect for the cost.

Upon arrival we noticed that the quality of the building is sub-standard. Reminiscent of a mobile home, or "trailer".

The kitchen wasn't exactly clean, there was a big black hair in the shower in one of the bathrooms upstairs, and the towels and linens smelled musty, as though they hadn't been in the dryer long enough to be completely dry. Whatever "cleaning service" the owners used to "clean" between occupancy should be fired.

The rental contract is very clear of the cleanliness expected from guests upon checkout, they should expect at least thatstandard of their cleaning service.

After our initial disappointment at the cleanliness and quality, it came to our attention that only half of the old, dirty, rundown gas grill was working. We tried to contact the owner/s but did not reach anyone. I hope our credit card was not charged for the blame of this malfunction.

We also indulged in the rental of the accompanying pontoon boat. It is supplied with an insufficient motor, yielding tubing speeds of up to 10 mph :( also, the stern light didn't work, upon attempting an evening sail.

We will definitely be looking for a different rental facility in the future, this was a big disappointment! Especially considering the cost.
At least our kids had a good time, which was the only saving grace.

Owners response: We did refund the cleaning fee plus some to this group in an attempt to make ammends for their complaints. We make every effort to keep out customers happy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Perfect for large family reunions

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had 21 people, six families, and two babies on this trip, and never once did we trip over one another. Plenty of room for each family's privacy, taking naps, swimming, or just relaxing at each individual's pace.

The dock area is the best! It is in a cove, away from all traffic. We had lots of kids, from 4 months to 18 years old, and never once did we have to worry while we were in the water. We brough life jackets, and that was awesome, because everyone could just float and be lazy, and if you rent the pontoon, you get life jackets while you have the boat. The dock has plenty of noodles, so we had lots of fun in the water. The pontoon was a blast, and the tube pulling behind the boat was fun for all.

There are 75 steps from the back porch to the dock, so be prepared for excersize, but there are chairs at every landing so you can rest if you get winded. You get used to them pretty fast though, and it's the first vacation where I actually lost weight! :)

The house is spacious, with three levels, so we put families with babies up on the top floor, and it stayed fairly quiet for them while they slept. The house isn't the best quality, but for the price and space, it was considered by all an excellent choice. If you have toddlers, I'd suggest you bring a few baby gates to make your stay more pleasant. The refrigerator door shelves are all broken off, so storage for that many people was a bit difficult, so we used our coolers for storing drinks, tubs of salads, and other stuff like that.

The first morning, out breaker blew, and I called Tom's cell. He answered right away, walked me through flipping the breaker, and he offered to come over right away. I dealt with Roxann via email before the trip, and she was absolutely wonderful. The owners are easily accessible by phone and very accomodating should you need anything. I received my deposit back the next week, so they stay on top of things.

We have six families, and it is unanimous that we are returning, Hands down, it was worth every penny. As my brother said, it was the best vacation he's ever had, and it was for my family too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Family Get-away

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had 21 people, six families, and two babies on this trip, and never once did we trip over one another. Plenty of room for each family's privacy, taking naps, swimming, or just relaxing at each individual's pace.

The dock area is the best! It is in a cove, away from all traffic. We had lots of kids, from 4 months to 18 years old, and never once did we have to worry while we were in the water. We brough life jackets, and that was awesome, because everyone could just float and be lazy, and if you rent the pontoon, you get life jackets while you have the boat. The dock has plenty of noodles, so we had lots of fun in the water. The pontoon was a blast, and the tube pulling behind the boat was fun for all.

There are 75 steps from the back porch to the dock, so be prepared for excersize, but there are chairs at every landing so you can rest if you get winded. You get used to them pretty fast though, and it's the first vacation where I actually lost weight! :)

The house is spacious, with three levels, so we put families with babies up on the top floor, and it stayed fairly quiet for them while they slept. The house isn't the best quality, but for the price and space, it was considered by all an excellent choice. If you have toddlers, I'd suggest you bring a few baby gates to make your stay more pleasant. The refrigerator door shelves are all broken off, so storage for that many people was a bit difficult, so we used our coolers for storing drinks, tubs of salads, and other stuff like that.

The first morning, out breaker blew, and I called Tom's cell. He answered right away, walked me through flipping the breaker, and he offered to come over right away. I dealt with Roxann via email before the trip, and she was absolutely wonderful. The owners are easily accessible by phone and very accomodating should you need anything. I received my deposit back the next week, so they stay on top of things.

We have six families, and it is unanimous that we are returning, Hands down, it was worth every penny. As my brother said, it was the best vacation he's ever had, and it was for my family too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVE this home!!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful stay! This home has a ton of space with 3 levels!! I love that it sits back in a cove; it makes it so peaceful! There was plenty of space for parking and lots of local restaurants and bars nearby. The owners were wonderful to work with and I can't wait to stay again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED this house on the lake!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a group of 4 families (19 people) share this house over Memorial Weekend, ages 12 weeks - 70 years old, and this house fit all of us comfortably! The cove that this house sits on is exceptional for the kids swim and play in safely (with lifejackets). We rented the pontoon that comes with this house and enjoyed the access to the lake all weekend. The kitchen was thoughtfully well stocked with utensils, appliances, and pans of different sizes. The towels and linens were clean and ready for us to use, and there was plenty of comfortable sleeping space for everyone. Our six girls really enjoyed staying all in one room in bunk beds and our three boys of the group took over the first floor. We made memories at this house that will last a lifetime. Thanks Roxann and Tom for your hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dealing with Roxann

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

We had planned on renting this unit for a family vacation but ended up not doing so. We had made a deposit on both the unit and the boat. When we called Roxann about our issue, she said she would return our deposit, no questions asked. We had our refund in two days. She was an absolute gem to work with and the way she handled our business was refreshing. Although we have not stayed in the unit, we think very highly of Roxann and the way she handled our transaction.
Pat Finn

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family party 15 total

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Just came back from lake home our whole family was able to make the trip 9 adults and 6 grandchildren plenty of room for everyone the boys took over the game room for there little man cave and all others had plenty of room to spread out :) We loved the cove it was a very safe area for all to swim, float or just goof around. Also the stairs make for a great work out going to the dock 69 steps in total going down not mentioning that you have to climb them to get back up :) We all had a great time!!!

Thank you

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We absolutely love to hear families enjoy our home as much as we have! That is why we rent. I invite everyone to come "experience the lake".
Roxann

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

15 of us gathered for a family reunion and had a great time. The house had plenty of space for all of us and the kitchen was welled stocked with dishes and utensils. Kids and adults loved hanging out on the dock, swimming, floating, and fishing. We used the extra boat slip for a ski boat we rented during our stay. Thanks for your hospitality.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We love to hear families having fun at our place! Hope to see you back next year.
Roxann

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

quiet and comfortable for vacationing :)

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

This was an ideal location for our family reunion. The rooms are very comfortable, there are a TON of bathrooms in the house and I love the open concept kitchen and all the decks for enjoying the lake views. We were there over the 4th of July and had a perfect view of the Four Seasons fireworks. This is a great location, and nice and quiet...the cove is great too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

lots of room and a great location

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Ozarks and it was due to the beautiful house and all of it's amenities. Even down to the floats and fishing poles on the dock.
The view from the decks is fabulous and we enjoyed a night having a luau for the group decorated and games for the kids. The deck had ample room to do all of this.
We are going again and highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic huge home, Great stay!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

We had a family reunion and stayed here. It was perfect for all of us, plenty of bedrooms AND bathrooms! We loved having the cable tv out there under the covered dock since the kids were constantly swimming and goofing around in the water right off the dock. There was a nice kitchen and a bbq grill. We would definately stay again. Thanks for a great stay :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are able to accommodate most special occasions. We often have large family reunions, retreats for various groups, and even wedding parties! If yours is a special event--just mention if you need something special! We will do our very best to make your stay the very best!
Thanks
Roxann

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Huge lakefront home on prestigious Horseshoe bend

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

My family and I would recommend this house to anyone. There is more then enough space to spread out on all three floors of this house. Our family had 20 people staying here and all had some type of bed to sleep in. We used the deck daily to soak up the sun and to have a beach party on. Our children enjoyed fishing, swimming and boating. There is many resturants close that you can boat to or drive to. Our family also enjoyed how close it was to the strip so they could get ice cream in the evenings or shop during a rainy day. We look forrward to come back here soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review