reviews for: listing #20400 - Yosemite, California House rental

The Vineyard House ~ *Spa* ~ Peace & Solitude or Family Fun
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $215 - $285 /nt
    $1,475 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

Perfect for a Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

This review is long overdue, but my family and I stayed here for a long weekend in June and we had a blast! We loved that we had a clean place to come home to after the long days at Yosemite. Our kids (3 years old and 11 months) were able to have a great time as well. The toys, books, and kid-friendly seating was a lifesaver. We used the hot tub every night. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone. I'm not a cat lover at all, but I think Butterfly sensed that and stayed away from me. My husband and kids enjoyed her though! One more thing--if you're traveling with young kids you really don't have to bring a thing! They have a highchair, changing mats, carriers for hikes, stroller...everything really. This is a great place to escape from business and enjoy your family. We only have 1 regret and that's not having time to visit the winery next door. I guess we'll have to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect getaway....forever a part of our families memories!

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

We have been to the Vineyard House twice in the past two years and plan to return again! Kirsty and Jerry thought of every single detail.....from the fresh flowers and gentle music upon arrival to a kitchen stocked with every cooking tool you could ever need....to the absolutely stunning view with lovely sitting areas wherever you look. The Vineyard House is forever a part of our families history. It was like coming home a second time. Butterfly, the cat, was waiting for us and we quickly settled into what felt like home.....just a beautiful home with a hot tub, stunning vineyard view, claw foot tub to drink wine and look at the secluded view, and so many other special touches. In addition, we have a six year old child, who was thrilled when he discovered the plethora of toys, inside and out to keep him well entertained. The house was so lovely and relaxing, we were torn between exploring Yosemite each day or just staying home and relaxing! While there, you must visit the Butterfly Creek Winery next door....we spent a wonderful afternoon picnicking in this beautiful family friendly place. A vacation to never forget, made possible by Kirsty and Jerry. They couldn't have been more attentive or caring in their desire to make it the special and unforgettable trip it was!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All the way from Maryland

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

This home is an ideal location for visiting Yosemite. It was one of the best vacation homes we have ever stayed in. The house was very clean and it was as if you were in your own home. The owners were great to deal with. The attention to detail for all of your anticipated needs was greatly appreciated. The owner uses all natural scent free products which was wonderful for us because we are sensitive to strong perfumes. The kitchen was stocked with anything you would need, from spices to pots, pans and bakeware. They even provided the coffee for the first morning. The backyard is a great place for the family from a large tree swing to an animal viewing oasis. The home has a resident cat outside who loves children and people. She seems to sense when she should come around and when she should stay away. The birds and animals were seen daily. The hot tub was fantastic after a long day in the park. This home is more as if you were borrowing a friend's home for the week, rather than renting. We loved Vineyard View and we will return if we go back to Yosemite. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You Can't Go Wrong With The Vineyard House

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Kirsty & Jerry were so very accommodating with our needs, but in the end, this rental already has everything you need. Our two year old kept busy with loads of toys and games. The fenced back yard with riding toys and a playhouse were also much enjoyed. The kitchen is fully stocked with all kinds of kitchen appliances, pots and pans, etc... The bedrooms has comfy beds and sheets. The hot tub was an added treat after long walks at Yosemite. Being able to see the stars was an added bonus. Even our bulldog was considered an honored guest. If I could rate with more stars, I would. It was truly an amazing vacation and we will remember if fondly. That's all thanks to Kirsty & Jerry opening up their home to us. They do make you feel like family when you visit and they take everything into consideration. Seriously, you can't go wrong with The Vineyard House. We very much look forward to our next stay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Vineyard

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

My family loves the Vineyard....There is a lot to do on the property for my 8 yr old son and 7 yr old daughter. We all loved the tree swing, hot tub, B.B.Q. the ping pong table and just sitting and relaxing. It was nice knowing the kids could run around outside and we could still see them from the inside. Great views...Quiet, but you do have the animals...... Yosemite is around an hr away. Moaning cavers around 1 1/2. Each night we had a fire:) We would go back again! It was also nice that it is a dog Friendly home. You would have to talk to Kirsty about what you have to do. There is a little run on the side. Awesome home! Kirsty is great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extremely comfortable and charming, and perfect for young kids

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

We spent three nights here on a quick get-away to the Yosemite area. The house exceeded our expectations! It is in a rural area with lots of rustic charm and natural beauty all around. The photos don't do it justice - the view is incredible, the garden lovely and the house extremely charming and private. It was ideal for our family of four (including one preschooler). The large beds in the bedrooms were very comfortable and every modern convenience was provided, from a fully-equipped kitchen (including oils and spices etc) to wifi, bug screens on all windows, and satellite TV. That said, we spent most of our time outdoors! The kids brought their bikes and spent hours whooping it up around the dirt drive and tracks that surround the house. We were made very welcome by Kirsty, the owner, who even went in before we arrived so we were greeted with fresh flowers, soft music in the background, and open windows. We were also warmly welcomed by Butterfly, the resident outdoor cat (she is not allowed in the house) and our kids loved having a friendly pet for the duration too. I'd highly recommend this as a base for Yosemite, particularly for families with babies and preschoolers, as there is literally EVERYTHING you can think of provided for them (crib, pack n play, ride on toys, play house, kid-sized furniture, toys, high chair, changing mat... you name it, it's there. Plus the section of the yard by the house is enclosed so you can let your toddler roam safely in plain view. We have stayed in a lot of VRBO houses with our kids and I have never come across one so well-equipped for this age group). Most young kids don't want to hike all day, so this is an ideal spot to spend half a day or so hiking, then come back and let the kids burn off some energy while you relax on the sofa on the covered porch, enjoying the shade and peace with a lovely view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Much needed family getaway

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

This was the perfect place for my family of four. With two active boys there was plenty of space in the back yard to play catch, ping pong, tag, football and more. Every night we used the BBQ and fire pit to roast marshmallows. The drive to Yosemite was beautiful and after a long day of hiking we came back to the house and enjoyed the spa. I will also add that there is a winery next door... what a bonus! This trip was a much needed getaway from the city life, computers, video games and constant email and phone calls. You relax, reset , and remember that's it family moments like this one that are most important. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Restful getaway

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days at the Vineyard House, and then had dear friends join us for the last two nights of our stay. It was spotlessly clean, every detail thought out beautifully. Very different from many rentals, with supplies at hand, plenty of wood handy for the fireplace, and comfortable beds and linens. We have also stayed at Sierra Scape and both are like staying in a friend's home. The view from the hot tub and hill with a comfortable swing is breath taking. We sat for hours enjoying the sunsets and the morning mist dissipate over the vineyard below. We highly recommend the Vineyard House and hope to return for quiet rest. Wifi is good, no ATT cell reception, which is actually a good thing for a real "get away".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We didn't want to leave

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

We had such an incredibly positive experience during our stay at the Vineyard House last weekend. The house itself is so cozy and quaint but yet there is plenty of space to spread out. Kirsty and Jerry did a wonderful job of paying attention to every detail and making sure that everything was in order when we arrived. They even had wood and newspapers all setup in the fireplace so that it was ready to go. The location is breathtaking. As soon as we arrived at the cabin, we decided to spend only one day in Yosemite so that we could spend the other day relaxing at the cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation house

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I researched the heck out of a Yosemite vacation rental and landed on this one and I'm glad I did. We visited in June (the waterfalls were rippin' that time of year). Kirsty (owner) was great to work with, and helpful on recommending things to do in the area. The house was open and roomy but cozy. Well appointed and clean. The kitchen was stocked well too. Two large bedrooms and a comfy wall bed in the living room. The nice washer and drier came in handy. The large back yard has an incredible view over Butterfly Creek Vineyard. There were lots of trail guides and area brochures in the house to help with where to go and what to do. The back yard patio at the cabin has a perfect place to star gaze or enjoy an early morning cup of joe. The location was 45 minutes from Bass Lake, the east entrance of Yosemite, and the South entrance of Yosemite. It is 20 minutes to Mariposa and Oakhurst (better shopping and stores in Oakhurst). Definitely do the big trees tour at Mariposa Grove (I normally despise "touristy" tours, but this one was a good one). Vernal falls is a must. Same with Glacier Point. The house has a nice outdoor gas grill, tree swing for the kids, ping pong table, hot tub. A deer visited us in the backyard. Butterfly, the cat, is an outdoor cat and very friendly. I would recommend this house, definitely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great home away from home near Yosemite and Mariposa

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Great home with more than you expect! Great location not too far from Mariposa. Well furnished and accented home with very stocked kitchen. Nice linens & towels, very good beds (both kings) and extra sleepers can be accommodated (air beds/cribs). Plenty of toys if travelling with kids. Lovely location, great view. Fresh herbs growing on site and tons of flowers. Spa, grill and great outdoor seating to gather with friends and end a wonderful day. Also very suitable for folks with mobility issues.
Would be great for motorcycles also as driveway and parking are very flat. We loved our stay and will recommend the home to anyone who may be traveling to Yosemite. Kirsty & Jerry thanks for sharing!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

My family and I found Vineyard View to be exactly what we were looking for: peaceful, quiet, SO beautiful and relaxing. Everything was clean, well-maintained, and comfortable as well as tastefully decorated. Kirsty was prompt and helpful in our interactions over email and phone, and was even so kind as to return something by mail that we had left behind from our stay. Our kids really enjoyed playing outside on the property as well as looking through the many children's books and toys kept in a cozy corner of the house. We took day trips out to Yosemite and the Mariposa grove, while spending others at the house just enjoying the serene setting, soaking in the jacuzzi, and sitting on the swing overlooking the view. Personally, I had house-envy and admit to wishing it were mine. If I could sit every day at the dining table with a cup of tea looking out across the vista, well, I'd be happy. Thanks Kirsty for making this such a lovely home-away-from-home. We will definitely recommend this to our friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful week in Mariposa

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Vineyard View provided a great home base for our week in California this summer. The house is very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Our teen sons enjoyed the ping pong, hot tub, and even the swing. The house has many windows, and the mountains are always in sight. We especially enjoyed watching all of the unusual birds that visited the yard every day. The location, of course, is perfect for day trips to Yosemite, Sequoia National Park, and even Big Sur. What a great week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic House Rental at The Vineyard House

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We loved our stay at this rental home near Mariposa, California. The house was charming, very clean and was perfect for six adults. The view was awesome as was the several outside areas for sitting and watching the mountain view and the incredible star gazing. The owners were great and stayed in touch during the week to make sure everything was ok. It was close to Yosemite and made it easy to access the park and all it has to offer. We also fell in love with Butterfly Winery located next door to the property. We would highly recommend this rental property to anyone. Thank you for making our week so wonderful while staying in this great rental property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Kirsty & Jerry,
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your home with our whole family (minus our cat!). It is a beautiful place perfect for getting away and we treated it as we would our own home. Ashlyn really did love her little bed and all of the books and toys. I don't think she ever even took one of her own books out of the bag the whole weekend. As beautiful as Yosemite was, I always looked forward to coming back to Vineyard View and lingering there in the mornings. Will definitely recommend you to anyone and everyone we know heading your way.
Thanks so much for everything!
Vineyard View Fans Forever,
The Middleton Pack -
Pam, Miles & Ashlyn
Jasper, Lizzy & Kunzite

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Stay here if you want to see Yosemite!

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Kirsty & Jerry provide a GREAT place for a family vacation. The house has everything you need, and is very comfortable, with lots of things for the kids to do (exploring, games, play area, ping pong). The house is secluded and quiet, but if you need supplies you can get to a big shopping center (Oakhurst is a short drive) or a local market (5-10 minutes). The best part is that the house is right between the 41 (Wawona) & 140 (Yosemite Valley) entrances! You can stay here, and visit the park very easily. You also are close to Bass Lake (beautiful! great swimming & boating) and other hiking trails and fishing spots (if you are in to that, saw lots of fishing going on). There is so much to do you will not be bored. Relaxing in the hot tub enjoying the view & the stars after a day of hiking was the perfect ending for our days there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect "Home Away From Home"

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

After our time at Vineyard View we were pretty sure that we couldn't have chosen a better house to rent for our family. The area was just in a perfect state of Spring- green everywhere, fresh air. This area is really gorgeous- "countryside" defined. It seemed like every other property had a horse, goat, or wild turkey roaming. Temperatures were wonderful for being outside all day long, and cool enough for fires in the fireplace at night. The house is very private, though not totally secluded, which is a bit of a comfort. It's old but nicely renovated, so it has lots of charm. They had everything stocked from firewood to laundry soap. Great cooking kitchen. The views from the dining room and the living room are gorgeous. The backyard overlooks a valley. It's an incredible spot for their hot tub, day or night. Our boys (2 and 4) spent most of their time running around the backyard and swinging on the tree swing. We visited Mariposa one day, drove to Yosemite twice. The drive in on 140 follows the Merced River and is really beautiful. It's quite a spacious little house. We look forward to going again someday, perhaps sharing it with our parents, since there would have been plenty of room for another couple.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family "Home Away from Home"

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

After our time at Vineyard View we were pretty sure that we couldn't have chosen a better house to rent for our family. The area was just in a perfect state of Spring- green everywhere, fresh air. This area is really gorgeous- "countryside" defined. It seemed like every other property had a horse, goat, or wild turkey roaming. Temperatures were wonderful for being outside all day long, and cool enough for fires in the fireplace at night. The house is very private, though not totally secluded, which is a bit of a comfort. It's old but nicely renovated, so it has lots of charm. They had everything stocked from firewood to laundry soap. Great cooking kitchen. The views from the dining room and the living room are gorgeous. The backyard overlooks a valley. It's an incredible spot for their hot tub, day or night. Our boys (2 and 4) spent most of their time running around the backyard and swinging on the tree swing. We visited Mariposa one day, drove to Yosemite twice. The drive in on 140 follows the Merced River and is really beautiful. It's quite a spacious little house. We look forward to going again someday, perhaps sharing it with our parents, since there would have been plenty of room for another couple.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet, comfortable, clean, and relaxing.

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

(Visited mid November) The Vineyard House was the best choice my wife and I could've made for our Yosemite vacation. Located about 30 minutes from the park (about an hour from the valley) and about ten minutes outside of Mariposa proper, it was so peaceful and quiet every night we were there. The loudest noise we ever heard may have been the bubbles from the hot tub during a nice soak underneath the clear California night skies after a full day of hiking. Actually, a neighbor’s dog (not that nearby) may have been barking at the deer that frequented the area, including our backyard. Kirsty and Jerry provided a lot of helpful information as to where to go grocery shopping, eat, tour, etc which made our hardest decision being on what to do at the park each day. We ended most nights drinking wine in front of the wood burning fireplace going over all of the pictures we had taken and watching TV. When you go, make sure you make a stop at the Butterfly Vineyard down below and pick up a few bottles of wine (drive, don't walk - it's a deceptively long road). Make sure you say hi to Bobby - that guy is a riot.
I would say that the only (very small) downside is that we had absolutely no cell phone coverage at the house (AT&T) until you got into Mariposa or near the building areas in the valley, but you do have a land line and Internet access. We were disappointed that we forgot to book the masseuse, however.
We chose to cook most mornings and nights although we did grab breakfast at Sugar Pines (twice) and dinner at Charles Street Dinner House and Savory – all good spots. Savory’s proprietor responds to reviews of her restaurant on Trip Advisor which says to me that she cares about your experience. If you can afford to, we also recommend booking reservations for dinner at the Ahwahnee which was quite excellent (about $150 on the high side for a three course dinner for two, not including drinks).
If you visit during this time, take note that it gets dark about 5pm every night so plan accordingly. The roads are not illuminated at all except in town and you probably don't want to be stuck on a trail after sunset. The only other advice I would have is to please use the turnouts!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 stars

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

We spent 5 days at the Vineyard House and had a great time. We were able to access Yosemite park from two directions very easily. The house is quite centrally located for day trips down Hwy49 to Jamestown and other areas. At night, there's no noise and the stars are great. We've stayed at several other VRBO rentals and the Vineyard House thus far was the best. Great kitchen, hot tub (although we didn't use it) and the fenced yard was great for our dog Lucy. And plenty of good restaurants and local places to visit. Thanks Kirsty and Jerry!!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Our week in the Vineyard House was a wonderful start of our vacation in California. The pictures do not even begin to show the beauty, decor, and warmth the home offers. The house was immaculate, and not a thing was amiss. I honestly believe that if my 3 boys (ages 9, 10, and 14) had the choice between Yosemite or playing in the backyard, they would have picked the latter (I haven't seen my 14 year old "play" in awhile and he was as happy as could be). Coming from a non-rural area, they were enthralled with the tree swing, watching a mama bird feed her babies in 1 of the many birdhouses, looking for deer, petting a horse, runring after the wild turkeys and playing ping-pong while enjoying the breeze. I loved seeing them laugh,play, and enjoy the outdoors. Unfortunately for them, we did spend most of our time in Yosemite, Mammoth, and Mono Lake. Highly recommend Mammoth: Devil's Postpile and Rainbow Falls are a must. Both can be done in the same day. Although we were out until late, what a wonderful feeling it was knowing we were coming home, yes home, to our cozy, comfy house. The beds and pillows were perfect for our aching muscles and it was always a toss up between the shower or the claw foot tub. We didn't use the hot tub, which overlooked the vineyard and chapel below, as we got home too late each night. It looked very inviting, tho. The weather was perfect and the stars were twinkling. I probably would have fallen asleep in it. I wish I could have cancelled our 2nd week in northern CA and stayed at the house longer. Make sure you visit the vineyard next door. Tastings are daily (I believe) and the friendly owner will take you on a tour. There are also lots of dogs to play with! Be careful driving at dusk/night as the deer are plentiful. We saw a fawn nursing with its mother...how cool is that? If you are interested in white water rafting, Zephyr is the best company out there and very close to the house. The guides are lots of fun and the rapids were just right (3's and under) for the kids. They also stop and let you jump off rocks, run and slide on the rafts, and float outside of the raft.
I highly recommend this home and would love to stay there again. PS...the owners are great and we thank them dearly for sharing their home with us. They thought of everything you would need to make your stay perfect. Enjoy every moment of your stay....we did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Vineyard View

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had a wonderful stay for 9 nights at VIneyard View. The home is clean and comfortable. We loved the hot tub under the magnificent starry skies. The evenenings after a fun dat at Yosemite were extra special and made our vacation last longer. Kirsty and Jerry were attentive to our needs and very gracious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We loved this house, the view, the hot tub and the warm and cozy feeling we got when we stayed there. The attention to details on this house is amazing. They have really thought of everything! I can not say enough good things. I recommend this house very very highly. If you stay here you will have a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Kirsty- I wanted to Thank You for all you did to make our first ever family vacation a very successful experience, even with the rainy weather. Vineyard View was a perfect match for our grandchildren. They really enjoyed playing in the back yard. Our last night there we had the pleasure of seeing seven deer- it was so thrilling for our three and a half year old grandson. The younger grand children enjoyed the experience as well. All in all it was a wonderful time for everyone. We had a beautiful day in Yosemite on Friday- Thanks again for everything!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review