reviews for: listing #20573 - Wells, Maine Cottage rental

Beach Dreams Unit 161
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Beach Dreams
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $175 /nt
    $700 - $1,252 /wk
    $2,100 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Our favorite place to stay in Wells!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We have had the pleasure of coming to John and Sherry's cottage for several years and have always had an enjoyable experience. It is clean, nicely decorated and they have thought of all of the conveniences anyone could need for a pleasant stay in Maine. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite place to stay in Wells!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We have had the pleasure of coming to John and Sherry's cottage for several years and have always had an enjoyable experience. It is clean, nicely decorated and they have thought of all of the conveniences anyone could need for a pleasant stay in Maine. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This was our 1st vacation in many years... We all had a wonderful time. This cottage was just prefect, the owner has stocked it well. Games for evening, nightlights, and lots of dishes. The kids enjoyed the pools and the arcade. Fishermen's Catch wonderful lunch, Maine Diner (5 stars) for dinner, and Texas RoadHouse ( about a 20 min drive) great steak dinner. Wells Beach was so relaxing. We look forward to coming again. Thanks
Christine & Paul
Rutland, Vermont

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Inside Perspective

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

I feel the need to respond to one of the reviews that was written regarding the above cottage. I have been working with the Livsey's for the 2012 season as well as some of the other owners on this property. I have seen my fair share of Cottages. Their cottage is absolutely wonderful, it is homey, clean, and nicely decorated as can be seen from any one of the pictures posted. The place is thoroughly cleaned in between rentals with no complaints. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the bathroom fan, I have in fact never seen an ant in the cottage despite it being summer time in fact the property is treated for pests, and there certainly is no smell in the unit. As for the Livsey's they have to be one of the most attentive owners that I work for that rents their units. They go above and beyond to make sure that the renters stay is pleasant and that everything is taken care of. If there was an issue with anything that was mentioned by the disgruntled renter the Livsey's in fact would of taken care of it. However, when i went to clean the renters had told me that they had had a wonderful time and enjoyed their stay knowing I was their to clean. It is against the rules for renters to bring pets and therefore they are in fact retaliating for being caught and trying to get out of the damage that was in fact caused by the pet and the Livsey's will take care of to ensure future renters do not have to deal with the results of their error. If you are looking for a cottage to rent I strongly suggest you rent from them, their home is beautiful, there are wonderful amenities at your fingertips, as well as a trolley line that can pick you up and drop you off at the beaches, the area is beautiful and the owners are truely wonderful people that will ensure that your trip was well worth it. I gaurentee you will not regret your decision and you will be back again. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Don't Rent

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

I wanted to show some class and not mention it but the owners attitude was horrible. The place smelled when we arrived. There was old food left in the cabinets, the cookout grill had about 2 inches of grime on it.( I had to clean it), ants in the kitchen. The bathroom fan sounded like a truck motor. The are no screens on the doors. How are you supposed to enjoy the air with storm glass on the doors.The arrogant owner also advised me she was going to tell other people not to rent to me in the future.

Owners response: This renter is angry with us because he snuck a dog to the cottage and that is against our rules and the condo association rules. When I questioned him about it, he would not admit to having a dog in the cottage. There was dog fur everywhere and damage to some items. He never contacted us about any of the above so that it could be rectified while he was on vacation. I give everyone my cell number so that I can be reached day or night for any reason. In my opinion, this is a defensive response from someone who blatantly broke the rules and does not want to pay for that. I contacted the person who checked in immediately after this renter and she assured me that the cottage was properly cleaned and there were no ants. She did mention that she had to clean dog fur off of one of the living room chairs. Our cleaner had spent 3 hours cleaning to prepare for the next renter when it typically takes her one hour. I feel badly that it has come this far and that some people do not feel the need to be honest or follow rules. I would be happy to answer any questions you have about our cottage and assure you that we do everything we can to provide a clean spot for your vacation.
Thanks You,
Sherry and John Livsey

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Engagement!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We had such a wonderful time staying in our beautiful and cozy cottage. We went to the pools, the beach, The Egg and I for breakfast, the Maine Diner for dinnner -- both very yummy! We also enjoyed relaxing on the porch, playing scrabble, and reading. It was so peaceful, we didn't want to ever go home!
On our last day here, my boyfriend proposed to me and I said Yes!! We will never forget this vacation and hope to come back again next year for a full week. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your wonderful cottage!
Jennifer and Joe

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall Getaway

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

Dear Livsey Family,
We stayed here from Oct 15 - 18 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Your cottage is comfortable and lovely -- more than any of us expected. Thank you so much for making our stay so comfortable.
Irene, Iris, Lisa, Vicky and Sandy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2009

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Dear Livsey Family,
Thank you for sharing your cottage with my family. The atmosphere of the cottage was very cozsy and felt like home. My boys (5 & 1 1/2) enjoyed playing in the sunroom each morning and early evening. Although we at at "home" most of the time, we did go to Cogdon's Family Rest. for breakfast. We loved it there!! Enjoy the resto f your summer!
The Hoxholli Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2007

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2007

This is our second time back to Beach Dreams Unit 161. It's definately a home away from home. Thanks for the "toys" this year. We played many games of bocce and tennis. the restaurant and attractions guides were very helpful. We hope to return next summer.
The Collette Family
S. Hadley, MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review