reviews for: listing #20602 - Islamorada, Florida Condo rental

Holzman's Bayside; condo on Florida Bay
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Holiday House
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,295 - $1,495 /wk
    $5,000 - $5,700 /mth

sort by:

We had an AWESOME time at Bayside!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We loved the first floor apartment, with easy access to our boat and the water! We fished, snorkeled and swam with a manatee - right there in the harbor! The owners were very pleasant to work with and made our week's stay absolutely fabulous! I highly recommend Bayside on Islamorada!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Absolutely lovely relaxing spot - beautiful location with very nice spacious comfortable condo, bay views, incredible sunsets - perfect for docking our dinghy boat and heading out to various shoal areas to swim and snorkel - we had such an enjoyable time - thank you Bernie and Linda.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

I wanted to let you know how very much we loved our anniversary vacation. I don't think I've ever taken a trip where I came home so relaxed and rested - and it was not because we weren't busy. The apt. was great and just right for us. The jacuzzi tub was a favorite place for me. We decided Islamorada was the perfect part of the keys to stay because of the convenience to activities, shopping, restaurants, etc. The other vacationers were never obvious or intrusive and help with questions was always immediately available. Our only regret was that we didn't take our 9 year old grand-daughter. She would have LOVED it. This was our first vacation there but I'm sure it won't be our last. Thank you for making this beautiful place available.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

On 1/10/2014 Susan wrote to say.....

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Bayside. Perfect location for great boating, fishing, kayaking, upscale restaurants, shopping, activities, and relaxing. The unit has been recently remodeled and no comfort is overlooked. Even though I did not cook, there was everything you could possibly need for indoor or outdoor cooking. I was initially concerned about the Murphy bed in the living room, but it has a great mattress and plenty of living room space with it set up. We actually left it down the whole time.

We rented a tandem kayak and road bike from the shop at the end of the street, very accommodating, reasonably priced, and quality equipment. Part of vacation for us is eating out every meal with our dogs and the restaurants in this area (Marker 88-great place to take dogs with huge outdoor seating area,The Green Turtle-small outdoor area in back for dogs, Chef Michaels-great Sunday brunch, MEAT, Kaiyo, Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, and I am sure I am leaving out some)are the best in the keys. Theater of the Sea (where you can also take your well behaved dogs to the park, boat ride, dolphin,and sea lion shows)which is a regular stop for us every year is a family run old Florida attraction where you can swim with a dolphin, sea lion, and/or sting rays. We have participated in these activities in many facilities and this has one of the best interactions we have ever experienced. This is about as close as you can get to blue green Caribbean waters without getting on a plane and using a passport. Anne's Beach, just a little bit south of bayside, is a wonderful place to see a keys oceanside beach with your dog. Also, Founder's park, a little north, has a great dog park and a nice beach on the bayside (but no dogs are allowed on the beach).

Finally, in our dogs vacation it was nice for them to see and play with the other renter's dogs. Besides hanging out with neighbors around the dock area at sunset, there was also plenty of space if you wanted to watch the sunset alone, everyone respected everyone else's privacy, but also helped out if you needed with boats, etc. We loved it and we will definitely be back! Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

On 4/10/12 Anne wrote to say:

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

Bernie and Linda,

We have lost count of the years now but each vacation at the Keys Kottage seems to top the last one. What can you say? We had beautiful weather, great company, and comfortable facilities in the middle of paradise. (not to mention the great fishing)

Thank you again for your hospitality and we look forward to seeing you two this November and again in January 2013.

Dick & Anne Broyhill
Anne Broyhill, Hopewell, Va

804-458-1360

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

On 2/15/13 Donna wroe to say:

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Our favorite place to stay. Perfect location, wonderful people, and beautiful wildlife.
Donna , East Meadow NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

On June 18 Steve Schultz wrote to us to say:

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

Property Description: Keys Kottage
Property ID Number: 35045
Vacationer Name: Steve <-- Will appear online
Email Address: steve.schul@yahoo.com <-- Will appear online
Hometown: Fredericksburg, VA <-- Will appear online
Phone Number: 843-252-7808 (Won't appear online)
Comment rating: Positive

Comments:
Staying at the Keys Kottage made a good vacation great. Having a private, clean, home away from home to stay in, along with a dock for the boat we rented, was absolutely a game changer. The central location and easy access to Gulf/Ocean fishing was more than we could have expected and made every fishing day a fantastic event. Looking forward to starting an annual tradition and will be including the Keys Kottage as our first choice. Thanks Bernie!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

On March 15 Graham wrote to say:

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Hi Bernie and Linda, Just to let you know that we had a very happy holiday at Bayside last week.Unfortunately a week was not enough but we did try and make the most of it. We attempted to leave Bayside in the same state as we found it and believed we achieved that. Our journey home went according to plan except for the weather on arrival back into the U.K. only 34 F.Thanks again for allowing us to share that experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Spot!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bayside. Our only regret is that we did not book two weeks! However, hindsight is 20/20, but I can promise we will not make that mistake again. The unit was perfect for us and our dog, and without a doubt this is a treasure. We shall return! Thank you so much for a wonderful week. (And keep in mind that we arrived the weekend of Hurricane Issac, but even he didn't bother us! The unit is that nice!)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Want to come back!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This is a very clean, very spacious, well thought-out home for a vacation. The beds are comfy, the living space is roomy and I can't think of anything we needed that we didn't have. The seawall is AMAZING and the place we spent most of our time catching sharks, barracuda, catfish, snapper, ladyfish, and even a toadfish! What a place to kick back and relax, have a drink and watch the sunset. The owners are quick to reply to any inquiries. If you park in the Bayside slot, you have flowers on your car every morning. There is a very friendly squirrel, iguaunas, and several land crabs everywhere. The outside deck is a perfect place to cook your catch of the day and a great way to wind down for the day. Thank you Bernie and Linda . We had a great, memorable time sitting on the seawall, playing "the cloud game" (finding shapes in the clouds) and just overall relaxing and forgetting about our work lives for awhile. We'll be back, with your permission.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Keys Vacation

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Villa was in a great location. Reminded me of old Florida. Nice harbor for small boat. Enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

This is late coming, but I just wanted to leave a note on what a great time my family and I have at the Keys Kottage. This was our second time here, both years we stayed the last week of June. We could not have asked for a better place to take a family, kids, dogs, grand parent and us. There is something for everyone, from our day fishing trips out of our boat, to Robbies and time out on the sand bar. The accomidations are very homey and comfortable. Thank you for letting us share part of the paradise that is the Keys.

Bill Sommer, Kim, Keegan, Grace and Josh

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in the Keys dozens of times and this is by far the nicest place we've been. The landscaping is beautiful, the view can't be beat. The apartment was spotless and very tastefully decorated. I could live there in a heartbeat! Restuarants and shopping are so convenient. Bently's Raw Bar is a half mile away and we ate there twice. The food is excellent. The owners are so nice to deal with. We made our reservations at the last minute and they were very accomodating. I would definitely reccomend staying here, I know we will be back.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

Bernie,
Once again thank you for allowing us to rent your piece of paradise - Bayside! This was our 3rd year in the unit and will be back in 2010. The property, the other owners, the wildlife, sunsets, accomodations are all spectacular! One could not ask for more! Thanks again, see you in April 2010!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

Dear Bernie,

My kids and I were delighted with our stay at your Bayside condominium, and our visit could not have been nicer. It was all that is promised in the site listing and more.

The area itself offers so much to do, and we met a great family upstairs with whom we shared a couple of cookouts. This was the first trip to Florida for my children, sons 5 and 9 and a daughter 14, and I am sure is one they will always remember. A few highlights: exploring the grounds and waters around the condo and observing all the interesting wildlife; snorkeling off the jetty in front of the condo; catching fish off the jetty, including a small hammerhead shark; a gorgeous day at Founder's Park -- thanks for the pass; a fishing excursion from Robbie's Marina, with a porgy my older boy caught and had cooked up at Marker 88 restaurant; a day at Theater of the Sea, just a couple of miles away; and an afternoon at Anne's Beach.

We look forward to returning, probably in 2011, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Many, many thanks.

Cheers,
Mike Tedesco

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

On December 8, 2009 Ben H sent us the following comments:"Bernie,Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thank you for the great time we had at your Keys Kottage!!! We Your place was great and the overall layout of the property and dock really was spectacular. We will definitely be contacting you about renting the unit again hopefully in March sometime.Thanks again and we’ll be in touch, Ben

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

On December 11, 2008 Steve and Beverley wrote the following:
"Birnie,(sic)
Just a note to say that I received your check today for the return of our security deposit.

Please feel free to upload our comments/pictures to your website.

"We had a great time at Bayside, you could not wish for a better location, handy for all the shops and amenities of Islamorada, but once you turn off Highway 1 the property is secluded and tranquil, it is a joy to sit and enjoy the fantastic views over the bay.
The accommodation is very confortable with a great aspect and super views out over the bay and with every facility you could ask for.
Surrounded by wildlife including ospreys, squirrels (who feed from your hand) and dolphins in the bay we found ourselves staying on the property and relaxing rather more than we have ever done in our previous visits to the Keys.
Our neighbors on the property were all very friendly and I hope we have made some lasting friendships especially with Evelyn and Jim Schafer who were always available with help and advice.
Despite our rather late booking, Birnie(sic) was flexible and accommodating allowing for a very easy transaction. Thanks Birnie(sic), we will definitely be back".


Thanks again, we had a great time.

Regards

Steve & Beverley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

On January 5, 2009 Don and Nancy sent us the following comments:
Good Morning Bernie,

Nancy and I would like to thank you for allowing us the use of Bayside last week. We had a great time, the unit and property were even nicer than the web photos portray!

I would appreciate the consideration of allowing us to rent this unit again in the future.

Again, Thank you.

Don A

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

On January 22, 2009 Randy and Vicki sent us the following: "
What a wonderful time we had in an ideal setting. Your neighbors are first rate. Don kept us informed and Jim took me fishing. The webcam is terrific. You are now known in North Idaho.

Thank you again for sharing your little bit of heaven with us. We are already considering another visit but for an extended time.

We loved it.


Randy and Vicki Rowe"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in Bayside April 2007 & 2008 for two weeks. We are booked again for this April. It is a wonderful unit, just steps away from watching sunsets over FL Bay. Quiet, clean, great owners & guests, nothing bad to say about it. Right in the heart of Islamorada. The unit has everything one would need, including a blender for tropical drinks. Take a minute to look at the Holiday House website, they have a webcam set up looking out over FL Bay -it is truly beautiful, quiet and relaxing!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

We had a great time at Bayside, you could not wish for a better location, handy for all the shops and amenities of Islamorada, but once you turn off Highway 1 the property is secluded and tranquil, it is a joy to sit and enjoy the fantastic views over the bay.
The accommodation is very confortable with a great aspect and super views out over the bay and with every facility you could ask for.
Surrounded by wildlife including ospreys, squirrels (who feed from your hand [owners comment:we discourage this as the squirrels have been known to bite]) and dolphins in the bay we found ourselves staying on the property and relaxing rather more than we have ever done in our previous visits to the Keys.
Our neighbors on the property were all very friendly and I hope we have made some lasting friendships especially with Evelyn and Jim S who were always available with help and advice.
Despite our rather late booking, Bernie was flexible and accommodating allowing for a very easy transaction. Thanks Bernie, we will definitely be back".
Thanks again, we had a great time.
Regards
Steve & Beverley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

We had a great time at Bayside, you could not wish for a better location, handy for all the shops and amenities of Islamorada, but once you turn off Highway 1 the property is secluded and tranquil, it is a joy to sit and enjoy the fantastic views over the bay.
The accommodation is very confortable with a great aspect and super views out over the bay and with every facility you could ask for.
Surrounded by wildlife including ospreys, squirrels (who feed from your hand [owners comment:we discourage this as the squirrels have been known to bite]) and dolphins in the bay we found ourselves staying on the property and relaxing rather more than we have ever done in our previous visits to the Keys.
Our neighbors on the property were all very friendly and I hope we have made some lasting friendships especially with Evelyn and Jim S who were always available with help and advice.
Despite our rather late booking, Bernie was flexible and accommodating allowing for a very easy transaction. Thanks Bernie, we will definitely be back".
Thanks again, we had a great time.
Regards
Steve & Beverley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 12, 2007   Date of arrival: April 12, 2007

On Monday, April 9, 2007 Jim and Sherry L. wrote....

"Dear Bernie,
We enjoyed alot the Bayside rental last week. Everything about the rental was as promised or better.

We rented two kayaks for the week from the friendly business next door and used them about every day, going to the lagoon north and to the Lorelei south.

The grocery a little to the south was terrific for us. We ate out one night at Lazy Days, one lunch out at the Lorelei on a kayak trip.

All the other renters were welcoming to us and our children ages 6 and 3 had plenty of playmates.

Thanks for helping our first visit to the Keys to be an extraordinary one.


Regards,
Jim and Sherry L"

And on April 10, 2007 they added.....

"Several comments occurred to me since the earlier note: (i) the nearby dive museum is extraordinary, the artifacts and presentation are worthy of the Smithsonian with the additional amenity that you can touch about everything, (ii) .... there was reliable wireless internet via a network called "Holiday House" the entire visit--it helped us locate Islamorada points of interest, and there was a DVD player though we didn't try to use it, too busy, (iii) we gratefully used your letter of introduction to enjoy a half day at Founder's Park, (iv) we spent a half day also at Theater of the Sea, (v) we chartered a half-day eco-tour with Ann's Easy Adventures (from World Wide Sportsman) to snorkeling at Port Antigua beach and to history and bug collecting at Indian Key, (vi) we walked five minutes to Paradise Yoga just across the street. It was too windy the day we tried to go to Lignumvitae, we are saving it for the return visits.

We hope to thank you in person next time.

Thanks again and regards,
Jim"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2006   Date of arrival: February 6, 2006

On 2/06/06 we received this comment from Grace and Martin who had just stayed in Bayside

We just returned from a wonderful 7 days at the Bayside. The accommodations
and location is great. We enjoyed meeting and sharing sunsets with
residents. Looking forward to next time. Please put us on your email when
you have January 2007 availability. Thank you for sharing your paradise.

Grace & Martin S.
Anderson, S.C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 18, 2005   Date of arrival: October 18, 2005

April 27, 2005 Gretchen D. sent us this comment:

Mr. and Mrs. Holtzman,

Good afternoon, we just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to stay in
your beautiful kottage last week. We had a great time and couldn't have
asked for anything more in accommodations. The boat basin was so
convenient for fishing and the property was an absolutely relaxing
environment..
We had a great time and look forward to our next trip.


If you have any questions, please feel free to call.

Thank you,

Jeff and Gretchen D.

Gretchen D.
Quality System Administrator
Product Development Technician
Boston Whaler Inc.

and then in a separate email she added:

You can also add in there that all of the
residents were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the great experience!

-Gretchen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 17, 2005   Date of arrival: October 17, 2005

Janice sent us this email today

"Dave and I had such a great time at the Bayside this past summer we are already looking forward to next summer. Could you please email the availability of Bayside and the Kottage for June '06? It would be much appreciated.

Talk to you soon,
Janice M.
St. Augustine, FL"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review