reviews for: listing #20794 - Murphy, North Carolina Cabin rental

Relaxing Nottely River Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $89 - $89 /nt
    $499 - $599 /wk
    $1,490 - $1,490 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2004   Date of arrival: November 1, 2004

This was the PERFECT get-away! We went just for a long weekend but can't wait to go back for an extended stay! So relaxing and beautiful. The cabin is right on the river & it has a covered back deck. We did several things while we were there (like riding the Great Smokey Mtn Railroad that runs next to the Nanatahal Gorge, hiked to Anna Ruby Falls, & Oktoberfest in Helen, GA) but we enjoyed being at the cabin the most!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This is a wonderful, relaxing place to stay. Very clean and quit. The cabin had every thing we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

home away from home

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

we enjoyed our stay in this very clean. comfortable cabin. It had everything that we needed to make our stay enjoyable.

We had two nice days golfing, we took the dogs for a walk in town at the river walk. Beautiful.

We enjoyed the best fried pastry at Mercier's Orchard in blue rigdge. It was cream filling with chocolate frosting and dusted with coconut. The Apple and Blueberry were also very good.

The river so close to the beautiful back porch made morning coffee something to look forward to.
The water over the rocks was a very soothing sound.

We hope to enjoy this same cabin again next summer.

We thank Mimi for making it a truely wonderful home away from home.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nottely River Cabin Fans

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

This place was heavenly! The peace and quiet was much appreciated. When we entered the cabin we instantly felt at ease and the furnishings were very charming! The gated back porch overlooking the river was our favorite place to relax. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serene and peaceful

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We loved the cabin and the river was so beautiful and peaceful.The cabin was very clean nice cozy and warm.Cabin photos and location was accurate and easy to follow.The cabin was close to many restaurants, activities and attractions.
We loved the fireplace and the decor was charming with all the amenities you need. Mimi the owner was wonderful and very helpful.We hated to leave !
We appreciated the Christmas cookies the neighbor brought upon our arrival.We will definately be back and would recommend this property to family and friends.Thankyou again Mimi for making our Christmas wonderful & special!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

We absolutely loved this cabin! It was better than the pictures portray. So comfortable that you felt right at home. Has everything you could possibly need or want for a great stay. There are a lot of things to do in the area. You really don't have to stray to far. I think one of our favorite things was going to Brasstown on Friday night to Clay's Corner and listening to the local pickers playing folk/bluegrass music. Would love to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Camper

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We loved this cabin. It was clean, and homey, and it is more beautiful in person than the pictures on the website. Our favorite activity was sitting on the back porch, listening to the relaxing river sounds. We appreciate that we could bring our dogs with us, and they enjoyed playing in the river, and taking walks. We will be back, and have already recommended this beautiful place to some of our family members.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

River Side Delight

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

During the whole month of July, 2012 (one of the very hot months across the US) we had a delightful month in this lovely home on the banks of the River. Enjoyed the wonderful sounds and changes of the river each day - including watching ducks, geese, and otter from the comfort of rocking chairs on the back deck overlooking the river. A variety of birds were also constantly available for viewing around the hummingbird feeder and the other feeders in the nearby trees. The home is beautifully decorated with a wildlife/river theme. A very comfortable and relaxing month. The listing was accurate, photos were perfect, site very clean and well-maintained, all of our questions answered "ahead of time", enjoyed lots of activites in the area (such as antique shops, fishing, road trips, resturants, flea markets). We will definitely want to return again and also recommend to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the cabin - we could not have asked for a nicer place. Very comfortable accommodations and felt very much at home. Beds were very comfortable. Kitchen had everything you would need for cooking.
The view of the river from the porch was beautiful. Each morning, we saw mallard ducks with their ducklings swimming in formation up and down the river. Same with geese with their goslings. So very relaxing to watch from the porch.
In addition, we met nice neighbors who were very helpful and friendly. All in all a very nice visit and would love to visit again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Getaway

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This was an absolutely perfect vacation. We stayed for the week and enjoyed every minute. The porch was perfect for morning coffee, afternoon reading,and evening dinners. The sounds of the river were very relaxing. We enjoyed the puzzles and playing the games. The cabin was so comfortable, welcoming, and clean. The kitchen was very well furnished with everything you need to prepare a meal. The decor has many personal touches that make you feel right at home. We enjoyed an evening of hotdogs and marshmellows by the fire pit. We went into town for shopping and ate a few restaurants. I would highly recommend this cabin for your family vacation. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We hope to come again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Susan

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Clean, relaxing, just as described. The dog loved the long walk down the country road. Will be back. To bad we didn't have a place like this when our 3 children were young. They would have loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recent vacation

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

I love this cabin My family has stayed here 6 times
The cabin is comfy and cozy with a great fireplace large back porch
You can hear the river from the master bedroom and den
Short drive into the lovely downtown Murphy
r

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Getaway on the River

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

This was our first time renting a cabin. The owners are SUPER SWEET people and were very accommodating. When we arrived at the cabin, it was absolutely beautiful! The pictures don't do it justice. You have to see it in order to get the full effect of how beautiful it is. The location on the river is truly awesome with a breathtaking view right out the back door!! We had a great time fishing and looking for river rocks. I enjoyed sitting on the back porch listening to the river and watching the birds. The kids enjoyed playing the games that were available. Their favorite was playing Badminton. We were so blessed to find this cabin for our vacation. We would recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. We are already planning for our next vacation there. :0)

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GREAT STAY

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS PLACE.. I STAYED HERE WHILE TAKING A CLASS AT JC CAMPBELL FOLK SCHOOL.. JUST 14 MILES AWAY FROM THE SCHOOL AND A BEAUTIFUL DRIVE..THE CABIN IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND COZY..LOVED THE PLAID CARPET AND THE STORY BEHIND IT..IT EXUDES WARMTH AND COZINESS.. THE RIVER IS GORGEOUS AND THIS CABIN'S SPOT IS PRIME BECAUSE YOU NOT ONLY GET TO SEE THE RIVER BUT ALSO HEAR IT...BEAUTIFUL.. IT WILL DEFINITELY BE ON MY LIST OF SPOTS TO RETURN TO.. THE CABIN HAS EVERYTHING YOU NEED AND THE OWNERS ARE SO VERY HOSPITABLE AND KIND.. I FEEL LIKE MIMI IS A FRIEND I HAVE HAD FOR YEARS..THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING AND BEING WHO YOU ARE.. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

GREAT CABIN

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We had the best time there, the cabin was great and the river out back was fantastic. It was so nice to get away from all the stress from work and just relax and forget all the problems you left at home. We really enjoyed Murphy and Lady(the neighbors dogs) that visited us twice a day. They were very gentle and loving, I think they thought they were kids just out visiting every one each morning and afternoon. Can't wait to go back, even if we have to drive down the gravel road!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Vacation Cabin

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Wow! The cabin is all it is listed to be and more. We really enjoyed our week at the cabin. Cool nights, warm days. The fireplace provided warmeth and ambience. The cabin had everything needed for a great get-away vacation. As we arrived late in the day, I was so very pleased to find coffee in the cupboards, as well as a can of soup. (which we replaced before leaving) The fall leaves were at the peak of changing color. Very quiet neighborhod. Woke to sounds of rushing water in the river and the cool brisk air made sitting of the back porch looking out over the river sipping coffee one of the most relaxing moments of the day. The owners are very accomodating and helpful with all questions.
A vacation we will remember with fond memories for a long time. The only negative is the 2-mile gravel road to the cabin. Not an ideal road for motorcyclist.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Rejuvinated Golfer

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We really enjoyed our retreat to this Cabin. Quite Beautiful, Terriffic Location, and Comfortable. The River really keeps the summer temps quite cool, particularly in the evening and mornings. Enjoyed playing golf at Union, Brass Valley Resort, and Murphy GC. Found some fun stuff to do. Every was terrific.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

WOW what a great place to go and it is such a serene and peaceful setting I cant wait to go back! Everything is top notch from the amenities to breath taking view of the river!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

My family had a great time playing in and around the river. The accomodations were very nice and stocked with everything we needed. I would recommend this cabin for those in need of relaxing time by the Nottley River!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just Fabulous!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2008   Date of arrival: May 18, 2008

Words can't describe the comfort beauty and serenity of the of this cabin inside and out. The soothing sounds of the flowing river were so calming. We really enjoyed everything and could not have asked for more. The cabin had everything we could have possibly needed. We will make this cabin a regular vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

My wife and I have been to other cabins in the Carolina Mountains and this cabin was top notch. All the comforts of home were included; not to mention top name brands and fabrics of the most elite stores (leather couch and sofa chair, Ralph Lauren sheets and quilts, I could go on...) The scenery, mountains,and the soothing sound of the Nottely River was breath taking. We HIGHLY recommend this cabin to anyone who wants to relax or just get away. By the way, the pictures on this web site do not even do it justice. One last comment, there is a new Super Wal-Mart just minutes away and the eating establishments are fantastic!

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review