reviews for: listing #208736ha - Santa Barbara, California rental

Charming Santa Barbara Craftsman Style Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 1,050 - $ 2,000 / week
    $ 4,500 - $ 6,000 / month
  • sleeps  7
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

This rental is a good deal.

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

The owners of this property really have it figured out - everything was very nice. The house is very clean, new kitchen and baths, the enclosed courtyard with hot tub provides complete privacy, and all the necessities for your stay are in place. It's a five minute ride to downtown Santa Barbara, or a bike ride (on the bike lane) takes 10 minutes. The historic Santa Barbara Mission is within walking distance. Making the lease arrangements was easy and the property owner followed up promptly on everything. My wife wanted to become a squatter. One note to people not familar with the area - bring a light jacket or sweater, the nights get quite chilly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome August stay

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Stayed for 3 days the last week in August. Close enough to State street to walk into town to eat. We had a very enjoyable day biking along the bikepath and spent another beautiful day in winecountry. This house had everything my parents, my huband and my two year old could want, and then some.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the positive review. We try to make the experience positive for all our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect rental!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This is a wonderful house in a great location at a price which represents tremendous value for money!
Let's start with first impressions: ours were "Wow!". The photos on the site do not quite do the house justice - it is larger than it appears in the photos and one is struck by the qulaity of the furnishings and fittings.
Location - it was ideal for us. The house is in a quiet, affluent suburb of SB, but is within walking distance of The Mission and the delights of State Street/Downtown. There is a supermarket within walking distance and a 3 minute drive sees you on Highway 101. There are any number of beaches within driving distance.
The lounge is large and nicely furnished. The TV is the size of UK cinema screen! Although we didn't use it, the soundsystem is of high quality. The lounge leads into a nice dining area, which, again, is well furnished. There is a big, well equipped kitchen, complete with wine cabinet/cooler. A separate area houses washing machine, etc.
All three bedrooms are of a good size, with the master bedroom's bed being perhaps the largest and most comfortable I have ever slept in. Again, both batrooms are good.
It's the details which make this house stand out - the fittings are of very high quality, the towels are thick and abundant, even the toiletries are nice! Everything shouts quality. Some rental properties have an air of having hand me down furniture and of everything being a bit second best - not this house, everything is top notch.
Bob was a pleasure to deal with and it's worth noting that I had asked if there were beach towels at the house. When we arrived we found that they had kindly been left out for us.
In conclusion, I recommend this rental most highly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the excellent review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Child-friendly house, great landlord

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Our family of four (two children, ages three and nine) stayed here for a week in September and were very pleased with everything about the rental. Other reviewers have rightly complemented the owner for the lovely job he did remodeling this house- everything is nice and new and functional, and the kitchen, in particular is easy to work in. I would also like to point out that the clean layout of the house and hardwood floors make this a good choice for a family with children. My brother lives in town, and he visited the house frequently with his kids, so there were often a number of little kids happily running around. The fenced backyard was a bonus in this respect as well- there is room to kick a soccer ball while the adults relax inside or at the patio table.

Other nice aspects of the house: the front porch, which is a great spot to read a book, the hot tub, and the computer provided for guest use. The owner is extremely easy to work with and responds to emails quickly. This is a nice residential neighborhood- It is a fairly easy walk to the Mission, a much longer walk to downtown, and an easy bike ride almost anywhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, Charming Craftsman

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

We rented this wonderful home, with another family, for a week in August 2009. This Craftsman is situated perfectly for getting to all the places we needed to go. The home has a sense of separateness, yet is still cozy and comforting. The owners did a beautiful job remodeling this wonderful, clean, feeling-good place. They provided everything to keep a household going for the week. It was our niece's wedding in SB, and we converged from all over the West for the fun week of wedding activities and coastal sight seeing. The house and gardens did well for a larger family gathering one evening. Though some walked to the house from the beach, you probably need a car. We were even able to read a few books during the rush of wedding week, that says a lot about this home's sense of quietness. Santa Barbara has so many good places to eat and beaches to walk and birds to see. We particularly enjoyed a boat trip to Anacapa Island in the Channel Islands National Park, we hiked the island in the midst of nesting for brown pelicans, western gulls and pigeon guillemots, as well as California sea lion pupping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

This was a very clean and welcoming home! Our family was needing something that was comfortable and homey to be together for our daughter's graduation from UCSB. The back yard was perfect for barbequing for everyone and our grand-daughter had a safe place to play.
We would highly recommend this to families...having a washer and dryer was handy! We also loved being able to walk to one of our favorite places in Santa Barbara,the Daily Grind coffeehouse...just blocks away.
Thank you Bob for making this a great experience!
The "T" Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

We were really impressed with this house. It was very well kept. The fact that this was the owner's house recently can be felt. Appliances are new, lines are top notch...basically everything you could ask for at your disposal. The house is not huge, but is laid out so well that it feels bigger than it is.

Amenities really nice....big TV, sound system that goes to most rooms, jacuzzi in it's own little structure, well kept grounds, nice front porch. Can you tell we liked it?

We have stayed at many vacation rentals, and this one by far had it's act the most together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Your home was so relaxing and comfortable, I can't wait to go back! What a terrific weekend, so much to do and so convenient to everything! Thank you for having all of the conveniences of home without any of the hassles of home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Thank you so much for a great stay. Your home exceeded my expectations and all of your thoughtful touches were greatly appreciated. I can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Lovely home and yard in good neighborhood, owner
does what he promises.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review