reviews for: listing #21032 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

Henkel Cottage-Exceptionally Clean! Well-Stocked
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $375 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Fall Destination

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The Henkel Cottage is not only as wonderful as advertised, but even better. I stayed there for a four day weekend with my 2 sisters and mother and we all had a wonderful time. The location is perfect - a short walk to the beautiful Lake Michigan coast. But even if you choose to spend your whole time in the cottage - the many trees surrounding the property give it such a tranquil feel. Near-by South Haven was perfect for eating and shopping. And the farmer's market was a great way to spend a relaxing Saturday morning. The owners were great about giving restaurant recommendations and in answering every question. We especially loved Clementine's restaurant! Thanks for sharing your loving cottage with us!

Owners response: Fall is a very fun time in South Haven. For those new to the area, the Henkel Cottage is located 1 mile north of the Dyckman bridge. The First St. beach access is approximately a 2-3 minute walk from the front porch. We are happy to help families make arrangements for special outings, birthday cakes, etc. We enjoy helping others create memories to last a lifetime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Another perfect stay at the Henkel Cottage!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

This is the second time that my friends and I have rented this house for our annual beach vacation, but the third time that I have rented the home (with another rental already booked for November!). The house is absolutely beautiful...there is not a single thing missing. It is stocked wonderfully with everything you could ever think of (how fun for us to discover we could make quesadillas with their quesadilla maker!) and is so comfortable. The walk to the beach is so simple, and that Lake Michigan view can't be beat. Working with Tom and Laurel is always a job...easy as can be, totally trustworthy, and easy to get ahold of. If I ever hear of anyone needing a rental in South Haven, I never hesitate to recommend one of the Henkel properties.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Time Visit

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

This was our first time at the Henkel Cottage and would like to come again. We had everything we needed and then some! Great location and beautiful home. Thank you for having us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Great Year!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Another great year at the Henkel Cottage. We love all your amenities & hospitality. Can't wait for our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mother/Daughter Weekend

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We just had our second annual Mother/Daughter weekend at the Henkel Cottage!
We were so pleased with the accommodations on our first visit we knew we would be back again! We were able to use the Fall Special with the 3rd night free and it was such a nice bonus. Even though we all could not be there Thursday night we had the cottage available all day Friday for whenever everyone could get there.
The home is very well maintained inside and out. It is tastefully decorated you can't help but feel at home. The kitchen has everything you need to do as much (or as little) cooking you want. All you need are the groceries!
The home is conveniently located just off the highway and so close to town and the beach, with Saugatuck and Wineries not too far away.
Tom and Laurel are a pleasure to work with they have definitely thought of everything to make The Henkel Cottage a great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Third Visit!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

This was the third year in a row that we've stayed at the Henkel Cottage. We love this house! It is exceptionally clean, well cared for and very comfortable. The Henkels have thought of everything to make their cottage feel like your home-away-from-home. The kitchen is well-stocked, the rooms are freshly decorated and the outdoor space is set up for use by several families. The beach is just a short stroll down the road, made easy by the wagon provided to carry your beach gear. We love the small town feel of South Haven, and especially enjoy eating at Maria's in town, walking along North Shore Drive and along the pier by the river. The owners have been wonderful to work with and when staying in their house, there is a feeling that they truly care about your comfort and enjoyment!

Owners response: One of the best things about being an owner is having guests return to your home year after year. We are very honored by the number of groups prefer to return rather than seek a different option. We value customer loyalty and will continue to work hard for your patronage.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Twice In Same Year!

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

"Another great stay at the Henkel Cottage. We were lucky enough to enjoy this great
vacation spot twice this summer and both times were spectacular & accommodations are the best! Weekend was full of great weather, family & friends. Cannot wait to be back."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

My friends and I are all teachers, and we stayed at Henkel Cottage this past week for our annual girls trip. The house is AMAZING and far exceeded our expectations. We all commented that we could have lived there all summer! It is so comfortable, beautiful and felt very high-end. The value of this home is unbelievable. The outdoor area was perfect for cookouts, and we love the new fire pit! The beach is steps away from the house, and we took full advantage of it...including the beautiful sunsets. The bedrooms and bathrooms were wonderful, the living room was incredibly comfortable, the kitchen is BEAUTIFUL and stocked with anything and everything you could ever need. We also loved the great DVD collection as well as the games available! Thank you so much, Tom and Laurel, for this beautiful home. We cannot wait to rent from you again next summer.

Owners response: It's always a joy to welcome new guests to our home. We strive to provide a home that families & groups will want to return to.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect spring getaway

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Henkel Cottage was the perfect place for our two-family spring getaway. We were five adults, one tween, three kids, and a baby, and everyone loved it. The house is beautiful, thoughtfully and extensively stocked--we overpacked because we hadn't expected so much to be there in the house. The yard is lovely; the kids enjoyed the swingset and running around, and we all had a good time around the firepit and having a grilled lunch on the patio. The beach is within easy walking distance, even with small children, and South Haven's downtown is charming. (My only regret there is no real grocery store other than Wal-Mart. Bring groceries! Or just go to Maria's, and definitely try the gelato.) The owners were marvelously helpful and communicative; I never had a worry about the business details and knew exactly what was expected on both sides. Go to Henkel Cottage if you can! Just not on the weekend I want to go back. :)

Owners response: A great family that we would enjoy having back! A heartwarming story to hear of their Easter egg hunt. The egg hunt was a "first" at the Henkel Cottage. We are all looking forward to the new Meijer grocery store that has been recently announced. We also enjoy the top notch service at the Village Market. Thanks for your input!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Above and Beyond

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Our stay at the Henkel Cottage was awesome! Everything we needed was here waiting for us. This home was very warm and inviting. Quiet surroundings made for a peaceful stay. Plenty of room for 8 (or more) women to relax. Very clean and nicely decorated. A home away from home. A short walk to the beach in spite of the cooler weather was appreciated. Town only a quick car ride away made for a fun day of shopping and enjoying spa services. Dinner at Clementines a must! We will visit again in the future and look forward to staying at this cottage. Even the gals from out of state will make the trip back. Thank you Tom and Laurel for your hospitality. You are truly blessed! The Chicks Spring Fling Gals.

Owners response: We appreciate your feedback. Can't wait to have you all back next time! For those prospective renters curious about the location, the Henkel Cottage is located approximately 1 mile north of the Dyckman bridge.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girl's Weekend Away!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

What an awesome cottage! It was our annual Girl's Weekend and we had a great time. All of the amenities of home and then some. Super clean and all the furnishings were exceptional. We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a long weekend. A short walk to the big lake where the beach was beautiful. I would certainly recommend the Henkel Cottage to all my friends and family - it was the best! Thanks to Laurel and Tom for providing us such a lovely place to stay and for the opportunity to share great memories with such good friends.

Chris Reed
"The Housewives of Hickory Corners"

Owners response: We appreciate our guests and strive to provide a premium vacation setting. Thanks for your feedback! We look forward to your future visits.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay for a girls getaway! Loved the open concept for group gatherings....we really enjoyed sitting around the fireplace in the evenings. Very neat and clean. Decorated very cute. Comfortable sleeping arrangements. Would most definitely stay again!

Owners response: We appreciate guest feedback. It is heartwarming to hear that friends and family are able to spend special time together in our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ladies Weekend

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Thank you Laurel and Tom. Our ladies weekend was fabulous. Your home was so clean. The kitchen was stocked with everything needed to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed the big screen T.V. and the wrap around couch for the cozy evenings. I was hesitant about renting off the internet, but after staying in your perfectly clean home I can't wait to visit again next year. Your home was plenty big for the eight of us. Thanks for the time of our lives. Vicky Cernetig

Owners response: We greatly appreciate customer feedback as it helps us to maintain a high quality rental home. We take pride in our property and look forward to serving returning guests.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delightful stay!!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Our stay at the Henkel cottage was absolutely lovely! It is very clean and everything about the decor and fixtures says high quality. The beach is within a short walking distance and downtown South Haven extremely pleasant.
We hope to continue to hold our annual Girl's Weekend here as the owners are excessively easy to work with and the cottage, yard, and surroundings are everything we want.

Owners response: We enjoy hosting groups looking for a special place to gather every year and stay connected. As owners, it's fun to develop friendships with returning guests and getting to know them year after year. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Weekend Away From Chicago

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

I took a group of college aged women that I oversee to the Henkel Cottage. We absolutely LOVED our weekend at the cottage. Laurel was amazing and easy to work with in figuring out the details related to our rental of her home. The home is beautifully decorated (it's even better in person than in the pictures), and the beach is absolutely gorgeous! The kitchen is very spacious and well stocked with everything we needed for cooking for our group. We hope to come back again in the future...and I even hope to return with my family in the future!

Owners response: We were very pleased with this group of thoughtful young ladies away on their retreat. They were courteous and very respectful of our home. It was a pleasure to host them.
Look forward to having them return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mother Daughter Weekend

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

I was a little nervous being weekend planner for a group of 8. Having never rented any property before I was concerned about making the right choice for everyone in regard to location and amenities. Well, all I can say is that I did good!
Your home is beautiful! It was clean, comfortable and the kitchen was very well stocked. The backyard was a great extension of the house had the weather been nicer we would have taken advantage of the grill and patio furniture. There was plenty of wood stocked for a fire and s'more fixins as well and we enjoyed both!.
The location was perfect for us. Walking distance to the beach a short drive to downtown South Haven. Saugatuck was less than a 30 minute drive as well.
We were able to take advantage of the fall special and the extra night was a wonderful bonus. We look forward to our next visit!

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed working with you and look forward to hosting your group again in the future!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Girl's Getaway!!

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Beautiful cottage!! Wonderful amenities!!! Will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time and value your input. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mother Daughter Getaway

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

3 day weekend with my 3 daughters. House is beautiful--as soon as we walked in, we wished we could stay longer. Great set-up; well-designed. The owners even left "s'more ingredients" for us! The weather was cold and rainy, but this did not keep us from having a great time. Close to town for dining and shopping, but the best part is that it is just a short walk to the lake. And even in bad weather, the lake just renews the spirit! Went for long walks on the beach every day. We really couldn't think of anything this house did not provide! The owners were easy to work with. Would think a week here would be heaven!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Thanksgiving Ever!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

My family met at the Henkel Cottage for Thanksgiving weekend. We had a fabulous time. The house was perfect and the kitchen was more than equiped for preparing Thanksgiving dinner. Because all the bedrooms had TVs the kids were able to play their games or watch TV. We had great bon-fires and made smores. On Friday everybody went ice skating. We got chocolate at Kilwins and shopped in South Haven, Holland and a couple of other towns close by. We enjoyed the town and the people. This home was perfect for us. Everything was very nice and with 4 children and 6 adults there was plenty of room for everyone. We are looking forward to planning a trip this summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review