reviews for: listing #2107 - Barnstable, Massachusetts House rental

Premier Cape Cod waterfront property!!!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,500 - $7,000 /wk

sort by:

Outstanding Harbor View

Review submitted: December 14, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

This is an incredibly beautiful home--the pictures just do not do it justice. The location is superb with the beach just 30 paces from the front door and walking distance to the village. We also were very grateful for an incredibly thorough "check-in". The owners are also Innkeepers in the area and they have thought of everything to make a vacation totally stress free--they know the best restaurants, best hikes, best tours and best shopping. We have stayed at alot of homes and different towns on the Cape, but nothing can compete with this!

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

A piece of Autumn paradise on the Cape

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

What a glorious stay! Ali and Tom are perfect hosts. They both met us at the property to get us settled in. This beautiful home sits right on the water in Barnstable with a panoramic view of the bay. It sits at the end of a quiet lane making the location peaceful and serene but the home is ideally situated to explore the entire Cape as it is very near route 6A. The back of the house is all windows so each room has a lovely view of the water. Just a few steps away is a walking path along the ocean. The kitchen is well appointed for all of your cooking needs and the house is very tastefully decorated. The house has three master suites with very comfortable king beds. We toured most of the quaint towns on the Cape as well as quick day trips to Boston and Plymouth. We actually found that Barnstable to be one of our favorite little towns on the Cape. There is a little grocery store right nearby that has almost anything you would need as well as a couple of great restaurants just a few minutes away. We cannot wait to return!

Jill, Joan and Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

The house, views and location are excellent. The owners, Tom and Ali, are very gracious hosts, but strike a nice balance between being attentive/available and respecting your privacy to enjoy as if it was your own home. Communications were excellent, friendly and clear. We had a great family vacation and would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Frequent Vacation Renter,s

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

We wanted our review to STAND OUT!
Absolutely the nicest people and home we have ever rented.
Every chair-every room was comfortable and relaxing.
Take the best rental experience you have ever had-add a million and you will know our opinion of this property.
We will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sister's Getaway Oct 25th-Oct 30th

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Cape Cod, look no further than this exquisite home in Barnstable. You are in the heart of it all.
The owner's Ali and Tom are the most accomodating "concierges". They are inn keepers so they have paid attention to every detail.
As you arrive at the home and open the front door, the sweeping panoramic view of the bay will take your breath away.
The kitchen is a chef,s dream, the living area is oh so cozy. What a better place to curl up and enjoy your favorite book or just gaze out and watch the boats float on their moorings,it is so majestic.
Each bedroom has a wonderful view. They are spacious and beautifully decorated with King bed's and their own private bath. You may have to draw straws to see who will take the master suite, it is absolutely stunning.
Ali and Tom have everything ready for you and more.
We girls had decided to stay in one evening to enjoy the home and make use of the incredible kitchen. Ali and Tom were able to recommend a chef for us, and we are still talking about the wonderful evening that we had.
We are 5 sister's who go away together every year, and every year we feel we have found the perfect getaway. This Cape Cod home in Barnstable is now at the top of our list.
Thank You for everything Ali and Tom
Teresa,Susan,Nancy,Liz, and Carolyn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Teresa,
What a wonderful review--thank you! While we were all aware that Hurricane Sandy was barreling our way, you did not seem fazed by it. I knew you would be fine even without using the storm shutters. When people book for a week in the summer and they end up with a few rainy days, no one ever seems to mind. They tell us that they didn't really want to leave the house anyway. That speaks volumes to how comfortable and embraced the house makes everyone feel. It is true that our view of the water makes for incredible theater--it is always changing. Even in the winter when there are ice flows drifting by with seal floating on them, it is pretty special to be curled up by the fire. We truly hope you will be back again someday. Thank you for loving our house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxurious Beachfront Cape Cod Home / #101083

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

The house was absolutely beautiful. It was portrayed exactly as the photos on the website and was very clean, and believe me, we have rented some that were not. Tom and Ali, the owners of the home and the Lamb and Lion Inn, were fantastic and available to answer any questions we had. The view of the water was fabulous and very serene. They also provided much info at the house/things to see and do/ menus/ and maps for their visitors. As for the 55 and older, if you are in good shape and can do the stairs up to bedrooms, you will be fine! We would highly recommend this property to others. Thank you Tom and Ali for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Jo and Dale,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the house. People always tell us that it exceeds their expectations and we are delighted to hear that. Hope we will see you again sometime!
Ali and Tom

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Star Rental

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

This home is even more beautiful in person than in the pictures. It really does have water views from every room. The place is immaculate. The kitchen is a chef's paradise- great appliances, a lot of room, and a great island. Unfortunately, we didn't use the kitchen much because there are so many great restaurants in the area. I have stayed in five star hotels before, but this was my first five star rental.
The owners are very nice and extremely helpful.
This is a great place for large families or three couples-- all rooms are large with their own bathrooms, sitting rooms, and waterviews. The master bedroom is a step above with a great deck, fabulous bathroom, and wood burning stove. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review! One correction, the fireplace in the master is not wood-burning, but rather a gas fireplace stove, which gives off wonderful heat and is simply turned on by the click of a button. We find the convenience and practicality of this kind of amenity to be well appreciated by our wonderful guests! As for the dining out, you're right, being in the mid-Cape area puts you close to hundreds of great restaurants (we have a guest book with all of our favorites), but we laugh, because most people marvel over the choices, but can't pry themselves from leaving the house (grilling on the front deck is always an allure to be reckoned with!). Hope to get you back here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LUXURIOUSLY BEAUTIFUL !!

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2001

We stayed here in early June and combined 2 of our families from Fla. with 4 kids. for this exciting vacation. The owners, Ali and Tom, were delightful hosts at this well maintained Cape Cod home. The home is beautifully decorated and every room is very comfortably set up for enjoyment. The bedrooms are large and the beds are so comfortable( which makes for a very restful sleep ). The kitchen has the perfect layout and everything is easy access and delightful to cook in. The view from every room in the house is simply breathtaking. The sunsets unbelievable. Can't think of any season this home wouldn't be beautiful to stay at. Loved the gas stove fireplaces throughout the house. You step out the back door and can go for a walk on the secluded beach. The kids took over the game room which was on the second floor. Ali & Tom provide you with a booklet they've put together to tell you good restaurants , markets, shops and places to visit , that the locals enjoy, kinda a self guided tour, which was very thoughtful, because this was our first time in this area. We have highly recommended this home to our friends, family, and business associates that want to travel Northeast. Just afraid that it will be impossible to get a booking in the near future as word of mouth gets out of this perfect vacation home. Thanks Ali & Tom for making this a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place for a Reunion of Good Friends

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

We are 3 couples who booked Harborview for a relaxing week. One couple lives in San Francisco, and the other 2 couples live in the UK. We initially booked because the bedrooms all looked a good size and were ensuite, pictures looked inviting, and it was on the beach. The booking process was great. Ali and Tom always responded to questions, and Ali took us for our first glimpse of our little paradise when we arrived. The pictures do not do Harborview justice. The house has beautiful views from all the rooms, and the standard of decor is wonderful. The house is very spacious and can accommodate more in the game room on a sofa bed if needed. Free WiFi is included. We love to cook and the kitchen was very well stocked and perfect for those times when everyone just wants to unwind and talk while cooking. When we found there was only a gas grill, Tom quickly provided a charcoal one as well - very responsive! We spent most nights on the deck grilling and watching the sun set and the moon rise. The beach is small but lovely. The location is great for exploring the area, and our hosts provided a great book with all sorts of local information. We didn't try too many local restaurants, but we did buy fish, lobsters and clams from Osterville Too, which were superb and just down the block. We did have a problem with the dishwasher, and a new one was provided and installed - we ended up doing a few more dishes than we'd hoped for on vacation, but if you go, you can rest assured your dishwasher is brand new! The road is quiet, and the house just begs you to sit and read or have a game of cribbage. The sofas are so comfy that I am starting to wonder if a need a new one at home. The beds are great too. I would recommend this place for good friends and families who want to spend time enjoying each other's company in an idyllic setting. We had an absolute ball and I would give this house and our hosts the very highest recommendation. We have rented homes all over the world, from a Chateau in France to a Villa in Italy to dream places on islands in the sun, and this house is by far the best appointed and maintained, and the hosts take great pride in making sure your stay is perfect. If you are thinking of trying to find the perfect place on the Cape, stop here...but don't book the week I want!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Outstanding and luxurious

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

We have rented on Cape Cod on and off for the last 25 years, always on a beach, and this house is by far the prettiest we have ever rented. The pictures don't do it justice. Large, open spaces, oversized windows, incredibly clean--and the view over to Sandy Neck and the lighthouse is breathtaking. It sits in the middle of Barnstable harbor so they is lots of fun activity--boats, fisherman, etc., and in the evenings the harbor is dead silent with nothing but the twinkling of harbor directional bouys.
We were within walking distance to the sweet village of Barnstable and the whale watch boat (one of the "must do" on our list, don't miss it!) and the hustle and bustle of downtown Hyannis was far enough that it seemed world's away, yet actually less than 15 minutes driving time.
The public beach is a short walk to the west and the beach the house is on is very private. There were just enough people around for light chit chat (pry information from the locals for the best chowder) and for our kids and dog to have other kids and a dog to play with. One thing we really appreciated was the information waiting for us in the house. There is a book that the owners have created with pages of favorite restaurants, things to do, coupons, menus, maps and what the owners call "self-guided driving tours" which we took with us every time we went exploring and saw lots of things we wouldn't have been able to find on our own. We really loved this house, and you can tell that all the renters before us loved it as much. Not only by the comments in their guest book, but how well maintained this house is. "Perfection" on many levels. Rent this house! You will be knocked out! (just don't take our week for next year!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: October 23, 2008   Date of arrival: October 23, 2008

If you miss out staying at this beautiful home, you will truly be bypassing a wonderful VRBO experience. My husband and I have stayed in numerous vacation rentals, in several different states. Some are very misrepresented on line and a great disappointment, especially when you are hoping for a great vacation and have to rely on the rental owner's descriptions and pictures. This home is a real gift to anyone who would like to be right on a beach, with every amenity you can think of...and more! We enjoyed glorious nights and spectacular sunrises. The furniture is exceptionally comfortable, the place is clean as a whistle. Barnstable is a beautiful town, with a variety of restaurants, both in the village and on the outskirts. We only regret that we don't own this pearl.

Owners response: We (the owners Ali & Tom) have been in the hospitality industry our entire lives and currently own an inn 3 miles from the house (Lamb and Lion Inn), so "clean" and "guest services" are the 2 things paramount in our lives. We feel that the renters of the house benefit from our background and not only get to enjoy a spotless and well-loved home, but wonderful amenities and "extras" like free self-guided driving tours to help you explore like a local, restaurant recommendations, discount coupons, etc. Thanks for your kind comments!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

Words and pictures cannot describe this property. They have every emenity you can ask for, the rooms are very large and it's TRUE, you can see the ocean from every room! Our favorite room was the kitchen. An incredible kitchen it is. This was our 3rd summer at "Harborview" and we booked for next year already! We'll be there this January to use the fireplaces as well....Can't wait!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review