reviews for: listing #211138vb - Nosara, Costa Rica rental

Four Winds Villas, New Home, Private Pool, Guiones Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Four Winds Villa in Rainy Season

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

What a fabulous place to stay this house was. I made plane reservations and then found out October is rainy season and lots of places would be closed. Undaunted, we planned further. Nosara, unlike the other beach communities we visited near by, does not have most of their restaurants and shops on the beach. The restaurants and shops are all over. You mostly just come upon them in the jungle. The homes and resorts are also around and about in the jungle. One out of five establishments, restaurants, shops etc., were closed. We could have cared less. I loved it. Loved the quiet, loved the monkeys, loved the coatis, loved the birds, loved the weather. It rained in the evenings or in the night. We were only caught once out in the rain. The house was one of the best we ever stayed at. It isn’t a large house but it is more than adequate for two or four people. There are two bedrooms and two full baths and very large closets. The kitchen is beautiful and well supplied with gadgets. The washer and dryer are in a separate space accessed separately from the outside, brilliant. The little pool was a sublime place to refresh after a walk on the beach. The landscaping is very well planned out and cared for. There are two identical houses on the property but they are not kissing close to each other. They share a driveway. We can’t wait to go back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always helpful to know that the effort put into making your vacation in The Four Winds Villas a satisfying and memorable one is apreciated.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Spectacular Villa - Amazing Location

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

This was our first trip to Nosara and hopefully not our last. We had never been to Costa Rica before, so we were completely unprepared for what to expect. Flying into Liberia, we hired a driver and drove the 2 hours to Nosara (the last hour on dirt roads). We arrived to find a spectacular villa in a town that is a cross between a surfing village, a new age yoga center and a traditional Tico community. Four Winds are 2 villas on the same property, but not terribly close together. Each villa has a private pool, a high end kitchen, wi-fi, high end cookware, and is beautifully designed and decorated. We marveled at how the owner possibly built and furnished such a house in this location, given its limited dirt road access. The owner was responsive, and his property manager, Rebeca, was terrific. She arranged transportation, rental cars, zip line tours, etc. for us and was available for any questions the entire week. Our entire family took surfing lessons, and my 8 year old daughter is ready to become an ex pat surfer girl in Nosara. The are a number of fantastic restaurants ranging from La Dolce Vita for Italian to La Luna for great food and beautiful sunsets. Given the fantastic kitchen, we also ate dinner at the house a number of nights and enjoyed dining outside, listening to the howler monkeys. The house had a path that made the beach an easy 5 minute walk (there are no beach front properties in Nosara - so this is about as close as you can get). We would make the walk each morning and stop by Coconut Harry's Surf Shop to pick up surf boards, beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. We also enjoyed zip lining, kayak tours, and my husband and son took a 4 hour ATV tour to a very cool waterfall where they were able to swim. Given Nosara's location, we recommend first time visitors hire a driver from the airport, or fly on one of the local airlines directly into Nosara. There are plenty of rental car companies in the town. Also, much is said about petty crime in Nosara. We did not experience any problems, but we did use the safe provided in the villa and used common sense. We cannot say enough good things about this house and Nosara, worst part was leaving and flying home to yet more snow!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Christine,
It's hard not to have a great time in Guiones/Nosara. We appreciate the thoughtful comments and the fact that you took time to let us know how your trip went. We look forward to having you as a regular!
Dave

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love Nosara and the Four Winds Villa - Thanks Dave & Elysha!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Ray and I and another couple absolutely loved our vacation in Nosara. The house is gorgeous and although a short hike to the beach or 5 minute drive, it was very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful, well taken care of property. The water issue in Nosara, independent of Dave (the owner), is quite an issue, we hope the town can get it figured out soon, for the 9 days we were there we were only able to shower 5x (the last 24+ hours we were there the water was completely out!) Try to go in the rainy season to avoid this issue. Would definitely stay at this house again - it felt like home, unlike most tico homes in Nosara. Thanks Elysha for making our arrival even more pleasant. Rebecca and the gardener were also helpful and great to work with. Thanks again Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip to Nosara

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Dave

Your house was absolutely bueatiful. All the photographs were acurate and the house was even better once we arrived. I could not have picked a better house to rent in Nosara. We had a great time and I would recommend this house to everyone.The location was perfect for us and we can't wait to go back. The pool was great and the monkeys came right to our balcony. We went surfing every day and the zip lining was just incredible. Rebeca was extremely helpful upon are arrival and departure. We had one small problem with the water pressure and I called Rebeca. It was fixed in no time and we had no other problems what so ever. If you are looking for a laid back place to go in Costa Rica, make it Nosara. The locals are friendly and helpful with anything you need. We even met a resident of Nosara who lived in our home town of Galveston, Texas at one time. His name is Rick Lambert and he showed us great hospitality. The food was great and I would like to recommend a few restaurants-Cafe Paris, Pancho's, and Doulce Vida ( hope I spelled it right ) for Great Italian food. Well, I could go on forever about our stay because we had such a good time. All I can say is, go to Nosara and stay at the Four Winds Villas. We will definately be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Ronnie, Glad to hear everything worked out well. We try to make trips often throughout the year to be sure everything is just right. Could probably do it in less trips if we didn't surf & have fun while we were there. Damn, I guess someone has to do it. Come back & see us again.
Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lvarela@sbcglobal.net

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

My husband I'm sure will write a review as well just got back from staying in your place 7 days it was a beautiful house WE LOVE IT!!! Have some friends heading to Costa Rice in Febuary and gave them the info on this house. We will be back. Hopefully next time we will rent both houses. Loved the monkeys as well... The only bad thing is somehow I ended up with a black scorpion in a sundress after I unpacked when I arrived home... Scared me to death, but other then that your place was perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you all enjoyed everything. Your husband was super excited about the trip! Suprised they did not snag the scorpion in security, I think that qualifies as contraband. hahaha. Thanks for the review.
Regards,
Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

just what we needed

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

The House has it all. Look no further, if you want a comfortable and safe location with all the amenities, this is the house. Care takers are friendly and helpful. Bring a cheap pair of flippies to take to the beach, chances are someone will grab them if there not hidden well enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Antonio! It was great meeting everyone and will look for you the next time we are in your area.
Regards, Dave

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Last winter, my wife and I, who live in DC, were looking for a warm escape that was affordable, peaceful, private, and not too far away. Not an easy combination to find for February. Well we found it in Nosara, Costa Rica at the Four Winds Villas! We left feet of snow and cold on the East Coast and arrived in tropical paradise.... Four Winds Villas, (2 Villas on the property) are tucked away in Playa Guionas, just steps away from a huge beautiful beach, a really cute town with restaurants/shops/bank, and a very short drive from many other amazing places. The Villas are brand new feeling with all the modern amenities. The open kitchen/living space with island, made it a pleasure to prepare food and relax with the sounds of nature around us. There is a nice outdoor deck with a small pool you can cool off in. What a beautiful way to start the day by sitting outside on the deck with some coffee and end by star gazing at night! The owner of the Villas was extremely friendly and prepared. I had about a 100 questions regarding travel and our stay, which were all answered. There was a packet with so many helpful tips once we booked and we even had a hot meal and cold beverages awaiting our arrival!!!! By the end of our week, we wanted to move to Nosara!!! We really appreciated the luxury living while still experiencing the 3rd world like atmosphere! We can't wait to go back, and can't imagine staying anywhere else....

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Imagine Staying anywhere else

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Last winter, my wife and I, who live in DC, were looking for a warm escape that was affordable, peaceful, private, and not too far away. Not an easy combination to find for February. Well we found it in Nosara, Costa Rica at the Four Winds Villas! We left feet of snow and cold on the East Coast and arrived in tropical paradise.... Four Winds Villas, (2 Villas on the property) are tucked away in Playa Guionas, just steps away from a huge beautiful beach, a really cute town with restaurants/shops/bank, and a very short drive from many other amazing places. The Villas are brand new feeling with all the modern amenities. The open kitchen/living space with island, made it a pleasure to prepare food and relax with the sounds of nature around us. There is a nice outdoor deck with a small pool you can cool off in. What a beautiful way to start the day by sitting outside on the deck with some coffee and end by star gazing at night! The owner of the Villas was extremely friendly and prepared. I had about a 100 questions regarding travel and our stay, which were all answered. There was a packet with so many helpful tips once we booked and we even had a hot meal and cold beverages awaiting our arrival!!!! By the end of our week, we wanted to move to Nosara!!! We really appreciated the luxury living while still experiencing the 3rd world like atmosphere! We can't wait to go back, and can't imagine staying anywhere else....

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

Hi Dave. Great vacation, hated to leave. Could have just hung out on the deck by the pool every day, but had to give that surfing thing a try - good fun, but harder than it looks! Rebecca was super for check-in / check-out. The house was awesome – all the comforts of home and then some! Your bed frame and my shin went a couple of rounds, but both survived…. As warned, the roads were a little challenging, but the destination was more than worth it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Hey Dave,
This was "A Life Changing Trip"
We had so much fun that we blanked on our 4PM meet up time with Rebecca on Thursday! I did get there but a half hour late and spoke with her. We tidied up and left keys where she requested. We got a little over zealous at the duty free store so there was plenty of left over alcohol that we left for whomever to enjoy. Grey Goose, Don Julio tequila and triple sec, a bottle of Red and White, Costa Rica Rum, a couple of beers and some mixers in the fridge. Wasn't sure what else to do with them.......

FYI-the second bathroom toilet runs, otherwise everything else was in great condition, and so perfect!!

So we're already trying to figure out how much buying some property or a place there would cost and how/when to make it happen!!!! So amazing!!

Thanks for helping make that happen Dave!

MUCHAS GRACIAS!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Hi Dave,
We finally made it back to SF a couple of days ago. I was sad to come back to rain and near freezing weather.
We had a wonderful time at the Four Winds Villa. It must be the nicest house in all of Nosara. Thanks again for making it possible. Attached is a picture I thought you might find amusing. Coconut Harry sends his regards!
Again, thanks for everything!

~Leslie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

Hi David,
Your houses are amazing! I wish I was still there. We all had such a good time. I don't think the girls went to the beach at all. We sat by the pool every day. I'm a big tennis fan so I was glad to still catch the Australian Open on the satellite TV. Even if I didn't understand a word the announcers were saying!

We will definitely return next year.

Thank you so much!

Kristi J

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Hi Dave,
I just wanted to thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautiful house. We had a wonderful stay in Costa Rica. It was a perfect adventure for Tammy, who had never been outside the United States.
The construction and detail of your house and grounds is by far the best I have seen in Costa Rica. Your grounds keeper really impressed me. He worked non stop from before daylight to after 2pm. ( He even came over to help me open a coconut which I had found in the road ditch and told us of the heath benifits of coconut milk.)
I was able to meet with Brandon and had a very rewarding conversation. Saying that you referred me to him, I think really helped. I'm already looking forward to the next time I can visit. If I can do anything for you, please let me know. Thanks Scott

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

Hi Dave,

I hope all is well with you. Rita and I are back on the big blue and have been running pretty heavily since we left Nosara. I do apologize for not sending this sooner.

We had the most incredible time down there. All of your recommendations were spot on; particularly with Esteban and Luigi. The villa was everything we wanted and then some. What a fantastic set up in such a cool little corner of the world!

We ended up spending a couple of days with Brandon and looking at some properties in the area.
So, the relax was amazing, the food was great, accommodations were top notch, and the best part... I just spent three days on the north shore of Tortola with my new 6'6". I'm hooked!! Headed back to the Dominican Republic now and looks like plenty of waves there too.

Anyway, from Rita and I and our friends,

Thank you.

Best regards,
Denis & Rita

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Dave, you have created a magical spot here. We are loving it! Waves have been great. House is designed so well. Just wanted to let you know that we are really stoked the L----- family turned us on to this. It is very special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We want to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

We spent one of the best holidays in Dave`s house in Nosara.
Perfect weather in the perfect area in the perfect house.
The service when we arrived and when we left was, very friendly and uncomplicatet.
The Emails with the owner and later the Welcome by Rebecca.
The property was very clean, everthing is new. The gardener is working hard for this inviroment. It is well- maintained and the pool boy comes twice a week.
The house is perfect for surfer or people who want to stay around Nosara.There are lots of very good restaurants and there is also a big Super where you can buy fruits. vegetable, local and imported foods.
We travelled arround a lot and for that the roads in Guanacaste are bad.
But this has nothing to do with this perfect planned property.
We can recommend it heartly and we want to come back.
But from Germany it needs long flights. But this house is worth it to travel so far.
Gabrielle

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Four Winds Villa in Rainy Season

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

What a fabulous place to stay this house was. I made plane reservations and then found out October is rainy season and lots of places would be closed. Undaunted, we planned further. Nosara, unlike the other beach communities we visited near by, does not have most of their restaurants and shops on the beach. The restaurants and shops are all over. You mostly just come upon them in the jungle. The homes and resorts are also around and about in the jungle. One out of five establishments, restaurants, shops etc., were closed. We could have cared less. I loved it. Loved the quiet, loved the monkeys, loved the coatis, loved the birds, loved the weather. It rained in the evenings or in the night. We were only caught once out in the rain. The house was one of the best we ever stayed at. It isn’t a large house but it is more than adequate for two or four people. There are two bedrooms and two full baths and very large closets. The kitchen is beautiful and well supplied with gadgets. The washer and dryer are in a separate space accessed separately from the outside, brilliant. The little pool was a sublime place to refresh after a walk on the beach. The landscaping is very well planned out and cared for. There are two identical houses on the property but they are not kissing close to each other. They share a driveway. We can’t wait to go back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review