reviews for: listing #21131 - Dominican Republic, Caribbean House rental

Cabarete Beach Front Paradise
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cabarete
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $380 - $600 /nt
    $1,950 - $4,200 /wk
    $6,000 - $13,000 /mth

sort by:

Great, relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Pros:

• Pool was excellent
• Excellent outdoor living space – dining area, outdoor bed, thatched roof “pavilion” was excellent to relax during the day. The entire villa was cleaned
• Proximity to the beach was perfect
• Ocean was pleasant to swim in but a little rough during our time of the year
• Staff – was pleasant and very knowledgeable
• Bedrooms were very comfortable and accommodating – The AC worked great in bedrooms
• Reasonable price and we believe we got a very good value for what we paid
• The resident animals were awesome. Pluto was an excellent guardian and companion for our stay
• Cabarete is a fun town with some cool beachfront bars and restaurants. Tons of opportunities to snorkel and kiteboard. Also some very good Dominican Republic cigars.

Cons
• Hot tub was inoperable and we were very disappointed
• No hot running water in the kitchen
• Excursions are hit or miss – (Villa owner obviously not responsible for this but felt it worth mentioning)
• Sometimes difficult to get a taxi to go into town because house phone could not dial out
• Better communication needed by the operators of property would have helped make our arrival and stay smoother (such as a PDF welcoming packet – getting airport transportation, exact location of the villa – we didn’t know the title of the villa is “Caribbean Crib” which would have helped)

Summary –
We enjoyed our stay here immensely. It was very relaxing, fun, comfortable and safe. We would recommend this place to close friends/relatives and will also consider coming back for another vacation

Owners response: Thank you for your review of the property. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to your friends. I look forward to having you back at a future date.

I am terribly sorry about the hot tub not working and hot water in the kitchen not working. Since the property is on the beach, the humid salty air is very hard on electrical elements and many other parts of the property. It takes a tremendous amount of maintaince to keep up with the elements of being on a beach front, it has been a huge learning experience for us over the years. No to mention getting more complicated repairs takes longer, because there are limited resources of individuals to get the work done correctly. We have had new wires run to the villa twice, at our own expense just for the phone, the service cutting out from time to time is apparently is just something that happens with the company there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had the most wonderful stay at the Caribbean Crib!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Caribbean Crib could not have been more perfect for our group! The pool and outdoor patio is amazing, the beach is pristine, and the staff is super friendly and helpful.

We had them cook our thanksgiving dinner (for 14 people), and it was the best meal we had in Dominican Republic - thank you Julie!

Cannot recommend this house enough!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Two years in a row of great memories!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

This is my second time staying at this Villa with 8 people total. The family taking care of the villa make you feel like you're part of their family, the beach is great and there's plenty of from for everyone. I highly recommend this place to anyone with a large group and looking to enjoy yourselves like you're on your own little island! We'll be back next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect in every way!!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We were a group of 8 30-somethings from around Miami/LA/Chicago in town for a bachelor party. Our goal was to have a combination of an adventure trip along with your typical beach party scene. We got all of that and more!

This place is so close to the beach that you can go from the pool to the ocean in 20 seconds (we timed it). It is secluded enough where you feel like you are on your island, and yet a large enough estate that you can have your own pool party and no one would be able to hear to complain. At night, you can see alll the stars and even the white clouds of the milky way at times.

The city itself is so amazing. The main strip has your typical beach bars/restaurants that turn into bars/clubs/lounges at night. The prices in Cabarete are very tourist friendly - just make sure the haggle a bit.

Back to the villa. Aside from the fact that it is a 7 bedroom (it's advertised as 6, but there's an extra separate bedroom attached to one of them) villa, with amazing views and all the amenities you could ask for, it is staffed by a WONDERFUL group of people (Elizabeth, Julie, Jose, and company). I've never had a fully staffed trip and was opposed to the idea of having strangers around us and in our place, but I am now a believer! First off, they really are some of the warmest people and immediately make you feel like family. Second, no matter how messy you leave the estate at night, it is tip top shape when you wake up (and we tested those limits!). Third, they will get you every thing you could possibly fathom when you need it all with a simple phone call. We came back from a waterfall tour and randomly felt like eating lobster as a snack. In 1 hour we were eating some of the biggest lobsters I've seen!).

Some of our group members are already planning a return trip with their families.

Finally, if you take a waterfall tour, make sure you go through iguanamama and INSIST on having Alejandro as your tour guide! He really does a great job of protecting everyone as well as immediately blending in as another member of the group.

Bottom line, if you are going to Cabarete, stay here. There simply is no reason to stay elsewhere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Unbelievable experience

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Let me say that my friends and I had a wonderful time during our stay at this villa. The property is very clean, comfortable, and very well maintained. There’s a lot of room for relaxing and hanging out. It was 5 of us that stayed on the property and we each had our own little slices of heaven that we enjoyed retreating to on the property. One liked the beach, one the recreation area, one the pool and the others the second floor balcony. The villa is close enough to town that you can hang out and take in some shopping. But it’s just far enough away that you feel that you’ve gotten away. The staff (Elizabeth, Jose, Julie) was absolutely WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. I’ve been back home for 3 days and I already miss them. They were very helpful, and they took great care of us. You guys are great!!!! Finally, if you stay at this villa, make sure you get Nida to cook….. Wow!!! THE FOOD that she prepared was AMAZING… By the way, make sure she cooks the chicken… OMG

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Perfect place to experience real Dominican beauty!

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Beautiful. Spacious. Comfortable. Safe. Clean.
Those are just a few adjectives that I would use to describe the Cabarete Beachfront Villa. This place has a special atmosphere that instantaneously brings serenity. Perfectly groomed property that is very well-maintained and set up. Each room is equipped with central air to ensure a peaceful nights rest.The Pacific is only 20 ft away from the back gate, and the pool and cabana are so refreshing and relaxing! The owners made me feel immediately at home.
Want to explore Cabarete? Take a walk down the beach and you are greeted with some of the best outdoor restaurants/bars in the town.
I will be recommending this place to my family and friends.This is a fabulous place to stay if you want to experience real Dominican culture and natural beauty freely.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Jarrett & Michele's Wedding

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Villa before and after my son and his fiance's wedding. Upon arrival we were greeted by 3 smiling ladies offering plates of chicken, salad, and rice and beans. Simple food but oh so delicious! The "dining room" is outside which indicated to me that the weather there must be good year-round since there was no table inside. Water in the pool was heated by the sun and a cool breeze made the heat more tolerable. A gorgeous beach is steps away. The property is kept meticulously clean by the staff who came every day. All of us raved about the coffee! Honestly, I've never had a better cup and I live in Seattle, the land of Starbucks! Maybe the ocean air helped the taste. When we needed to go places there were several fun and friendly drivers who were ready to take us. Both the owners and the staff went above and beyond to get us whatever we needed even if it was outside of what was included in the amenities. When my husband needed a doctor, Sharyn called one who made a house call and then later she drove us to see a chiropractor. We happened to run into one of the ladies who worked in the kitchen one day coming out of a pharmacy. We told her how much they charged us and she said it was too much. Then she went back inside with us, talked with the woman who helped us and got half our money back! We took an excursion one day, but we were pretty content just chillin at the Villa. Hanging by the pool, walking on the beach or jumping in the waves, eating yummy food lovingly prepared and served with a smile by Elizabeth, Nidia, and Julie, or simply enjoying a cuppa Joe. And what a great location for a wedding! I wouldn't hesitate to go back or to recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

a private paradise walkable to shops and clubs

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

We stayed at this private beachfront villa for just over a week in April 2012. We had been used to staying at all-inclusive resorts but wanted to try something more intimate this time. The guest house provided all of the same amenities we were used to, including a pool, games room, quality meals, and beach toys.

There are many places on the property to escape to for some downtime and we enjoyed having the beach to ourselves.

In the late afternoons we often walked along the beach to the nearby town where we enjoyed happy hour and browsed the shops. We picked up a painting by a local artist and it's now hanging in our home. Our friends often compliment it.

The host, Sharyn, was friendly and always willing to offer ideas about fun things to do, arrange a cab, and organize meals based on our wishes (the fresh seafood dinner was out of this world!).

We had a fabulous time immersing ourselves in a bit of local life while at the same time knowing we were always safe and in the good hands of our hosts. We would love to return again and plan to do some in the coming years.

Owners response: Thank you so much for a wonderful review, I hope that I see you again soon!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A place to really feel at home.

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Caribbean Crib was beyond beautiful and beyond inviting from the second we arrived. The staff become like a second family, so welcoming and hospitable at every moment. There is something for everyone from the porches, the priceless roof view, lounging by the pool, playing in the waves, or reading on a lounge chair. The location is perfect and the staff will help you find any excursion you could dream of just a short drive or even at times a short walk away. We went zip-lining, horse back riding, had massages, and everyone in my family from four years old, to twenty three years old, to 55 years old had an absolute blast. There is plenty of space yet the layout provides a great way to keep people together. You will leave feeling rejuvenated and wanting to come back every year; we already booked a week for next year. Truly amazing place.

Owners response: Thank you Sara, for such a wonderful review. Your family was a pleasure to get to know, and I can't wait to see you all again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dominican Dream

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We had a fabulous time in Caberete. The pool and and beach where fantastic and the party hut with the pool table was a great gathering place at night for the whole family to play games and converse. With Nidea as our cook we were all able to truly relax and enjoy without having to make meals. Thank you Mark and Stephanie for being such great hosts. Feeding 14 people took a lot of trips to the market and I certainly appreciated all the times you took us in and helped me out. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WOW

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My words could not explain how great our vacation was at this villa, it was simply heaven. The location was perfect, the beach front view was outstanding and the weather was beautiful. My husband and I brought along our 4 daughters and they had so much fun. We found Cabarete Bay to be calm and safe to play in, the girls had a blast swimming in the ocean and playing in the sand. We took the best nap ever in the hammock and spend our evenings on the balcony or by the pool. It was the perfect, relaxing vacation. We've traveled the world but this is a place where we totally see ourselves going back again and again. The service from Elizabeth and Nidia that we have received was by far more then we could expect, it was outstanding!! Sharyn the owner will answer all the questions that you have and she was available to us on the phone for last minute questions. Sharyn has been on the island a long time and seems to know everyone and all the business owners so she set us up with golfing and a snorkeling trip, which was a perfect way to spend the day. I recommend this place to all my friends and I recommend it to you too. It's the first time I was leaving a vacation with happy tears because I didn't want to forget anything and because it was simply magical. Enjoy your stay !!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Only Choice!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

This place is fantastic. The location is great for being able to see the countryside. A car is a necessity in my opinion. The rooms, are very clean and well kept, full private bathroom, air con, safe, very comforatble and clean beds. Also their are several sitting areas outside of the bedrooms so you don't feel claustraphobic. On the upper level is an indoor living room that is very large and gets wifi internet. The bedrooms are Hotel quality rooms. The staff are very considerate, and skilled. They have the perfect balance of never being intrusive, but always being there making sure you are enjoying yourself. They provide you with excellent local recommendations for restaurants, taxi's, etc. The food preparation was restaurant quality, and the cleanliness is of the highest standard.

The location: Close enough to the airport to be a quick 20 minutes, fairly cheap trip. Far enough away so that you don't feel like you are too close to the 'big city life'. The Crib House itself can be very difficult to find so when speaking to the Crib staff get directions and a phone number for the taxi driver just in case or use their Taxi drivers to pick you up. The Crib house itself is very nice and has a pool and private bar area. Best to rent a car from this location but walking into Cabarete is very enjoyable along the beach (about 30 minutes). This also felt like a very 'safe' area to visit. The house is very secure and feels very safe.

The Villa has 6 bedrooms and sleeps 14 or slightly more. My family only used 4 of the bedrooms. Since it was my first time and I only was able to stay a week as I wasn't sure if this place or the DR could live up to the reviews. By my last night I was fighting the urge to extend my visit and try to change my ticket. I will definately be back and rent this villa again, and bring some friends to help me fill the place up. I can't think of anywhere else in the DR to stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

fantastic weekend

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying here. Wonderful pool and beach. Well-equipped kitchen. Very close to Cabarete town. Great place to bring a group of friends or family. Had a nice area with hammocks and pool table, a bar area if you wanted... a lounge type area upstairs. Great views of the ocean. Lovely staff. Wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best vacation ever!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

I used this site for my families vacation and was very impressed. I contacted the owner before booking and immediately was impressed and felt at ease. Sharyn has a good vibe and was very helpful with all my questions (sorry Sharyn for bugging you so much). The vacation was everything and more. From the moment that we arrived at the villa it was like this tropical botanical paradise. We put our bags in the rooms and walked out the back gate and were totally blown away that we got this place at such a good deal. The ocean view was breathtaking. The service was exceptional. Went to a place down the beach thats called Le Bocca, about a thirty minute walk, got fresh lobster and a pinacoloda in the pineapple. Its at the mouth of the river where it meets the ocean, good price too! Highly recommend this villa. You just can't beat the price for what your getting, believe me I've looked.
Devin,Miami

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house on the Ocean!!

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

This was our second stay here at this villa in Cabarete. The home is beautiful and comfortable. My wife and I took our 9 yr old, 11 yr old and our 22 yr old and her friend. We had an excellent vacation in an excellent home. The pool was nice on the days we stayed around the house or came home early from an excursion or even late. The pool table was always fun! One of the things we liked best about the house was the location! 1.5 miles from Cabarete town center! Cabarete is beautiful beach to relax at, minutes to kite beach or enquentro where they surf. Rios San Juan is another close beautiful beach to snorkel! We just felt as though we had the opportunity to go to many beaches anytime, however we were feeling that day, driving wasn't an issue for us, the landscape is so pretty it makes driving pleasurable! All in all, the home is beautiful, comfortable, well furnished with anything you need! Also, Sharyn, the owner, is very easy to communicate with and prompt with all inquiries, and she is a vast resource of information on the area. If you were to have a problem, I know she would do everything to solve it immediately! The house has cable TV, a huge selection of DVD's and wifi internet so you can always watch online or check mail etc. That is if you have any energy left after the sun goes down. Again, extremely happy with the whole Cabarete, caribbean Chillin experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

#1 Spot on the North Coast

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

I love this villa, my first trip to this villa was in 2006. During my years vacationing here, I have seen the owner make lots of changes, always finding ways to improve it, even when I thought it couldn't get any better, I would come back for a visit and find some delightful change. I always feel safe here and it has a warm at home feeling to the place, it makes you want to come back, before you even leave.

The Villa itself is very large with lots of area to lounge and relax, it is on the beach, so we walk every day when we are there. The sea air really makes you feel vibrant. I always seem to get more exersice here then at home. I recommend hiring the chef, she is amazing and it is a real luxury to wake up every morning to fresh coffee waiting for you! Elizabeth who cleans and is always around is a real sweetheart too. The town of Cabarete is a lot of fun, plenty of night life, and a couple of great places to do some dancing. The swimming pool at this Villa is sitting in the perfect spot to get sun all day, so it always feels like just the right combination of cool water and warm sun! I could spend my whole vacation in this pool! I just love this Villa over all! So far we have rented this Villa several times and plan to go again this year 2012. I have never felt more welcome anywhere on vacation then I do at this Villa!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation House!

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

This is one of my favorite places to stay in the Caribbean. The house is beautiful, right on the ocean and close to the town of Cabarete. The staff is welcoming, the property is clean and the grounds are kept in the traditional Caribbean feel/theme. I have been 3 times so far to this property and plan on coming back at least 2 times this year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Favorite Vacation Spot to go!!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Villa we knew we had made a good choice. The Villa is in a beautiful, private, secured location. The grounds of the Villa are beautifully landscaped and a large patio on the second floor overlooks the pool. The head gal is Elizabeth, and she has a very sunny and happy attitude, and takes care of the housekeeping and laundry. Nidia the chef is wonderful and worth paying extra to have her prepare your meals daily. If you wish to eat out while on your vacation, there are more restaurants than you could possibly visit in a single trip in this area. We have been to the DR many times and this Villa is indeed our favorite spot. We love the spaciousness of the house which has 6 bedrooms with in-suite baths. The house provides as much privacy as anyone wants or needs. This beautiful, spacious villa and its fabulous pool was beyond my expectations in every way. I love laying by the pool or in the pool for that matter.

We also enjoyed exploring the island with Willie. This is Elizabeth's son, and he is for hire as a tour guide and will drive you around to different beaches or any where really that you may want to go for a small fee and gas money, which is a wonderful option to take advantage of while staying at this Villa. We love to go to the fresh food markets and explore the small beach towns up and down the coast. When you are in the DR, you definitely feel like you are in a foreign country, and not merely on an island or an all-inclusive resort. We always felt safe at the resort, and were never in a situation where we felt safety was a concern.

Bring your Spanish-English phrase book, as the staff are eager to help you learn Spanish, and be prepared to feel pampered and special. This Villa provided us with a comfortable, relaxing and worry-free vacation. Whether you want to relax at the Villa or explore the DR there is something to do for everyone. The available activities for adults and children are too numerous to list. You will find great weather, friendly people, an attentive staff, and an amazing house and setting at this Villa. Thank you Sharyn for renting us your wonderful home in the tropics!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My first visit to the DR, and this lovely property, was in 2006 and I have since returned three times, the most recent visit being last month.

I have stayed at this villa each time I've traveled there and it has become a definite home away from home. The property has not only been maintained but the owner, Sharyn, has done a wonderful job of remodeling and updating the house as well as adding more amenities, which only enhance the already oasis type setting. The rooms are very comfortable, secure, and private and I love the hot tub with the slide into the pool!

The staff is well attentive without being overbearing and I think the best part about this stay is they went out of their way to make sure my trip was just that, my trip! If I wanted to stay at the villa and chill, they made sure I had music if I wanted, they have wireless internet throughout the property and seriously, it was steps to my own private beach (well theirs anyway). I was also able to arrange the recreational activities (kite-boarding) I was interested in and all I had to do was show up at the car for private transport. Cant beat that!

Speaking of private transport, I think the most intimidating part of the trip is the arrival at the airport, in another country, where I do not speak the language. It was no bother, the owners picked me up and dropped me off each time, which made clearing customs and getting through the local taxi driver circus a breeze. Oh, and the best part, they had an ice cold Presidente (wonderful Dominican beer) waiting from me!

I love this place and look forward to returning time and again! Thank you, Sharyn for giving me so much to look forward too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retreat in Cabbareta

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

I've stayed at this resort on a few occasions and have thoroughly enjoyed the cozy setting presented by a friendly, entertaining, and professional staff. The views are beautiful and the local shopping and dining are fun. I'm looking forward to visiting again and basking in the sun by the private and carefree pool. Highly recommend it for those who enjoy peace and serenity.

Sheila

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Headed back a third time.

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last 5 years. We are headed back a third time. The villa is incredibly comfortable and the staff are so helpful. The pool, yard, hot tub, game room, and outside kitchen are all well maintained, clean, and spacious. You are able to choose the type of vacation you want, from family, romantic, to wild. You choose and the staff will make it happen for you. We love it.
Sincerely,
Dr. Jason and Maria K.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vaction EVER!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Sharyn and her staff rocked it. I have been traveling all over the world and stayed at many many places from all-inclusive mega resorts to sleeping on the sand on a small deserted island (Brazil, Japan, Belize, Mexico, Hawaii, you name it). I have seen alot and I can honestly tell all of you that I have never gone to a place that incorporated everything that I like to do, until I found this place.This is my fourth time at this villa, and now my family refuses to go anywhere else. I spent a few days and sat around the newly refurbished pool and private beach to just soak up the sun and relax. Then went into town (which by the way is only a few minutes away) and had a great meal and listened to some nice music. Then Elizabeth set up a few days of snorkeling for us, which made my trip that much better. The meals that the cook (Nedia, not sure on the spelling) were off the charts. OMG I would go back just for the food. Remember this is a third world country, nothing bad and totally safe, but its just something to keep in mind. Came home with a tan, some great art work, relaxed. Called Sharyn the next week to book the villa for three weeks this time in 2012.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What was not to like

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Where do I begin to tell you about our family vacation--first the pickup service--great--the staff-awesome,, walks on the beach great,views breath taking, things to do endless--pool, surroundings, just everything was more than we hoped for. Stayed five weeks--hated to leave--hired the cook--loved waking up to the smell of fresh brewed Dominican Coffee--took ten pounds home--adventure days planned by the owner Sharyn never failed to amaze and please. Thank you, Thank Yoy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A really great decision!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

We really couldnt have made a better choice in choosing the Carribean Crib for our Dominican Republic vacation! We were so delighted to stay right on the beach in such a beautiful setting. The villa was immaculate and the staff was so attentative. We were apprehensive to travel with our young son to a foreign country - but no worries at all! The villa provided us with all the ammenities of home..and then some! The location of the villa was amazing - just far enough out of town, a short cab ride or walk (if you choose). The onsite pool was large and cleaned everyday. We were able to sip cocktails at night right at our very own bar, relax by the fine carribean moon and hear the crashing of the ocean waves. I would definately vacation here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at the CC in the DR. Our stay couldn't have been more perfect.

The staff was very helpful and prepared wonderful meals. The villa itself is very private but not far from the town where we could go enjoy a stroll of beachfront restaurants and shops.

We were directed to a gorgeous beach that not many tourists know about. It was like a scene from a movie with the water so warm and blue and the sand so white. It truly felt like paradise.

A great place to relax and get away from it all. I'd love to come back again. Thanks Sharyn and Mark for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome...

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

Hi Sharyn!

Awesome awesome awesome!

Second time even better than the first! Thanks to you and Mark, Elizabeth, and the rest of the crew for making my trip a great one!

A cannot wait to get back - a real slice of paradise!

Keep in touch and stay well!

Jay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2006

We've just returned from our honeymoon in the DR. We are not into the all-inclusive scene as we like to see the countries we visit, not just the resorts in them. So, when I came upon the CC on the internet, I was intrigued. One call to the manager, Harold, and I was hooked. When we arrived (about 8 hours late due to airline issues), Harold greeted us with a bottle of wine, great conversation, cold beer, and the week was off to a great start. Harold and the rest of the staff made us feel warm, welcomed, special, and above all...accepted as a same-sex couple. They were there when we needed them, and gave us privacy when we wanted it. The food and drinks were first class as well...as both Harold and Luiz, the chef, are fabulous cooks. The house is cozy, comfortable and clean and for the week, we felt it was all our own. You can certainly tell that a lot of love was put into this place, and it's cared for with pride. The location is great, albeit just a little difficult to find for the first time. It's far enough away from town to get the peaceful, relaxed atmosphere but close enough for a walk down the beach or a quick drive for a party in town. It was great waking up every morning to the wonderful view from the second story balcony room. We highly recommend a stay here! Regards, Judi & Missy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation in Years!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2007

Our family of five just returned home to the states after 5 wonderful days at the Caribbean Crib in Cabarete, DR. The grounds are beautiful, the atmosphere relaxing, and the staff incredibly hospitable. Despite a couple of technical difficulties (TV in our room not working, safe took some encouragement to open)both fixed immedately, we enjoyed our stay there as much as anywhere we have ever been. The Caribbean Crib is not marketed to families, yet the staff went out of their way to make things comfortable and fun for our two teenage girls and 7 y.o. son. We enjoyed hours in the pool, on the beach, and hanging out with other guests. In addition, the food was fabulous -- our lovely Dutch cook thoroughly spoiled us! Any need or request we had was immediately attended to. We spent one night in the Embassy Suites in Juan Dolio the night before we flew home, and it was a huge disappointment! Luxurious surroundings do not make up for unfriendly, unhelpful staff and lousy food! It was the best family vacation we have had in about 7 years at the Guesthouse in Cabarete-- Thank you Sharyn, Mark, Max, Gina, and your wonderful Dominican staff!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm, lovely trip

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2007

Sharyn, the owner, is an expat who loves what she's doing - throwing a nice cozy party each day for the guests who arrive.

I don't drink, and even so, really enjoyed the friendliness which abounded. The grounds are lovely. The service is warm. The food was terribly TASTY! My new home away from home in the DR.

-Brad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our Vacation

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Sharyn,

Just got home from DR.

I'm writing to inform you that we had such a great time! Your property is everything we hoped it would be, the staff made us feel incredibly welcome!
The food was fantastic every meal was Delicious! The pool and grounds were very nice and we felt perfectly at home. What a treat!
Last but NOT LEAST, Wilys IS THE MAN! From the first conversation with him, to missing him when we left, he is a fantastic host and conversationalist who would do anything in his power to make our trip a fantastic one. A true asset to your business! I really feel he is concerned for everyone's happiness and he goes the extra for the guests.
I don't think I could ever re-visit the D.R. again without seeing my new friend Wilys!
Thank you all for a wonderful experience, hope to see you soon!!!!
Sincerely, Bill and Michelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Beach Property

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

Just wanted to email you and let you know what a wonderful, relaxed time we had. Elizabeth earned the title #1 on day 1. Willie was great also. We found exactly what we were looking for, which was to relax. The customer service was just the best. Nidia....awesome. Everyone made us feel right at home, n whatever we needed or asked for was taken cared of. The girls were very nice and a pleasure.
Just wanted you to know how delighted we are and how we hated leaving. Please let Elizabeth know on our behalf that we made it back safely n we miss all of them. ;-) Can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review