reviews for: listing #21296 - Cape May, New Jersey Townhome rental

Spacious Townhouse with Sunset Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cape Meadows
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $500 /nt
    $450 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Our annual vacation home

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

We have stayed at this beautiful home for two or three years now, renting a week at a time. We bring our bikes, our cameras and our appetites. We have never had a complaint with the property, and have never had anything go wrong. While not normally a bird-watcher, you can't miss seeing scores of them out the big windows, or from out on the deck. We just love being able to go to the restaurants in town, or to the grocery store to make meals at home. Having a washer and dryer in the unit is a real benefit. Being able to use the owner's beach badges is another real perk for us. One year, we went to the Physick Estate for a luncheon concert of classical music, and walked there, since it is a just a block and a half to the east. Having stayed at B&Bs and motels in the past, I find this home a much better value, and reccommend it with out hesitation. My wife and I have enjoyed statying here and have taken my Mother along. This year, I might even tell the rest of my family that we are going. The owner is very approachable and responsive and has every reason to be proud of his home. We love to visit here, and hope to be able to come back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect house for a Cape May getaway

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We celebrated a 60th birthday with our children and spouses. The accommodations were perfect with 3 large queen bedrooms! We enjoyed Cape May birding, saw the red knots with horseshoe crabs, and really enjoyed the bonus birding off the deck. Lovely home, thanks for sharing it. Anne & Don

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yet another few weeks in birding paradise

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Yet another few weeks in birding paradise. I saw lots from the deck -especially enjoyed the oyster crackers and of course the egrets. Thanks for opening your home to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

The condo is an ideal location in Cape May, within easy walking distance to downtown and all its shops and restaurants as well as to the Lobster House fish market. The condo is spacious and well-equipped for an extended stay, including a washing machine and dryer, which is a real plus. The neighbors are friendly and quiet. The back deck overlooking the extensive marsh is great for those who enjoy viewing wildlife and birds. We saw numerous egrets, migrating song birds, raptors, shorebirds and a fox and coyote. I highly recommend the condo for anyone wishing to vacation in Cape May.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needs Updating?

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

We were here for one week. The TV's are outdated, flat sreen TV's are not expensive. The cable was so basic couldn't even get cable news networks The master bedroom and closet was musty! I developed a cough and respiratory symptoms after a few days. I did not realize how bad it was till I got home and all my clothes stunk! This is not healthy!. The carpet in closet should be removed! Kitchen needs updating and place needs painting. Would not stay here again due to these issues.

Owners response: We take very seriously reviews of the unit and do our outmost to make sure our tenants have a great experience. To that end, we e-mail a survey to every one of our tenants and promptly repair anything that is broken and address as possible any deficiencies noted. In addition, the vast majority of the reviews, and we receive over 30 a year, are very positive or excellent.

Regarding the statements noted, all our TVs are in excellent working order and are clear. In the main season we offer over 100 cable channels, but this is dropped to about 50 channels during the off-season. As of May 2013, we have also added a flat screen TV to our living room.

Our appliances (fridge, microwave, dishwasher) are all less than 3 years old, and in excellent working order. The cabinets are clean and fully functional.

The unit’s paint is in very good condition. In addition, after every tenant the unit is cleaned by our cleaning crew to make sure the unit is ready for the next tenant. This service is at no cost to tenants.

We reviewed the master bedroom and found the room clean without any smells. In fact, last year we replaced the carpet in the living room and the master bedroom with hard wood flooring. The only room with remaining carpeting in the unit is the master closet as this carpet remains in excellent condition as it is rarely used. That closet does not have any ventilation except when the door is open, and we will correct this deficiency.

Again, we take seriously the concerns of our tenants, and the vast majority of reviews are very positive. Moreover, in the last 6 years since we started sending out surveys, no other tenant had complained about the TVs, the cable offerings, smells or mustiness in the master bedroom or closet, or found the kitchen to be less than sufficient. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Gem of a place

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

Clean, modern and spacious. We came to Cape May for spring birding. Within minutes of arriving we were out on the deck welcomed by Song Sparrow, Catbird, Snowy and Great Egrets, Greater Yellowlegs, etc. A good start to our birding trip. Centrally located on Cape May. Quiet neighborhood. Easy access and away from the hustle and bustle of the beach area. Giant kitchen, plenty of hot water for simultaneous showers . . . just a great place overall.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Close to Coast Guard Base

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

If your son or daughter is graduating from the Coast Guard, this property is about 10 minutes from the base. It is conveniently located to everything else, highways, docks, shopping, fishing, ferry to Delaware, etc. We had no trouble driving to Wildwood to play on the boardwalk, Six Flags Amusement Park, etc. This property is exactly as described and then some. Beautiful views, lots of birds and the owners are terrific. We highly recommend this property to anyone considering a visit to Cape May.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Never thought we'd see a Bald Eagle!

Review submitted: December 16, 2008   Date of arrival: December 4, 2008

We had a wonderful pre-Christmas with my parents down in Cape May for a few days. This property is fantastic! Spacious, clean, quiet - what more could you ask for. While looking at a "pond' full of ducks on the morning we were leaving a Bald Eagle soared overhead. What a sight to see! Thanks for a wonderful getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

son's wedding

Review submitted: November 15, 2008   Date of arrival: November 6, 2008

hi alex,
wedding at congress hall was perfect. so was our stay at your cape may condo. location excellent, near everything, the practice dinner at the lobster house only 1/2 mi away. we had a total of ten spend the night on sat and the 3 1/2 baths really came in handy. condo was clean and organized and everything we needed was there. we loved the view from the back deck.
thanks again,
mick h

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Grandaughter took her first steps

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 19, 2007

Hi Alex

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay in your house in Cape May, it was very comfortable and we had a super time only wished we could have stayed longer. Cape May is really beautiful and the sunsets were lovely. Our Grandaughter took her first steps in your house so we will never forget our holiday. Thank you for getting the air con unit fixed so promptly.

We appreciate your trust regarding the deposit and trust you found everything ok.

Regards

Mary and John

PS Hopefully one day we will be able to return

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 20, 2008

Alex

I just wanted to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your townhouse in Cape May. Everything was perfect - the accomodations, furnishings, pool, proximity, etc. We all had a great time, and are looking forward to returning next year. I will be in touch about the possibility of reserving your place again in the near future. Thanks for all your help along the way...

Alice & Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

We recently stayed at this property and had a great time. There are plenty of sleeping accomodations and everything was in good working order. Cape May is a beautiful town full of history. We sat around the fireplace with our friends and had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review