reviews for: listing #21361 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Villa rental

Casa Vela - Luxury Modern Villa Great Location.Free Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mayamar
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Olga Solodka

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Thank you David! For making our vacations so nice and comfortable!
I highly recommend the house "Casa Vela" that we stayed with my family for 7 days during vacations in Playa del Carmen.We stayed there from 13 to 20 of april of 2014. We had a really great time. There you can be making a grill and having fun in the swimming pool which is in the garden just in front of the balcony of the house. House is completely equipped with furniture, sheets for beds, towels and everything necessary for cooking (plates, pots, pans) has air conditioner system, Tv, internet, (included) even you get a local cellphone so you can be able to contact your manager if its needed. But I am sure that you will not need anything because these amazing house its like a "HOTEL" (has also housekeeping) with everything for your comfortable stay. We had an amazing time there. You don't need to hesitate to choose the house "Casa Vela" if you are coming to Playa del Carmen. Thank you David! AAAAA... I forget to say about the most important! If you like a night life or shopping or restaurants you can get to the best place in Playa del Carmen named 5th avenue ONLY 10 min walking. To the beach you also walk 10 min. Have fun!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family holiday

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

My family consisting of 6 adults and a baby just spent 10 nights at Casa Villa. The place was absolutely lovely! There was plenty of space, very clean and nicely decorated. It was very quiet and safe. The pool was kept pristine. It was perfect size and we spent a lot of time in it. Would definitely recommend this rental!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Playacar Villa

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

First time to Playa del Carmen for 3 couples who enjoyed this wonderful villa for 3 week. If you are going to the Cancun area Playacar is the place to stay! Close to beaches and 5th Avenue. Lots to see and do. Walking distance to everything you'll need. And...that pool just outside the door was great. Larger than anywhere we've stayed before, and at 60' suitable for swimming lengths. The house was exactly as illustrated, clean and well maintained. Response from owner and property managers concerning all questions and concerns was great. Recommend the music at Fah Friday night and check out Sundays at Wah Wah's...the entertainment area is within easy walking distance. We snorkel and the best we've seen is Puerto Morelos - a cheap bus ride away! Enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Playacar Villa

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We were a party of 5 with 2 teenagers spending 16 Days in Casa Vela during Christmas 2013. We really enjoyed the stay. The house is perfect, all Equipment are in place, really nice pool direct at our backyard. We also found David and Louise very helpful both before and during our stay. We got all information in e-mails, all payments were smooth and we felt very welcomed. We also played 6 rounds at the golf course - really nice. We also found some very nice beaches around Playa. And the restuarants were also excellent. To sum it up - We can really recommend David and Louise house called Casa Vela. Something negative? Yes - maybe to many tourists and salesmen at the 5th avenue.....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mayamar C5

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Tuvimos una semana muy agradable con la Familia que nos visito y se hospedo en esta casa muy linda, agradecemos a los duenos por tan bien atendida y a la administradora Ulla por tan buen trato y servicio, Gracias!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay in Playa del Carmen !

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We just came back from 1 week in Playa del Carmen, in Casa Vela, and we really enjoyed our stay.
The house is well ubicated, and there is everything you need in it.
This is a very calm condo, really perfect for relaxing vacations.
The only thing to take into account is that, even if not so far, you can't do everything walking with very young children. The good thing is that taxis are cheap, and there are a lot !
We definitely recommend this house !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic vacation!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

I would like to thank David and Ulla for making our first family vacation such a success. It started with the booking. Me and David exchanged many emails, he always answered my questions asap and made my decision process so much easier. On the airport pick up, what to see, where to go, what not to miss, how to pay....well once again, I had a feeling I was taking care from the moment we booked the house, long before we actually arrived to Mexico. The villa was very, very nice, comfortable, clean, nicely equipped and decorated. I looked at many other houses and villas and you cant beat this one for the price. Also, everything we needed was there, not for a moment we asked ourselves....hmmmm...I wish there was this or that. We enjoyed the pool absolutely loved it, used it after every day spent at the beach. We also grilled and just enjoyed nice evening with a bottle of wine. Playa Del Carmen is a beautiful town with the best ocean and beach I have experienced on all my travels. It is very conveniently located so we could enjoy the beach, the Mayan ruins, amusement park and some shopping. Well, I have to say, we had a great time and certainly hope to be back.Thank you, thank you, thank you!
David, Mayoura, Amanda, Sy, Maya and Mike

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Casa Vela

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

My husband and I, and our two close friends, spent a week at this beautiful villa. It is in a beautiful neighborhood, short walk to the beach, restaurants, 5th Ave, etc. The large, beautiful pool is right out your door. The villa is spacious, clean, and has everything you could ever possibly need. Dave and Louise, and their property manager Ulla, are so very friendly and helpful. Wonderful week spent in Playa Del Carmen and at Casa Vela. Would definitely stay again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great accommodation

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Our stay in Casa Vela was perfect. Everything was great: convenient location (very close to the city centre and the beach, 10 min walk maximum), the house is very comfortable (even for 8 people), amazing swimming pool (we did not expect such a big swimming pool), very clean and calm, etc. There were everything we needed: washing machine, barbecue, etc. If I had to choose again, I would definitely go back to Casa Vela!

In addition, Playa del Carmen is a great location to visit the riviera maya. We used only the buses and the collectivos, because we had no car, and everything went perfectly fine!

Thanks again to the owners, who were very helpful in getting prepared to come to Mexico.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful and good economic choice of living!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

We loved this house, that we rented for a two-week stay in february 2012. Everything on the pictures and the descpition was correct, and many times even better. I´d would like to mention a some of the good things that we hadn´t realised before the leave:

* There is fresh water deliviery to the door every other day. That was extremely nice, since then we didn´t have to carry home bottles of fresh water daily. Fantastic service, that didn´t cost anything extra

* Wireless internet connection, which we didn´t really know before the booking, but that was really nice to have during the stay, it made very much things easier for get information about different places to visit etc.

* We were three families ( one grandmother with her to grown up daugthers with grandchildren) It worked so well staying in one room per family, and every family had there own bathroom.

* Washing machine was wonderful, expecially when you travel with children

* The couple that owns the house is very helpful and helped us in every way both before and during our stay.

* The landlady the arrange the keys, fixed everything for us when something didn´t work, she made someone come to help and arranged cab to and from the airport for example.

* we also loved the pool, which is just 1 meter from the small terrace. Totally perfect when you come home from shopping or just from the walk from the beach. :)

All in all, we truly recommend this place to stay in, both in an economic way,but also because of the perfect and nice arrangements.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Happy Yuls

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Great place to stay, so confy and very close to everything. You can walk to the beach, to the 5th Ave. and to all the markets. Great service, very secure, and you have all the services and needs to be comfortable and spend some awesome vacations.
You won`t regret staying here! :D

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

HERMOSA !!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Una experiencia increible... la casa es lindisima, super limpia todo impecable , còmodo y funcional, equipada a la perfeccion, en verdad muy comoda, la ubicacion esta perfecta, y la playa que esta cerca de la casa esta hermosisima. Todo esta cerca y tanto los dueños como la manager extremandamente atentos a lo que fuera que tuvieramos duda, super recomendable desde para parejas, amigos o familias ... en verdad quedamos maravillados y esperamos volver pronto!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect stay!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

The house was very clean and organized, short walk from everything we needed. Ulla, the property manager, came to greet us and chatted with us for a few minutes, she was very helpful and nice answering all our questions! Also the pool is awesome, right outside the living room, very clean and even though it's a shared pool we had it all to ourselves the whole time we were there. Would definitely go back for our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacances inoubliables!

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Vacances inoubliables!

Nous sommes retournées à la Casa Vela en mars dernier et encore une fois, nous avons adoré l’endroit. Nous avons retrouvé la même qualité d’hébergement, la même facilité de transiger avec David et Louise et le même accueil chaleureux et attentionné de la part d’Ulla. L’endroit est vraiment idéal pour se reposer, prendre du soleil, se baigner et faire de longues promenades sur la plage.

La villa est propre, confortable et bien équipée, ce qui fait en sorte qu’on a le goût d’y revenir. En ce qui nous concerne, aucune formule tout inclus en hôtel ne peut rivaliser avec cet endroit.

Nous avons eu de merveilleuses vacances et nous espérons grandement avoir la possibilité de répéter l’expérience l’an prochain.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location, Clean accommodations, and accommodating owner!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Playa. The villa is in a very safe area and has a super location. David and Louise are very accommodating owners who want to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. The management team is very responsive to any concerns. You are close to the beach and Quinta avenue, yet the area is quite quiet. The pool and common area is well maintained. We hope to have the opportunity to visit again. Thank you David and Louise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great time!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

My family had a wonderful time staying at Casa Vela!! Thanks David and Louise!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Endroit merveilleux pour des vacances reposantes

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

Nous avons passé un très agréable séjour à la Villa 'Casa Vela'. La description sur VRBO correspond tout à fait à ce que nous avons trouvé sur place. La villa est spacieuse, propre, confortable et située dans un cadre agréable. Les deux terrasses offrent une belle vue sur la piscine et permettent de relaxer dans le calme. La piscine est merveilleuse, autant pour se baigner (sa dimension permet faire des longueurs) que pour se prélasser en prenant l'apéro.

La villa est bien située, à quelques minutes de marche de la plage et de la 5ème Avenue. Les personnes qui aiment marcher seront comblées, car la plage est vraiment très longue et se prête bien à la promenade. Playa del Carmen est une petite ville, animée et fort agréable. On y trouve de bons restaurants, beaucoup de boutiques et des supermarchés où il est possible de trouver les aliments nécessaires pour se faire la cuisine.

C'est génial de faire affaire avec David et Louise. Les réponses sont rapides et précises et les choses se règlent en toute simplicité. Il en va de même avec Ulla, la personne qui les représente sur place.

Il s'agissait de notre première visite à la Villa 'Casa Vela' mais, s'il n'en tient qu'à nous, ce ne sera pas la dernière. Nous avons passé une merveilleuse semaine à cet endroit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

Our time at Casa Vela was just what we were dreaming before going. The house is spacious and comfortable. The property manager extremely easy to work with and helpful. The location is perfect and the pool was fantastic. I will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Casa Vela - 4/2-4/10 2011

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Casa Vela is a fantastic rental with a great location and perfectly appointed. The owners were extremely easy to work with and the property manager (not a big impersonal company but an excellent person who really cares about your experience) was helpful, considerate, and responsive.

I would strongly recommend this property to anyone traveling to the PDC area with friends or a family. Playacar Phase 2 is a safe and comfortable location and this villa is located a very easy walking distance to the beach, Avenida Cinco, and a couple excellent restaurants within Playacar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Birder's Paradise

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

We wish to highly recommend Casa Vela as a vacation home for anyone looking for a relaxing trip. There are so many options for activities and adventure in the area or just wander along 5th Ave or go to the beach. We really enjoyed the early morning hours on the patio just watching the sun rise and look at the many birds that frequented the trees nearby. If you have any concerns about the condo itself or advice about services available in Playa del Carmen there is a manager who stays in touch with you and can help you deal with those concerns. We have traveled to this area for many years but were very impressed with all the attention and help we received. Ray & Geri

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mexico Dream

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

David and Louise thank you for the use of your lovely villa . We could not have been happier with the accommodations and staff. Your manager Ulla was always available to meet any needs and your maid Marta was so sweet and did a great job each week in cleaning. Even though we were there for 5 weeks it was not long enough. Here in the states we hear about all the problems in Mexico and I am here to tell you that we felt safer in Playa than we do here in Kansas City. We met so many lovely people in the complex and in town. One special young man, a waiter at a local restaurant rented us his bike. Ulla got his name and number if any one needs a bike. The beauty of the weather, flowers, pool and villa are to dream for. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mexico Dream

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

David and Louise thank you for the use of your lovely villa . We could not have been happier with the accommodations and staff. Your manager Ulla was always available to meet any needs and your maid Marta was so sweet and did a great job each week in cleaning. Even though we were there for 5 weeks it was not long enough. Here in the states we hear about all the problems in Mexico and I am here to tell you that we felt safer in Playa than we do here in Kansas City. We met so many lovely people in the complex and in town. One special young man, a waiter at a local restaurant rented us his bike. Ulla got his name and number if any one needs a bike. The beauty of the weather, flowers, pool and villa are to dream for. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Convenient location, spacious, well equipped.

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

The listing description is very accurate. The property is close to shopping and a beach. The shared pool was never crowded and was a few feet off the patio. Our family had a very enjoyable stay and we would love to stay here again when we're in the area. The only advice I would give would be to bring eyeshades if you like a dark sleeping environment (the curtains let in a lot of light). Slippers with soft soles would be nice if your feet are used to softer surfaces in your bedroom (the floor is nice tile - bright, clean but not so soft on feet). The surrounding area felt very safe to walk during both the day and evening.

The rental process and owner contact was easy and pleasant. I would highly recommend this property and these owners..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent Property!

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Excellent property in a perfect location. The town was very easily accessible when we wanted to leave the tranquility of the house. Very relaxing stay. House well equipped, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Pool lovely also and a good size to swim in. Maintance team very helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent property!

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Excellent property in a perfect location. The town was very easily accessible when we wanted to leave the tranquility of the house. Very relaxing stay. House well equipped, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Pool lovely also and a good size to swim in. Maintance team very helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would like to thank David and Louise

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We would like to thank David and Louise for letting us use their wonderful condo. Very clean with plenty of room for at least six adults. Mexico Escape did a great job of cleaning and answering any ??? we had. The area is very private yet a five minute walk to town. The poolis very nice and most of the neighbors are long term renters or owners, and very friendly. This made for a nice vacation. Would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We would like to thank David and Louise for letting us use their wonderful condo. Very clean with plenty of room for at least six adults. Mexico Escape did a great job of cleaning and answering any ??? we had. The area is very private yet a five minute walk to town. The poolis very nice and most of the neighbors are long term renters or owners, and very friendly. This made for a nice vacation. Would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

The house was great, and the location perfect for accessing 5th Ave and the beach, but far enough to be quiet. The Playacar loop road was also a perfect 8K run!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

-

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

I enjoyed very much, becaus it has all the fgacilities everybody needs.
It is very clean, but I want to report in the bed I slept, has some spots not very nice, even I noticed it was clean, wasn?t very nice ti see them.
My Qualification is 99.8 % very good and nice being there

Owners response: Thank you for letting us know and our management agents replaced the bedding straight away

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review