reviews for: listing #21372 - Gun Lake, Michigan Cottage rental

All Seasons Cottage on Tranquil Stewart Lake, Michigan
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $150 /nt
    $525 - $875 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The cottage was beautiful! It was very spacious and beautifully decorated! We had a very relaxing and restful week! We did end up renting a boat to go out on Gun Lake because we didn't want to swim in the weeds, but we did use the paddle boat to go out to the float one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My wife, our 4 year old, and my in-laws spent a fantastic week here! We could not have asked for a more lovely, peaceful, and enjoyable place to stay. The owners clearly love their cottage and want everyone to enjoy it as much as they do. The cottage itself is open and airy with great views of the lake. It was hot towards the end of our stay but cottage remained cool. The grounds are well maintained with a deck right on the lake and a creek running next to the house (great for frog catching). They give you a row boat, paddle boat, AND a canoe. The cottage is well stocked with fishing equipment, grilling equipment, and everything you need for the fire pit. The lake itself is quiet and great for fishing. Swimming is good for young children but a bit weedy as it gets deeper. However, Yankee Springs beaches at Gun Lake are only a short drive away for better swimming. We will absolutely be staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Getaway

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Cottage was clean and well maintained as described. Owner Emily was easy to communicate with by email. Owner stated that the lake had nice sandy bottom and was swimmable. Well we were very disappointed upon arrival to find that this was not ture. Once you were about ten feet into the water it bacame mucky and very weedy with lilly pads growing every where. We were able to find nice swimming conditions at a public beach on Gun Lake, but that really defeats the purpose of renting a cottage.

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Perfect getaway for family with small children

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

This cottage is the perfect place for a family getaway! We went with our 2.5 year old and 2 month old. The 2.5 year old Had so much to keep him busy. The sandbox was his favorite, but he also enjoyed fishing, the paddle boats, looking for frogs & turtles and swimming! The yard was perfect and safe for kids. The lake is very peaceful and quiet! The views were beautiful. The cottage itself is adorable! The pictures don't capture how great it is! Plenty of room for our family! The amenities are great (toys, movies, fishing stuff, stocked kitchen, etc)! The cottage was well kept. The owner and landlord were both do sweet! We had a wonderful time and recommend this to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ole lady week

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We five ole ladies had a peaceful and quiet week of reading, swimming, sunbathing and most of all relaxing during of week at Stewart Lake. Emily (owner) was very prompt and a wonderful person to work with. Burrell, property manager was super nice and accommodating.

The cottage was nice and clean and comfortable. Bunk bed not really convenient for older person (who gets up a lot at night) but couch worked great. The nights were cool and breezy and slept great. Seemed to have a good breeze during the day too, and was very welcome with the recent heat wave hitting Michigan.

Overall, it was a wonderful time and we are looking forward to future stays. Thanks so much for sharing your home..

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Relax & Unwind

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

BEAUTIFUL cottage! Its a house really, minus a laundry room. The cottage is homey and comfortable and clean. The lake and its surroundings are very quiet and serene. We enjoyed the use of the canoe, fishing coat and paddle boat. We tanned on the deck that is right on the water. We had bonfires both nights and and used the charcoal grill one night. The neighbors were kind enough to let us use their floating raft and hammock which we used often. We wished we could have stayed at least another night!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stewart Lake

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The cottage was very nice and clean. Customer service was great our family liked the boats that were available and how quiet it was.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fishing Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I brought my 13-year old son and 4 buddies out for a weekend of fishing, and bonding. They had a ball! I can't tell what they liked best, the swimming, fishing, frog hunting, campfire or card playing. The cottage is very clean and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to 'get away' for a few days. Thanks very much for a memorable weekend, we'll be back!
Julie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Great Getaway for Quilters!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

It was very easy to make a reservation, Emily was very responsive. The description of what to expect was great, only upon arrival, it was better than expected! The property is well taken care of and Emily's parents are nice people who give you instructions for your stay. Everything we needed was there. The cottage was very clean (very important to me) and comfortable. My friend and I wanted a girl's weekend away to work on our quilting projects. There was an added bonus, as they have a huge island in the kitchen that worked great for laying out our fabrics. It is so peaceful and we got to sit outside on a lovely fall day on the deck by the lake. We used the nice fire pit to make smores and took a stroll in the paddle boat. We went to the BIB for lunch, and we had the best wraps! It was close to two wonderful quilt shops in Plainwell and Allegan. As an added bonus, Plainwell has homemade ice cream! Kids would have a blast staying here! This home is close to the North Country Trail if you want a nice walk or run. There are so many things near here to do if you want to be outside. Within 1/2 hour of this property, you can golf,mini golf, eat at many restaurants at Gun Lake and Hastings. go to a movie, go boating. We would recommend this to any age for a great vacation or getaway. We can't wait to go back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stewart Lake Cottage, Summer stay

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Pro's:

Nice House and amenities.
Property is fully furnished including kitchen and grilling items.
Lake is very nice and great fishing.
Sandbox for kids.
Stream at edge of property loaded with cute frogs.
Two bathrooms.
TV and VHS/DVD provided with some classic movies.
Charcoal and fluid was provided by landlord.
Landlord/owners all very nice.
Three beds in the room downstairs.
Fans provided and appreciated.
Quiet.
Water vessels provided.

Cons:
Pricing was on high side
Privacy an issue as neighbors are very close and always listening/watching.
Lack of blinds on many of the side windows including bathroom upstairs.
Price may not be negotiable for longer stays.

Conclusion:
Overall a very nice place, would reccomend to anyone. Owners and amenities helped us feel at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

More than expected!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We knew that this little cottage was beautiful from what we saw in the pictures, but it was much more than we expected.

Emily and her family have done a wonderful job making sure that their guests have everything that they could possibly need for a comfortable stay. We have two young children (4 and 7). The cottage was stocked with toys, books, movies and outdoor toys for the sandbox. We were also very pleased that the lake was shallow all the way to the end of the dock. Our 4 year old could touch flat footed all the way to the end of the dock, which was a huge comfort. Our children also enjoyed catching frogs in the creek next to the property.

We spent most of our time enjoying the water either floating on rafts, swimming, relaxing on the dock or using one of the three boats.

We would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mother-Daughter annual outing

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

We held our annual mother-daughter annual outing at The Cottage on Stewart Lake. And what FUN we had! We had two beautiful days and we spent time paddle boating around the lake, basking in the sun and dining on both decks! The other two days were rainy but that didn't stop our fun time, we were on a roll! We spent those days inside COOKING, EATING, LAUGHING, EATING, GIGGLING, PLAYING GAMES and PAMPERING ourselves with things such as foot soaks and CRAFTS. The facilities were perfect for us! Lack of television didn't bother us 'much', we weaned ourselves off QVC and HSN. Our communication to the outside world consisted of a few cell phones to check in with our families. The cottage is spacious and the view of Stewart Lake is wonderful. Most of our time was spent in the huge great-room consisting of living room-dining room-kitchen. Canada geese and their ducklings were our daily wildlife entertainment along with swans, turtles and either an egrit, crane or heron (not sure which!) Since this is early Spring, there was only one neighbor occupying their cottage, so we ruled the lake! This is a very relaxing and enjoyable place to vacation and I would recommend it highly. Emily is a joy to work with and is very accommodating. Marlene, Holland, MI and Sarasota, FL

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stewart Lake Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

The lake cottage is new with an open concept for the kitchen and family room / living room area. The entire back of the cottage is open with sweeping windows or sliding doors affording a beautiful view of the nice flat, shaded and grassy back yard and lake.

There is a sandbox for children with a myriad of sand toys and a lot of interesting water creatures to keep children and adults entertained.

Two decks, one just outside the cottage and one by the pier have table and chairs. Early morning is a perfect time to sit on the deck, enjoy the breeze and the view and read and relax or talk.

It is a place to slow down and restore.

If you have very small children, there are amenities onsite which make your stay easier.

While there is no need to spend time in front of the TV, there is a large selection of chilren's and other VHS tapes as well and some children's books.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Stewart Lake

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

A great time was had by all. The booking process was easy, on arrival we were given a thorough tour and explanation. The cottage was clean and nicely appointed. Lots of items available that were not expected. Lake was clean and fun. Neighbours were cordial. Overall a perfect vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cabin on a quiet lake

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

5 stars for the cabin - We had a lovely two week stay at this cottage. The cabin is beautiful, with excellent light and a nice breeze most of the day. The whole property is well set up for a family with small children. We visited with a 9 month old and had cousins (ranging from 2 to 7 years old) visiting several afternoons. The lake is quiet (especially during the week) and the bottom drops off slowly, which was excellent for little kids.

6 stars for responsiveness in an emergency - Unfortunately we had an unexpected opportunity to test responsiveness of the owners in an emergency (a tree branch fell across the driveway taking out the power line to the house at 10pm on the 4th of July). Fortunately the owners/property manager passed with flying colors and did everything possible to get our vacation back under way. Burrell (the property manager) came out the same night to check on us, and got an electrician to come out to fix the electricity by 10am the next morning (a federal holiday). While it is not the way I would have chosen to start my vacation, I certainly appreciated the quick, friendly and effective response to the unexpected circumstances.

We definitely plan on returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

stewart lake vacation

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

The lake is small and quiet,fine for taking the row boat, peddle boat, or canoe around. At the water's edge it is shallow for several feet with a sandy bottom. Our family enjoyed fishing and boating out to the barrel raft ,then swimming around it. The deck on the water was nice for grilling or having a campfire. The wooded area around the lake provided space to hike, observe deer, birds, and chipmunks. The house was clean and the kitchen was completely furnished with items needed for cooking, etc. The beds were comfortable. The one set of bunkbeds were more for suitable for children rather than adults or larger teens. We would recommend this vacation spot if you are looking for a peaceful,natural setting to get away and enjoy nature. We visited the nearby town of Hastings that has a variety of shops, eating establishments, and a movie theater, as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

We had such a wonderful and relaxing time at the cottage. It exceded my expectations! The owners are wonderful to work with and they were very accomodating. The cottage was new, clean, and was pretty much fully stocked. The lake is beautiful and very peaceful. I have two small daughters, and I felt very comfortable with them playing by the water. The water is clean and sandy and is shallow by the shore. My daughters loved everything about our vacation: the sandbox, being able to have their own room, the bunkbeds, the toys, the books, and the movies. The cottage is very kid friendly. I look forward to spending another vacation on Stewart Lake!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Get Away

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

***Beautiful cottage in a gorgeous location. Accommodations were excellent with all stated amenities. Property was very clean and well maintained and was more than we expected. Communicating with the owner and the property manager was very easy by phone, e-mail and fax. I would highly recommend this property to a friend and already have in fact given the contact information to three family members and two friends. I would also be interested in renting the property again during the "in season" to take full advantage of the lake. However even in the middle of the coldest week of the winter, it was a beautiful vacation spot. We did not visit any restaurants or other attractions. The cottage and lake were all we needed. ***

Thanks so much for a lovely long weekend. We look forward to staying at your place again.

Sincerely,
Anne

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review