reviews for: listing #21389 - San Francisco, California Apartment rental

NEW Luxury San Francisco Flat- Private Garage Parking
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Castro/Upper Market
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $300 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Location X3

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

The photos and description are very accurate. Modern kitchen and bath in a Victorian apartment. Excellent, clean, well equipped and maintained. It was a challenge getting a full size sedan in and out of the garage, but doable. If a small or mid-size automobile works for you, it would be considerably easier. Best restaurant: Delfina on 18th.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect and Comfortable Location

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 19, 2014

This was the perfect flat for our 7-day walking exploration of SF. The residential neighborhood is pleasant and relatively quiet and perfectly located for public transportation - we used the Muni N line at top of Noe by Deboce Park for most access (it runs from Ocean at the west end to the Embarcadero and along the north shore), with a major line transfer at Powell. Also the F surface Muni has the same access, but from Market right by Whole Foods at Dolores. We were afoot most days, picking up something at Whole Foods only 15 minutes away for dinner. The bed was very cozy and the linens were wonderful. The nearby Jumpin' Java was a quaint, local hang spot for an easy coffee and breakfast sandwich or croissant. We did much better with the Senior $0.75 Muni fare that is transferable within 90 minutes than with any offered multi-day pass - 7 days for $3 versus $72 for two passes. Walking the Golden Gate Bridge was wonderful, (direct access from N west to 28 surface Muni). SF folks are very kind,friendly and helpful in providing recommendations and local information. Very simple connections for the Muni N line to the airport on the BART - just not simple to electronically buy the BART tickets at Powell Station - also, advertised senior discount is NOT available on BART for single trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent accomodation in a perfect neighbourhood!

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We stayed here recently during a trip down the west coast from Canada. By the time we got to San Fransisco we were quite tired of eating on the road and driving for 5 hours a day, so this flat was perfect for us! The property was very well maintained and having access to laundry was great!

The location of this flat is perfect. We arrived by car, but San Fransisco is not a great place for driving, so the parking garage was great. We parked when we arrived and only took the car out when we left! The flat is within a couple of blocks to public transportation and we used it everyday to take us to AT&T park for the ball game, Candlestick park for the football game, down to Fisherman's Wharf, and over to Union Square another day.

There is also a Safeway right beside the main transit stop near the flat and we stocked up on groceries so that we could make dinner back at the place instead of going out for dinner. We had hoped to go to the restaurant below for dinner one night, but it was quite busy. Be sure to make a reservation.

Overall, this was an amazing place to stay and a great price for San Fransisco standards! We will definitely be back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent accomodation in a perfect neighbourhood!

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We stayed here recently during a trip down the west coast from Canada. By the time we got to San Fransisco we were quite tired of eating on the road and driving for 5 hours a day, so this flat was perfect for us! The property was very well maintained and having access to laundry was great!

The location of this flat is perfect. We arrived by car, but San Fransisco is not a great place for driving, so the parking garage was great. We parked when we arrived and only took the car out when we left! The flat is within a couple of blocks to public transportation and we used it everyday to take us to AT&T park for the ball game, Candlestick park for the football game, down to Fisherman's Wharf, and over to Union Square another day.

There is also a Safeway right beside the main transit stop near the flat and we stocked up on groceries so that we could make dinner back at the place instead of going out for dinner. We had hoped to go to the restaurant below for dinner one night, but it was quite busy. Be sure to make a reservation.

Overall, this was an amazing place to stay and a great price for San Fransisco standards! We will definitely be back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Too bad there are only 5 stars as a choice - this is 5 stars with an asterisk. I have rented apartments many times for vacation and I would call this the best spot ever! The unit (better equipped kitchen than mine at home), is amazing with great technology options, super-comfy sleeping quarters, a fantastic bathroom and a perfectLOCATION! The washer/dryer feature brought tears to my eyes after coming home soaked from standing all day in the mist at the Outside Lands concert with my daughter. The ease of access to the unit, proximity to dining (and my daughter's apartment), friendliness of the neighborhood, the nearby park, I could go on and on, are all perfect. I will look to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacations

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Nice stay. Very comfortable bed, nicely decorated. Needed more than two bath towels.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Apartment Great Location

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This is a fabulous property to consider if there are 2 of you. Ample closet space, plenty of hangers, all the appliances and cooking gadgets you need, and the convenience to the Muni is wonderful. We walked to the Safeway store and enjoyed all the area ambiance. The only reason we gave it four stars instead of five was the bed is not a full KING sized bed, we guess more like a queen, so not quite as much night-time space as we are used to having. The headboard of the bed is on the wall shared with the very successful and tasty French restaurant, so after closing it was occasionally noisy when they cleaned. I am a VERY light sleeper so I heard them, my hubby knew nothing and was not at all disturbed. You will not be disappointed with this apartment! Laurie is a dream, she is helpful before, during, and after arrival. San Francisco was much cooler than we anticipated and the bay is 10 degrees lower than the temperature reported on the news, so be sure to take jackets. We decided Alcatraz was our favorite tour and the Fog House at Pier 39 was our favorite for seafood and the view of the Bay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review our home in San Francisco. We do appreciate it. I do want to clarify that the bed is a California King size bed. It is not a queen bed.

I also agree with your recommendation to bring warm clothes to SF, especially in the summer time. The fog can make it feel much cooler than what the weather man says it is.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

97 Henry - THE Best!!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Absolutely perfect! We loved this place so much--perfect location, in fact one of the best neighborhoods in the City- if not THE best. The flat itself is quintessential San Francisco and retains its turn of the century charm but is updated and modern at the same time without taking away from the charm. It was just as described-you could not won't for more. While this was not a vacation stay for us (unfortunately), it would be our choice if that were the case. Restaurants with food of every sort are within walking distance (wonderful french bistro L'ardoise a few steps from the door of the flat--great food and wine list!) You can walk to the heart of the Castro and Noe Valley easily and should you want to venture further, public transportation is right there! The neighborhood is very safe and relatively quiet (it is a city after all) AND there is garage parking which is almost unheard of. It's a little cramped parking so no Large suv's but our little Jeep Liberty fit. But I really should emphasize the fact that you really don't need a car here because of the proximity to everything either by foot or public transportation. Laurie, the owner, was very prompt in response to any questions we had and was very easy to deal with. All in all, a BIG thumbs up! We will definitely stay here again...Thank you, Laurie! Best, Sandy and Jane

Owners response: We are always happy to have you back to our flat. My cleaning lady loves you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It felt just like home

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

This flat was a beautiful turn of the century-era property situated within a great part of San Francisco. It is close to several MUNI stops, a bank, a supermarket and restaurants.

All of the handy items you'd have at home were here, including a full kitchen setup (with fairly generous amounts of cookware, cutlery, etc) with dishwasher, washing machine and dryer (although it is shared by flats upstairs), ironing board and iron (better than any hotel), vacuum cleaner, etc. The Internet connectivity was fast and reliable, the cable TV service was also good (although not in HD). The bathroom has a walk in shower cubicle with copious amounts of hot water and good water pressure. The flat was clean and free of pests.

The only significant negative point is the car space: it is underneath the flat and is a 90 degree turn from the garage door into the space below. This can make it very hard to get a car in and out of, and is only suitable for a sedan or smaller - no SUVs! Backing out can be two-person job if you're not confident. Additionally if someone parks a car near the driveway which isn't a car space, you will not be able to get your car in or out.

The owner provided all of the information needed to access the property however does not meet you at the flat on the day you arrive - ensure you have all of the documentation with you before arriving.

Me and my partner (both in our 30's, no kids) enjoyed this property immensely. It felt very much like you were living at home and not in a hotel. We were sad to leave - hopefully we will get a chance to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Outside Lands Festival Weekend

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to go to Outside Lands Festival in Golden Gate Park and absolutely loved the place. Showing up, getting in, and checking out was all very easy. The house is so adorable and we couldn't have felt any more comfortable. It's so nice being able to stay in a house with a TV, wi-fi, and a full kitchen. It just makes the travel adventure so much more cozy than staying in a hotel.

The listing was very accurate both with the pictures and with describing the house and location. The owner was excellent in responding to my questions and emails, and she was very easy to work with. The house was clean, well decorated, and very well maintained with granite counter tops in the kitchen and a TV in both the living room and bedroom.

Just to the left of the house (when you leave) is Noe St. with a convenient store just a minute walk to the left and a coffee shop just a minute walk to the right. There are a couple of great cafes within a five minute walk. (We highly recommend Jake's on Market for brunch!). The house is just around the corner from a couple of train stops which made it easy to utilize public transportation, although we did do quite a bit of walking. The place was perfect for what we were looking for! We definitely would recommend this house for anybody looking to go on a San Francisco adventure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great week...

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Having been on the road for 6 weeks, I was looking forward to having a base and staying in one pace for a week. This place did not dissapoint, it fully matched it's description and was a great residence and location, indeed a home away from home for a week in San Francisco. Accessibility to the Muni, shops, Safeway and restaurants was all very easy. Great communication from the owner made the whole process easy from start to finish. Would definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We stayed 10 days at this very nice and comfortable appartment. It was clean and perfectly equipped. Very well situated, walking distance to all services and good restaurants. Le Café de Flore was a great place for us to hang out at the end of a very busy day to rest and eat well.The Farmer's Market on Wednesdays was a nice to have on Noe street.This was our first experience with Home Away and will not be the last. The appartment is close to various transportation means: street car and Muni. This was a quiet part of town with very nice neibor.We loved it!
Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location,; very nice property

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This property was a great find. The location is excellent...a very nice neighborhood close to Market Street and two blocks from the Church Street subway station. The restaurants nearby are very good, and Safeway is a short walk also. The Castro is nearby as well.

The apartment is as advertised. The furniture and bed were very comfortable. The tv and internet worked well. The kitchen is nicely equipped; it would be good for cooking (something I did little of). The bathroom shower was great! I had no issues with garbage smell or restaurant noise, as some other reviewers had stated. This is a city neighborhood, so you will hear noises out in the street, but that's to be expected...it was not loud and never kept me from sleeping.

The property owner was good to deal with, and prompt in answering my questions.

I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great stay in San Francisco

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This property was a great find. The location is excellent...a very nice neighborhood close to Market Street and two blocks from the Church Street subway station. The restaurants nearby are very good, and Safeway is a short walk also. The Castro is nearby as well.

The apartment is as advertised. The furniture and bed were very comfortable. The tv and internet worked well. The kitchen is nicely equipped; it would be good for cooking (something I did little of). The bathroom shower was great! I had no issues with garbage smell or restaurant noise, as some other reviewers had stated. This is a city neighborhood, so you will hear noises out in the street, but that's to be expected...it was not loud and never kept me from sleeping.

The property owner was good to deal with, and prompt in answering my questions.

I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Vacation

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Our stay at this property was just great. We had a really good time in San Francisco largely because this little apartment was so convenient and centrally located. All the transportation we needed was withing 2 or 3 blocks. We spent 8 full days riding the buses, trolleys, and subways all around The City. Coming back to this very very quiet site each evenng was a delight. Having a place to part, even though it's a challenge, meant we did not have to use our car once for our entire stay. For a single traveler or a couple this location ideal We will be recommending this location to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Apartment - Clean, Well Furnished

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Definitely recommend this apartment and location

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great SF Stay

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We loved our stay in SF. The weather was perfect! We loved the neighborhood. The farmer's market on Wednesday was great with music and lots of produce. We didn't end up using our car, because metro was right there and definitely got us to Union Square and other areas faster. The first day we used our car, but ended up spending $50 in parking! The apartment was very clean and well decorated. The kitchen was very large and nicer than we expected. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tim, Thank you for staying in our flat. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and you had perfect weather. I wish I could arrange that for everyone! We also love the farmer's market. I probably should include it in our ad. I hope you will stay with us again, as we appreciate how well you took care of our home. Laurie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Attractive But Garbage Smell Makes it Unpleasnt

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

The apartment looks very nice and is very livable. It has parking, which is a benefit in San Francisco where street parking has 2-hour time limits. It also is in a great neighborhood. Those are positives, but the negative is a major one and was very troublesome. The garage below the apartment is where the garbage for a neighborhood restaurant is put. It piles up. As a result, the garage stinks and the smell permeates into the apartment. Not a pleasant experience! We had to burn incense and candles and still couldn't mask the smell. As soon as the trash was picked up, the smell went away. Be forewarned!

Owners response: While this has not been an issue in the past, we are very concerned about this complaint. The day that you notified me of the issue, we increased garbage pickup to 7 days a week. This seemed to resolve the problem immediately and should never be a problem again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

I would highly recommend the flat to single travelers or couples visiting San Francisco. I stayed there for 10 days while helping my daughter relocate in San Francisco. The underground garage was of great benefit to me because I could come and go as needed for the avalanche of moving-related chores. But a car is not needed or even recommended for most travelers - there was plenty of public transportation nearby. The flat interior was beautiful, well-maintained, and so much more spacious and comfortable than a comparably priced hotel room. The washer/dryer came in handy, too, given my 10-day stay. VRBO photos cannot capture the charm of the tree-lined Victorian street and surrounding neighborhood. I felt more like a local than a tourist there. Morning newspaper, coffee or breakfast were just steps from the flat. And a farmer's market popped up on the block mid-week. I tried some of the owner-recommended restaurants nearby and loved Squat & and Gobble for breakfast and Sushi Zone for dinner. Unfortunately, L'ardoise, the French restaurant next door, was closed for vacation, so I didn't have a chance to experience it - next time!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary Ann,
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our flat. I hope you will stay with us again when you come visit your daughter. We appreciate how nicely you left our home at departure.
Laurie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Flat near Castro/Market/Duboce area

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful flat for a week and although we spent much of our time away, we loved every minute that we spent there! The flat is beautifully appointed - in fact, we thought that it looked as though it had been staged. It is clean and very well-maintained.
The kitchen has beautiful granite counter tops and dark cherry wood cabinets. There are wooden floors throughout the flat. The kitchen is totally stocked with everything that you could ever need. There are even different spices for cooking. The bathroom shower is new and beautiful. There are two large flat screen TV's - one in the bedroom and one in the living room.
The area is great for transportation. Walk two blocks and you're able to go anywhere in the city. No car is necessary, however, if you choose to bring one, there is an available parking spot in a garage in the same building.
Oh, and, there is a little French restaurant, also in the same building, that unfortunately was closed the week that we were there.
We certainly hope to stay here again!! Laurie was terrific about e-mailing me right back with any questions that I had.
REALLY LOVED IT!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific Flat

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

ABSOLUTELY A FABULOUS FLAT. Private entrance way and your own parking spot. Lots of granite,wonderful cherry cabinets, and great television sets and wireless.

This location is simply the best in San Francisco. It took me 5 minutes to walk to the "underground" metro system. Numerous restaurants within minutes. The neighborhood does a wonderful job of lining the streets with flowers, etc. A great park is just down the street.

I was told that this flat is in a highly rated small historic building. It is gorgeous.

What a treat. Thank you Laurie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Flat in Castro/Noe area

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

Adorable one bedroom flat for extended stays in a delightful neighborhood. Very accessable to transportation. Corner markets, coffee shop and wonderful restaurants within walking distance. There is a wonderful French restaurant on the corner next to the apartment. Has lots of amenities.

Unfortunately, this apartment is not for you if you have to be homebound for any length of time. As charming as this place is, we were in SF for about 10 days for my husband's surgery at UCSF - Parnassus. We were looking for a quiet place for him to recover post surgery. We found the noise from the restaurant which was only open from 5 (staff arrived around 2pm to start preparing for service and ended about 1 hr after closing) - 11:30pm during the week and 5-12:30pm on Friday and Saturday a bit stressful between the sound of the music, people talking, the restaurant crew taking trash and recycle to the garage under our apartment and end of night clean up late a night. The bed in the apartment sits against the back of the restaurant. Also, since the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday, their trash sits in the garage until trash day mid week. This can create some unsavory smells in the apartment. The landlord and restaurant was very accommodating when we brought this to her attention and are making efforts to address some of the issues mentioned.

Of course, this wouldn't have been an issue if we were there to enjoy the city or visit family because we would have be out and about like most people visiting SF and wouldn't have been so sensitive to the local sounds of the neighborhood.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Ideal SF Getaway

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This is the ideal vacation rental in the City. This one bedroom apartment comes completely equipped with everything one would need for a full month's stay. There is off street parking on site, but one really does not need a automobile in San Francisco. The farmer's Market is open Thursdays and is only a two blocks walk. The apartment is close to all major necessities and transit. There is an excellent French restaurant located around the corner in the same building. We highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Carnival in Castro

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

We two old timers thoroughly enjoyed our 8 days in this cosy unit with great amenities. The unit itself is spacious enough, clean and well maintained, in a quite quiet street next to Castro.
There is a cosy back garden that is very relaxing.

The location is terrific for catching public transport too all parts of San Francisco, and we used a weekly pass to full advantage. It is close to a good range of restaurants and bars, and particularly to the IGA supermarket at the end of the street. We loved the subway, and the F line that went the whole way from Castro too Pier 39 and all points on Market and the Embarcadero in between.

The owner was most obliging and ensured our stay was comfortable. Wireless internet access was good, as was the range of TV available.

The unit is well appointed and there is plenty of cutlery, glasses, crockery and cooking utensils - more than adequate, and much better than many similar units. Access by coded locks rather than keys is a plus.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review