reviews for: listing #21499 - Malibu, California House rental

Luxury Oceanfront w/ 2 fireplaces & Hot Tub. Sleeps 10
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Big Rock Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $595 - $795 /nt
    $3,995 - $4,995 /wk
    $11,995 - $14,995 /mth

sort by:

Live the jetset live in Malibu

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Right on the ocean. Dolphins play/hunt less than 50 yards from the house. We have also seen some sealions.
The house is on busy Pacific Coast Highway, which makes leaving with the car sometimes difficult. It's close to centre of Malibu. Moonshadows, a "lounge type" restaurant is right next door and serves excellent food.
The house was clean everything worked.
There's only a sandy beach during low tide. At high tide the water comes on the rocks and ocean is no access to the ocean.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Amazing experience in Malibu!

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

Amazing experience in Malibu... Beautiful home, right on the ocean, great views, beautiful sunsets. The sound of the ocean, the fireplaces, most cozy bedroom... true relaxation. The owner was very helpful and easy to deal with. Location is very convenient to Malibu center and Santa Monica. I will definitely be coming back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning ocean views

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This house is right on the ocean with fantastic views, it's in a great location and within a short drive to lots of tourist attractions. The house slept our family of 5 comfortably the kitchen is modern and fully stocked with everything you would need. Terri was extremely professional and helpful with every aspect of the booking process. We enjoyed our stay in Malibu. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Malibu What a View!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

My wife and I loved this house. The pictures don't do it justice, especially the master bathroom. The shower and tube are HUGE! It was so relaxing to wake up each morning to the sound of crashing waves. The property was clean and well taken care of. The owner was very easy to deal with and made accessing the home simple. Staying here was a real treat!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

lovely house+great views

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

My family had a wonderful time at the house and really enjoyed the space. The basement/sea level hot tub is a great extra for the house and provided a good way to wind down while the sun sets.
The rooms had everything we needed and the views did the rest.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

This place is flat-out unbeatable! Better even than the pictures show . My husband and I have stayed here often through the years and we love it more each time we visit. If this home is available when you are planning your Malibu trip, grab it quick because it rents faster than just about any other beachfront home around. Why? Because it has all the upscale extras you could want or need: two fireplaces, TVs everywhere; great showers, gourmet kitchen and top notch furnishings. Nearby shopping, a host of restaurants and lots of outside activities push you out the doors but its the oceanfront views, crash of the waves and comforts of home that bring you back in again. Plus the owner makes every effort to make your stay here easy and enjoyable. PS The beds are wonderful too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbeatable!!!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

We LOVE Malibu. My husband and I started out staying at the Malibu Beach Inn (too small), sampled the gated enclaves up the road (too big and too expensive) and then we found THE place on Pacific Coast Highway. This is Terri's house (she's a terrific, accommodating and gracious owner who keeps the home in super shape), but it feels like our own...only better. Two fireplaces, lots of TVs, the most comfortable furniture we've found, a master bed that eases us to sleep with the cadence of the sea, and there's a hot tub too! And the views! So close to Santa Monica's shopping and restaurants with Country Mart and Tra Da Nois just up the road.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal Malibu

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Sum up all in one word. Wonderful. The attention received throughout from booking till I had to travel home was absolutely wonderful. Typical I like the attention seen at a Four Seasons hotel, so was a little nervous being my first home rental. But this. This proved to be beyond my expectations from the moment I drove in the garage port. First the location could not be better. With Pepperdine's picturesque track to run on in the morning. Equinox in Santa Monica minutes a way. Malibu Square for people watching, celeb sightings, and great wine stores...and pacific greens. One of my places, Reel Inn, to buy fish to grill out on the deck (amazing deck with the hot tub on the water basically...could it be better?!) minutes a way as well. The whole experience could not be better and while being on the water with large spanses of beaches steps away. Looking forward to my next stay...and will always be a top choice, or the only, when I head back to LA. Thank you for all you did Terri! Your place truly feels like a perfect home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

What a great place to do everything you want to do or do nothing but relax. The pictures on the site are good but you can't hear the waves or smell the salt from the Ocean. We have stayed in Malibu around Christmas for the last 5 years and have had great experiences with renting homes in the area, but Terri's home on the beach was (is) the best home we have had the pleasure of staying in the Malibu area. The Master BR was the best ever, go to sleep with the crashing of the waves and waking up to see seals and dolphins playing in the Ocean... The kids are looking forward to going back, and my wife and I are dying to go back... Thanks Terri for EVERYTHING!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great vacation

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

What a great time my family had at terrys home! she made the rental process so easy & you will be so pleased! the home is wonderful & has evrything you need! great kitchen, great beds, spectacular ocean view!!! Between the dolphins & seals & birds and the sound of the ocean...it is the perfect place to unwind & just relax or if you want you can sleep when you get home because there is endless things to do all within a few miles. we loved Moonshadows & Dukes & Paradise Cove (where we saw Kurt Russell!) & so many more restaurants & shops & beaches & mountains we never ran out of things to do. & it seems the weather is always wonderful too! thank you so much terry, we hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

My family & i had the best time at terry's home! she was great, answering all questions & she made it so easy to book the house! we were very relieved she had a real estate license as others we tried to book with didnt seem very trustworthy & when your renting w/o seeing it can be very stressful, not so with terry! The house is wonderful, very family friendly. great kitchen, appliances, everything you need is here! the master bedroom is a gem & the waves will lull you to sleep. all three decks are great & the hot tub on the 1st floor deck is an experience you wont forget, its gorgeous!! there is a small private beach we enjoyed, we saw dolphins & seals nearly every day, so close you wont believe it! The house is centrally located, so close to everything from shopping to great restaurants. it seemed everywhere we went we saw movie stars! plus you have the ocean on one side of the road & the mountains on the other. We went hiking one day & whale watching the next! We stayed here 3 weeks & it was hard to leave! i hope to stay here again someday soon! thanks terry for a wonderful vacation, it was perfect for those of us family members who were on the go & also for others who just wanted to relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

40th birthday celebration

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Booked this home to celebrate my sister's 40th birthday. We arrived to find the home not ready for us and had to wait 30 minutes, there was also construction next door,and there was a big trash can blocking our view of PCH. So, it was hard getting in and out of there. I was a little upset when Terri told me about construction a week before and there was nothing she could do. Which, I totally understood. Well, the cleaning people were very nice and so was the construction crew. The home was very clean and nice,and even had nice TV'S and stereo equipment so, We could watch movies and listen to all my cd's. I loved the location and it was so relaxing enjoying the sounds of the ocean's waves all day and night! There was plenty of room for all 10 of us to fit perfectly, maybe even extra room for 2 more. We enjoyed the jacuzzi every evening and even, one morning over looking the ocean was a beautiful experience. We also walked to Moonshadows and had dinner, make sure to try the fish, very nice ambiance and only a 3 min walk. Everything was just where Terri said it would be, we also went to Dukes for dinner and that was fun and delicious. We drove to Santa Monica and rented bikes, we biked to Venice Beach and ate the best burger at Venice Ale House for lunch! When we weren't eating out I was cooking breakfast and found everything I needed. Only suggestions, is some hand soap for all sinks, I did leave the ones I bought and some electric candles for jacuzzi at night. I texted and called Terri at least 3 times while I was there and she responded fast! Thank you Terri for a very fun and relaxing trip for my sister, friends and my family. Construction and everything, It was PERFECT!! I have been telling everyone about your home, Thanks again! Yvonne

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

best ever!!!

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

See the seagull in the photo? He's real, and visits that spot daily (we called him Pete Seagull). Everything else is as pictured, too -- breathtaking views, waves breaking at the foot of the house, plus a spacious, contemporary, comfortable interior with adjustable recessed lighting. Excellent beds and bathrooms, lots of pillows, linens and towels, well-equipped kitchen with huge fridge & brand-new gas stove top. Flat screens in living room (a big one!), both bedrooms, and upstairs den. The two gas fireplaces took the chill off winter mornings & evenings, and the washer/dryer is conveniently located next to MBR. We were in LA for a 2-week work assignment, but felt like we were living in paradise. Thanks so much, Terri -- can't wait to go back for our next SoCal project!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical Place in Malibu

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

I stayed here with my family during Thanksgiving week. It was very spacious and clean with all the comforts of home. The kitchen was great to prepare the Thanksgiving feast (we managed 2 turkeys in the oven!). The views of this oceanfront property were spectacular! The children (ranging from teenagers to 22yrs old) had a great time climbing on the rocks, walking along the sand during low tide, and hanging out in the hot tub before going to bed. The supermarkets was just a short drive away as well as the fast food restaurants that the teenagers wanted. The 3 parking spots were very convenient. We all loved the 2 fireplaces and the TV in every room. We enjoyed seeing dolphins, seals, sea gulls and pelicans from both balconies. I plan to recommend this to all my friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical Place in Malibu

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

I stayed here with my family during Thanksgiving week. It was very spacious and clean with all the comforts of home. The kitchen was great to prepare the Thanksgiving feast (we managed 2 turkeys in the oven!). The views of this oceanfront property were spectacular! The children (ranging from teenagers to 22yrs old) had a great time climbing on the rocks, walking along the sand during low tide, and hanging out in the hot tub before going to bed. The supermarkets was just a short drive away as well as the fast food restaurants that the teenagers wanted. The 3 parking spots were very convenient. We all loved the 2 fireplaces and the TV in every room. We enjoyed seeing dolphins, seals, sea gulls and pelicans from both balconies. I plan to recommend this to all my friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Magical Place in Malibu

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

I stayed here with my family during Thanksgiving week. It was very spacious and clean with all the comforts of home. The kitchen was great to prepare the Thanksgiving feast (we managed 2 turkeys in the oven!). The views of this oceanfront property were spectacular! The children (ranging from teenagers to 22yrs old) had a great time climbing on the rocks, walking along the sand during low tide, and hanging out in the hot tub before going to bed. The supermarkets was just a short drive away as well as the fast food restaurants that the teenagers wanted. The 3 parking spots were very convenient. We all loved the 2 fireplaces and the TV in every room. We enjoyed seeing dolphins, seals, sea gulls and pelicans from both balconies. I plan to recommend this to all my friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

*****Million dollar View & worth every Penny**

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

This Property is Stunning in so many fabulous ways... Starting with Terri and her quick responses to getting you set up and handling any issues.. The Ocean acted as the ultimate sound soother as I left the glass arcadia doors ajar every night. With Music playing from the both great Television / Cable set up's it really created a vacation like atmosphere. We grilled Steaks to perfection on the patio grill and used the Hot Tub 2x per day.. It's located perfect to all of Malibu's little treasures and a quick trip to Santa Monica opening up a whole other field of activities. I had a perfect day of golf at Malibu Country Club yesterday recieving the twilight rate of $55.00 per round and it was only a 15 minute drive. The Master Bedroom is a dream with high quality linens covering a super comfy King sized bed.. Don't forget about the Roman Jet Tub in the master bath that fits two people with no problem at all and really massages... I struggle to review any negatives about this property, other than parking can be a little sketchy pulling in and out from PCH (Pacific Coast Hwy), although every home has that issue here.. The parking spot itself is perfect though with more than enough room.. Bravo to Terri and her staff that makes this home so spectacular. Looking Forward to another stay real soon and will tell everyone that rents beach front properties to search availability for this unit 1st.. Thank you!!!!::))

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Do Not Rent This Property

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

When I researched this property I googled LUXURY California vacation rentals. This property is NOT luxury by any means. There in no central heating or cooling (the property owner stated that she did do advertise that there was central heating and cooling). When I pulled up I was met by flies from the trash and they were in competition the fruit flies in the sink when I turned on the faucet( the owner stated that she thought about treating them). The sheets look like they have washed 1000 times. Down stairs it was 60 degrees upstairs it was 100+. The description is not at all what you should expect for a luxury vacation rental or even what was advertised. When I saw the property I left and booked a hotel and the property owner did not care that my family and I were not satisfied and threatened me if I left negative remarks. DO NOT RENT THIS PROPERTY !!!

Owners response: I have been leasing my home since 2005 and have had the privilege of accommodating wonderful guests from all over the world, celebrities, and people from all walks of life and social classes—all with different personalities and expectations.
I visit my property on a regular basis and have my maintenance crew do walkthrough inspections in between rentals to insure that the house stays in good condition to meet everyone’s expectations of what a vacation rental should be.
Occasionally, unanticipated maintenance issues come up upon check in or during the course of a rental. When that happens, I address any and all concerns immediately—any of my guests will attest to that.
If something such as a malfunctioning heat thermostat goes unreported, then the problem is not addressed.
If a guest leaves instead of reporting a problem that could be easily addressed immediately, they do so because they choose to leave.
Sadly, some people will say anything to get an unwarranted refund or to get revenge because they did not receive an unwarranted refund.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Malibu Beach Front Home

Review submitted: June 26, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

Location was excellent. About a half of a block from Moon Shadows Resturant and close to all good beaches. There isn't really any usable beach here to swim, but at high tide the water beating against the beach comes right up to the lower deck (nice). Kitchen was well outfitted, but ice maker in freezer didn't work. High speed Internet connection was available in upstairs bedroom which was nice. On an overall basis the property was worth the stay and would stay again. Only negative was the chairs on the deck where unusable due to being dirty and the cusions where soaked. Plus the place could have been cleaner. Not property owners fault, but there is remodeling (hammering) going on right next door.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful view of the dolphins out front.

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: April 26, 2008

Right on the water this house is very relaxing as you hear the sounds of the ocean day and night. We enjoyed the jacuzzi under the house it was very nice feeling the waves pounding the ground while in the hot jacuzzi water.

We didn't mind the PCH traffic with the dolphins, jacuzzi and ocean to distract us. Anything we needed was provided promptly and that was very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review