reviews for: listing #21560 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Lake Anna 400ft of Waterfront, 70 Ft White Sand Beach
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Just Perfect!

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Our family had a fantastic time staying here! The house was very clean and well laid out with plenty of room for our group of 12. There was even enough room for us to all sit at the table together for evening meals. The kitchen was well stocked with all the dishes,pots and pans and cooking utensils you could possibly need. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach, kayaks, swim toys and fire pit. The very private location was a wonderful bonus! This is definitely on the top of our list for a place to return to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful, Relaxing and Welcoming!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We just came back from spending a long-ish weekend (Saturday - Wednesday morning) at Lake Anna, in this terrific property. We found the owner, Lori, to be very communicative and welcoming. She nicely handled our last minute rental, and was very prompt with emails and information. As it was our first time visiting Lake Anna, Lori gave us lots of recommendations for our visit and they were most appreciated. The house is located on the private side and is very nicely furnished, and equipped. Also very clean and up to date. The beds were comfy and there were plenty of pillows and blankets available. We really liked the lay-out of the house - 3 bedrooms and two baths on the main level, along with a fully equipped kitchen, big dining table, and spacious family room. There were two more bedrooms and a bath downstairs, along with a laundry room, and a second large family room with big screen tv and pingpong table. All of this had GORGEOUS views of the lake. There was a cool firepit area, with firewood available nearby; a sandy beach; and a really nice boathouse and dock. Lori allowed us the use of 2 kayaks, another small boat (bottom of a sailfish), and plenty of life vests. The house is approached via a very long driveway, and is located on a small cove. We loved our visit and very much hope to come back again. If our children had any say, we would buy this house and property today (except it isn't for sale!) -- they loved it that much! Thank you Lori!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous Waterfront, Amenities Galore

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Fantastic waterfront amenities including the fire pit, expansive dock, sandy beach, kayaks, and quiet cove. We all enjoyed the clean, beautifully decorated house with lots of kitchen appliances, spices, etc., linens provided, and room for lots of adults/kids to spread out. The kids loved the ping pong table, kayaks, fishing, fire pit and sunroom/deck for their own eating area. The adults loved having the kids kept busy!! The huge, circular driveway is awesome for turning with our boat and backing down the on-site ramp. You've got a gem here and everyone can appreciate the warm, serene waters and peaceful atmosphere of this private setting! Thanks for great communication with Lori and coordination for a super duper weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just wonderful!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

The house was a perfect fit for us! It was beautiful, roomy and casual. The view of the lake was seen from every room . There were 9 of us, all adults, and there was plenty of room to play games, sit around the fire pit or lounge on the beach. This was our first trip to Lake Anna but won't be our last. Already booking the house for next year and considering a trip with our kids and grand kids! The owner was very friendly and made you feel at home. Check out the Lake Anna Winery, wine tasting was fun! Monticello is worth the drive! Great get a way weekend!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This home is absolutely beautiful . We have been to Lake Anna many times, but this was by far our most memorable vacation . The location is perfect, with breathtaking views from almost every room in the house. My children loved the beach and kayaking, and my husband fished from the dock daily. We will definitely stay here again. The owner was also very easy to communicate with and had thought of everything . If you're looking for complete relaxation and serenity ...you've found it!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Camellia!
Lori

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Lori's place was amazing. I went with 9 friends for new years and we had an amazing time. The entire property is perfect and I'm sure it's even better in the summer when you can enjoy the beautiful lake.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely vacation!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We just came back from this beautiful house in Lake Anna a couple of weeks ago (we were there June 9-16th) and we had an amazing time. There were three families with young kids, and everyone had a blast. The beach area was perfect for the little kids and the kayak was a big hit, too. The space was perfect for everyone, and we all agreed that the pictures did not do the house any justice. We loved every moment, and are so glad we found Lori's house. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This was a fabulous place to get away from it all and really relax! House had everything we needed, was clean & had a great layout. The view of the lake each morning was beautiful! Our group consisted of two families - 4 adults & 7 kids - and we had plenty of room. Some of the activities we enjoyed at the house were: fishing, kayaking/canoeing (kayaks were there & we brought a canoe), swimming, fishing, cooking out on the deck, gathering around a fire in the firepit at night, and more. This house is on the private side of the lake so it was very quiet... which was great. The only downside to the private side was that we had a hard time finding a place to rent us a boat. Apparently that is a little harder to find on the private side. Although I do see that one of the previous reviewers did find a place to rent a boat. The house is on a large lot so there was plenty of room for the kids to play outside. Lots to do around Lake Anna area too. We visited Monticello and Charlottesville while we were there. They were only about an hour away. Will definitely come back!! One last important thing - the owner, Lori, was excellent!!! She was very accessible and always eager to offer suggestions and recommendations for our trip! Highly recommend this rental!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Priceless Family Time

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We had a great week at this property. It had everything that was promised and more. Our children live in DC,Jersey, Colorado and in VA, what a great place for us to all get together! We will definitely return. We rented a boat for a few days from Lake Anna Marina which was a great experience. We also visited some of the local wineries and spent the day in Charlottsville. We will definitely recommend this property. Thanks Lori!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sweet 1st trip to Lake Anna

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

WoW! What an awesome place for a vacation. We are from Eastern PA. and have been vacationing at Lake Raystown in Central PA for about 5+ years. We always thought it was a great place until our reservations somehow got deleted and we ended up with no place to vacation. Our friends that we vacation with actually found this house on the computer. It looked nice from the pics so we got lucky and booked it in March. Let me just say that July couldn't come soon enough after seeing the pictures on the computer. When we arrived and started following the driveway through the woods I was beginning to get that "Deliverance" feeling until we got to the clearing and saw the house and the lake. I have never had a more relaxing vacation in my life. Having the boat under cover in the boat house, the fabulous dock, the beach and all the amenities in the house and on the property, it was the best week. Eventhough the the water was extremely warm it was a wonderful time. The sunrise & sunsets were truly amazing from the deck as were dinners in the screened in porch. The owners were wonderful, the refrigerator began leaking from the ice maker and within a day there was a new refrigerator installed. There was so much to do around the area there is no way anyone could be bored during their stay. The lake was fabulous, we saw less boats in a week than we normally see in a day at Lake Raystown. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you very much for remembering us!!!
Lori

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our First Trip to Lake Anna

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Just wanted to thank you for the use of your house. I believe we have made a true fisherman out of my 3 year old. All he wanted to do was fish from the dock and I felt comfortable since the water isnt very deep. The set up of your house could not have been more child friendly for our 7 month old as well since it was very open and had a door we could close by the stairs. We really had a wonderful time wish we had discovered the lake sooner. We hope to be back again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful home for Large family get aways

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This house was perfect in every way. We traveled with elderly parents that could not do a lot of walking down to infants that were just a year old. The home was set up perfect with everything you needed for comfort on both floors. The teens took over the lower floor while the adults had peace and quite on the upper level. You could get into either level without ever using stairs. The slope to the water was easy for the great grandparents to handle, and the little ones just loved playing on the beach area at the waters edge. During the heat of the day we enjoyed the shade of the boat house or sit in the shade of the screen porch upstairs. Very open house with TV's for everyone to choose their own show. We truly enjoyed our stay here. Thank you Lori for allowing us the use of your beautiful home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Terrific Week

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Our family had a wonderful week at Lori’s lovely Lake Anna home… lots of laugher, good food and fun with perfect weather on top!! The facilities were great for my husband and me, both daughters and their husbands and two fun-loving little grandsons, ages 4 and 6. Our son from Brooklyn also joined us for 4 days and we took him into Fredericksburg to catch a bus back to the Big Apple when he had to return to NYC. The home was spotless and had every amenity one could ever want or need. We rented 2 wave runners on one day and a pontoon boat on another. We enjoyed several campfires, roasted marshmallows for S'mores and hunted frogs at night after dark. Of course, someone was on the dock and/or in the water throughout the day, every day. We made a few trips to the nearby recycle/refuse center and were happy that the Food Lion was fairly close, about 8 miles, as we made daily trips to pick up this and that. It was a terrific vacation spot and the perfect home for us to share a most memorable summer family vacation!! It was also very nice that the drive home was only a couple of hours.

Owners response: Thanks Marti, we loved have you and the kids there!
Lori

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome House and owner that was very helpful!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

We had the best time at Lake Anna. We live close to Washington, DC and it was very easy to get to. My husband found it to be very relaxing and our kids loved playing on the beach and in the water. They also loved all the games, ping pong table, and extra water toys that the owner had for them to use. The house is well equiped and very clean. What a fabulous house...well worth the money!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Yearly Vacation Spot

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We found Lori's house 4 years ago and have been coming back ever since. This is the one vacation that we can actually sit and relax for the whole trip. I have 3 children who absolutely love swimmig and fishing everyday while we are there. Lori has always been nothing but fabulous to deal with. We will continue to use the lake house for many years to come!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This was the third Lake Anna rental property we've stayed at & we'd highly recommend it! The location on the private side of the lake (highly desirable) was excellent and the amenities quite nice. The beach & dock proved to be the real highlight--especially with kids. There's no boat traffic in front of the property and the sandy area & big dock with covered slip made it great for everyone. The home is very flexible in terms of guest bedrooms with the 4-person bunk room for the kids downstairs and three large bedrooms (one with two twin beds) for the adults. We did find slight maintenance issues & the owner has been very responsive in ensuring the property is back to perfect condition. We'd highly recommend this vacation rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This was the third Lake Anna rental property we've stayed at & we'd highly recommend it! The location on the private side of the lake (highly desirable) was excellent and the amenities quite nice. The beach & dock proved to be the real highlight--especially with kids. There's no boat traffic in front of the property and the sandy area & big dock with covered slip made it great for everyone. The home is very flexible in terms of guest bedrooms with the 4-person bunk room for the kids downstairs and three large bedrooms (one with two twin beds) for the adults. We did find slight maintenance issues & the owner has been very responsive in ensuring the property is back to perfect condition. We'd highly recommend this vacation rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Lake Anna House we have rented

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We have been visiting Lake Anna for 4 years now with family and friends. We are a family of 4 that always invites friends and other family members down to stay with us while we are at the Lake. We were looking for a house that could accomodate our large group when my wife found this property. It has everything that we were looking for in a rental. It has been the best rental property we have had in our 4 years of vacationing at Lake Anna. This property is new and has been very well cared for by the owners. It was very clean upon our arrival and the grounds had been well manicured. This is very important to us and we had problems with receiving clean houses for our other rentals. Not in the case of this property. All of the rooms in the house are very comfortable. The dining area can accomodate large groups for meals and the kitchen was well equipped and spacious. The kids loved the game room area downstairs that includes a TV with video games. While outside, our family would spend most of our time gathering at the dock and swimming in the water right off the beach. The dock has a boat space reserved for renters and it is covered and well lit for night time docking. The property also has a dedicated boat ramp as well as plenty of storage area for trailers and PWC's. We managed to utilize the fire pit at least two nights while down for our stay. The owners have plenty of wood available for renters. The property is very secluded and is surrounded by mature trees that offer summer relief with shade if so desired.
You will really enjoy working with the owners. Anytime we send her a message inquiring about the property she will return our e-mails immediately. She is very determined to make sure your stay at their property goes as well as it possibly can go. Her goal is to exceed your expectations and have your stay be as enjoyable for your family as it can possibly be while on vacation.
We endorse this property and highly recommend you consider it for your rental needs. We will not look at another property when we consider vacationing at Lake Anna.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review