reviews for: listing #21583 - North Captiva Island, Florida House rental

"Seawatch" on the Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Safety Harbor Club
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

My New Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We have one more day at Seawatch, so I thought we would write a review now, while relaxing on the boat dock, instead of trying to remember when I finally get home. First off the owner gave us a great tip, mail our grocery list to the local Publix ahead of time so that it can be picked up on the way to the marina from the airport. Great tip, use it.


If you are looking for a home away from home this is the place. We have been here for 6 days and have enjoyed every minute. The kitchen is stocked, furniture is clean and in good condition. We have eaten breakfast and lunch on the beach everyday. We have eaten at Barnacle Phil's and the Over the Waterfront restaurant, both were delicious, but bringing groceries saved us a ton of money.


We walked several times to the nature reserve to check out the local flora and fauna. It is about a 25 minute walk, but it was great taking in the scenery along the way. We did walk to the Safety Harbor Club several times as well to check out the boats and the pool. The beach at the house is incredible, living so far inland at home means I don't get to see the ocean much, let alone caribbean waters, so having it right at my doorstep is amazing. They have a great amount of info on their website that suggests activities and outlines available equipment to make your own adventure. It was good knowing about the bicycles and sea kayaks in addition to the golf cart provided with the rental.


As I said before the house has some fun toys to use while at the house: bicycles, sea kayaks, golf carts, fishing rods… my husband convinced me to try my hand at fishing off the deep water dock and I managed to catch dinner. I was beaming!


The only small negative was not being able to open the bayside windows. But we just as easily utilized the screened porch, master bedroom balcony, and the roof to enjoy the outside weather so it wasn't a huge deal. Being outside to watch the sun rise over the water every morning was absolutely breath taking, I can't wait to do it again!


Thanks for a great trip and we will be back when both kids can go diving.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect place for 2 families

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Seawatch was a PERFECT place for our 2 young families.

On arrival day, we were greeted by the house manager, James, who was there to prep the house and give us an island tour on the golf cart. We've stayed at many luxurious rentals before, but we'd never once been greeted by an actual person when we arrived. It was truly a nice, welcoming touch and set the tone for a wonderful week.

The house layout itself could not have been more perfect for our families. There is one master and another bedroom on the main floor, and a master and another bedroom on the floor above. It was ideal for our 2 families, as we have small children, and we each had close access to our kids at night, while still having our own "family" space. The kitchen is huge and worked great for meal prep. We rarely even noticed the 4 children under 5 years old running underfoot. :)

We also loved that the floors are tile (rather than carpet), so we knew they were clean.

Seawatch's "backyard" with both a beach and a dock was wonderful for us, since we brought our boat. It was easy to tie up, and the fishing off the dock was incredible. We saw dolphins almost constantly from Seawatch (no exaggeration!), to the point that when we'd tell the kids, "Look, dolphins!" they weren't even impressed by the 2nd day. :)

A fantastic house, location and once-in-a-lifetime experience on North Captiva!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved Seawatch

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

This is our first time on North Captiva Island and we loved it. The dolphins play right in front of the house off the dock. We caught a bunch of fish right off the dock and the view is amazing. Jeff, the owner was very responsive to all of my questions - either by phone or email. The house sits right on the beach and is very private. The kitchen has everything you need to feed a large crowd with a huge family room for gathering. I recommend this house to anyone and will try to come back myself!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEST VACATION HOME EVER!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing! This house was AMAZING! After looking over the pictures and the video on the website, I figured it would be a nice place to stay, but the pictures just don't do it justice. This place has the best views imaginable and the island is simply enchanting. I have never felt more relaxed than I did during my stay.

The house was immaculately clean... similar to a nice hotel (with fan-folded towels & pointed-tip teepee, to boot!). It had everything we needed there: a fully-stocked kitchen (minus the food & beverages, of course), books, games, dvd's... you name it. Not to mention the kayaks and other beach amenities that Seawatch provides; there's something for everyone.

The beach felt very private. The white sand was nicely raked when we arrived, the way they do at the finer beach resorts in Florida. And while I don't do any fishing myself, I did see the neighbor on the dock next door catch quite a few large fish in a very short time.

The restaurants on the island were great, too, and all the staff very friendly. And having everyone on the island driving around in golf carts made me feel as if I were on Fantasy Island.

I will definitely be recommending Seawatch to anybody I know who's wanting a relaxing vacation.... whether a romantic get-away, or a family vacation with kids...even all the way from California (where I'm from)!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seamless Vacation is Incredible!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

My wife and I had never been to the area before. We travelled with our 2-daughters who are in college and their boyfriends. For me, I always worry about a vacation becoming more exhausting than a week at work. I chose Seawatch because of its seamless vacation option. To summarize: we all flew together and arrived at airport and a car was already waiting for us, we stopped at Publix which is a fantastic grocery store, the taxi then continued directly to the private boat charter, which took us directly to the seawatch dock! I think we gained about 1/2-a-day and all with zero stress. While we didn't need help in carrying bags, having a private car and boat charter meant that there were friendly individuals around to assist us if we needed. I thought the private charter would be more expensive, but infact if you have a group of 6 or more, it actually may be cheaper than the scheduled taxi. What was great is the ability to undock right at the house. As it was extremely rare to find a home with this feature. Im a total type-A personality, I obsess about cleanliness and Seawatch exceeded my expectations! Overall we had a great time and will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Well Maintained, Clean, & Loved the Private Dock

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

When my family travels to the beach, we don't want to travel again from our rental house to the beach. Having the ability to walk out the door and be directly on the beach was crucial for us, and Seawatch delivered. My husband and I sitting on Seawatch's beach, drinking morning coffee, watching the sun rise, is a moment that I will remember forever. While staying on north captiva, access to the private club is crucial, I personally wouldn't rent a house that does not have this feature. Seawatch includes access to a private club, and we liked that it provided us with the option to get out in a social environment, going out to dinner, spending time in the pool. The house is extremely well designed, I think all but one of the bedrooms have an ocean view. For us the great room was perfect for meals and family time. The home appeared to be well maintained and was very clean.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEST VACATION HOME WE EVER STAYED IN

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Seawatch is a wonderful place! Being on a powder sand beach you have sunbathing while watching the dolphin feed around the deep water dock. We enjoyed the sea kayaks that come with the house as well as life jackets and our membership at Safety Harbor Club provided us with a clubhouse, tennis courts, beach pavilion, and fresh water pool all just minutes away. The 4 bedroom home has two separate suites, two additional bedrooms, plus 2.5 tiled baths with a tub and so much more. The three screened porches, two sun decks, the picnic grove, and barbecue made the place a delight. The mornings allowed us to enjoy the sun as it rose over the bay to the east while the great room and dining room allowed us to view the expansive panorama of the beaches, palms and sailboats coming up the inter coastal waterway about three miles offshore. North Captiva Island is a real marvel, with the shelling and relatively deserted gulf beaches located adjacent to Seawatch. The bay beaches are crystal clear just like the Caribbean! The well equipped kitchen 's ideal for preparing family dinners, and the restaurants offered options for excellent meals out. This amazing place was as great as advertised and so much more!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MOST WONDERFUL BEACH HOUSE

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

-My stay at sea watch was fantastic.we fed on oysters and all the fish we could eat,caught right off the sea watch dock.our travels around the island helped us discover a host of wildlife encluding: porpioses, sea otters,manetees and their cubs,pelicans,heran,,osprey in their nests,eagles,along with flocks of seagulls and other shore birds.seawatch was outstanding,with spacious rooms ,each with sea views,all with baths nearby. the kithen was well equipped for family meals,with the island restaurants providing delicious meals at moderate prices.The management paid extreme attention to detail,available for our questions,and provided us a spotless home. we have traveled throughout the us and abroad and have never had such a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Place for our mother/daughter getaway

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

My mom and I had a wonderful time at Seawatch. I have never seen a family of manatee, or dolphins before. It was a wonderful experience for both me and my mom. The home was beautiful, the views breathtaking, the seafood was fresh and amazing. Thank you for making our trip a trip of a life time. Thank you, Nicole C. Columbia MO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic couples getaway!

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

My husband and I came to get away and that we did! We loved not having a car and being on our own private island. The house is relaxing and comfortable, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed having breakfast watching the sun come up. It was great to be able to make our own food and we really felt like we were in our own home. The restaurants on the island were tasty as well, but we preferred staying in our own little island oasis.


Jeff made the stay easy and pleasant, giving us great tips on acquiring groceries and the great kayaks, golf cart, clubhouse etc..! You will not run out of things to do! My favorite was reading my book on the dock :)


I would most certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a great vacation! The house is spacious enough for lots of people but not too large for just us two! With your own private beach you couldn't ask for anything better!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEWARE! THIS HOUSE IS FILTHY, BUG INFESTED AND FILLED WITH MOLD!!!!!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The description of this home is misleading. While the home has a great fishing dock, the rest of the house is a nightmare. The golf carts are broken, the appliances do not work, the cabinets are filled with bugs. The house has black mold in the closets that I am convinced caused my son to have breathing problems and be rushed off by boat to the emergency room. The owner, Jeff, was responsive at first, but realized that we were very upset and then started ignoring all of our calls and text messages. We checked around on the island and he has a reputation for a poorly maintained home and is not a good man to work with. We spent 2 days cleaning this home before our children could play safely and comfortably. We also had to fix things like the lights, the golf cart, the fishing poles, the appliances (which are taped together). There are signs on everything in the home stating what you need to do in order to make them work because they are broken. As you know, once you are on the island, you get what you get. Unfortunately, we had no place to go. Our annual trip to our favorite island was ruined! We asked Jeff to do the right thing by compensating us for the time that we spent cleaning and fixing his home. We asked for the money back that we paid for the extra broken down golf cart. Jeff just ignored us. He is not a good man and should be ashamed of himself. The cleaning services that works on the home even admits that this man is too cheap to pay for a deep cleaning. You will find bugs and filth everywhere. It is truly disgusting. His excuse was that this is an island home. We were not fooled. We have stayed in many homes on this island and know many people that live and visit there. The problems with this home are beyond it being on an island. The problems are due to a homeowner that has no interest in the property and truly neglects it. I am sure that Jeff will try to twist this to make is sound like we were not good people and unreasonable, but my family is a very honest. We are a family that tries to make the best out of every situation. We are not a family to complain. We have pictures and videos of our nightmare to support our claim.

Owners response: this is a response to two consecutive weeks of tenancy in june,2013.unfortunitly,they were unhappy guests.firstly, the house comes with only one golf cart.All appliances worked fine,encluding the microwave which the tenants themselves broke.There were NO bugs anywhere. We have a pest control contract with safety harbor club.There is no black mold Until this two week report,i have no reports of this matter, for the 45 weeks rented in 2012 or the begining of 2013.Additionally,i have NEVER over the 19 years of sea watch management, had a report of a tenant being rushed off the Island for emergency treatment.Their emails were responded to,as a matter of record from my or my assistants computer or by phone in a mannerly way.I have been in the rental business for 38 years and am respectful and do not have the reputation professed in the tenant review.To be of additional assistance,a second maid was provided,who worked an extra 7 hours to meet.If there were signs around they were placed there by my maid,so as to further assist my guests and to make their stay a pleasant one. Ed and Diane were the maid and caretaker,who diligenty cleaned and made repairs to Seawatch,for each tenancy.With the exception of these guests,they were commended for their work.It was a shame that the argument with these tenants caused them to give me notice and Quit.the tenant,s representation of me were false.The reader of my response need only read the overwhelming majority of other Seawatch reviews present in this publication.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Best House on North Captiva!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

I live in SW Florida and have been to North Captiva many times. Thus I was tasked with finding a week long rental home for my spouse, other 6-adult friends, and myself. We all wanted to spend a week at a beach front home. To summarize, we had a blast at Seawatch. We rented a boat and it is hard for me to describe how incredible it was to drive the boat right up to Seawatch's own dock. It just saved us each time and made each us feel like a celebrity. The house was perfect for us. We wanted a location where we could come together and have a night of wine and fantastic conversation, yet the ability to have privacy if someone wanted. How the house is set up, we all were incredibly comfortable and relaxed. We had a boat to fish and explore, but one featured we loved is fishing off of Seawatch's own dock. I think there were more fish caught off the dock, than when we took the boat out. It was just a nice way for a couple friends to have a couple beers, relax, and create memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing Experience

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

It was great to get away from the high strung politics of our Nation's capital. If you are an early riser you will appreciate being able to watch the sun rise in the morning, I know I did, it was so very calming for me...meditative. The house is beautiful and my whole family enjoyed it quite a bit, I particularly enjoyed the serenity of the Wildlife Refuge. My family and I definitely plan to come back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Maintenance Nightmare

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

I'm giving one star due to the owner's very poor response to the maintenance issues we encountered during our stay. The third night, it rained and the ceiling leaked in the main level king bedroom onto the bed. We called the owner the next morning and he wanted to run through the other items that could have caused the leak (the hole in the upstairs bathtub that's been patched, the air conditioner condenser, or the roof tiles on the flat part of the roof). We figured out it must be the roof. My husband and I then spent the remainder of the day dealing with this problem by going by the Safety Harbor office twice; waiting at the house for them to come by and then later again for another maintenance man. All the people on the island we spoke to had the same things to say about the owner and his house. He doesn't take care of the problems and he doesn't like to pay for maintenance services. Not only does the roof leak but you can hear water running down the walls from the air conditioner (can't imagine the mold issues lurking there), the patio screen needs to be replaced (the rips in screen allow hundreds of black flies in) and he needs to stop the brown, rusty, liquid that seeps from the middle level down onto the screen on the ground level. It's so disgusting!
The owner said he would have someone out from the mainland by the following day to fix the roof. The next day came, it rained again, and the roof leaked onto the bed again! But no response from the owner, and no person from the mainland to fix it. When my husband asked for recompense for loss of vacation time and our general aggravation, he said "no". Then he said "we should just move the king bed that is in the room out into the living room"! Then he finally said, "well, I'll buy you and your wife lunch". Are you kidding? I can't believe he said all that! I can't make it up! The owner made such a big deal about mailing the rent checks to him overnight at my cost and and yet he can use regular mail to refund my security deposit and doesn't mail it for a week. He got all my money and I have no recourse. I love the island however I will not rent from him again. He's also trying to sell the house. Whoever seriously considers buying it better have a good home inspector! A couple of other things...The dryer never shuts off and there are only a few drinking glasses.

Owners response: My response to the only leak, which was the AC, was immediate. The Island Phones were out due to the previous night's storm. Consequently, I asked the tenant to drive 2 minutes to the Safety Habor Club Office and ask for immediate repair of the AC leak. The leak was fixed ASAP. Like all the homes in North Captiva Island, we are limited by the number of repair technicians and their schedules. Being a member of Safety Harbor Club our repair requests are usually given priority. The roof did not leak, the only repair needed was to open up the AC drain pipe. It had been overused due to the excessively low temperatures required by our guests. All of the roof conversation was unnecessary as the problem had nothing to do with the roof but was instead due to the overuse of the AC unit. I thought my most useful conversation with the guest was to mention that they had the option to move to the available queen bed located in the neighboring bedroom. Later on my housekeeper, Dianne, checked the dripping in question which occurred at the foot of the king bed and reported that no leakage occurred except at the top of the bedspread which could have been completely remedied by placing a beach towel on top of the spread. The problem was quite miniscule.

About repairs in question, Seawatch has been successfully inspected by the Lee County Building Inspection Services, and additionally by Citizens Insurance Company.

At present, there are plenty of drinking glasses but only two remaining wine glasses. The clothes dryer is new but is turned off manually. A Seawatch sale due to the Real Estate Market is doubtful. If this event occurs, future bookings will be respected. When someone rents Seawatch, I hold the house for 4 days to allow the 50% rent plus security deposit to arrive. In the matter of their full security deposit refund, they received it within a week after tenancy even though it is noted in the Rental Agreement Contract that the security deposit may take up to 30 days after tenant departure to be returned.

I did not repay the guest demand of $980 for such a small inconvenience. If the truth be told their review was grossly over-stated, in part false, and in my opinion is aimed at my failure to meet their demand of $980 in compensation. In general I suggest the numerous reviews about Seawatch are read which generally affirm the wonderful times our other guests have had during the previous 18 years of weekly stays at Seawatch.

Best,

Jeff Wood:OWNER

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Gorgeous location on beach, large home, nice outdoor areas

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We stayed at Seawatch in Spring 2013. We have stayed on N. Captiva Island before, and this is the first time we choose a location on the water. The location is certainly the beauty of this house. The beach is large and sandy, with lots of shells, and a nice big dock. We took the Island Girl water taxi right to the Seawatch dock, which was so easy, especially when you are bringing a week's worth of food in coolers, plus luggage, etc. We also enjoyed the Safety Harbor Club pool and beach. Swimming was fine right in front of Seawatch, however watch for strong currents depending on the tides. Also loved the 2 sea kayaks at Seawatch, we took them to Costa Cayo nearby and saw dolphins, rays, sea turtles from the kayaks. Jeffrey, the owner, was responsive to e-mails and easy to reach by phone. We had a problem with the golf carts - neither was working - and Jeffrey promised they'd be repaired quickly. For a couple days, we had no golf cart, which was disappointing. By Tuesday we had a working cart, later that week a brand new cart arrived, which future renters will appreciate. I would recommend that you make sure the second cart is in good repair before paying $275 a week to rent it (Jeffrey refunded our payment for the second cart rental), or just rent one from Safety Harbor Club which you can be sure will be in good shape. Another issue we had was with the master bedroom - the listing says King bed and Queen bed in bedroom 1 - but actually it's a King bed and a dated pullout sofa. Like most any sofa bed, it has a thin mattress and sags under adult weight. It was OK for kids, but would probably not be acceptable for an adult couple. The worst part was we saw many big cockroaches in baths and kitchen. While I understand it is a tropical climate, this was not our first stay on Captiva but it is our first time noticing roaches. I notified the owner of this problem. The listing states "library" - there's a small collection of odd books and many VHS tapes, a few DVDs. Some furnishings are a bit tired and the media center is falling apart and listing to the left. The stair railings are wobbly. The dryer timer is broken - you have to remember to turn it off yourself as it will not automatically turn off - don't forget to do this, or risk a fire. There are only 2 wine glasses in the kitchen. Overall, it was attractively priced and the location was gorgeous, but "Finest Beach Home" is overstated. You get what you pay for, and the beach is wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything was tip-top!

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We had a fabulous time this past week at Seawatch. Everything was tip-top! It was great to get away to relax and the only decision you have to make is what to have for dinner and where to watch the sunset. You will definitely be hearing from us in the future when we can escape back down to North Captiva.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Wow, what a time we had!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our grand kids never stopped fishing, shelling, crabbing, and just beach combing for the entire week. They had the time of their lives. As for the adults, we really enjoyed the entire experience. Peace and tranquility as well as the all the benefits of the infrastructure of North Captiva Island. I especially thought that watching the sun come up over the waters of the bay every morning, was nothing short of spectacular. What a wonderful and moving way to begin your day. We will definitely consider "Seawatch" for our future vacation plans!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The advertisement of the property accurately reflected the property and its amenities.

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The Seawatch house was everything I hoped it would be and more. It was perfect for our family of 10. The house was spacious, well-equiped, and was a perfect distance from the beach, fishing, and the mainland. The owner was very patient and helpful answering my many questions in preparation for our trip (I called him several times). Bob's Island, a combination of golf cart rental, restaurant, and bait store, was a necessity, and the people there were wonderful. The only thing I would like to change about our vacation at Seawatch next year is that I will plan for two weeks rather than one!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

A wonderful place to spend a relaxing week. Even my 4 children loved the house and island. Everything was terrific and we will be back. Jeff, the owner, was responsive and made the experience easy and had all the amenities ready for us to enjoy. Fishing ( right from the dock ) was incredible and the wild life beautiful. Thanks again, Jeff for a fantastic vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Real Vacation

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We have never taken a vacation this wonderful! This huge house has everything you could want or need.
The gorgeous views from the minute we walked in, we were in AWE...The turquoise water, the marine life you can see everything right from the fishing dock. We went home totally rejuvenated. We will be looking forward to our return to SEA WATCH next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

So Beautiful

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

My family stayed at Sea Watch last Fall, We had the best time. Seawatch is such a modern home with wall to wall luxury. So peaceful too. We could see the ocean from every room it was wonderful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Such Beauty Everywhere!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

As soon as we arrived at SeaWatch I was in Awe of the beauty all around us. Not only outdoors but the house was amazing. I have rented other homes on the Beach, but nothing holds even a candle to this home. We could see the ocean from anywhere in the house! The house was extremely clean and well kept. My family and I agree that this vacation at SeaWatch goes down as the best vacation ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

A little piece of heaven for a week!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We loved every minute of our time here at SEAWATCH. My husband and I spent valentines week on the Island. We noticed a lot of the other homes didn't offer the privacy and unobstructed views that SeaWatch offers. This house and the amenities made for a perfect romantic vacation. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Absolutely Breath Taking

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

10

I stayed at Seawatch in January of this year and it was absolutely amazing. One of the best vacations I have ever had. It was the first time in many years that I had a chance to actually fully relax and let go of all the hecticness that is involved with day to day activities. I actually got to sit back and take in all that life really does have to offer. The closeness to nature I felt was second to none. On first arrival I was blessed to watch a pair of dolphins swim about 30 feet from the dock. Walking the beaches without a crowd was such a treat and after exploring the island a bit and seeing the other houses I was sure that I had made the right choice by staying at Seawatch.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Tacky Florida dump

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Where should I start. First off we tried to open the sliding glass doors that overlook the bay but they were locked by the owner and we didn't have a key. The golf cart didn't work. The Internet didn't work. Worst of all when we used the upstairs bath tub it leaked through the kitchen ceiling while we were cooking dinner. Yes disgusting!!! When the owner was informed he not only did nothing to remedy the problems he hung up on me. Definitely not worth the price. I suggest staying anywhere else.

Owners response: Well As this very disrespectful tenant stated...Where should I start? As an experienced property manager for over 38 years,I am happy to say this type of tenant is not the normal for us. These people were rude and destructive the entire time they were here at SeaWatch.
First of all it was in the contract SIGNED BY THE TENANTS that the sliding glass panels would not be unlocked for their use. The contract goes on to say that due to the possibility of stormy weather and to control air-conditioning the panels would be locked. Internet issue was reported at the beginning of their stay but was quickly resolved! These tenants actually went to The Safety Harbor Club and began making extreme demands to the manager and screaming at times. This manager is extremely professional and very well respected. He recently stated to me "Where did you find those hillbillies? The last of their destruction also was turned into a false complaint when they said the tub was leaking through the ceiling demanding a plumber at 11:15 at night,WELL,it turns out that they were having a big bubble bath PARTY which flooded the bathroom floor and that leaked into kitchen! It was quoted by my housekeeper as : "After these tenants left Sea Watch, this house was the dirtiest the it has ever been" Lastly, The golf cart not working is a BOLD FACED lie. These tenants were seen and heard riding around the island singing BAUDY songs at BREAKNECK speeds! According to Captain Dan, (the charter Captain)and Sally my housekeeper, these guests without my knowledge or permission transported 3 dogs (one of them unleashed) to SeaWatch. These tenants are every property owners nightmare and will never be allowed to rent Sea Watch again! In the last 15 years my guests have thoroughly enjoyed Sea Watch, a multi million dollar property on a white sandy beach ,with a great fishing dock, on a beautiful island abounding in nature.

Helpful votes: 17 / 20

 

Christmas in paradise

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

Our Christmas vacation with our entire family, all nine of us, was wonderful in every way. The location of the house couldn't be better for nature watching and just chilling out. It was quiet, peaceful and private. The beach, kayaks, golf carts, and lovely house was more than we anticipated. The owner was very helpful, quickly dealing with any small issues that we had. I would recommend this house tp anyone wanting a Gilligan's Island vacation.


The Watts' ----Barrington Hills, Illinois

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Our stay at Seawatch was delightful. We saw manatee, dolphin, sea turtles, land tortoises, star fish, sea urchin, ray, osprey and more. The utterly amazing thing is that all this wildlife is viewed from Seawatches stellar dock or 360 degree all glass main living area. The house had everything anyone could need. Our party included (2) Grandparents (4) adult children and (1) grandchild. We had a fabulous vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Most Amazing Vacaion Ever

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This was the most amazing vacation ever. The house was absolutely beautiful. We would watch the dolphins frolicking in front of the dock while we were upstairs having breakfast! This is truely a unique getaway. There is something on this island for every one. We had our 4 year old grandson who never got bored. I put my chair down on the beach, and he would play for hours. He was either jumping off the dock into the water, or collecting shells along the beach. Of course, we couldn't forget to build the ultimate sandcastle. As for the adults, the Safety Harbor Club pool is just what the doctor ordered after a long day of either fishing or relaxing at the beach. The down stairs patio seemed to be the gathering place for our group. The only time we were in the house was at meal time and to sleep. I would definitely recommend staying at the Seawatch to anyone that is interested. The owner is very accommodating and the house is always clean and fresh. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. We have been staying at the Seawatch twice a year for the last four years and can not wait for our next vacation there. Can not say enough about this wonderful home. Thanks for the memories Jeff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We had the very best family vacation ever! The house was great; the view over the bay was fantastic. Also the fishing off the dock could not be better; as a mater of fact our youngest grandson caught his first fish while we were there. The house was fresh and clean when we arrived so thanks to the folks who maintain Seawatch for you.

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

"Paradise"

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

After finding "Seawatch" on the internet, I contacted her owner. Throughout our talks with the owner, Jeff, and manager, Tracey, we were treated with the utmost respect and honesty. Everything he promised, he provided.
The chartered boat ride to the island provided a beautiful scenic view of the lovely natural habitat that we were about to witness firsthand. Upon disembarking at our landing, we had our golf cart along with a huge trailer awaiting us. We also had another golf cart that Tracey, Jeff's manager, arranged for us to use for a fee.
We rode past a grass airstrip and saw a house that had a fence that rolled back so the airplane could roll right into the garage! WOW! We turned down our road and a few houses down turned into "Seawatch."
It was so lovely, with the palm trees hanging down, the charm of the house bewitched us. Then we went inside! Beautiful, but not in a stuffy don't sit on the furniture kind of way. Comfortable, and the view from the floor to ceiling windows in the great room just doesn't get any better that I know. Each room had charm, like the nice screened porch off the master bedroom upstairs had several chairs facing the ocean and my mom loved it up there because she doesn't like sitting in the sun but could still watch the ocean. The bathrooms were really nice, and there was plenty of privacy as there were eleven of us. Family! The dock at our house was awesome! We fished, especially the men and children, and used the nets to catch things like a starfish! We saw dolphins, stingrays, big fish, and lots of beauty. Every day we watched people fishing, in boats, coming over near our dock, and we were like this must be the fishing place! Well my dad took my husband, brother-in-law and nephew fishing on a private charter and was told we had the best fishing spot on the island!!
My ten year old nephew summed it up pretty well one evening when we were standing on the dock fishing,he said,"Man, this is the BEST vacation of my life!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Beautiful house, beautiful view. A wonderful family vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Fabulous family vacation.

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

The house was exactly as described and probably has the best loctation on the island. The fishing off the Seawatch pier is great, as a matter of fact our youngest grandson caught his first fish there. This was the first vacation we have taken as a family since our daughters were married. My wife and I were concerned whether our sons in law would enjoy a location that had no cars etc. we shouldn't have worried, they had a blast especially with the sea kayaks, fishing and the opportunity to relax and catch up on some reading.
Great vacation, we are looking forward to next year.

Best regard,
Judy and Don B.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Burgetts

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We had the very best family vacation ever! The house was great; the view over the bay was fantastic. Also the fishing off the dock could not be better; as a matter of fact our youngest Grandson caught his first fish while we were there.

By the way, the house was fresh and clean when we arrived so thanks to the folks who maintain Seawatch for you.

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home.

Best regards,
The Burgetts

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

I stayed at Seawatch in January of this year and it was absolutely amazing. One of the best vacations I have ever had. It was the first time in many years that I had a chance to actually fully relax and let go of all the hecticness that is involved with day to day activities. I actually got to sit back and take in all that life really does have to offer. The closeness to nature I felt was second to none. On first arrival I was blessed to watch a pair of dolphins swim about 30 feet from the dock. Walking the beaches without a crowd was such a treat and after exploring the island a bit and seeing the other houses I was sure that I had made the right choice by staying at Seawatch. The views are spectacular and nothing else on the island seemed to have the proximity and amenities that Seawatch had to offer. I would definitely recommend this destination to anyone and will be staying again as soon as I can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Disappointing Experience in a Beautiful Property

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We stayed at the Seawatch for a week last June. The house and ammenities were perfect for our group. However, the property manager neglected to arrange garbage removal for the house, and it was filled with bugs due to floor-to-ceiling hot maggot-filled garbage in the closet under the house. We had to get the refuse out of the housee ourselves.

The 2nd golf cart broke down on the third day of our stay, and the door to the screened patio on the first floor fell off it's rusted hinges.

No attempt was made to rectify our disappointing experience by the property manager. Then, or a year later when we planned to return to the island.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Beautiful Property Very Poorly Managed

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We stayed at the Seawatch for a week last June. The house and ammenities were perfect for our group. However, the property manager neglected to arrange garbage removal for the house, and it was filled with bugs due to floor-to-ceiling hot maggot-filled garbage in the closet under the house. We had to get the refuse out of the housee ourselves.

The 2nd golf cart broke down on the third day of our stay, and the door to the screened patio on the first floor fell off it's rusted hinges.

No attempt was made to rectify our disappointing experience by the property manager. Then, or a year later when we planned to return to the island.

Owners response: why did you plan to return a second time? the manager tells us the garbage was scheduled for 2 days after your arrival for pick-up and located in a room seperate from the house and this review was submitted when he refused do discount the rent below an acceptable seawatch rate.

Helpful votes: 9 / 12

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

I stayed at Seawatch in January of this year and it was absolutely amazing. One of the best vacations I have ever had. It was the first time in many years that I had a chance to actually fully relax and let go of all the hecticness that is involved with day to day activities. I actually got to sit back and take in all that life really does have to offer. The closeness to nature I felt was second to none. On first arrival I was blessed to watch a pair of dolphins swim about 30 feet from the dock. Walking the beaches without a crowd was such a treat and after exploring the island a bit and seeing the other houses I was sure that I had made the right choice by staying at Seawatch. The views are spectacular and nothing else on the island seemed to have the proximity and amenities that Seawatch had to offer. I would definitely recommend this destination to anyone and will be staying again as soon as I can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review