reviews for: listing #21759 - Deep Creek Lake, Maryland Cabin rental

Mystic Mountain/Quiet & Secluded/Mt Top/Beautiful 30 mi view
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $187 - $187 /nt
    $850 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Heaven!!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2014

Absolutely Epic. My wife and 2 boys new Vacation spot. The jacuzzi and views of the stars were breathtaking! I truly recommend this Cabin to anyone who loves Silence and Total seclusion. The pictures on website are beautiful but don't do the actual cabin and surroundings justice. Amazing is an understatement. Hands-down, Our future vacation Spot...2nd to None.Thanks Laura for the friendly hospitality!

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We do our best to make sure you have a great vacation. You are welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Spring Break

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

We are a family of five . My husband wanted to visit some of western Maryland's state parks for spring break so we looked around. We do not like touristy areas, we like to get away and relax. This cabin was perfect for us. My husband worked with Laura before our stay and everything was easily done. We arrived and settled right in. Everything was just as described in the listing. The cabin was perfectly clean and we settled in for a campfire that night. During the day we visited Deep Creek state park and lake, Oakland, Firefly Creamery, New Germany State park Swallow Falls state park and Herrington Manor state park. My daughters had a delightful time meeting the mules and seeing the chickens. Laura was wonderful to talk to and very easy to work with. If we return to this area, I would definitely check on this availability.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We do our best to make your stay a great one. You are very much appreciated and are welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect! Exactly what we were looking for.

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Every year my husband and I search for a secluded property to celebrate our anniversary. This may be my favorite place yet. There is a long gravel road up the mountain to get to the cabin so you're well away from any sounds of traffic or people. The view is spectacular, especially from the hot tub. You can see structures in the distance but they're far enough away that it doesn't take away from your privacy, even outdoors. The grounds were maintained well and the cabin was clean and comfortable. I would bring my own cookware because the non-stick surfaces of most of the pans were pretty scratched up, but the kitchen was well stocked otherwise. The pictures showed an old TV but they must have recently purchased a new large flat screen. That was a pleasant surprise. We had a blast playing ping pong too. Thank you Laura, for a perfect weekend. We really didn't want to leave. Scott and Jill Zimmerman

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Enjoyed the hot tub under the stars. Cozy. Friendly owners that only stopped by once for 5 minutes to see if we needed anything. May be the most secluded place on earth. Lol. Sits high on a mountain top. Clean. Comfortable. Hughes indoor fireplace. We were provided with directions to swallow falls and deep creek lake only about 15 min. away. They provide everything for u. We only had to bring 2 extra towels for the hot tub. They even provided firewood for every night we were there all stacked on the porch for the week. Awesome getaway. Wonderful memory. It was our honeymoon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for R&R!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Came here to enjoy a relaxing Mother's day/weekend with my sister & niece, and it was all that and more! The view is breathtaking! We reveled in quiet serenity as we watched a mama doe with her baby as well as turkey graze in the field below. We enjoyed the wonderful hot tub, some ping pong, and just relaxing on the comfortable couches while the rain came down. The cabin was very neat and clean!

The drive to nearby Swallow Falls State Park and Herrington Manor SP was short and sweet, and only 15 minutes to Deep Creek lake, where there are plenty of good restaurants and shops to browse.

The cabin has a full kitchen with everything you need to cook a nice meal, make a margarita (or 2), or even grill out on the bbq.

I will definitely recommend this property to my friends as well as family. Hoping to make it out again next year. I'll pray for less rain so we can enjoy some night time fires around the fire pit!

You can't go wrong staying in this beautiful cabin!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding Get Away!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Rating 5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING GET AWAY!

gramor Abingdon, MD

Review Submitted: April 11, 2009 Date of Stay: April 2009

Super house! Spacious and yet cozy. Owners are genuine hosts - helpful and considerate. Great place to escape to for rest and relaxation. Local to great hiking and Swallow Falls.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mystic Mountain is Tops!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Rating 5 out of 5

We spent a full two summer weeks at Mystic Mt., and rarely had a boring moment. The scenery itself is magnificent and the accommodations both spacious and comfortable. It was enough to sit on the porch swing and enjoy looking out over the farm fields and mountains stretching out far below. But there was also a lot more to enjoy, some of it within an hour’s drive; some requiring a longer trip outside the immediate area.

Foremost in the first category is Swallow Falls State Park, an easy drive from the cabins. Its attractive trails and swiftly flowing waters make it extremely popular with both locals and tourists; you can swim, dive, float, or wade in the park’s waters. The day we were there hundreds of visitors were enjoying these activities, or at least watching others enjoy them. It’s an old-fashioned, relaxed sort of place that seems to appeal to everyone.

My wife and I are culture buffs, and made the most of the region’s many attractions in this regard. The foremost among these are two Frank Lloyd Wright houses in Pennsylvania’s nearby Laurel Hills. These are Kentuck Knob and, especially, Fallingwater, perhaps Wright’s greatest masterpiece. (If you decide to visit the latter, don’t go on a Wednesday, when it’s closed.)

We could mention many other points of interest, but the main point is elsewhere: namely, with the local folks whose generosity and friendliness really made the visit special. Most prominent among them was Laura herself, who could not have been kinder or more thoughtful.

In sum, like other Mystic Mt. visitors, we cannot praise either the place or our hostess too highly. As they say, “you will not be disappointed,” regardless of the length of your stay, and with each season holding its particular attractions.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mystic Mountain is tops!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We spent a full two summer weeks at Mystic Mt., and rarely had a boring moment. The scenery itself is magnificent and the accommodations both spacious and comfortable. It was enough to sit on the porch swing and enjoy looking out over the farm fields and mountains stretching out far below. But there was also a lot more to enjoy, some of it within an hour’s drive; some requiring a longer trip outside the immediate area.

Foremost in the first category is Swallow Falls State Park, an easy drive from the cabins. Its attractive trails and swiftly flowing waters make it extremely popular with both locals and tourists; you can swim, dive, float, or wade in the park’s waters. The day we were there hundreds of visitors were enjoying these activities, or at least watching others enjoy them. It’s an old-fashioned, relaxed sort of place that seems to appeal to everyone.

My wife and I are culture buffs, and made the most of the region’s many attractions in this regard. The foremost among these are two Frank Lloyd Wright houses in Pennsylvania’s nearby Laurel Hills. These are Kentuck Knob and, especially, Fallingwater, perhaps Wright’s greatest masterpiece. (If you decide to visit the latter, don’t go on a Wednesday, when it’s closed.)

We could mention many other points of interest, but the main point is elsewhere: namely, with the local folks whose generosity and friendliness really made the visit special. Most prominent among them was Laura herself, who could not have been kinder or more thoughtful.

In sum, like other Mystic Mt. visitors, we cannot praise either the place or our hostess too highly. As they say, “you will not be disappointed,” regardless of the length of your stay, and with each season holding its particular attractions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

This place was beautiful and very relaxing. I cant wait to go back. You are secluded yet only a few miles away from deep creek lake. i would recommend this to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

OUTSTANDING GET AWAY!

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

Super house! Spacious and yet cozy. Owners are genuine hosts - helpful and considerate. Great place to escape to for rest and relaxation. Local to great hiking and Swallow Falls.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review