reviews for: listing #2180 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Condo rental

Gatlinburg Summit Condo #7206 - NOV $50/nt + tax + clng
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Summit of Gatlinburg
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $50 - $95 /nt
    $300 - $570 /wk

sort by:

run down, will not return

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This condo had beautiful views but that's it. The condo complex and condo is very run down, the furniture smelled like wet pee. The linens smelled dusty like they had been in a closet forever, not clean. We went to cook and found hard food stuck to the pots and pans. That is gross so we ended up eating out all week for an added cost to our trip. Bathroom had mold and mildew on the shower curtain. Pillows need to be replaced so bring your own, also they dont wash the comforter or pillow shams. There are no blanket on the beds so you have to use the comforter i find that gross that some one else has slept with them and now they are on you. This property is now on the maker to be sold, the home owner called and asked if they could show it well we were staying there, we declined.

Owners response: Thanks for the review only wish we had the opportunity to make it right. The guest checked in on June 29th. We called on July 1st. The phone rang once and was forwarded to voice mail. The guest did not bother to call back instead they send an email stating that they would not like to anyone coming through the condo while their personal items are there. No where in the message were we notified that the guest was having issues. It is hard to fix something when you are not aware of there being a problem. We had the carpet and couch steamed cleaned on July 5th before the review was posted. We have this done every 3 months to ensure that our condo is clean. As far as the pots and pans, I will have my property manager look at them and clean them. The blankets are in the drawer of the furniture. The pillow shams and comforters are washed monthly and the blankets are washed after each stay. We will have my property manager replace the shower curtains. We did not know this was a problem.

Thanks for staying with us. We wish we had the opportunity to fix the items that you were not satisfied with instead of finding out through an online review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Views, But the Unit Felt A Little Neglected

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

In general, our family enjoyed the property during our stay. The views were unbeatable, and the kids loved being able to go to the pool and hot tubs.
The condo has space and benefits that you can never get by staying in a hotel, and the price was extremely affordable.
Our only "complaints" were that the unit itself seemed fairly dated in terms of furnishings and decorations. We also found that it wasn't very clean. The picture above the master bed was literally caked in dust. It seemed that cleaning and upkeep had been done "with a lick and a promise."
This fact didn't really impact our experience - we knew that we were not booked into a 5-Star Resort. But we were also thankful that we didn't have an infant or toddler, because we would not have felt comfortable with someone moving/crawling and touching random surfaces.
The kitchen is extremely small. It's functional, but don't expect to have more than 1 person in it at a time!

The owners were extremely helpful in answering any questions and providing directions, etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the review. We have had an annual cleaning done on our condo the second week of April. We tried to get it completed sooner was was unable to due to the lack of availability. The issues stated by our guest has been address. Twice a year we do a deep cleaning on our condo to make sure that our condo is in tip top shape.

Sincerely,
Tracy and David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Value

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

Basic condo with everything you need. The bedrooms are small but have nice furniture. The rest of the condo could use some updating, but everything was clean and functional. Drive up the mountain was a bit longer than expected but we loved that we could access the park without having to drive through a town or lights - it was very scenic and about a 12 minute drive from condo to sugarlands visitor center. View from condo really made everything worth it. I should mention there isn't any cabinet space or place to put your food in the kitchen really, besides the fridge, so if you will be bringing a lot of food that's a consideration. There are also quite a few steps and 3 doors you have to bring your luggage through which was hard for us since we had small children. Master bed was very comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely view of the mountains - a nice place to stay

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We enjoyed spending Thanksgiving with grandkids (who were in another condo in this complex), but we were NOT prepared for so many stairs! This property was clean, no smoky smell, well-stocked for cooking meals. We cooked & ate most of our meals in this condo - which saved a lot of $$ for us.

In future ads, PLEASE indicate that this condo is on the 2nd floor & that there is NO handicap access to that floor. My husband has an artificial limb & fell going down the steps outside because there was no railing beside the walkway. He & I both had difficulty getting all of our food & luggage down from the car in parking lot, down uneven steps, then back up 2 flights of stairs. I should have asked about handicap access, but didn't.

I would recommend this property to anyone who is in good physical shape to climb stairs with a full load. Thanks for making it available for our family gathering!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

beautiful!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Condo was beautiful. It was up high in the mountains and had a beautiful view. We were lucky enough to see bears walk right below the balcony (a mom and 3 cubs!). Our kids absolutely loved it. It was clean and well kept. Had everything there we needed. Only thing you may want to bring of your own is coffee :-) the pot is a little outdated. Overall EXCELLENT pick for the price! Best view we have EVER had in all the years that we have gone down and out of all the cabins we have stayed at.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fall vacation

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

The veiw was great!!! The condo was clean. The only real bad thing was alot of steps getting down to the building then alit if steps getting up to the room and I had my disabled mother with me and it was a hard getting her up and down. So if anyone is disabled has trouble walikng or just bad knees I would stsy some where else. Over all nice place to stay and would stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My Stay at this superb location

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

My family and I have stayed here on several other occasions and just want to say that each of our experiences have been GREAT!! We love the location, the view, the fact that the unit is fully furnished and has everything you need to help make your stay that much more enjoyable. Once again, Bravo!!!! My hat is tipped to you and your location.....

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

disappointing

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

We loved the views and the pools. The drive was a little far from town. The building and the condo unit both need some TLC. The doors and woodwork were dirty. The bathrooms were dirty with a lot of mildew and dirt on the baseboards and around the showers. The recliner was broken. The furniture was beat up. Two of the ceiling fans were so loud you could not use them or shut them off because the chains were broken off. The sliding door windows were filthy. The icemaker did not work properly.The carpet needs serious cleaning around all the edges. The sofa had a bad odor. The wallpaper is peeling off. For the price I paid, I expected more of a nice hotel feel. It just gave us the feeling the owner had an "I don't care" attitude. Very disappointed and will not return.

Owners response: Thanks for the review. I talked to my maintenance person and none of these issues were reported to him or us. If we would have been notified all the issues above would have been addressed immediately. We take pride in our condo and a majority of the reviews are postive. We will talk with our property manager and have the cleaning issues addressed. We rely on our guest to report any problems they may have. It is hard for our property manager to identify these issues because they do not sit in the recliner, use the ceiling fans or icemaker. We do not have control over the issues with the buildings. This is part of the condo owners association. We can only control the insides of the condo. We called our maintenance person and the issues above have been fixed. The remark about mildew and dirt around the baseboards is not dirt and mildew. It is nicks and scratches in the paint and the wood is showing through. If the maintenance person was called or if we were called all the items would have been fixed that day. We cannot make repairs to our condo if they are not reported to us. That is why we provide each guest with our cell phone numbers as well as the cell phone number of our maintenanace person.

Sincerely,
Tracy and David

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Our family of 6 had a wonderful time. The view was well worth the drive up the mountain. The pool was very nice. We would love to stay again and hope to return. The condo has had some wear that is typical of a vacation rental but still a very nice place to stay and an amazing value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We loved it

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

This condo is just as described, breathtaking views, quite, clean. our family of 5 had more than enough room. We would recommend this for a family vacation for young or old. Seeing the Black bear from the balcony was the highlight of our stay, it is close enough to Gatlinburg but far enough away from all the noise. We are considering returning we liked it so much.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

The condo was in pretty good condition. The furnishings could use a little updating, but it was mostly clean. The heater did not work very well, and the towels smelled like cigarette smoke. The beds were comfortable. Overall it was a nice stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review. We would like to let everyone know that the bedroom furniture in both bedrooms was purchased in the fall of 2009. We just bought a new recliner in August 2010. The couch was purchased in the spring of 2008. We put new pictures on the walls in August 2010. We had the HVAC system looked at and they told us everything is working fine. They said that it is electric heat not gas and it does not blow really hot air until the outside temperature is below freezing. As for the towel smell, we will have a talk with our cleaning person to make sure that the towels smell fresh.

Thanks for the review
David

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great affordable condo

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We stayed here over Christmas and had a wonderful time and when we ran into trouble with the weather--David let us extend our stay with no problems. Very Close to Ober Gatlinburg and no need to go anywhere if you don't want (the pool and hot tub will keep the kids happy). Chalet Village Market is right down the hill and has great pizza. Overall an excellent stay with friendly owners and staff. We would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent condo.

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We stayed at this condo in September. It is very clean and comfortable with a homey feel. The beds were also very comfortable with beautiful views. Off the living room is the balcony. What an amazing view of the mountains, the ski lift to Ober Gatlinburg and you can even see the tram going to Ober Gatlinburg too! My friends relaxed in the hot tubs and the pool. Both are inside, but there is also an outdoor pool. We would highly recommend this condo to anybody and any age. What we really liked about this condo were the amazing views, but the road leading up to the condo is a two laned road and lighted in some places. We plan on staying there again on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

When I stumbled upon this rental I thought " could this price be for real or is there something wrong?". But I was so surprised..what a wonderful place to stay.Perfect size for our family and the view is breathtaking! The furnishings were very comfortable and the grounds were very well kept. My kids loved the outdoor/indoor pools and hot tubs.When my husband told me to find a place in the mountains..I don't think he thought I would literally get us a place on top of a mountain. We would definitely love to stay here again and I have recommended this rental to all my family and friends.Just a short ride to Ober Gatlinburg amusement park,Cade's Cove and downtown Gatlinburg and through the tunnel back to Pidgeon Forge.And I would recomend Geno's Pizza...they delivered all the way up to the mountain and it was great for the first night there to relax. I cannot say enough about this rental..except..all the people who decide to stay in downtown Gatlinburg cannot possibly understand the true beauty and grace of the Smoky Mountains until you see it from above and really take it in. When you are above where the hawks are soaring...you can get an understanding of the beauty of this place. Love the condo!!!! Is first on my list to go back to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

My family just stayed in this condo over the weekend. The view is magnificent, you will truly feel like you are at the top of the world. Our kids really liked the indoor pool and hot tub.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: November 7, 2008

This was a great place. Fireplace with wood - Clean, Refrigerator, dishwasher, 4 slice toaster Clean oven and Stove top. Microwave .The view was breathtaking.

I would recommend this place to anyone - .It was wonderful,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

VIEWS WERE AMAZING , LOCATION WAS EXCELLENT. THE CONDO WAS AS DESCRIBED PLENTY OF ROOM FOR 2ADULTS W/2 KIDS .POOLS AND ON SITE FACILITIES WERE ALSO BETTER THAN OTHERS WE LOOKED AT . WOULD STAY AGAIN

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great family get-a-way

Review submitted: February 6, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We traveled to Gatlinburg by car and were very happy with the location, size, and cleanliness of the condo. The kitchen has basic amenities; though the dining area is not designed for any children under teen-age size; but, the children did not care.
The view down (& up the other side) of the steep valley was a definite plus. We were there with our grandchildren and the proximity to many activities for both younger and older visitors, and the condition of the condo made this an excellent deal for our short family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 24 / 27

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review