reviews for: listing #21873 - Flagstaff, Arizona House rental

Schloss Krieger - 4 bed/2 bath house in the pines
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mountainaire
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $250 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Be Warned!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

The property appeared great the day I went to check it out but I was so embarrassed by the condition of the place by the time everyone arrived. Cleanliness and safety is a must and it lacked both on so many levels!!! There were so many issues with the condition of the property which I have been told are repaired at this point but, it doesn't change the experience that these anyone had. Even being told "checkout and be refunded the difference"! No one plans their vacation, trying to get several of the family members. Everyone can expect certain things to happen but when the "owner" is not very quick to get it fixed, that is a red flag! The internet was horrible but I wonder if having it "open" to the neighborhood was making it possible for all of the neighbors to use it, therefore slowing it down?? Be warned if you choose this place. Bring extra fans if you are visiting in the summer. 1. Be prepared to haul off your own trash at the end of your stay. Don't count on the jacuzzi working. Bring your own air-mattress. If propane grilling is important to you, make sure you haul your own in. Extra chairs for the patio too. I hope that issues really have been resolved so that future customers would be happy with their stay but I could not see recommending this place to anyone! It was like going to the dentist and having to pull my own teeth. I was told that "you received a discount" WELL, yes, but my question would be this: If you get your tires on sale and they blow out causing you to wreck, how would you like it if the tire store told you "well, you got a discount"??? Shocked by the lack of concern until I hounded her on behalf of my clients. She did give a small refund but what is most frustrating is that the experience during the vacation wasted so much of their time. Everyone would rather have had a great time like the other places they have stayed then to have a refund! I learned my lesson. I've backpacked in better conditions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin at a great value!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

I brought a group of young adults from Phoenix up to Flagstaff for a weekend of fun in the snow and we all had a blast! The cabin was perfect for us. It had plenty of room, a nice kitchen, an awesome Jacuzzi room, comfortable beds, and great views of the forest outside! It looked good in the pictures but even better in real life. It backs up to a hill which was covered with snow and provided a great place to play in right in our own backyard. At night it was totally dark outside and sitting in the rocking chairs on the patio enjoying the crisp night air and gazing up at the stars through the trees was incredible. I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a nice place to stay at an affordable price. Yes, as you've probably read, the staircase is narrow and a little wabbly, but it definitely supported us all and I thought added some fun personality to the place. Booking the cabin was easy and the property manager was very responsive and accomodating to all of our needs. It is definitely a place that I would go to again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Great Value thats close enough to downtown Flagstaff but still secluded enough to see all the stars at night. Glass wall that overlooks a snowcovered little valley that made it fun for playing in the snow. And a cool bar less than a quarter mile away. Flagstaff was a blast! We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not as expected!

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Earlier reviews of this property are interesting. Anyone who gave this property a good rating needs to get out more. We were very disappointed when we got to the cabin. The advert promised a lot, but instead we found a cabin that we actually deemed unfit – in fact after the first night we booked into a nearby inn and used the house for a day centre for meals, quiet afternoons and laundry. The most alarming thing was the fact that there were no batteries in the ancient and only smoke detector in the whole property – the cover was long gone too. There was also no working carbon monoxide detector either and yet there are gas appliances in the cabin (we did find a non-serviceable unit gathering dust on the fridge). The absence of such detectors in most countries would invalidate a contract and make renting illegal – I am not familiar with Arizona law. The cabin represented the poorest value for money that we encountered on a ten location extended visit to the USA. Listed below are some other points which on their own might seem picky but together make a depressing list. • Even in a safe neighbourhood, an ill fitting wooden pole is not a secure way to lock a screen door. • The stairs to the house didn’t seem very steady and the stairs inside the house were VERY unstable and rickety. The stairs may have been safe in the past but they are an accident waiting to happen! The holes in the plaster... • The parking area is littered with tools and building debris. • The curtains in one bedroom do not stop any light at all. • The deck and woodwork need painting. • The reference to an office is misleading. • The fans are inadequate and need cleaning. These are just the issues that come readily to mind, there were more. The response from the owner was frustrating!

Owners response: Everybody who has seen the house so far loved it. Beautiful kitchen with granite countertops, beautiful views of the National forest, jacuzzi....

The paint on steps and deck does not last in AZ with the sun and snow, it was painted less than 3 years ago and the description of the rental property describe that the staris to the downstairs a little scary however they hold a person over 300lbs.

Smoke detectors batteries were just exchanged and 2 CO2 detector were just installed, one upstairs and one downstairs so the house has now 2 smoke detectors and 2 CO2 detectors. There are no tools and debris in the parking area, the parking are is a driveway. There is an area underneath the deck for storage such as snowshovels, wood etc but that is NOT an parking area, its a storage area for items needed.

The house is very reasonable priced and many people have enjoyed the house. I have made the changes with the smoke and CO2 detector but the house is not a Luxury hotel.

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Flagstaff getaway

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We had a great time. The cabin was beautiful and just what we were looking for. Our daughter had started school at NAU and we brought the family up for a visit. It was fairly close to school and downtown Flagstaff but had the feel of a mountain cabin. We definitely will come again and recommend to other families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stayed

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Love the house, it was cozy and we had a great time. Love the fact that the kids could play outside and we can see them also we just walked up the hill and went sledding. Didn't have to drive anywhere to go sledding. My only thing that was off was The light in the bathroom stopped working and flickered alot. Also the stairs didn't feel stable. Maybe put wooden stairs in. I would come back again just for the sledding. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely place to Stay at

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

I definitely recommend this place, it's cozy, modern, and in a nice quiet neighborhood not far from Flagstaff.

There are 4 bedrooms, a jacuzzi, and a lot of upgrades: wood floors, granite countertops, stone walls in bathroom, large windows overlooking the forest behind the house.

Also, the owner was very nice and easy to deal with, I will look at this place for future stays. The price is also good, a hotel would have costed much more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at this house. There is a nice view out the back windows that cover the back wall of the house and the house has a lot of modern upgrades: Granite countertops, wood floors, stone walls in the bathrooms. There are four bedrooms, 2 full sized/queen beds, 1 king, and 1twin. There is also a jacuzzi. The little villa where it is located is nice and peaceful and not far from Flagstaff. Furthermore, the owner was easy to deal with and very helpful at answering my questions. I definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing, Romantic, or Just Fun

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

During the time we spent at this rental, we were able to enjoy the holiday, the snow, and some fun time with friends. We decided to skip the tradtional Christmas and gather a few people, select a excellent rental with a great view, cozy ambiance, and the comfort and amenities of a 5 star hotel. We relaxed in the Jacuzzi, threw snowballs, played games, watched movies, and cooked our finest Christmas dinner in the spacious kitchen fully furnished with utensils. We had an awesome time and was a bit sad that our time had ended. We look to come back in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Location

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We had a fabulous time at this mountain retreat. The only negatives was the spiral staircase and the house and property was not good for animals. Other than that the house is beautiful, well maintained and in a very good location. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We stayed in the house for 2 evenings. The top level of the house was nice, great views. We did not go down stairs because the stairs were extremely scary and tight. The kids (11 & 8) preferred to sleep upstairs due to the stairs. We found the downstairs area unusable due to the stairs. The upstairs was great though.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review