reviews for: listing #21919 - Sunset Beach, Hawaii House rental

Aloha From The Sunset Beach House, Directly On Sunset Beach!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $950 /nt
    $4,550 - $6,650 /wk
    $18,000 - $24,000 /mth

sort by:

Dream House

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

If you're looking for a top oceanfront private beach home, look no further!!
Our family of 5 loved every minute and wish we could have stayed longer. We did other activities and shopping that required driving to the other side of the island (Waikiki) but we made sure we got back to enjoy the beautiful sunset every night and had some wonderful dinners out on the spacious sun deck. It's breathtaking!
The beach is just footsteps away down a private path to the world famous Sunset Beach.
If you're looking for a dream house, this is it!!
It's almost like a private beach as we didn't see too much of a crowd at all during our full stay.
Cool outdoor beach volleyball court on the side of the house as well with lots of beach sand toys for the kids as well.

thanks Michael for sharing your home with us!

Love808 family!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We returned on Saturday from our wonderful week at your Hawaii house. Our entire family enjoyed it so much. Our son, who is a avid surfer, was in heaven, as the spot was perfect and the waves large. Our daughter, her husband, and our granddaughter (18 months) were so happy to have some rest and relaxation. The house was perfect—location, size, layout, jacuzzi, and in perfect condition. I am sure we will make this an annual or biannual trip! We have been raving to all our friends!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Location....Wonderful House....Great Vacation

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Everything about the house...especially the location....was more than we could have asked for. We had some rainy weather but made the best of it. Your house is full of memories for us.....we celebrated my birthday....and my daughter got engaged right on the beach while we were there. So we will always remember our time at The Sunset Beach House.....and if ever we get the opportunity to return, will definitely stay there again! Thank you."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

The house suited us perfectly, was well stocked and generally lovely. It was an interesting time to be on Sunset. Following the huge waves there was extensive erosion, which had left fantastic pools perfect for the children. We even had the opportunity to chat with an archaeologist who was working on the beach as some pictographs had been uncovered which hadn't been since the 70s! Thank you for the use of your lovely home, we will be sure to recommend it to our friends and family and hope to get back there ourselves one day!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1st Hawaiian Trip

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

For our family vacation we could not have chosen a better property to experience all that Oahu has to offer!!
Ocean front on a beautiful beach is only the begining of what our host and his home has to offer. Outdoor showers, high end entertainment system, secure comfortable living, hot tub,
are only a few the benefits of this piece of paradise!!
Our children are in their mid twenties and they had a once in a lifetime experience learning to surf on the North Shore of Oahu.
We will never forget having our morning coffee on the porch as the waves crashed in front of us as we contemplated our upcoming day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

"We had a wonderful time staying in your home. We will all recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Hawaii. The location, the layout of the house, the beach, the waves, the sound of the waves were all perfect. My mother-in-law especially liked the fresh flowers that were on the counter when we arrived. Thank you for making our vacation memorable. "

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect way to ring in the new year!

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Everything was wonderful at the Sunset Beach House! It has been a perfect place to spend some family time together and to celebrate the new year. Everything was immaculate, and the house was very comfortable for 7 adults.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Beach Front Home!

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The Sunset Beach House was everything I dreamed of but never really expected. I thought the wonderful pictures and reviews surely must be too good to be true, but it only took 30 seconds after opening the front door to realize it was exactly as advertised. It is truly the perfect beach front home. I say "home" because it truly feels like home when you are there. It is designed and decorated with so much attention to detail that you cannot forget for one second that you are in a tropical paradise...as if you could possibly forget with the floor to ceiling views throughout the living area! Not to mention the wonderful deck and jacuzzi!

We had the pleasure of being there during the recent surfing competition and saw some days with 20 foot waves and hundreds of surfers just up the beach. We also had a day calm enough to get some body boards and try a few of the smaller waves just in front of the house, so we had the best of both worlds. It was so beautiful, yet so comfortable that although it was a first time trip to Hawaii for all 6 of us we had a difficult time making ourselves get in the car to explore the island. It would have been a wonderful week even if we had never left the house! The only regret I have is that we couldn't stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

nelson family

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

our family spent 12 days in paradise. the home was beautiful. the beach was quiet and basically private. we never worried about our privacy or security. try the food trucks scattered around the area. they have great food. go sky diving.!! go take the helicopter tour!! it is paradise...Banzai sushi is a must.. the people could not be better...everyone should see this place. Michel could not be easier to deal with. the house is awesome. we are all happy with the decision to stay at sunset beach house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Old Friends

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

8 of us, all couples who have traveled together for many years, just left the Sunset Beach house.
What a great place to stay. 4 couples had plenty of room with excellent bedrooms for all House was absolutely perfect with outstanding beach location. The view from the deck was like being on the beach. You literally walk off the deck onto the beach. Everything was close. Many great restaurants' within 10 minute drive in Haleiwa. We recommend the Sharks Cove (5 minute walk) Looks rough but has great food, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sid the caretaker and Michael the owner were great to work with. You won't regret staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Beautiful Home

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

The house is as beautiful as it is in the pictures and videos. My husband loved the hot tub the best. It was a great location. We really enjoyed the comfort of a home over a hotel. There is plenty of room for everyone. Sunny areas and shady areas. The outside shower is a huge plus. Thank you for your hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Beachfront Home

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful home directly on the beach in the Sunset Area of the North Shore of Oahu. There is no better way to truly experience the beauty and classic hawaiian feel of the North Shore than through a home rental, and there is likely no finer home than this one to have that relaxed and open beach experience. The pictures are dead on, and the owner is extremely proud of his home and happy to help with any questions or follow ups that may be needed. For us, we rented bikes for everyone, and spent our days riding to Waimea Bay in the mornings for swims, riding to Sunset Beach in the evenings for sunsets, and spent the rest of our days lounging on the deck and beach in front ot the house -- could not have been better. Thanks for everything, and we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun Vacation

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

Being from the North Shore I am always excited to go back and visit. The Sunset House is in a perfect location! It has a the most beautiful sunsets and gorgeous beach to walk on. Our family snorkeled, paddle boarded and walked right from the house. The outdoor shower was perfect. The property is large and comfortable. We even played some volleyball. Lots of fun especially with older kids. We were very close to Foodland and other eateries. We had a fantastic time and would recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

The house is as amazing as it looks in all the pictures and videos. My husband loved the hot tub the most. We had an amazing time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Our family had a wonderful week in this lovely home. It is very comfortable, private, romantic, yet close to nearby activities and shopping. The deck and hot tub overlooking the beach make it perfect for outdoor living, from morning coffee to afternoon cocktails and dining. The beach is just steps away. It's perfect for families with young children or teenagers. The owner is very nice and easy to work with. We are looking forward to many return trips to Paradise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunset beach house

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We were a family group of 8 from Australia.
We recently stayed at the Sunset Beach House
It is a beautiful home and we felt so welcome and comfortable there.
It was such a relaxing week and we loved every minute of it.
Being right on the beach with the crystal blue water and swimming with the turtles was a highlight.
We enjoyed it that much that we are discussing returning someday soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Renter

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

This house is a slice of heaven. 100% perfect. Glorious beach . Could not have been better. Clean , perfect location, private, quiet, convenient well appointed - need I say more.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect family house

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Sunset Beach House is a perfect family house and we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. Our family of 8 plus a baby had plenty of space and loved every aspect of the house. The best part was the outdoor deck looking out at the beautiful beach and the easy walk to our own private beach. Because this part of Sunset Beach is fronted by houses and doesn't have a close public access we nearly always had the beach to ourselves. The house was clean and well maintained, the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed, and the tvs and fans in every room were great. This was our first visit to the North Shore, and we loved it. Great house, great location, highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family trip

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

After my mother-in-law passed away more than a year ago my wife decided to use her inheritance to take the entire family on a special vacation. After an extensive search we settled on the Sunset Beach House because it was the perfect size and in the quieter location we sought. Although Oahu is not our favorite Hawaiian island (because of the traffic) we wanted the kids and eldest grandson to experience several of the tourist locations that exist there. This was our first time using the Internet to rent a property and the entire experience could not have been better. Starting with the home owner who is very kind and accommodating to the photos that showed the house very accurately. All the information provided was spot on and all of our expectations were met or exceeded.

Yes the entire experience was wonderful but there are a few items I do want to point out. The aerial photo on the web site is a little older, there is now a house on the side opposite the volleyball/bad mitten court. This is NOT a problem, you are still quite secluded and everything else is absolutely beautiful. Another item was the waves in that area. We did not realize that the waves on the north shore can be so rough. The week before we arrived the waves were 1-3 feet in size but while we were there they were 4-7 feet in size and too strong for the kids, and some of the adults, to swim in. Once again, NOT a problem , a short walk or short drive we found calmer waves for us to get into the ocean. The other surprise was the traffic. We knew how bad it was around Honolulu but the road along the north shore gets very busy and therefore slow moving as well. This is not everywhere in fact we could get to and from the store and Waimea valley and bay without a problem or any real slow down. Going beyond that in either direction just requires some patience.

Finally the other things we did while we were there. We took surfing and paddling boarding lessons and based on the owners suggestion we used Suzy's Surf School. Suzy, Matt, Rosie, Steve and the photographer (forgot his name) were all fantastic and did a great job with all ages. We do suggest buying the photos, they came out great!! We attended Germaine's for our luau (everyone wanted alcohol drinks) which was great but the Polynesian Center is much closer (no alcohol). We strongly suggest the drive north and around the east side of the island, it is beautiful and sometimes faster. The Farmers Market at Waimea Valley on Thursdays, great fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing - Truly Paradise

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We just returned from this amazing house. It is the most perfect setting. I have never stayed anywhere that was so beautiful. The owner is incredibly nice and I cannot image a better place to stay. We are already planning a return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Beach House.

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

The house is nicely located at the end of a pedestrian road. It has a large patio with a direct access to a beautiful beach. The interior is clean and has all the comfort. Overall the house has the touch of a luxury beach cabin in front of a majestic ocean, a little taste of paradise.
We were only 3 in the house and we didn't have any neighbors during our stay. This helps feeling like home and it was ideal, like living in a postal card for a while.

PS. My wife just told me that from the bedrooms in the back of the house, we can overhear the cars nearby. And there is no cars in paradise. She is guessing but I trust her judgement.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

The week we spent at the Sunset Beach House was one we'll never forget. We were travelling with our friends and our kids. 4 adults and 4 children. The house was set up perfectly for us all to have the space needed to be more than comfortable as well as all the amenities we'd ever need for a week away. The property was well maintained and in a great location on the north shore.
Any concerns we had ( which was a minor dishwasher repair ) were addressed with a sense of urgency and our stay was followed up by the local support with phone calls to ensure we were completely satisfied.
The location is close to so many other fantastic day trips that the whole family enjoyed such as hiking, snorkelling, swimming with turtles and surfing that the days seemed long and the week kept getting better as time progressed. We will most certainly return to the north island and would certainly stay at The Sunset Beach House again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place rocks!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My wife and I went there for a short week with 5 friends and we had a blast! This is the perfect beach house. The location is amazing; it's the last house of an uncrowded beach, just half a mile from pipeline. The view from the house is stunning, but be aware that swimming might be dangerous because of the rocks and strong waves (at least at that time of the year, i.e. March). Inside the house, you'll find everything you need. The house is very comfortable and clean, and the jacuzzi is great. What's more, the owner, Michel, has been really kind and helpful. We had an amazing time there and I would warmly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magic Spot

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

What a beautiful Beach house,right on the beach, functional,kitchen well equiped, rooms were comfortable. Sunset beach house meet all our expectations.Thelocation at the end of Ke Iki road made the house quiet and private. Best of all was the deck and spa, coffee inthe morning, looking out for whales, and sundown drinks in the evening watching unbelivable sunsets.
Activities enjoyed by our mob, gliding and parachuting at Dillingham airfield, surfing with Suzy,Luau at the cultural center and Disco at turtle Beach resort. There was also the obigatory shopping expeditions to Honolulu and Waikiki.
We visted a number of restaurants, Grass Skirt Grill, food trucks, Jamesions (highly recommended). But the best was having a BBQ on the deck, and having a few drinks.
Foodland Super market close by was convienent for grocery shooping. Fresh fish can be purchased across the road from foodlands on tuesday and thursday.
In conclusion we had a memorable holiday and hope to return in the near future. We highly recommend
Sunset Beach house for all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Four couples spent a week here and we could not have been happier with the house, the beach, the jacuzzi, the whales, the weather, the North Shore...I could go on and on. It was everything we expected and so much more. The flowers awaiting our arrival were beautiful and the house was exactly what the pictures showed.
The Sunset Beach house is the perfect place to enjoy a Hawaiian vacation. We did not eat out much; we preferred to go get our food and it was handy to have a grocery store just a little way down the road. Any of the Things To Do on Oahu are not terribly far from the house, you can stay as busy or be as laid back as you wish. We went in the winter and the waves were awesome. We saw breaching whales, turtles and down the beach were the surfers. The sunsets were just breathtaking; we watched them sitting on the beach each night and never got tired of the sound of the waves as we went to sleep. If you get up early enough, the moon setting over the ocean is nearly as gorgeous as the sunsets.
We are already planning a return trip and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

The location was optimal for a visit during the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Great setting at the end of the road and nice house. Hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

If you are looking for a true North Shore experience then the Sunset Beach House is for you. The house is casusal, comfortable, not glamorous, but open and airy. You are on the beach, exposed to the North Shore sights, sounds, breezes and it's just steps to an almost private sandy beach. Watch the whales play offshore or catch an amazing sunset with a Mai Tai. Doesn't get much better. The house is simple, but has most everything you need for a nice vacaton. The surf can be big and dangerous during some winter months so it may not be the best choice with toddlers, few beaches on North Shore are really "Kid Friendly" during the winter. You can walk to Pipeline, Waimea Bay, Sunset Beach or several other surf spots and snorkle at Shark's Cove. This is an amazing house during the Big Waves! Enjoy the sunny days, comfortable evenings and nice yard with a volleyball court!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

True hawaiian paradise beach house!!!

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

This house blew away our expectations! It's all that you see and more. Pictures and words cannot describe this home and it's location. The house is nice and spacious. It's decor was perfect for where it is. The house stayed a perfect temperature all day and was even better at night. Listening to the big waves crash on the shore when your in bed was amazing. Now to the best part.....the deck and outside. The deck has amazing views and is topped off with a brand new hot tub!! Just sit back and listen to the great music collection provided. How perfect is it to have your morning coffee on the deck every morning looking at the ocean. Don't like being in the sun all day? Well there are lounge chairs set up near the private walkway to the beach under a tree. You get perfect shade and great views of the ocean. The beach in front of the house is amazing and wide open! And the sunsets....there are no better we ever saw! Every night we saw a perfect sunset from our deck. It's hard to describe the absolute true relaxation you feel staying here! All the sites are close by. There is a food store about 1/2 mile from the house that even sells all your liquor needs. Turtle bay resort is 5 miles away and has nice restaurants and two great golf courses.
So if your looking for a authentic hawaiian beach house that will make you relax to the fullest and fulfill your beachfront needs, then this is your house. Forget the crowded resorts with all the expensive restaurants and rent this home. Trust me you won't regret it!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sunset Beach House -- UNBEATABLE!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Once again we spend another amazing week at Sunset Beach House! We have vacationed here several times during the last 16 years, and it truly is our favorite spot ever.

One of the reasons we love it some much is because SBH is perfect for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation, or a vacation with several couples or friends. The house sleeps eight comfortably, and is completely equipped with everything you need to cook, barbeque, play, entertain, lounge, tan, relax, swim.....anything!

The location could not be more perfect. The home and its surroundings are very tranquil and isolated, but it is a short walk to the snorkeling coves, restaurants, the bakery, the grocery store and all the various food trucks.

There is absolutely nothing missing in the SBH experience. You will have it all, and enjoy yourself like never before on the gorgeous North Shore (hey, that rhymes!).

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sunset Beach House Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Our stay at the Sunset Beach House absolutely exceeded our expectations. The photos do not adequately describe the perfection of the location of this property. After reviewing literally hundreds of property choices for our Hawaiian vacation, none came close to the Sunset Beach House from a location standpoint. We were amazed at how close we were to the beach - literally steps away from the canopy of shade trees that cover the patio, hot tub (brand new), and volleyball court. The privacy of the beach was remarkable, given how close it is to the Pipeline and Haleiwa. With a large family like ours, we rarely succeed in making everyone happy with the locations we choose, but literally to a person this vacation was described as the best we've ever had. While we did venture out of our "home" on the beach, we attribute much of our vacation success to this property.

Be sure to visit Ted's Bakery, which is very close by. On the rare nights that we opted not to cook, we enjoyed the short drive to Haleiwa where we had several excellent meals. Our favorite Hawaiian Shaved Ice was in Haleiwa (Aoki's - although we heard good things about Matsumoto's). There are so many shrimp trucks around, which I would avoid back home in Houston but are excellent in Hawaii. The grocery store around the corner from the property carries fresh, organic fruit and vegetables, and their fish selection consists mainly of wild, freshly caught Tuna, Marlin, Moonfish (wow!), and many others.

We spoke with Michel several times while considering this location and he graciously answered every question we had. Once we booked, Michel sent us thorough instructions including several vacation tips. His assistant in the day-to-day running of this property, Bitsy Healey, was always available to answer any questions or solve any problems (there were none other than having to leave ;-). We will absolutely, positively return to the Sunset Beach House! Thank you Michel, for opening up your home to us. We can't wait to return!

Sincerely, Mike, Sabrina, Allyson, Caitlyn, Fayth, Seth and AnnaGrace.

PS...we left four brand new boogie boards for subsequent guests as well as for our return...

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect 2 weeks stay for us at the Sunset Beach House with plenty of room for our children to visit

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We found the Sunset Beach House functional and very comfortable and, with the Island's best beach on the doorstep and a reserve alongside, the location is unbeatable. The front deck was such a wonderful place to relax on the sun lounges, read a book or eat meals cooked on the 2 barbecues - in fact we rarely ate any meal in the house.
The weather in May was warm, with a few showers during the first week, mainly at night. The surf was fun, but with shore-breaks close in and the bottom falling away quickly we had to be careful entering and exiting the surf. During the 2nd week of our stay the sea was almost flat calm with children playing in the small surf. We made the most of the superb weather conditions and snorkelled over the reef for hours, swimming through rocky grottos and filming our companions - fish and turtles. The beach in front of the house is beautiful with coarse, white sand, so clean and has very few visitors during the week. Not one, but two outdoor showers are located at the top of the beach path. What a luxurious treat to wash off any sand residue under hot water whilst watching the surfers further along the beach.
Several undignified exits from a heavy shore-break left one of our party with ears full of shell grit that required syringing. He reports that the medical staff at the Kahuku Medical Centre, about 20 minutes' drive away, is efficient and friendly and the cost reasonable.
We baulked at paying $300 per person all up for a round of golf at the Turtle Bay Resort, and with a little research unearthed a hidden gem 3 miles from the resort, the Kahuku Golf Course. The 'clubhouse' resembles a shipping container with a couple of porta-loos outside. The fairways and greens are less manicured than Turtle Bay and it is only a 9 hole course exposed to the trade winds but the cost for non-Islanders to play as many holes as they can fit into a session is $30!
There are many shrimp truck and hamburger vendors in the area but we really enjoyed a Mai Tai and hambburger at Ola's, the beach bar at the Turtle Bay Resort and dinner at Lei Lei's Restaurant - expensive but the best meal we had during our stay. We ate at the Kahuku Grill, owned by a hospitable Mormon family. So take your own wine or beer, the family are happy for you to do so. The best lunch around is the unbeatable turkey and cranbery sauce sandwich at the Waialua Bakery in Haleiwa.
Our children are more that happy to join us any time we book for another holiday at Ke-Iki Beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Our wonderful stay at "The Sunset Beach House"

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

The communication regarding the rental was easy from the very first contact. It was not a problem securing the rental and the owner was well prepared with all the details. There was a property manager that lived close by to the house who promptly answered any questions we had during our stay. When we got to the house, we easily navigated the electronic locks and the security system and entered the home. Everything was clean and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped with a washer and dryer, dishwasher, coffee maker, blender and even a rice pot. There were plenty of dishes, pots and pans and utensil's. There were also plenty of bath and beach towels. The house has many windows and when you open everything up it feels like you are outside even when you are in. There is a stereo the we could plug our IPOD and computer into for music. We had a good WIFI connection. There were televisions in every room, but we found we never really had time to watch TV in the bedrooms. There was a new Weber barbeque on the deck, which we used several nights, but don't forget to buy charcoal when you go to the store. The local Foodland Market was right down the street and had everything we needed. We signed up for the market club card and it saved us a bunch of money. It was just a short drive to the town of Haleiwa, where we went for shave ice on one day, a Mexican food lunch at "Cholos" another day and for really good Sushi at the "Banzai Sushi Bar" on another. We also bought 2 lbs of Ahi from a local vendor on the street across from Foodland and charred it with a pepper glaze. Super good! The house has a supply of beach chairs and the beach in front of the house has deep white sand. For most of our week we had the beach all to ourselves. For our stay In June, the surf was calm and our 2 year old granddaughter was fearless in the water with a tube around her. We all enjoyed swimming every day. It was nice to have the warm water shower at the bottom of the steps to rinse off before coming in the house. We also used the spa on the deck and enjoyed the soft wind in the evenings. The week went by way too fast and we know that we will go back someday soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a find!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first vacation in Hawaii. Staying at the Sunset Beach house was absolutely the right choice for us. We did not want the hustle and bustle of tourists fighting for room on the beaches or in the restaurants which would have been our experience had we stayed at a hotel/resort location. This house is quite large with 3 bedrooms downstairs and the master upstairs. We had hoped our adult children would be joining us, thus the reason for renting a larger home. Secluded, quiet and falling asleep to the sound of the waves each night was just how we dreamed this vacation would be. The home is perfectly decorated to fit the tropical paradise of the area. The beach is literally 30 ft from the bottom of the deck and is also secluded as there is no public access. No A/C? No problem! The set up of the house is such that wonderful tropical breezes blow through 24/7. My husband, who I swear is addicted to A/C, was completely satisfied without it.

There is a wonderful farmer's market in Halewai where we found many magnificent fruit and vegetables to take back to the house and roast on the grill. Check out the local restaurants, too. Joe's, Breakers, Lei Lei's (at Turtle Bay) and our personal favorite, Jameson's by the Sea. Visit the Zoo, Pearl Harbor, Dole Plantation and if you are into tourist stuff...The International Market Place in Honolulu....everything is within 60 minutes or less travel time! There are many water activities to enjoy as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Ideal getaway place on Oahu

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We, 3 families of 3 generations from Japan, stayed at the Sunset Beach House for about a week from the end of March.
All nine of us, from 1 and half year baby to a grandpa over eighty, had a great time there.
About an hour drive away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, the Beach House is located in a very quiet area on the North Shore and faces a beautiful beach right in front of the house.
All of the four bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the charming furniture created a relaxing atmosphere.
The outside terrace from where you can view the white sand beach is big enough and we had a breakfast with a refreshing breeze and enjoyed BBQ dinner watching the fabulous sunsets.
Shark's Cove, an ideal snorkeling spot for beginners, is just a few minutes away, the elderly couple (our parents) got excited to see fish swimming right before their eyes.
As we are at North Shore, we challenged surfing although we all are complete beginners.
We took lessons from Sunset Suzy's in Haleiwa. True to its reputation, the wave was really good and all of us surfed rather easy!
It was very convenient that a supermarket, Foodland was so close, just a minute drive.
We went to Waianae on the west coast to join the whale watching boat tour. We swam with dolphins!! (It just takes one hour from the house to Waianae, though it looks far on the map.)
Although the waves on the beach in front of the house was a bit too strong and may not be suitable for smaller children to swim (perhaps for seasonal reason?), we are very much satisfied with the location which has both quiet and beautiful environment.
The owner is very kind and friendly. We are very grateful for his attentiveness and always quick response which made us feel at ease.
If you would like to relax in a quiet environment and enjoy the beautiful nature in Oahu with your family, and moreover, like to participate in a various outdoor activities, THIS IS THE PLACE!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Former Hawaii Residents Return to Paradise!

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

My husband and I lived on Oahu for 5 years when we were first married and have returned to the familiar Waikiki area many times. This visit we chose the Sunset Beach House so that my husband could revisit his youthful surfing days at nearby Ehukai Beach. The house was like a Polynesian "surfers dream" tree house right on the ocean! It easily accommodated our party of three couples and we loved sitting out on the deck with a glass of wine, watching the waves. Private steps, shaded by lush trees, led down to the beach which we had practically to ourselves. Upon returning from enjoying the sun and sand on the beach, we rinsed off at the outdoor showers which had both hot and cold running water. At night we fell asleep in the open plan master bedroom loft (no door) to the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach. Divine! After our 10 day stay on Oahu, we agreed that our favorite days were those when we didn't leave the house, just stayed "home" and enjoyed the beach and whale watching from the deck!

We have rented from VRBO many times and found Michel to be the most personable and friendly owner yet! The hot tub wasn't as hot as expected the first night, but after a quick call to "Bitsy", the repair guy was there bright and early the next morning and we had no problems after that!

Just some other things to note:
• Expect to keep all food put away or you will have ants.
• Expect covered parking for 2 cars under the house.
• Expect enough beach towels for 8, don't bother packing your own.
• Expect traffic on Kam Highway to be heavy at times.
• Expect great food in the local Haleiwa restaurants.
• Expect beautiful green geckos to join you while sunning on the deck.

Local activities that we enjoyed:
• Soaring (gliding) from nearby Dillingham Field.
• Whale watching from a 40 foot catamaran out of Haleiwa.
• Dinner and drinks at Haleiwa Joe's Seafood Restaurant.
• And of course, surfing and body boarding at Ehukai Beach!

We highly recommend this home to anyone who wants an authentic North Shore Oahu experience. We consider it a rare gem!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

Our family traveled to Oahu in February to meet our son upon his return from an 8 month deployment to the Persian Gulf. Prior to our visit we were able to communicate with the owner by phone and email. He was a pleasure to work with and answered all of our questions prior to the booking. The house and the property are beautiful, very private and appropriately named as the sunsets are awesome. In February, the waves are also magnificent. During our stay we spent time in Haleiwa, Waikiki, Kailua, hiked Diamond Head, visited Waimea Falls, and snorkeled at Hanauma Bay. In addition to the sunsets at the North Shore we watched a sunrise from the “pill boxes” (former high ground gun turrets to protect the island from incoming air strikes) in Lanikai. I would recommend this lovely home to anyone looking for a little piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunsets at the Beach House

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

The Sunset Beach House is in a magical location, off the main road, tucked at the end of a tiny street, in it's own little world. Once you walk up the stairs, you smell and hear the ocean, then walk towards the balcony to see the perfect view;
blue ocean and golden sand, directly in front of you. It is just a little south of Pipeline, which is perfect, and only 20 minutes to the historical town of Haleiwa. We had a few wonderful nights there with our teenage boys, one at a japanese restaurant, sitting outside, with live music, a local called Paul Izaak. Our boys went surfing mostly - for smaller waves, off Turtle Cove, about 15 minutes north by car. Then they would return to our magical home for a spa and barbecue, whilst watching the setting sun over the water.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Idyllic Hawaii

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

The Sunset Beach House is the quintessential hawaiian beach house!!! It definately lived up to everything we expected. The setting is perfect on a quiet section of sunset beach. Even during the days leading up to Thanksgiving, the beach felt quiet with only a handful of people. Within walking distance, there is great snorkeling at sharks cove if the waves aren't too big. The private outdoor shower was used more than the showers inside the house because it was so convenient. The views are unbelievable and with the house being so open, we slept listening to the ocean each night. Plenty of room and wonderful to have all the amentities. We kept note to keep all food in the fridge and had no problems. I am looking forward to staying at the Beach House Again! Cindy Moore

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Sun Sun Sun"

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Found the Sunset Beach House accidentally while googleing beaches during a long NY winter! (2008) Must have been fate because we needed a place for three nights on this recent trip and unbelievably, it was available.

What can we say beyond "Loved It"! Comfortable, charming, bright, open, private, and in Hawaii. Fantastic master suite loft playing ocean waves all night long. The beach is beautiful and nearly private. We were there over a weekend and the beach goers were sparse. We plan to return in the future to enjoy most assuredly, an empty weekday beach all to ourselves. Hot tub, and outdoor shower with ocean views to enjoy while sippin away the warm care free days. And of course, sunsets to die for!

True how quiet and private while so close to everything you'll need. We never wanted to leave the property but if you must, Haleiwa is fun to visit and don't miss the shrimp truck near turtle bay or Ted's Bakery. Yummy! On second thought, stay away, never rent the sunset beach house. It hurts to much to leave! :)

Thank you so much to the owners. Everything was perfect and you will surely hear from us again!

William & Phyllis
Albany, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Tropical Vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Love love love this place. Im actaully from Oahu but have been living in San Francisco for the past 12 years. I decided to take a vaction with my friends and wanted to give them the quintessential hawaiian experience. This was the spot!

The location is AHA-MAZING! Its like your own private little beach on the North Shore. Its also right next to Sharks Cove which has awesome snorkeling. And walking disctance to Foodland (a supermarket), which is far a few bewteen on that side of the island.

The house is to die for. Its unbelievably charming. Totally gets you into the hawaiian vacation mood. It also has everything you need. Everything. Pots, pans, tons of spices, towels, boogie boards, an umbrella, a rice cooker, etc.

We had such a great time, our friends got engaged on the beach! Cant wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PERFECT get-away location on Oahu!

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We have been going to Sunset Beach House for the last 15+ years. The location, home, surroundings could not be more ideal. There is not enough space here to list all the wonderful aspects of this house -- lots of bedrooms, fully-stocked kitchen, outdoor shower, amazing wrap-around deck, beautiful hot tub, volleyball court, isolated beach, walking distance to grocery store, bike/waking paths, super-clean home, nice ammenities, gracious housekeeper/property manager.

Everything is A+, first-rate!!! I recommend it to everyone -- singles, couples, families, groups....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Slice of Real North Shore

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

The house and property are stunning. The house sits at the END of a small cul-de-sac and is very secluded and private. You will fall asleep to the sound of waves and be awoken to the chirping of birds. It is true paradise and a true taste of Oahu's famed North Shore. I've lived on Oahu...this beautiful house is the real deal. Grocery shopping, amazing Ted's Bakery, and quaint Haleiwa are just minutes away. The beach and hot tub are SECONDS away. So...what are you waiting for?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Its great to know that my guests enjoy my home as much as I do. I always endeavor to to make my guests as happy as possible and I am glad to know that once again that goal was fulfilled. Please come back and visit soon, You will always be welcome on our island and especially in my home.
Aloha,
Michel

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible Vacation!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

Our family of three kids, myself, my husband, and parents had a wonderful time at Michel's beautiful home. It was the PERFECT place to stay as we were able to enjoy the incredible beaches, yummy restaurants, fruit stands, and close access to everything. I cannot say enough about it being the perfect location to enjoy the area. The house layout was perfect for all of us and my parents enjoyed having their own space upstairs. We hope to go back again...we are still dreaming of the ocean views, listening to the waves crashing while sitting in the great hot tub, and watching for whales!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Stay at The Sunset Beach House, Oahu HI

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

We loved staying at this gorgeous property! The house itself is open and airy with lots of natural light. We spent a lot of our time out on the deck, where we saw whales and dolphins every day, and ate the best fresh fish we've ever had! We loved the location.... it's quiet and out of the way, but at the same time very convenient with Foodland a 2 minute drive away, and Haleiwa Town a 5 minute drive away. It's also really close to great snorkeling at Waimea Beach, and of course, great surfing! We had an absolutely fantastic vacation here, and we highly recommend this house for a nice relaxing, peaceful and very fun experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

DREAM VACATION

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

First of all the pictures do not do the house justice. We happened to get there right when the sun was setting and we realized there is a reason they call it SUNSET BEACH. It was are first time to Hawaii and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The house with all the skylights and windows makes you feel that you are always outside, we had a hard time ever leaving. Michel and Bitzy were very helpful from the first day I contacted them. With the four bedrooms there is plenty of room for 8 people, we had only 4 with my wife and 2 teenagers. It has everything you need right there and is very clean and well maintained. From whale watching every morning with our coffee, Pearl Harbor, jet skiing (highlight of the trip for my son 10ft from a humpback), shaved ice in town, a short walk down the beach to the pipeline to watch surfers battle 20+ ft waves one day. As my wife said it was her dream vacation. Michel thank you for opening your fabulous home to us. My wife said is we ever come back I want to stay here again and I corrected her and said when we come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

I wanted to let you know that our stay at the Sunset Beach House was very nice. It was a perfect place for our family retreat. We had great beach days, great Mai Tai's, great dinners all while being entertained by the whales! We just loved the location, as you said, "almost a private beach", even on the busy weekend. It's bit hard to step back into the
> working world after such a restful break!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ultimate way to unwind

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

We all loved our stay there. Its amazing to sit at the deck, having our morning coffee/cereal and enjoy the ocean with the whales putting up a great show.

The shuttlecock badminton court was awesome. It was a great way to relax and get some exercise...

With lots to do, we didn't quite use the music system or the TV.

Had we stayed in a hotel, we might have done a lot of sight-seeing, but since we were having such a good time at the place of our stay, we didn't venture out that much. So sight-seeing... maybe next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

This is one of the most amazing houses on Sunset Beach that I have ever stayed in. It is to the left of the local surf spot called Log Cabins. The house is one of the few houses that makes you feel like you are truly on a tropical island. It's surrounded by palm trees and lush jungle. The house is 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Simply gorgeous. The living room opens up into vaulted ceilings and opens right to the deck which is literally steps from the ocean. This is perfect for a party of 8 or smaller. There was a private volleyball court to right right of the house and a jacuzzi on the back porch over looking the water. Simply amazing. I can't wait to go back next winter! Cheers!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We were lucky enough to be able to spend a few days at this very special spot in Jan 2011. The hot tub was a big hit in the evenings to relax, have a drink and enjoy the crashing waves. We had everything we needed here to cook and only ate out one day. Lots of long beach walks and enjoyed watching the surfers just down the beach.
Michel and his caretaker go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need to make for a perfect time.
Thank you and we hope to come back soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for the lovely review. It is always my pleasure to help in any way that I can, and It is always my hope that my guests will have the best time possible when visiting my wonderful home and our fantastic island.
Aloha,
Michel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawaii vacation at the Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

Our stay at the Sunset Beach House exceeded all of our expectations. When we arrived at the residence we found it tucked back at the end of a street. The front of the house faced beautiful Sunset Beach, with the area to the east of the house covered with tropical trees and plants. There was a really nice regulation sized vollyball court next to the deck on the east side of the house.
When we went inside we found the house to be pleasantly decorated with the interior looking exactly like the photos on the web site. It was clean, well supplied and very inviting to everybody in our party.
The living room opened up onto a beautiful deck that ran the full length of the front and east side of the house. The deck was situated with chairs, tables, recliners and a beautiful hottub (that we spent a lot of time in). My favorite part of the deck was the built in hot/cold shower. I took every shower for 8 days out side.
The beach behind the house was beautiful. The North Shore waves were big and breaking right on the shore behind the house. We slept soundly with the waves playing medleys in our dreams!
If we make it back to Oahu, we will try to stay at the Sunset Beach House again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

We had a great time at the Sunset Beach House. What a beach it could not be any better, and the house spectacular plenty of room and is equiped with everything you could possibly need. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oahu at its' Best

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

My work used to take me to Oahu several times a year. I always stayed in the Waikiki area, taking day trips to visit the North Shore. I had no idea what I was missing....until now.

The Sunset Beach House is everything you could imagine. The house embodies the Hawiian life style. Lots of windows and glass doors that open to the coconut trees and the beach...literally. The house is on the beach! It's beautiful...

We also enjoyed a special perk...the jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the beach and ocean. Sunset Beach lives up to its' name. The Sunsets are always spectacular.

So, if you are looking for the Hawaiin life style with the feel of your own beach, expecting privacy and spectacular sunsets, then this is the place for you.

Also, the host, Michel Rubini, is a caring and gracious host. He genuinely wants you to have a vacation you'll never forget.

I highly recommend it and we will certainly be returning with family and friends.

ALOHA...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our own tropical getaway

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Michele's house on the beach was so private and removed from the hubbub of other parts of Hawaii I felt like I was in my own private tropical resort. We played in the surf in front of the house, had cocktails on the beach, barbequed most nights, and watched movies on the large flat-screen TV. A short drive away, we ate at shrimp trucks, had shaved ice in Haleiwa, and mai-tais at Haleiwa Joe's. We rented stand-up paddle boards for a couple of days, and launched them at Waimea Bay (maybe a mile away) where the water was calmer. So much fun. (Sigh!) I wish we were still there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

If you are looking for a place on a beach where you feel like natives and not visitors, then this is the place. We brought our adult family along to help celebrate our 30th anniversary and the Sunset Beach House was perfect. I must admit that I was concerned when we walked in and didn't find an A/C control, but soon realized that the design of the house and the ocean breezes made that unnecessary and in fact undesired. Listening to the waves break and palm trees sway at night was pure heaven. Waking up with mimosas and bloody marys in the morning and finishing off the night with wine in the hot tub made any mainland concerns melt away. Michel was great to work with and Bitsy made sure everything was perfect right down to the bird of paradise bouquet. Almost everything you needed for the week was already there, or if not could be acquired close by.

Being close enough to walk to Sharks Cove for snorkeling and even walking to Waimea Bay was nice so as to avoid having to park the car at these sites. During the weekdays, the beach was virtually our own private area with great grocery and rental places close by. We golfed twice at Turtle Bay, a five minute drive northeast. We saw turtles close enough to stand by for pictures down the beach toward Haleiwa one day. Our family highlight was either swimming with the sharks off of a boat out of Haleiwa or visiting Pearl Harbor, only 35 minutes away. We capped off the week with shaved ice from Matsumotos, which is the best deal on the island.

I hesitate to recommend the Sunset Beach House to others because I want to make sure there are spaces available for our return trip. But seriously it was beyond our expectations.

Thanks again Michel and hope to see the SBH again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything We Hope For and More

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

The house was so beautiful and well-equipped. The house had everything we needed for a great time. There was plenty of seating for a large group. The kitchen was well stocked. The washer and dryer were a great bonus.

We had such a wonderful time being able to walk down to the beach at a moment's notice. The water is a little rough for younger people right outside the house (at least when we were there), but there were plenty of beaches nearby that we more wader friendly.

The location was perfect. So close to the grocery store, snorkeling and a few restaurants. There is a walking/bike path that runs along the main road. Good for morning and evening strolls.

Overall, just a wonderful time. I hope our family gets to go back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Sunset Beach House - A Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

This Tahitian Style A Frame home is the perfect place to relax and enjoy yourself. The turquoise water views, uncrowded beach, large deck with two barbecues, lush landscaping, a volleyball court and your own private jacuzzi made this the best vacation ever. North Shore Oahu is a world apart from Waikiki. Very tropical - The people are friendly, the market is nearby, and Haleiwa is a fun place to shop. The first day we arrived the owner and property manager called to welcome us and make sure we were happy.
The Sunset Beach House was a great experience and we hope to return soon.
Aloha,
Gregg & Crystal Reagan
Santa Rosa Valley, CA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay on Sunset Beach!

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

We stayed in the Sunset Beach House in June and it was marvelous. My family and I were delighted to see that the house was exactly as depicted and the property manager was a delight. She answered many questions for us and helped set up a fishing trip for my husband and son. Be sure to visit the turtle beach while you are there, it is only about 2 miles from the house and there are some huge sea turtles that come there to rest and relax. It was a real treat to be able to be so close to them. Our family really enjoyed Sharks Cove grill and Teds bakery. Also, the Starbucks being right there was a real treat. We really appreciated the attention to detail and help we received from the owner. Thank you again, We cannot wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a View!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

We recently had a mini family reunion at Sunset Beach House (our son is to deploy later this month and we got the kids together) and couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful location. The views from the house are incredible and the sunsets amazing; we made each one an event while we were there. I am sure that the memories we shared there will be something our son will cherish as he heads to Iraq and we will hold dear while he is gone. The house has all you need for your break: kitchen, bathrooms, towels, TV, DVDs, music and space, as well as, the volleyball court and hot tub. There is a short 10 minute walk (on a path) to Shark’s Cove for some great snorkeling or just step off the porch and walk down the beach to swim. If we get a chance we will be back again. Thanks Michel & maintenance staff for this beautiful, clean and comfortable vacation house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The whole family loved it!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We were able to fit our family of 4, plus Grandma, Aunt and Sister in this great house. The deck is wonderful and large and the stairs take you right to the beach, we had almost every meal out there along with lounging in the evening with our favorite cocktail. The location is quiet, few people are out front ont he beach and we were able to watch surfers all day. The grocery store is a short drive so we could use the spacious kitchen which has most everything you need to prepare great meals. There is a book to tell you some of the things you need to know about the area, we needed it to find a local medical facility since I had an accident. Everything was fine and we were able to find a helicopter sight seeing tour and an awesome skydiving company that took the kids (and the hubby) for a great drop. The louvered windows are not my favorite thing, but everything else was amazing, and having 3 bathrooms for everyone to share was the best. Polynesian Cultural Center is nice, a bit expensive but the family enjoyed the luau and the show afterward quite a bit and it is a short drive from the house too. Enjoy yourselves, it is a great relaxing place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

visit to the north shore of Oahu

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

This property location is marvelous. It sits just off the beach with a nice deck and a new hot tub on the deck. The sunsets are spectacular and since we went to enjoy the waves and the beach, the location was perfect. There is a great bakery - Ted's - nearby that is a fine way to start the morning! And the fruit and shrimp stands are well worth the stop. Waimea Falls is also nearby and is gorgeous. We took a family of 6 - ages ranging from 88 to 25 - and we enjoyed being together with such easy access to the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We had an amazing week at the Sunset Beach House with our family. Surfing, snorkeling, hiking, shell collecting, and sunning on the deck. The home and view of the ocean were relaxing and unforgettable. We can't wait to return next year. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

The Beach House was beyond our expectations. It is quaint and comfortable. All of the amenities are there. The beach is beyond description, and right at your back door. Breanna was very helpful, and took care of us very nicely. The little green trailer has great food and chickens to entertain. Turtle Bay Resort luau was small and very nice. Kahala Resort Dolphin Quest should not be missed. Northshore Fish Express (magnet on fridge) delivers wonderful, fresh fish for the BBQ. Be sure to read the Hawaii book in the kitchen when you arrive...lots of good info. Mahalo Michel for sharing your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House!

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Hi Michel:
Thanks for letting us stay at your home. The house is fantastic and the views are spectacular! We greatly enjoyed watching the surfers at Log Cabins right from the lanai. The location couldn't be better; right in the heart of the north shore, but still secluded and very private.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Michel,
We had a wonderful time at the Sunset Beach House. An incredible setting, the beach and waves were amazing. We enjoyed the volleyball court and look forward to a return visit.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Michel,

Just wanted to let you know how much we loved staying at your beautiful house, and what a wonderful time it was.

This is a very comfortable house, very well appointed with everything we needed. We grilled several times and enjoyed sitting outside eating on the deck on New Year's Eve.

The deck is a perfect spot to sit and watch the waves, not to mention the moon. We woke up very early one morning to a spectacular full moon over the ocean, perhaps at 5:30 a.m. We sat and watched and walked on the beach until the sunlight came up. Very memorable. We even saw whales off in the distance on more than one occasion.

The gorgeous beach was just as described, a quiet stretch for that part of the North Shore with not very many people around. The gardens around the house are beautifully maintained too.

We loved being so close to Foodland too this time. Sometimes in our trips there, we have had to stay a bit farther away, so there was more driving involved in getting to the grocery store, and also into Haleiwa, as well as to Waimea Bay, but this time it was very convenient. We enjoyed eating at Kua Aina several times too, some of the best burgers around.

We managed to do a lot of hiking on the island this time, with treks up Diamond Head, as well as around Kaena Point on the northwest side of the island, not to mention many walks on the beach by your house.

Thanks again very much for everything, MIchel. We all had a wonderful time, and if we ever get back to the North Shore again, we hope to stay in your lovely house once more. It's our favorite house there now!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

Sunset Beach House really is the ideal place to stay when visiting the North Shore! Michel's house is the perfect combination of rustic atmosphere with modern amenities. The new big screen TV is awesome for those early morning football games and we used the hot tub every day. There is a never-ending parade of entertainment on the beach - we spent hours watching the surfers and paddlers and other tourists! We also took advantage of the walking & biking trail in your neighborhood and walked or jogged every day - it is just a short way to Waimea Falls Park. We hope to return to the North Shore one day and would love to stay here again. "Keep the country country!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 17, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

Staying at this beach house was the best part of our vacation! Way better atmosphere than a hotel, and we saved money by being able to make our own food there. Beautiful area and the beach was pristine. Would go again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

The Sunset Beach House was amazing! Perfect
location on the North Shore. All the amenities you
could want at the tip of your fingers. Close to the
store for groceries and all the beautiful amenities of
the North Shore. You can't find a better vacation
home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 19, 2009   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

An absolutely perfect setting!!! This was our first visit to Hawaii and the Sunset Beach House by far exceeding our expectations! The house was beautiful located right on a perfect beach. In the loft we were lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the ocean waves. Walking out the sliding glass doors onto the deck and seeing that blue water causes all the stress to disappear. The location is perfect...not that far from Honolulu and Pearl Harbor and just down the street from Haleiwa (which I now know is pronounced Hally - ava) and beautiful Waimea Bay and Waimea Falls. We went snorkeling at Sharks Cove and golfing at Turtle Bay just a short scenic drive down the road! Ted's Bakery just down the road is second to none! The Dole Plantation is very close and awesome! We almost didn't go there but I'm so glad we did! We had lots more activities planned but didn't get to them all because we all decided we just wanted to relax and enjoy our time at our beautiful house on the beautiful Sunset Beach.....the sunsets were spectacular....a little gift from God at the end of a beautiful day! We will definitely be back soon! Thanks Michel and Breanna!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sunset Beach House during our Honeymoon in August. The house is absolutely gorgeous and sits on one of the most beautiful and private white sand beaches in Oahu. It's a perfect setting for relaxation.

Also, Michel was a gracious host and accommodated all of our needs. His house manager, Breanna, was also always available and very helpful when we checked in.

Overall, I would recommend the Sunset Beach House to anyone thinking about the North Shore, Oahu. Thanks Michel and Breanna!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfull beach house for a family

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We had a great time on the North Shore and this house was everything advertised. Beautiful house, great location and just the right touches. Large rooms and open spaces. All working appliances and all the kitchen and beach stuff a family needs.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Joe! It was a pleasure having you in my home. I look forward to seeing you again anytime.
Aloha,
Michel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Sunset Beach House

Review submitted: March 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We completely enjoyed our stay at the SBH! Right on the beach. We could throw a rock and hit the ocean. The house is easy for 8 people to be in yet not feel crowded. Nice and clean with a great hot tub. Beds were comfy with a flat screen TV in each room. Great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We've been spending family Christmas' on the North Shore for a number of years now and as you know Michel,I had tried to rent your home on a number of occasions but it was always booked(good for you ,not good for me).I was initially intrigued by the Sunset Beach House after checking out your website ;I liked the look of the home,the size(we have seven adults to accomodate)but especially the location on Sunset Beach.The stars finally aligned and we booked your home the first time for Christmas 2006.We had a wonderful time that year ;so much so,that we returned again this past Christmas.Often, when one has a great vacation experience,you wonder if it is possible that the experience can repeat itself...well,I can tell you that it most certainly did and to top it off,our eldest son and his girlfriend got engaged while we were there.
A particularly memorable vacation ,Hawaii and the North Shore hold a special place for us.
Best regards Michel.

Geoff Harrison
Toronto,Ontario.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

Basically one word describes Michel's beautiful house in Hawaii. Perfect! The pictures of the house enticed me to take the family for a nice beach vacation and when we got there all my expectation were exceeded. The house is just a perfect beach house with beautiful warm woodwork and an island feel that just make you feel happy and lucky to be there. It has everything you could need right there. The entire time I couldn't stop saying how great it all was. The house is surrounded by trees and is on a part of the beach that make it feel very private. Just steps from the hot tub on the deck is the most beautiful beach in the world. After your time on the beach the warm outdoor shower is a luxury before you jump in the hot tub and continue your amazing views of the ocean beach. I could go on and on about it but it just makes me wish I was still there. Thanks for sharing your amazing house with us Michel! Can't wait to go back....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Beach Dream Home

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 4, 2009

The Sunset Beach House is our favorite rental ever!! The private location just added to the hot tub on the deck that is right on the beach. The bike rides to Starbucks and the grocery store every morning made our family feel like we were at home. Our boys loved being abe to run and play on the beach every morning until sunset every day,and we could see them from the deck while we lounged watching TV or sitting in the hot tub. The master bedroom was incredible as you woke up to the sound of the surf outside as you viewed the beach from bed. Incredible experience and we WILL return to watch the surfers we saw every day right outside of the house.The unpretentious atmosphere of the North Shore was truly captured and expressed to our family while we were there. Thanks Michel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed staying at your home. We all had a great time and the weather was beautiful the whole time we were there. We've rented many vacation homes in the past 4 years and I have to say that this one was the best. Great view, great location, everything was perfect- we just didn't want to leave!!? I know next year we are going to stay for 10-14 days. The vacation wasn't long enough."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 2, 2008

Christmas 2007 at the Sunset Beach House
Harkins, Lakewood, Colorado.
Date Submitted: Jan 02, 2008 Date of Stay: Dec 2007
Christmas 2007 at the Sunset Beach House!
Incredible!! From the moment we walked in we were in love with the house,
large deck overlooking the ocean, and a few steps and we were on the
beach. The house was everything we had hoped it to be and more. Fully
equipped and set up for our every need. The sunsets were incredible, the
hot tub relaxing and it was easy travel to anyplace we wanted to go. Had
Christmas Eve dinner at Haleiwa Joes Seafood Grill on the outside patio (
wonderful)and church following dinner. Ted's bakery down the road is
wonderful and the grocery store very convenient. Visited Pearl Harbor, Dole
Pinapple, and snorkeled at Sharks Cove. Spent Christmas day laying on the
beach and collecting sea shells. Doesn't get any better. We highly
recommend this home to other travelers looking for an awesome vacations. I
know we plan to return in the future. Aloha! S

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review