reviews for: listing #21954 - Puerto Vallarta, Pacific Coast Condo rental

Home Of The Dolphins-Oceanfront Luxury In The Center Of Town
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $350 /nt
    $1,365 - $2,450 /wk
    $4,500 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

STILL SMILING

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

It has been a little over a month since my husband and I returned from our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and our stay at the Home of the Dolphins. The condo was stunning, the views spectacular and my vacation wish list had everything checked off, even my husband's number one prerequisite - value. Home of the Dolphins is an amazing value, a luxury, two bedroom condo with a penthouse feel for the price you would pay for one bedroom in a nice hotel. It was wonderful to have the extra bedroom which allowed us to invite our son and daughter-in-law to stay with us for a few days.
Michel has managed to give a Bed and Breakfast ambiance to the Home of the Dolphins experience. He, Sassia, Lilliana and the security guards were always available to answer questions and provide insights and tips regarding the area. They were all very caring and sincerely interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible.
The location is perfection; on the water, two blocks from the town square where in the evening we would join the Mexican families at the small amphitheater and watch the shows together (and we speak no Spanish). From there we would walk the cobblestone streets, finding a new surprise around every corner and we never, ever had a safety concern.
I smile when I think of the six days of incredible restaurants, great shops and the warm, truly friendly Mexican people. I smile when I remember the best ever flan and crepes bought at the food stalls on the Malecon a few minutes from our condo. I smile when I remember holding a baby Bengal tiger at the Puerto Vallarta Zoo, or watching the kids bungee jumping and seeing photos of my husband zip-lining through the jungle. I smile at the thought of me, on the last day of our trip, one hour before we had to leave for the airport, frantically scanning the Malecon for the marionette vendor. Two other vendors used their cell phones to locate him and then gave me minute by minute updates - three blocks away, now two.... He came running to me with a big grin and my Pinocchio marionette, and my trip was complete.
Snow is falling here in Rochester, New York, in April, and I am still smiling and anticipating our next visit to Puerto Vallarta and the Home of the Dolphins. Thank you Michel, we could not have asked for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As advertised

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

Every thing it was supposed to be. The setting is absolutely wonderful and the deck is perfect for watching the day begin and for cocktails in the evening watching the sun set and the locals enjoying the Malecon. This is our third year and every year we have extended our stay. We would definitely recommend this to our friends and family. One of the best accomadations I have enjoyed

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful condo, beautiful views, fun location

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

We loved staying here... Michel was amazing with the whole process of getting everything booked and responding to questions. Sassia was also very sweet. The condo is beautiful and small touches like the Zapotec coasters and rugs gives such a mexican feel to the place. The security guards are amazing and friendly (we loved Alfredo!) and everything is right outside your door. The only drawback was we found that one of the bars was quite loud one night and there was also a flute player on the malecon who set up right outside one night that was not my family's cup of tea... Still, it did not sully our trip at all and I would stay here again in an instant. Besides the amazing ocean views where you can see the dolphins out splashing around, you can also people watch which can be a lot of fun. The vendors on the malecon will try to sell you stuff constantly but if you stay here long enough, they will remember you and leave you alone after a while. I do recommend staying here in PV because you will feel safe, the condo is very clean, Michel is an exceptionally kind person, you are within walking distance of everything you could need or want, the people in this part of town are very friendly, and you will have a great time. I don't know if I would have the same love I have for PV had I not stayed here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Wonderful Stay in PV

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay in October that all we could do was get home and plan our next trip, and we definitely wanted to stay at Home of the Dolphins again.
The condo is perfectly located on the Malecon and walking distance to everything we wanted to do. It was fun to venture out even more on this visit and get more involved in local events and Farmer's markets.
The kitchen is pretty well set up, and we were able to cook some really nice meals and eat out less than our first visit...which is a little difficult as there are so many great restaurants in the area!
Our daughter was able to join us for the week and it was great for her to have such a lovely room and bathroom all to her self.
The dolphins and whales showed up and it was such a lovely experience for all of us.
We look forward to our next trip to PV and staying at the condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect PV Location

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

Home of the Dolphins is a great vacation spot. It is perfectly located within walking distance of Old Town (Romantic Zone) and El Centro. We never needed to take a cab anywhere as we could easily walk. The condo is very clean, comfortable and wonderfully appointed and decorated (the pictures are accurate). The view is spectacular with unbelievable sunsets (we have pictures!), dolphins swimming by in the morning and pelicans and frigate birds overhead. There is a fountain on the balcony, which was a favorite drinking spot for birds. The condo is located right on the Malecon, which was great for both morning strolls and evening people watching. (You should be aware that the Malecon is noisy at night especially during holidays. It never really bothered us.) While we only used the bedroom unit as we kept the huge doors to the balcony open all the time, the air conditioning worked very well. The condo facilities are well maintained and the rooftop pool was lovely. It was never crowded and there were often other residents and guests to talk to. The wireless internet and VOIP phone also worked perfectly. There are laundry facilities right across the hall from the condo. If we needed something (which we rarely did) Sassia was great. She was very sweet and responsive. Michel was also very good to work with, concerned with our comfort, and answering all of our questions both before our arrival and during our visit within hours.

As we explored the area we found a number of good restaurants and shops. We especially liked Vitea, which is located in the building. A big bonus was the 10% discount card that came with the condo. The servers there are wonderful and the food is very good. We also enjoyed Joe Jack’s Fish Shack in Old Town and La Dolce Vita on the Malecon in Centro. You can also just wander Basillio Badillo in Old Town and find a number of great local restaurants. The Mexican coffee and coffee shops are great, but if you’re craving Starbucks (hey, we’re from Seattle) there is one about a 5 minute walk from the condo. We got some beautiful custom made silver earrings at Alberto’s on Ave Juarez 185 in Centro—just 2-3 blocks from the condo. They designed and made them in 3 days. It’s a 3-generation family run business. We also got some very interesting art pieces at Peyote People on Juarez 222.

We loved our stay at the Home of the Dolphins and will definitely return. We’d recommend it to anyone wanting to be in the heart of Puerto Vallarta.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home of the Dolphins -

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

The Home of the Dolphins is absolutely beautiful. The views are tremendous. The Condo is spotless and spectacular! This is the second time my family has stayed at the Home of the Dolphins. We have visited the last two years and plan on going again in 2014. This summer, a few weeks before we were leaving I found out I had to have surgery. I was going to cancel but decided have the surgery and try and make it for the family. It was the best ever!! Even though I knew I would have to stay at the condo while my family toured around. It ended up being the most relaxing vacation ever. I sat on the patio all day and night it. In the morning it was so peaceful watching the dolphins swim and the fisherman catch the fresh seafood. At night it was a blast watching the entertainment and the people on the Malecon. I typically always have to work while I am on vacation however, there is nothing better than working remotely with the wireless on the open patio with the breeze and sound of the ocean!

We have also stayed at the Sunset Beach House a few times and that is a PARDISE all on its own. The pictures cannot even describe the tranquil beauty. We hope to get back there again soon as well! We have a small family so economically the Sunset Beach House is difficult for us. But I can tell you whatever property you can visit is well with the money the owner Michele is so easy to work with and accommodating on your schedules. His property managers have all been wonderful as well! We have stayed at one of Michele’s properties every time we have gone on a family vacation for the last eight years!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Lovely and Relaxing

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

We absolutely loved Casa de los Dolfines and can't wait to return! The condo itself is just lovely. From the first moment we arrived everyone was so nice. Sassia and Idrish were always very pleasant and responsive; it's easy to tell they are just really nice people. The condo is spotless and well appointed. We plan on doing a lot more dining-in next visit, but it was so difficult not to eat out at one of the many taco stands or restaurants just out the door. We ate four meals just downstairs (Vitea) and became very attached to our servers, and appreciated the 10% discount for being guests at the condo. The food is very good, and they make great Gin and Tonics!
Bella Napoli, just around the corner has amazing Italian food, and it's just a really fun place to hang out for hours and visit with the 'crazy italian guy'. We ate at probably a dozen of the taco stands and again, super nice people everywhere and interesting food. The smoked Marlin is a local delicacy, but I was really taken with the El Pastor. You should definitely make an excursion to the Ocean Grill. We also took a cooking class with Arte Culinario that was amazing...so yes, next visit we can hit the many mercados and make our own meals in the lovely kitchen at the condo!
It really is the best place you could chose to stay when you visit Puerto Vallarta, and it couldn't be easier to correspond with Michel or Sassia.
We slept very well in the comfortable King Bed and as it was quite hot during our stay, we loved having the big beautiful shower and bath. Nothing nicer than after a few hours out in the heat, than to come home, take a quick shower and then go lounge in the pool.
The condo was very comfortable despite the heat; the AC units work really well and cool things down really quickly. We loved the balcony and it was wonderful to have the doors wide open in the morning, have our coffee (Thank you Michel for the wonderful Mexican coffee) and watch the men fishing in the Bay.
Gilberto and the other security guard were so wonderful, always ready with a smile and to assist us if we needed a taxi.
We're already planning a trip back. We love Puerto Vallarta and we love Casa de los Dolfines!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful view, great location, comfortable and well maintained accommodation

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Home of the Dolphins exceeded our expectations. The condo is exactly as shown in the pictures and actually larger than expected. It was extremely clean and had all the amenties; including well functioning high speed wireless. The balcony is spacious and provides a view of the ocean and all the activity along the Malecon. The location was ideal. We were able to walk to a variety of restaurants along the beach and the Malecon, and in the Zona Romantica. There was outdoor Zumba a few minutes away as was the beach and the Mercado Municipal Rio Cuale for souvenier shopping. It was only a few dollars to take a cab to the Mega or Walmart for grocery shopping. The pool area was beautifully maintained and quiet with lots of loungers, tables and chairs. There was a security guard on duty 24 hours a day. We felt instantly at home here.
We did find it a bit noisy on the weekend late into the night but we felt that this was a small trade off for the enjoyment we had from the central location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home.

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

The condo is exactly as it shows on the pictures. My family and I have previously stayed in big resorts and in condominiums that face the ocean but you can't hear the ocean. You definitely hear the ocean waves in this condominium. The place is also spacious but cozy. We were greeted by Sassia who is very nice and friendly and the best part is we were not hounded by timeshare salespeople during our stay. We also found the condo stocked with coffee, sugar, creamer and other items. No need to spend additional money on coffee filters, dishwashing soap, etc. The beds are very comfortable and I fell asleep every night listening to the ocean and enjoying the loud thunder when it rained. The complex is secured and never felt in danger. Stores and restaurants are very close by and you don't need to cook--unless you want to. The kitchen has all the equipment you would possibly want. We also enjoyed being right on the Malecon and enjoyed people-watching and the free shows put by the locals. Overall, I enjoyed this place very much and would definitely recommend it to everyone who wants to truly feel and enjoy Puerto Vallarta.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfectly located and will exceed your expectations!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

After having "discovered" Puerto Vallarta some 30+/- years ago, and since determining it as one of my favorite vacation spots in the world, and after spending many vacations here in hotels, I was most pleased to have instead, stayed here at Home of the Dolphins. To start, not much more than 15 minutes after my partner and I, along with our two dear fiends checked in, did we crack-open a cold one, while being greeted by a mother whale with her baby calve breaching just of shore and immediately in front of our casa for the week, Home of the Dolphins. An AMAZING welcome, in deed! Beautifully furnished and decorated this property is also ideally located right on the Malecon, within walking distance to River Cuale, the Romantic Zone, with its many restaurants, bars and night clubs, as well as Blue Chairs, yet not too close where one might be bothered by the noise. Instead, you will be mesmerized by the gentle sounds of the waves crashing on the beach, PLUS the sunsets are SPECTACULAR! We would highly recommend Home of the Dolphins for all that we've mentioned here, plus the kind professionalism of the owner, Michel, as well as his manager. You will NOT be disappointed. Gracious!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

The location of Home of the Dolphins cannot be beat. You do not need a car as virtually everything is within walking distance. The condominium is beautiful and clean. The kitchen was completely functional with modern amenities. We loved early mornings on the veranda/deck, watching PV come alive, as well as cocktail hour in the evenings watching the sunsets. The dolphins provided a terrific show. The view is best. Can't beat waking up to and enjoying this everyday. This condo is in a secured guarded building. We had no safety concerns or worries. The owner, Michel, was so wonderful to deal with. He was excellent with communication and answering any questions. For an "off the beaten path" experience, check out Vallarta Eats Taco Tour. Go hungry. It was great. We look forward to returning to Home of the Dolphins.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Location, location, this place was GREAT. The view, the security of the building, even the security guard was very nice. The vendors in the area were very nice and we enjoyed so much walking on the malecon every day, We saw a few whales, but never had the pleasure of the dolphins, You won't be sorry staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

This condo is amazing! It is exactly as pictured and described. No nasty surprises. The location is very good with everything you might need or want within a few blocks. The building is well maintained and Michel's manager, Rosa, was always just a phone call away to answer any questions. The best part is the spectular view overlooking the malecon and the ocean. I highly recommend this property for your stay in PV!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Home of the Dolphins. 1/13/13. The property was exactly as pictured and very clean. So thankful to the owner for his help in answering all of our questions. We really enjoyed the patio overlooking the Malecon where we saw whales every day of our visit. It is very close to the old town area where we most enjoy the art gallerys and restaurants. If you are looking for these features this is the place to rent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed Home of the Dolphins as the central base for all of our activities. Our days started with coffee on the balcony while enjoying the ocean, then moving on to more active pursuits which included a hike through the jungle with the L.O.C.A. organization (Ladies Outdoor Club Adventures), the City Power Walk with Sylvie Scopazzo, day passes to an all inclusive in Nuevo Vallarta for boogie boarding and to a beautiful beach resort on the south end of the bay for ocean swimming. Our other activities included shopping at all of the cute boutiques on Basillo Badillo, and ridiculously inexpensive lunches and dinners at many restaurants within walking distance of the condo. We were also able to walk to Our Lady of Guadeloupe cathedral to enjoy the processions during the early December celebrations. There is always something happening on the Malecon and we were able to enjoy it from our balcony, including nightly mariachis! We saved quite a bit on taxi fares from this location since we were able to walk to many locations and highly recommend staying here. There is a small, but lovely pool on the rooftop which we usually had to ourselves. Michel and Rosa are easy to work with and we hope to be back again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Our stay at Home of the Dolphins was everything we expected. The Condo is clean & well secured. We chose to keep the all glass doors and windows open at all times to enjoy the sound and the fabulous view of the ocean seen from all rooms of the condo.
This condo is right on the Malecon and at times could become a bit noisy especially at night-closing the glass doors & windows reduced the night life noise. The location of this condo made it perfect for shopping, dining and walking the beach. If you are looking for a swim beach this may not be an ideal location for swimming activities, although people would swim just a little south of the condo, within walking distance. Located on the Malecon enabled us to enjoy the wonderful culture of Puerto Vallarta, shopping, dining and watching the local activities taking place.
Rosa Maria was wonderful and was most willing to help & accommodate at all times. Michelle was always available to answer any questions we had.
This is truly what the pictures & description represent of Home of the Dolphins.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home of the Dolphins - Amazing stay!

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We had an amazing time at Home of the Dolphins - the location could not be better. The beach is steps away and the rooftop pool/deck was fantastic. The condo is very comfortable and well kept - we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a week. I highly recommend Home of the Dolphins for families, friends, couples - you really can't go wrong. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

The condominium is exactly as pictured with a fantastic balcony overlooking the Malecon and the Pacific. Everything was fresh, clean and well appointed. The property manager, Rosa, was at the building to greet and show us around. She had lots of good information about places to go and things to see.

Located almost exactly between the old town and the new, it was very convenient for everything we wanted to do. We would definitely return to the Home of the Dolphins.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best of Vallarta!!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

The photos don't lie! This place rocks! Nothing was left out of this rental units amenities. It has EVERYTHING you need to enjoy your stay in Puerto Vallarta. The location is on the famous and newly expanded Malecon, perfectly situated right in the middle of everything. (no car was needed.) The view and terrace alone, make any idle time you happen to find absolutely fulfilling! Comfort, class, and a feeling of security, allowed our party to spend our week with the terrace doors wide open and never closing. (day or night.) I cant imagine anyplace in PV that would have satisfied our vacation needs as well as the the House Of The Dolphins!! Rosa Marie, was a great on site source of information and advice anytime we needed anything. We have already booked the same weeks for next year!! You'll love the place, as we all did.
Jim and the girls...San Diego

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

My wife and I chose PV for our 20th anniversary and are glad we ran across Home of the Dolphins, it was a wonderful week indeed due to the fantastic location. The pics online are spot on and spending time people watching from the balcony is endless entertainment. Michel obviously cares a lot about his properties and tenants and we were happy to meet him during our stay (he was upgrading new phones and stereo system with iPod doc). The condo building is well maintained and with a security guard always posted was quite safe indeed. I would highly recommend checking out Vallarta Eats dot com if you're interested in local cuisine, a 3 hour walking food tour that's worth every penny (I'd recommend it at the beginning of your week), we were able to go back to our favorites several times. Property manager Rosa Maria also made herself available for questions, very helpful when the free wifi went down briefly. We would highly suggest looking at HotD property as a rental if you want a stress free holiday in the middle of everything downtown and away from the mega-resorts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

What a great way to start a new year! 10 days at this lovely condo in Puerto Vallarta.
This was our second stay at the "Home of the Dolphins" and we were not disappointed. The condo itself is beautiful, spacious and fully equiped. We love being able to fully open the glass doors from the living room and master bedroom to the terrace. The cross breaze that this creates means that the air conditioning is not required in the unit.
The location of this condo is perfect. You can relax on the terrace and whale/dolphin watch, people watch as well as listen to the sounds of Puerto Vallarta right on your doorstep. Most activities are only a short walk away but taxi's and busses are always available outside the door. If you do have a car, there is underground parking - gated and secure.
Rosa Maria, the property manager is fantastic. She is always available to assist you if required.
We have enjoyed both our vacations in this condo and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yes, you should stay here!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2012

After making a rather last-minute decision to fly to PV for the week, it was a great stroke of luck to find this beautifully appointed condo in the heart of the city. Michel, the owner, was very responsive and provided clear and complete communication. We were met upon arrival and given all the pertinent information about the condo and its amenities, which included free phone usage for both local and state-side calls, as well as wireless internet -- a very nice amenity! Everything was spotless and as the photos show, there are views from every room. The newly refreshed Malecon is just steps away, bustling with shops, restaurants, street entertainers and vendors; and of course, the adjacent beach beckons to those who want to stretch out with a good book to enjoy the sunshine and surf. Part way through the week, Michel was in touch again, just to make sure all was going well; had there been any concerns (which there were not), I have no doubt that his on-site manager, Rosa, would have been there promptly to assist us. Most certainly, we highly recommend Home of the Dolphins

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fabulous

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

My husband suprised me with this trip for our 25th wedding anniversary november of this year. We have travelled extensivley and this was by far one of our favorite places. The condo is better in real life, just beautiful! we spent hours on the balcany just watching the people, not to mention dolphins and manarays almost every day. Our last day we were amazed by a pod of whales who seemed to put on a show just for us! We were also entertained every night by fireworks off a ship right in front of the condo. So much to see and do. We had the pleasure of dining with Michele and his beautiful partner Cecelia. A truly gracious couple. There are too many great reastaurants to name. Everything is within walking distance We will definatley be returning to this beautiful place in the future!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"WOW"

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

Together with our adult son, my husband and I stayed at the Home of the Dolphins from October 29 to November 5, 2011. We had gone to Puerto Vallarta to celebrate a special occasion, so It was very important to us to stay in a beautiful place in a good location.

After much searching and deliberation, we chose Michel's condo. When we walked into it, we all stopped in our tracks and said, "Wow!". It was exactly like the posted pictures! The Mexican style decor; the 180 degree view of the Bay of Banderas; the proximity to points of interest, dining and shopping were all superb as promised. An unexpected delight were the birds that came to the birdbath on the balcony. Michel is a prompt and gracious host. His site manage, Rosa, is helpful and thoughtful.

Home of the Dolphins was the perfect place to be for our special celebration. We returned home with many wonderful memories and a firm resolve to return as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Location Location Location The Home of the Dolphins was everything we had hoped it would be and more. Fantastic sunsets, wonderful amenities in the condo itself, the kitchen was beautiful and the feel of Mexico was all around us. Very comfortable for two couples, and right in the middle of all the action.

Being right on the water and the Malecon (Boardwalk) was the best part. The Malecon is the place to be. The people and the different activities as well as the Malecon itself, which is simply amazing, are so entertaining. Home of the Dolphins is the perfect getaway.

We certainly hope t return.

Frank & Debra Clow

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LUVIN' HOME OF THE DOLPHINS!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

BEEN COMING TO PUERTO VALLARTA SINCE '67. HOME OF THE DOLPHINS(HOTD) IS WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST STAY YET. MICHEL'S PICTURES AND DESCRIPTION DON'T DO HIS HOME JUSTICE. THERE'S A REAL MEXICAN FEEL HERE, YET YOU'VE GOT ALL THE CONVENIENCES OF A 5 STAR HOTEL, PLUS YOUR OWN KITCHEN AND THE PRIVACY AND PEACE YOU CAN'T FIND IN A HOTEL(AT A BETTER PRICE, AS WELL)
SPOKE WITH MICHEL BEFORE AND AFTER OUR STAY. MICHEL TAKES GREAT PRIDE IN HIS HOMES AND IT SHOWS.
HIS MANAGER, ROSA, WAS AVAILABLE TO RESPOND IMMEDIATELY AND, YET, WE REALLY DIDN'T REQUIRE ANYTHING MORE, AS EVERYTHING WAS SPOT ON.
THE HOTD HAS THE PERFECT LOCATION FOR US, AS IT IS SMACK ON THE MALECON OVERLOOKING THE BANDERAS BAY. AN ADDED PLUS IS THE LACK OF STREET TRAFFIC, YET, YOU CAN WALK ABOUT A BLOCK UP THE MALECON TO THE TOWN SQUARE WITH ITS SURROUNDING RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS.
MANY THANKS, ERIC AND LOIS

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

As advertised

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

The location of this luxury condo is superb. Sitting on the balcony (the condo highlight) and watching the dolphins swim by was a beautiful way to start the day.

The condo had everything to make my stay complete and I'll not hesitate to return.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Vallarta

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

What a wonderful week we had in this beautiful home. We spent most of our time on the Terrace, as the view is positively spectacular. Whale watching tends to be very addictive, I must say. We also saw the green flash two times at sunset.

It is located in the best of all places in town - so close to everything! What a pleasure to walk out the door & virtually be in the center of everything. People watching on the terrace was also very entertaining.

Knowing that Rosa was as close as the phone was quite comforting. She called us a couple of times just to check & see if we needed anything. And last, but not least, thank you Michel. You are indeed a most gracious and accomodating Host.

We are already planning our trip for next Winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Terrific vacation property!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Home of the Dolphins and I would recommend it to anyone. We saw whales and/or dolphins every day (Hint: Bring binoculars for better viewing), and had a fabulous time "people-watching" from the balcony. The condo was very comfortable, and well equipped. On the day we left, we had a late plane and Michael graciously extended our check-out time.
Restaurants we loved: Chez Elena, Mama Rosa's, Vista Grill, LaPalapa (sister restaurant to the Vista Grill and not listed in the most recent edition of Fodor's), Trio, and Vitea (downstairs). We took cabs to all except Vitea and are glad we did - especially the Vista Grill, which we never would have found had we driven there ourselves. Try the pacific shrimp in LaPalapa - it's worth the trip to PV!
Shopping in PV: Peyote People and a fairly new store across the street and in the next block - can't remember the name but it featured primarily items made from alpaca wool. This store had gorgeous sweaters and weavings by a Peruvian weaver - last name Laura. Peyote People has beautiful Huichol beadwork and artwork - very high quality and a really knowledgeable owner. We also liked Lucy's (not the entire name but it's in Fodor's).
A side trip to Sayulita and San Francisco is well worth the hour or so it will take you to get there. Sayulita has an excellent store for beadwork, yarnwork, and unbelievably gorgeous jewelry. This store is managed by a non-profit organization that is committed to maintaining Hoichol culture, so you not only get high quality artwork and crafts but your money also goes for a good cause. San Francisco also has a wonderful shop - listed in Fodor's PV book.
The Malecon is a real treat, with gorgeous statues and wonderful shops. Watch for the group of 4 dancers/musicians with the fabulous headresses - you'll know them when you see them. And be sure to tip them - they are very good and quite entertaining.

When you leave PV, check out the artwork in the concourse to the B gates in the terminal - up and coming artists. Sales of their art also support a nonprofit.

Hope you have as much fun as we did. Thanks, Michael!
P.S. We left cumin in the cupboard so make some guacamo

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

This condo is exactly as pictured. Beautiful and a great location. My friends and I loved it. Rosa, Michel's property manager, was absolutely fabulous. We couldn't have had better service. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Fabulous "Home of The Dolphins"

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Prior rentals of my 20 other visits to PV cannot match the "Home of The Dolphins" for ocean front view and central location to restaurants & shopping. Infinite attention to detail is the watchword for the tasteful interior design and furnishings. No amenity and convenience has been overlooked by gracious landlord/owner, Michel. This is a
one-of-a-kind rental; so enjoy if you are fortunate enough to reserve the dates you
desire. I will be a satisfied repeat guest in the near future.

-geoff

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful week in PV!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

What a lovely week in this beautiful home. We were right in the middle of all of "the action" PV style but also felt we could relax in this peaceful home. We really appreciated Rosa's assistance too, any time we needed it. There is so much this city has to offer. One very special day we were able to spend where we left form the port in the morning in a speed boat across Banderas Bay landing on a picturesque remote beach across the bay; we then boarded 4-wheel drive vehicles and headed into the Sierra Madres. We arrived at our destination to then get on mules and go further into the mountains where we spent the next couple of hours ziplining through the canopy, rapeling waterfalls and hiking through the jungle. It was a beautiful and amazing day with a great group of people and an excellent adventure company called Vallarta Adventures!!! Thanks Michel. We WILL be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PV Family Trip!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

This past June My husband and two daughters (5 and 2 years old) spent an amazing time in this beautiful condo. The place was very cleaned and well maintained. I personally loved the open floor plan and the big pation windows from teh living room and master bedroom that opened up completely. We absolutely loved that the condo was in a central location with everything around you and no need for transportation. We absolutely loved teh condo and Rosa Maria the property manager couldn't ahve been more welcoming and friednly. There is 24hr security of the facility. We will be back and we highly recommend the home of the dolphins. Everything Michel described in his page was as expected. We had an amazing trip and we will be back soon......... Robles Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You;re Gonna Be Happy With This One!!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

My granddaughter and I spent 4 wonderful nights in Michel's Home of the Dolphins. This home is exactly as pictured -- believe me you will not be disappointed in any way. Sleeping with all the glass panels opened to listen to the surf, having Rosa arrange massages on our balcony, using the pool and you were the only ones in the complex using it, being able to walk everywhere for marvelous dinners were some of the things that we enjoyed. Did I forget to mention shopping -- girl things you know.

Go and make your own memories and you will be planning on next years visit like everyone else who has ever stayed there.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location and Place!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

I recently took a trip to Puerto Vallarta and we stayed in the Home of Dolphins condo. This is a great place to stay for those who want to see the beach/sights and be in the center of it all. The condo is very secure and you feel very safe being in a gated condo. You are within walking distance of a starbucks and many many great places to eat and shop! You are only a short cab ride away from the maritime terminal where there are many great adventure cruises. The condo itself had many great amenities including internet and tv as well as a full kitchen with a great outdoor patio with fabulous views of the water. I will visit and stay here again as the location was fantastic, views were incredible and there was a great roof top pool for your convenience inside the condo. I recommend this place to anyone who is looking to visit and stay in a convenient, safe, and fabulous location!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First low season trip to PV

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

This was our third trip to Pv in 2 years, first in June, the last two in March. If you like to people watch and do so while relaxing, the veranda at Home of the Dolphins is perfect. We spent 50% of our vacation doing just that. Can't even imagine what that would be like during whale season in March. This location is perfectly located between the Romantica Zone which caters to many wonderful restaurants and and a more laid back atmosphere and the Hotel Zone which has many good restaurants, bars, and nightlife. We always rent a car for our out of town excursions and found the 24 hour security guarded underground parking a plus. Very safe area. The condominiums amenities were just as expected and advertised and dealing with Michel and Rosa(property manager) was a dream. We'll be back again next year and highly recommend Michels place. Thanks for the great time and wonderful experience. Asta luego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Glimpse of Heaven

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Puerto Vallarta and really enjoyed Home Of The Dolphins. I spent many hours looking for the right place to stay on our vacation and I believe we could not have made a better choice. The home touches on everything you would want; it offers wide open space with tremendous open air flow to the terrace that offers spectacular beachfront views of the bay. We essentially lived on the terrace. The facility was quiet, very clean and well kept. The roof top pool was gorgeous with amazing views and beautiful landscaping and was often vacant providing for a peaceful time of sun bathing and soaking in the pool and views. We always felt safe and appreciated the full time security. The location of the complex away from traffic allowed us to enjoy being lulled asleep at night by the waves breaking on shore; while, in contrast the evenings were full of people-watching and vendor activity on the boardwalk right below our terrace with bustling activity and family entertainment in Los Arcos and the town square located a couple of easy-walking minutes way. It doesn’t get any better. And and much thanks to Rosa who was a great host and made us feel at home. She was waiting for us when we arrived, showed us all we needed to know in the home, walked us around the complex and left us contacts and information for services ranging from taxis to tours. She checked up on us periodically and the maid service, which was thorough. We contacted one of the services to return us to the airport and my wife left her purse in the car. After about ten frantic minutes in the terminal, Alonso the driver drove up and returned the purse. You can imagine how relieved we were. It says much about the people. Thank you Alonso. We were blessed and enjoyed the best vacation we have had on this trip to beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Nipomo4

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a condo

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

""The first 2 weeks of May we spent 2 wonderful weeks in this glorious condo. When it says right on the Malecon that is what it means.
Mornings were spent drinking coffee on the patio watching the cruise ships come in. Evenings brought the spectacular sunsets over the ocean....right from our private patio.
The condo is very clean and well maintained. The property manager was extremely helpful and took great strides in helping us when ever she could.
With this condo, you have free phone calls to the US any time day and night as well as a phone number that you can be reached at. This proved very helpful because we had an emergency while were gone and it was a life saver for us as our cell phone would have been quite expensive.
Being right down town was so fun because we walked everywhere and the cost of taxis was minimal. The buses stop very close and are inexpensive and fun to ride. The shopping was great and we felt safe at all times.
The condo has locked gates with a security guard on duty 24/7.
I recommend this condo.
We were married on the beach while we were there and are hoping maybe we could make this a yearly honeymoon trip in this condo.

Patty & Doug of East Wenatchee, Wa.
"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2009

This past February my wife and two friends spent a week at the Home of the Dolphins condo in Puerto Valllarta, our favorite winter destination. This was our eight trip to beautifu PV, but our first staying in town (Centro). Peviously we had stayed in Conchas Chinas or Amapas.

We absolutely loved being right on the Malecon where we could walk to all of our favorite restaurants, shops and the town square.

As to our Condo we could not have been more pleased. It was light and airy, perfect with the view of the Bay of Bandaras just outside the wrap around floor to ceiling windows. It had every convenience we needed--kitchen appliances, TV, and free phone internet service back home and much more. The four of us particularly enjoyed the pool, just one flight above our Condo, with plenty of lounges and umbrellas.

We look forward to a return trip to this beautifu city and especially to the fantastic setting of the Home of the Dolphins.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glorious

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Glorious days – romantic sunsets and unforgettable adventures… that’s how I would describe our holiday in PV at Home of the Dolphins.

We started each morning with a quite walk around the sleepy streets of PV returning to Home of the Dolphins with freshly baked croissants, to drink coffee, sit on the balcony, watch the town come to life and plan the rest of our day.

One morning – very early - after a very late night at Amigos – we went fishing. As we motored our way to the “best place for fish” according to Francisco – our fisher guide – we found ourselves bobbing along with a school of hundreds of dolphins. An experience that still has me speechless.

Another morning we watched as a Momma whale and her baby worked their way effortlessly across the bay… magical indeed.

We had an “up close and personal” experience with the locals during “Holy Week” a national holiday – when everyone comes to PV for the weekend… note to self… next time – we may want to come after the festivities are all done.

The location of Home of the Dolphins was perfect – close to the best restaurants, great shopping, bustling beaches and an easy walk to where ever we choose to wander.

So from fishing to zipping across the treetops – to martinis on the balcony – I’ll be telling the stories of this holiday for a long time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

This was our second trip to Puerto Vallarta, but our first right in the heart of the city. We are a family of four with two boys, 12 & 8. This was a great way to experience Vallarta right above the Malecon amidst the sounds of the crowds and the surf rolling the rounded rocks on the shore.Our only disappointment...we didn't see any dolphins. But this was more than made up for by the appearance in the bay by whales! A pod of 8 to 10 whales made their way very close (400 to 600 yards) to shore. The view from the rooftop pool area was breathtaking as we watched these magnificent animals spout and show their full backs & flukes for close to an hour.We were close (walking distance) to everything. Casual dining on the beach including drinks and tips for 400 pesos. Name brand restaurants (Dominos, Bubba Gump, & Hard Rock) for when the kids were tex-mexed-out plus some great higher end dining. Must dos: Pipis (Crazy Mexican), Burros (on the beach), Marazul (overlooking the beach and the parasailers), Blue Shrimp (finer dining), La Dolce Vita (best pizza), and Paradise Burger (Amazing Burgers cooked to order). And while I'm talking about food you must try the vendors right in front of the villa. We had a great meal of grilled corn, tostitas, fresh fruit, and incredible crepas. We are a tennis playing family. The Canto del Sol Villa Vallarta Hotel & Tennis resort is a 5 minute (60 pesos, $5) cab ride away. They have 4 true clay courts (outdoor) and 4 covered hard courts. Rates are reasonable at 150 pesos/hour (approx $13.50 US or Cdn). Instruction is available for 190 pesos/hour. If you've never played clay before, this is a real treat.We did the Marigalante daytime pirate adventure and watched the ship's fireworks in front of the villa every night. The zip-lining at Los Veranos was amazing...and yes our 8-year old did it all including the 700' high line that ran for 400 m. Walk 12-minutes to Los Muertos Pier and catch the water taxi to Yelapa (Best Beach).The villa was exactly as promised. In fact, we took pictures and they match almost exactly what you see on the website. The kitchen is well equipped. We prepared our own breakfast every morning and ate out for lunch and dinner, but you could prepare and enjoy all your meals ensuite. Full grocery shopping (Gutierrez Rizo) is less than a 10-mnute walk away. Quickie items (bread, eggs, bacon, milk, juice, sna

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Place – Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Once again we had a wonderful time! The condo is everything it says, only better. You have to be there to appreciate the sound of the waves on the beach in the nighttime, and the view from the balcony is better than the photographs, 180 degrees from north to south. Comfortable beds, excellent kitchen, and the staff was very polite and helpful. Thank you so much Michel, we’ll be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

Hi Michel, My friend and I have just returned from our wonderful stay at your "Home of the Dolphins". What a beautiful condo! The furnishings and layout are fantastic - with the front doors that open up completely to the patio and give the feeling of another room to the condo. Even though it was hot while we were there, with these doors open and the breeze from the ocean flowing through, we did not need to use the air conditioning. Being able to lie in bed and listen to the sounds of Puerto Vallarta and the ocean every morning was such a treat. The roof top pool and deck was beautiful, the views incredible, and it was almost like our own private pool as most times there were very few, if anyone using it. We also appreciated the security of the building and all the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Rosa was waiting for us when we arrived (at least 2 hours late - blame the airlines) and made us feel welcome right off the bat.
The location was also perfect. Everything we needed was within walking distance or at most a short cab ride. Thank you again for allowing us the use of your condo. I'm sure we will return before long.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home of the Dolphins

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2009

WOW! Home of the Dolphins is just spectacular.From the moment you enter the door,the views and the condo are awsome. We were very happy and comfortable there,I hated to go home. The gourmet kitchen was perfect for preparing dinner to dine at the best table in P.V. on owr own private balcony with the gorgeous views.The people we met at the condo were very friendly and helpful. Thank Michel ,we cant't wait to return!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a Fantastic Honeymoon Spot

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2006

Pictures don't do it justice... Beautiful view of the bay and in the heart of downtown, lots to see and lots to do. You can walk to everything (shopping, eating, night life) Everything about "Home of the Dolphins" is fantastic. We will be back.

Thank you,

Allan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

' Home is where the heart is '......

You'll see!

Marjolein en Huib
the Netherlands, Europe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Home of the Dolphins. We had the added pleasure of meeting and dining with the owner, Michel and his lovely lady, Cecilia. They are two of the most interesting people you could want to meet. Last year we stayed in the Penthouse and you can't go wrong with either accommodation. The location is perfect. You don't need a Taxi for getting around. There are a multitude of restaurants within walking distance. You have a beautiful view from the terrace. It is obvious that Michel and Cecilia both want anyone staying at there condos to have a wonderful time and we certainly did.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice - but Sleepless in PV

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Very nice rooms, but next to at least one bar that blares out music till long after midnight every night i.e. 3 am. Also about 20 street vendor stalls - not like in the picture - right outside. AC in master bedroom did not work and was not mended while we were there. so, we were sleepless in PV!!!

We had specifically asked the owner if it was quiet and he assured us it was. When we complained to him to he said this was all news to him and suggested we call the police to have it stopped. I think he should know what he is renting out.

I write this not to be unpleasant but so that others know.

Owners response: To my many wonderful guests:

I am continually striving to be the best! To always give way more than you are expecting!

I want each one of you to have to catch your breath when you first open the door and take a look around. I want you to marvel at the peace and tranquility you experience when you walk out on to the deck and take in the beauty of our amazing view!

It is you, my guests, that help me make sure your standard of excellence is always met.

Thank you all for your comments. Yes, even this one negative one I received in July of 2009. At the time I was devastated. I guess I was just so used to everyone being thrilled it left me deflated.

My wife and I stay in our own condo often. We fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean. I could not imagine what had happened.

I made it my mission to find out. The noise turned out to be an unlicensed bar that had opened right below and beside our building.

Thank goodness my guest took the time to write and let me know.
I immediately went to city hall with a petition. The city officials shut down the illegal establishment, and that all took place a year and a half ago.

I did give him a full refund and invited him back as my guest.

I wanted him to enjoy the true beauty of our amazing condo. I wanted him to experience the peace and tranquility that has been enjoyed by so many over the years.

Thank you all for taking the time to write. Your comments let me know that yes.... I am still doing it right!

Regards,
your host,
Michel Rubini

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

Michel,

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at your condo in PV. It was my first time there and I was just blown away by the accommodations, the city and the people and the wonderful people. We had everything we could need for a week's stay and we loved every minute of it. The waves crashing ashore were wonderful to listen to every evening and every morning and the air conditioning worked wonderfully. Thank you for such a great place to stay, I would recommend this to anyone I know.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Five nights in Vallarta

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. The soul of the City was just outside our balcony as well as an impromtu band with Good music. The accomadations are exactly as portrayed on the website. There is a warmth that greats you on your arrival and you feel truly at home. Too bad that we had to come back to reality. Great place!
Ron & Cynthia

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

What a great time we had here. It was everything we hoped for and more. First, it looks exactly like the pictures, except better.  I loved the furniture and artifacts that decorated the condominium.  It totally evokes Puerto Vallarta.This place grows on you  very fast. I have stayed in the resort hotels here, and though nice, the rooms could really be anywhere in  the world. And that is why  I prefer Home of the Dolphins, it's an upscale, comfortable way to be in exotic Puerto Vallarta while  remaining a bit above it all.I told my wife, "I love it. I can stay in bed, looking out at my 180 degree view of blue blue blue ocean and green hillsides, and feel  like I'm out there enjoying Puerto Vallarta without even getting out of bed."It is very spacious, the TVs get a ton of cable stations including CNN and some US channels. Michel provides 24 hour Internet (wi-fi) and that is incredible. We had two lap tops and we so appreciated getting back in touch with the 21st century after a long day on the pristine, isolated beaches and swimming with the dolphins.Michel has great taste in life and living and I for one am glad he is sharing it and making it available to those of us who know the difference. Viva La Casa Delfines!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

We loved our condo at PV. It was everything the advertising said. It was perfectly located so we could discover everything by foot if we wanted. The view was awsome! We loved enjoying the ocean breeze anywhere in the condo if we wanted and watching the sunsets everyday from the deck. We can hardly wait to return! Michele was very helpful for anything we needed to know. Rene was there greating us when we arrived and helped us get settled in. It was perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Home of the Dolphins is a delightful place to vacation. The balcony is perfect for watching the pelicans fish, the people strolling on the Malacon, or just relaxing with a favorite book and a cool drink.
In addition to the bright and cheerful condo, the upstairs pool and terrace is also a great spot to spend time.
The location is perfect, within walking distance to excellent restaurants, shopping and the water taxis.
We stayed for two weeks in March and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
Elaine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

the condo is beautiful and a great location. we loved watching the dolphins every morning and all of the action along the bay. would love to go back and stay again. kay

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Michel;
I have just returned from a 6 day stay at your beautiful home in PV.and With all of the negative publicity that Mexico has been recieving in the media lately, I felt obligated to share this wonderful experience with anyone who is considering a visit to PV. The people are so friendly and so eager to accomodate any and all needs that it makes it very difficult to want to come home. I spent every day on the Malecon with my two year old daughter enjoying the magnificant weather, food and serenity. This is truly a place where land and sea have come together and created a perfect combination of physical and visual stimulation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Hola Michel,
We just got back last night from your lovely home in PV. We really enjoyed ourselves and we loved your place. We were there during the 12 days of the celebration of Guadalupe and it was so much fun. There was something going on every night. The weather was awesome and we walked so much and found wonderful restaurants and shopping. We met a good group at the pool that own condo's in your building and they told us of places to go and eat and shop, and we hung out with them in the day. Needless to say, we had so much fun. It was 47 degrees in San Francisco when we got back, and 87 degrees when we left PV. Burr! I want to go back to PV.
Thank you so much again, and we hope to do future traveling and staying at one of your lovely homes. Thank you for the coffee and soda's that were waiting for us in the condo. That was a nice treat.
Oh, Renee was wonderful and was there waiting for us when we arrived. The complex is kept up so well and we felt very safe at all times.

Candi and Nino Aiello

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

From the moment we walked into the well
appointed lobby and your assistant Rene opened
the door to #309 we knew we were in paradise. The
unit is so spacious, a 270 degree view,inspiring
mexican furniture,spacious bedrooms, a large
balcony such that one is immediately welcomed to
your Mexican home and downtown P.V. With the
massive glass doors that open in the living room
and bedroom one does not need the A/C because
we wanted to listen to the waves breaking on the
sea wall as we looked down on the people strolling
the Malecon. Having the portable fan to move
around the unit is a great idea. The beautifully
appointed kitchen with ice making refrigerator, six
burner range, and authentic Mexican dish ware is a
godsend. Your pictures & description of this unit are
100% truthful for those who sometimes become
suspicious of the amenities included in rental units.
Your unit is so close to some of the best cafe's in
P.V. it is work to cook at home. You are absolutely
correct when saying the Vitea restaurant below you
prepares delicious meals, we dined there 3 times.
The 24 hour security left us feeling safe at all times.
The 4th floor pool area is remarkable and so private
with additional views of the ocean and historic
buildings (the Cathedral) behind you on the hillside.
Your unit made us feel we truly belonged in P.V., so
close to the real Mexican people. Your assistance in
pre-planning our vacation is surpassed by none,
leaving no stone unturned. The addition of 2
telephone systems, coupled with 2 types of
complimentary internet providers made keeping in
touch with business and friends an easy task. Your
instructions to us has been the best and most
extensive ever experienced in renting via vrbo.
Having Claudia & Rene available at all times allied
any concerns a visitor may have, always there to
assist us, if needed. In closing, we wish to thank
you for allowing us to use and enjoy your
magnificent, truly Mexican condominium. It is, by
far, the nicest decorated unit we have rented. The
maintenance of the entire complex is obvious as
soon as you enter the private gated entrance. We
hope we will be invited to partake in your
hospitality in the near future. Truly a Mexican
jewel. We recommend for future guests just 2 more
of the many cafes on Basillio Badillo Street to try,
Joe Jack's Fish Shack & EnQuentros Pizza. Yours
truly, G. & M. Burrell, Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 15, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

The condo was perfect for 4. Walking distance to downtown Vallarta, beautiful view of the bay and interesting people on the Malecon. Property manager met us as soon as we arrived and couldn't ask for a nicer place to enjoy the week.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"A thing of beauty is a joy forever;"

Review submitted: June 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 25, 2008

Where to begin? All was sheer perfection. We loved the decor, the views were stunning, the abundance of room perfect. We so enjoyed the location. Being able to walk almost everywhere was so relaxing. The entire building was alway spotless and smelled so clean. The staff was always exceedingly pleasant and helpful. We also were able to enjoy the 150 year anniversary of PV and therefore were treated to the most beautiful display of fireworks from the roof top pool area. And the roof top pool ~ this was the pleasantest of all things. We cannot wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Even more beautiful than expected!

Review submitted: May 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

We were delighted when we opened the door and breeze hit our faces and the place was even more beautiful than we expected! It was fabulous and relaxing, we spend so much time just enjoying the view every night. The sound of the ocean is mesmerizing and we enjoyed our visit so much, we hope to go back again! Thanks for sharing your beautiful place with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home of The Dolphins

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 17, 2008

This property has an excellent location on the water front and close to many downtown restaurants and nightclubs. Beautiful tile work and nice kitchen. Internet service was good as well as a free internet phone. TV's and DVD players in both bedrooms also as well as a CD stereo. We were there over Easter week and the Malecon boardwalk in front of the place was noisy with people talking until late into the night, as well as local musicians playing for tips. The downtown area was packed with some streets closed due to all the locals in town. But it was nice to sit on the balcony and "people watch" during the day. We could watch humpback whales from the 3rd floor balcony and saw a couple of dolphins during our 8-day stay. Place is close to supermarket and bus routes. Go to Yalapa while you are there by water taxi out of Boca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

This place is beautiful. We stayed there (2 couples) for a week during Christmas and it was great! If you don't mind hearing the ocean at night, this place would be a 5 - Excellent. (we had a little trouble sleeping, but only because of the ocean). You couldn't find a more ideal location in PV. Everything is within walking distance and the restaurants in the vicinity are wonderful.

We fully recommend Michel's vacation condo. It's luxury!

Tim, April, Jason and Kim - Christmas '07

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A perfect honeymoon!

Review submitted: January 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at Home of the Dolphins! The photos don’t do it justice. The condo is just beautiful – the views are spectacular and everything is clean and new. The attention to detail is wonderful. And you couldn’t ask for a better location. You’re in the heart of the old town and right on the beach (and yet it didn’t seem noisy at all – except for the sound of the waves at night!). There are fantastic restaurants and fun little shops everywhere. Michel and Cecilia were staying upstairs when we were there and it was a treat to get to know them. If you want to avoid the resort scene, this is definitely the way to go!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

The perfect week

Review submitted: January 20, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My husband and I spent a week here with two of our best friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The unit itself is beautiful with a full kitchen, two private bedrooms, a spectacular, wide-open balcony and shared space that was relaxing and inviting. The best part of the unit was the location. We woke up each morning to the sights and sounds of the ocean as we sipped our coffee on the balcony. We even spotted whales in the bay on several ocassions. The building is also secure with both a locked gate and security guard (although PV is a friendly and safe city).

Because it is right on the Malecon, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We were in the middle of shopping, groceries, fabulous restaurants, and beautiful art and history.

Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

gone fishing!!!

Review submitted: September 1, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

I came to Puerto Vallarta on a fishing trip with a buddy and I couldn't have been more happy with our accommodations. After a full day outdoors, the condo was clean, comfortable and inviting. A great place to kick off our shoes, relax and enjoy to view. The kitchen fully provided us with the tools to cook up feast with all the fish caught. The beds were killer, I slept like a baby. This great location made it easy to get out and celebrate over a bottle of tequila!!!!! Tons of great restaurants just steps away. Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 10 / 17

 

An amazing getaway!

Review submitted: August 28, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

My friends and I really enjoyed our experience in the Home of the Dolphins. It was imposible to wipe the smiles off our faces. It's a beautiful condo with all the amentities, right in the heart of all the action. Because of its location, there was nothing we planned that didn't at least start within walking distance, such as the pier, and the starting point for the canopy tour. It's the perfect "home base" when experiencing all that Puerto Vallarta has to offer. I highly recommend this exemplary home to anyone who wants it all: luxury, convenience, just plain fun! We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 10 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review