reviews for: listing #22012 - North Captiva Island, Florida House rental

Surfs Up Pool Home Brand New Island Beauty
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,150 - $3,350 /wk

sort by:

Tennessee

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

This was our families first trip to North Captiva Island and it will certainly not be our last and when we return we will be staying at Surf's Up again!!!

Surf's Up is one of the nicest and well appointed beach houses that I have ever rented. Everything that you can think of from beach chairs and towels to kitchen utensils was provided. What a great place to spend your vacation. We had our two children with us who really enjoyed the swimming pool as well as the shelling and fishing on the island. I would highly recommend Surf's Up for anyone looking for a very nice and relaxing vacation on a truly beautiful island!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family get away home"

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This trip is our fourth to the island and it just keeps getting better. Surfs up is a beautifully maintained, well appointed home. The pool is great and the billiard table is a bonus! It is perfect for our family, the evening billiard competition kept us all engaged in a fun family activity.
The property manager, Tom, was always at the ready if we needed something or had a question?
The owners, Helen and Ron were so helpful in answering questions before we came that we knew exactly what we had to pack!
The house was just what we expected as the web site was accurate in its photos. What you see is what you get here at "Surfs Up", and what we got was 8 days in an beautiful home in paradise! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

March of 2012 our family’s first time visiting North Captiva, and we had a fabulous time! Surf’s Up exceeded our expectations. Vicki greeted us as we arrived on the island after the quick ferry ride over. She helped us with our (many) bags of groceries and even accommodated our early arrival time. The bedrooms are downstairs, while the main level has an open kitchen, dining area, and den perfect for relaxing after a long day at the beach. The kitchen was very well stocked and appliances were all up-to-date. Many meals were enjoyed both in the dining area and on the screened-in porch. The top floor overlooks the den and has a pool table. We watched the sunset almost every evening from the top deck; the views were incredible!

The ability to take the golf carts wherever we wanted to go was very convenient. It was nice to be able to spend some time on the beach, some at the Surf’s Up pool, and some time at the North Captiva Island Club pool. We enjoyed drinks poolside during happy hour a few afternoons and even rented jet-skis one day!

This was a very relaxing, low-key vacation and was an excellent destination. We would definitely recommend Surf’s Up to families, couples, or friends wanting to get a way for a relaxing week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just as Perfect the Second Time Around!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

My family spent our spring break at Surf's Up again this year (having had such a great time at Surf's Up on last year's spring break). We (once again) had a wonderful time. Vicki, the house's caretaker, was great, even accommodating our early arrival and later departure times. The house was very clean and filled with personal touches that made our packing lighter (beach towels, laundry soap, spices for cooking, hand soap and Kleenex in the bathrooms, etc.) The setup is perfect and works great for a family. We've been to N. Captiva three years in a row now and won't stay anywhere else. The island itself is a great place to relax, with awesome beaches and wildlife to see--we watched manatees for quite a while in the canal by Barnacle Phil's and saw dolphins every day from the beach. The owners couldn't be easier to work with. I have a 13-year-old son and 8-year-old twins and all three have been asking to return again next year. I would highly recommend North Captiva and this house to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A week in paradise...

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We ( me , my wife and our 2 girls 11 and 14) spent a fantastic week at 'Surfs Up' in August.The 4 storey house is fantastic,360 degree sea and island views, pool , great dining areas under lanai, big flatscreen tvs for the kids, pool table and it comes with a golf cart to whizz around the sandy lanes of the island. Whilst there we used the kayaks that come free with the house's membership of the harbour club to explore the waters around the island, we went jet skiing and rented fishing gear and caught fish off the beach. We mainly ate in, but had a great meal at the Waterfront Restaurant , where I can recommend the Cajun prawns with rice spiced with habanero chillis.
The wildlife was great , we saw Manatees, Dolphins, tortoises, ospreys and racoons.
We spent 2 weeks in Florida, with a week at the the parks then a week to relax on North Captiva , which was a great combination. A great family holiday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was a perfect stay!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

If you haven't heard of this little jewel of North Captiva, it's a must to put on your 'bucket list'. Paradise found, this island is truly unique. We were very fortunate to have booked Surf's Up Beach House, this was ideal for our family. We loved being met at the dock my the owners Caretaker, she was fabulous. From the time she picked us up, to cleaning our pool during our stay, to departure day, we knew we had a phone number to call should we need anything. The owners definitetly put some thought into stocking this house from making our cooking enjoyable (kitchen well stocked), evening enjoyable (awesome crow's nest for sunset, pool table and games) packing lighter (beach towels), grocery order less (essentials supplied) and conveniences added (beach umbrella, beach chairs and cooler for the beach). If you have more than 5 people in your party, we strongly suggest renting their 2nd golf cart as this added tremendous flexibility to your stay!! To date, this vacation is by far our families most enjoyable! We have recommended Surf's Up Beach House to our friends, and their friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in July--Captiva 2011

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We are very happy that we chose Surf’s Up for our Christmas in July! Our family has grown (3 new members in 11 months!) and it is becoming more difficult to get everyone together. Surf’s Up exceeded our expectations in every way. The Glicks made sure we had all necessary information and communicated with us often. When we arrived, Vicki met us at the dock, brought us to the house and made sure we had what we needed. Surf’s Up is a beautiful home and comfortably accommodated our family of 7 plus 1 toddler. It was well-equipped, in excellent condition and very clean. The lagoon pool next to the house was so convenient and lots of FUN, especially for our 1 year old granddaughter. The roof top deck was a great gathering place in the late afternoon with spectacular sunset views.
Since we were a large group, we rented a 2nd golf cart and we were very glad we did. It gave us the flexibility we needed to get to the beach or club or to just tour the island! Having someone else (Publix) do your grocery shopping was a little tricky. Our order was complete but we learned a few things for the next time. We will be back to North Captiva and are already looking forward to it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing (Wisconsin)

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

This was our first time visiting North Captiva Island and it was amazing! We had come down for my husband's son's wedding and even though it was a short stay we still absolutely loved staying here. The view was amazing, the pool was great for having a leisurely afternoon and it was very convenient little golfcart ride to the beach. Everything that we needed for our stay was provided and if we had any questions at all Vicki was always available to help us with our needs. The house was extremely clean and looked great, you could tell that it had been well cared for.

Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

This was our first time visiting the beautiful North Captiva Island. My husband and I went with two of our friends and had a fantastic time, thanks in part to Surfs Up! The house had everything we could possibly need, from pool toys to coolers, extra towels to kitchen bakeware and utensils galore. The view from the rooftop deck was breathtaking- and the pool was always JUST the right temperature. The location of the house was also great, just a quick golf cart ride to just about anywhere on the island. The owners were great to work with and the caretaker on the island was fantastic- she helped us get settled in and gave us pointers on where the best beaches were and when we could spot dolphins. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Spring Break Getaway!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

It's obvious the Glicks have really thought things through as far as what a renter would need for a week or two at the beach. What a wonderful house to rent! Everything we needed was provided with the house -- even great beach toys for the kids. The house's layout was perfectly conducive to our family -- especially the three large, full bathrooms -- great for showering 3 tired kids in a hurry.

The house was very clean. When we travel, I always bring some basic cleaning products along just in case things aren't up to my standards. I didn't need to worry about that at Surf's Up. The housekeeper is doing a great job.

Vicki, our caretaker, was so helpful. We were "moved in" so quickly and off enjoying our vacation before we knew it. We had brought along supplies for a charcoal grill -- my husband is a "grill snob" -- charcoal only. When Vicki saw our big bag of charcoal, she said the charcoal grill was recently replaced with a gas grill, but she had a new charcoal grill at her house and she loaned hers to us for the week. Perfect!

This was our second trip to North Captiva (our 4th to the general area) and we so love it! What a great place to unplug, relax, and forget about life for a while. My family and I all agree that if we decide to spend spring break in North Captiva again next year, we will check to see if Surf's Up is available before checking any other houses. Truly, a week was not long enough!

A note from the kids -- don't miss Pirate's Stash Ice Cream above Barnacle Phil's restaurant!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Counting The Days

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

My family and I recently returned from a week at Surfs up Beach House in North Captiva and we have been talking about a return trip since we've been back home in Boston. Our week on the island was spectacular, and our time at Surfs Up Beach house was a very big part of it. From the moment my 14 year old daughter and her cousin ran inside and yelled "dad this is amazing", to the evening pool games, relaxing swings in the hammock, and post beach dip in the pool we could not have been more pleased with our stay. The owners Ron and Helen were gracious and accommodating and the property manager, Vicki, who referred to herself as her island concierge was absolutely wonderful. I'd rent the house again just to have Vicki as our island friend. Having travelled to many places, including many resort destinations all over the world, I can say with confidence that North Captiva was among the most relaxing and enjoyable family vacations. My only regret was not being able to share a cocktail on the rooftop deck with Ron and Helen to properly thank them for their home and their hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best House we've stayed at on North Captiva

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

The house was above our expectations. Not only was the house convenient to the North Captiva Club, but also to the beach. We especially liked that the owners had a representative meet us at the dock and stopped by to make sure we had everything. What a fun time!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sunsets and Dolphins

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at “Surf's Up” the last week of January, 2010. What a great place! The house is on a off shore island that you reach by boat. No cars on North Captiva Island but no problems as a golf cart comes with the house. Staying on the island means you'll have a real get away. Perfect quiet at night and scenic beauty by day. The island has long white sand beaches, hiking trails, water fun, birds and animals to be observed, fishing and oh yes, sunny warm weather. While we were there, we walked down to the beach and were surprised to see dolphins swim by close in to shore.
If your looking at a North Captiva island vacation, I don't think you could do better than “Surf's Up”. The house is new and spotlessly clean. The beds are very comfortable. The showers are great. From the top deck you have a 360 degree view of the island. You can watch the sun set every evening. Even though you are on a off island, “Surf's Up” includes satellite tv and high speed internet. I would like to highly recommend "Surf's Up", we had a great time there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review