reviews for: listing #221142vb - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Private Beachfront Estate, House Keeping Service, and WIFI Included!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Estate
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 395 - $ 595 / night
    $ 2,275 - $ 2,999 / week
  • sleeps  9
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Just great... Everything

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

What a phenomenal house, town, beach, I could go on and on.

Our group was 7 good friends about 25-35 yrs old, and we were looking for a place to relax, surf, go on hikes and adventures, have group diners, etc. It was great being so close to the beach and surfing spots. Santa Teresa and other within walking dist from the house are great, and Hermosa, a 15 min drive north, was a great place for beginner surfing.

The town was chill and laid back, exactly what I'd expect it to be. There were many restaurants, surf shops, gift stores, and a grocery/general store, but it was not "touristy" at all. Felt very safe and comfortable the whole time.

Finally, Scott was great to work with, and the caretaker for the property, David, is the most kind, cool, and hospitable we could have asked for. He has all the local knowledge, great surfer, great jazz saxophone player, and will make your trip the most of whatever you want it to be.

I would definitely come back to this exact spot again!

Thanks David - Jared and the crew

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much fun!!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it was fantastic! Dave (the caretaker) was amazing and made our trip even more successful than I could have imagined. The house is very nice and the lanai was perfect! You do need to know this is an open air house so there is no A/C and this area is warm and humid, but that does not dampen the fun! Amazing beach access and centrally located in town. Great great place to go!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful beach getaway!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

My five friends and I had the most relaxing, incredible time at Casa Amore. Dave was the most incredible property manager. He was fun, relaxed, and one step ahead of us at all times. The sunsets on the beach at the back of the house were really breathtaking. The house did not have A/C but all the fans that were provided and doors that we could keep open made it comfortable. The town of Santa Teresa was the quintessential surfer town with cafes, surf shops, and Costa Rican restaurants. We also went on a sports fishing day trip. The sunset from the boat was beautiful and we had a relaxing and fun time. I wish we would have stayed longer. I cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for families!

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Me and my family stayed over a long weekend at Casa Amore last August and we had a great time. We are a big family with 3 grandchildren and the accommodation was perfect! The rooms have plenty of space, each with it's own bathroom and they all have access to the outside corridor. The location of the property is Santa Teresa has got to be one of the best; the beach is just steps away which is very convenient when you have kids that really enjoy the ocean. Great restaurants are at walking distance, but if you prepare to cook your own meal and spend some family time on the kitchen the supermarkets are close as well. The kitchen is large and very well equipped so it's easy to be creative with your meals. David the caretaker was really helpful and welcoming. We are definitely looking forward to stay at Casa Amore Again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the setting and privacy

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this house, and we loved the location and setting. Its a perfect house for a family or large group. Our favorite part was the natural hot tubs in the tide pools in front of the house. It is located on the most beautiful beach that stretches for miles in both directions. The sunsets are amazing. The location is great because the house is very private, but still located within walking distance to many good restaurants. The house felt very safe and secure during the day and at night. The caretakers are wonderful people that were very helpful with area information and directions, and assisted with all of our needs. We really loved the care package they put together for us when we arrived from a long dusty drive with fresh fruit from the property, and other thoughtful items. The animals on the property Connie the perro and Osa the gato were so sweet and cute. The house is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, and lots of books. The commercial kitchen is a great amenity. We really enjoyed the outdoor living areas of the house, and spent lots of time watching animals, birds, iguanas, monkeys, squirrels, crabs from the deck. The night guard and cleaners were very nice as well. We will be back and would definitely recommend Casa Amore, its probably one of the best locations in Santa Teresa.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great waves, great lanai!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

What else do you need? We (3 couples and a dude) stayed at Casa Amore in the spring and we are still talking about it. The home is on a very private lot between two great surf breaks and has a very open feel. WWhile private, it is very central to great restaurants, local soccer games and surf shops. The caretakers were very inviting and helped us with everything we needed and the housekeeper kept the house clean. The house is very comfortable with a great kitchen, but most of our time was spent outside either on the beach or on the lanai. The great thing about the properties on Playa Santa Teresa is you can see the ocean from the house, but you can't see the house from the beach so the beaches are virtually unspoiled. The tidal pools were great fun during the rising tide and low tide was great for a swim. We rented a car but used it only once while we there...surf, eat, nap, drink, nap, surf, eat, sleep, repeat. We are returning next spring with kids and may have to try out some of the other activities, but would be extremely content on the hammock on the lanai watching iguanas and monkeys climb the trees after a head high and clean morning sesh. Cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

One of my favorite new destination places! Gorgeous home!

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

I took my first visit to Costa Rica and had the pleasure of staying several days in this beautiful home. Spacious, comfortable, convenient, relaxing, and accommodating! The kitchen was fully equipped with some of the most modern appliances and appointments anyone would need. The bedrooms and bathrooms were outstanding...spacious, comfortable, and the open air feel, you will sleep so well.
The grounds are your own private get away. Our first day we saw monkeys roaming through the trees which just added so much to our experience. You will enjoy the patio on the back of the house so much. The ability to take in all the nature and listen to the ocean is perfection. We also were able to get massages on the lanai.
Another benefit to the house is how it is conveniently located. You walk out of your gated front entrance and are on street filled with fun local retaurants - Chicken Joe's was our favorite!
Lastly, the staff, is exceptional. Patrick, the house caretaker, will make sure you not only feel welcome, but ensures that you experience all that you can during your time there.
Chek tis lovely vacation home out! You will not regret your choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

We were fortunate to have stayed in this beautiful home January 30 to Feb 3 2011. Our adventure started off the beaten path 4x4ing down into Santa Teresa. The howler monkey's in the wild were a thrill. Arriving at this home was more then I expected. The furniture on the deck was so comfortable there was no need to go anywhere else. The bed is by far the most comfortable one I have had the pleasure to sleep in. The homes layout being able to sleep with all the windows and doors exposed to mother nature yet feel comfortable knowing Aleandro always keeping us safe was such a treat.
We had a thrill one day when the cat chased a large iguana into the house and the iguana hung to the curtains for it's life. We eventually helped it back outside. The tidal pool on the beach was such a cool place to have a soak.The house being situated off the main road was the best that we could see for accomadations to fighting off the dust that the main road kicked up. All in all 2 weeks in Costa Rica this is the house and destination that my heart will continue to yearn for until my return.The food was fabulous everywhere we ate and big thanks to Patrick for all his help. I have left Costa Rica now truly understanding what Pura Vida means and will always carry that with me. Peggy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for a great review we would love to have you again one day!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

the perfect getaway

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

we stayed here for a couple of weeks and had a great time- we love this area and the house is fabulous!
it felt both very private and conveniently located at the same time. there are plenty of amenities- restaurants, spa, etc, close by; or with such a well equipped kitchen, it was easy to just stay in and cook delicious fresh food! evenings are tranquil- and the sound of the ocean will lull you to sleep at night. monkeys and iguanas are your friendly neighbors! if you're lucky, you may even spot a sloth! i would highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Santa Teresa Villa

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2005

I was given the honor to stay in this amazing place a few years back... it is forever burned in mind travellers mind as one of the most amazing experiences of my life!!

There are iguanas that come and hang with you while you watch multiple world class perfect surf breaks in your front yard!

The house itself is immaculate!! A dream I would say!!

If you have the opportunity to rent this place, consider yourself lucky!!

I will be back as soon as I can...

Thank you for creating a world class refuge and palace!
Colby Miller

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

We recently stayed in the house for 2 weeks, it was
amazing, elegant, grand, comfortable, very usable and
user friendly. So many little areas to crawl up in and read
a book, or take a nap. The beds were very comfortable!!
Our daughter enjoyed the entire property. We had a very
peaceful, private, and relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review