reviews for: listing #2214 - Tamworth, New Hampshire House rental

Chocorua NH summer house
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,800 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

Chocorua view carriage house

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This charming old homestead is lovingly maintained. The listing description is totally accurate and the owner is a delight to work with. It's a place that is perfect for a large gathering or a smaller group interested in relaxing and reading on the breezy and large screened porch that looks out to Mt. Chocorua. The location far off the road makes it wonderfully safe for your pet. If you're not one to sit still, there's shopping and lots of activities in North Conway, driving the Kancamagus Highway, taking in a play at the Barnstormers theatre, and visiting the Remick Country Doctor Museum. The dirt road is lovely for long walks and there are many lakes nearby for swimming and kayaking, or for the more adventurous, a day hike to the summit of Mt. Chocorua.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. We couldn't have a better endorsement for my family summer house where, as children, we did so many of the activities that you describe so well. I really appreciate your wonderful list of all that the house and the area has to offer. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Dark and Uncomfortable House

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Though this house has a nice location, it was very uncomfortable for our stay. The house is extremely dark, making it nearly impossible to read in the evenings. Due to the staircases, falls are also possible. In addition, every bed in the house is shot. After a long hike in the mountains, one craves a good night's sleep, though this is difficult on old, damaged beds, all of which need to be replaced. In addition, the house has a mold and a mouse problem. There is a very unpleasant odor.

With a bit of maintenance, the owners might make this a more comfortable property.

The owners require renters to drive garage to the dump; the drive is at least twenty minutes away.

Owners response: The last negative reviewers of the house are those who left the house trashed and damaged. It is hard not to believe that this review is not petty revenge for the fact that we very strongly objected and and charged them for the extra cleaning costs and the damages. The review says more about them than it does about the house The contract requires them to leave the house in the condition they found it. With the garbage, everybody in the area takes their garbage to the dump. This is the country. Nobody has ever objected to that before. It is one of the conditions for renting the house. If they don't want to take out the garbage, they shouldn't rent the house. It is an old house. We keep it not to rent it, but because it is very dear to our family, and for this reason, we keep it as we remember it, and much of the furniture is old. Many people think that, with the barn, meadow, and Chororua mountain in the background, it has the loveliest view in the area. The vast majority of our renters find the house and the property very charming. The property itself has real historical significance. Abraham Lincoln's son stayed there many times. In the country mice are not uncommon. All houses in the area have the problem and we battle to deal with it. Bears have been seen very close to the house. What would they do in that case? It is hard to believe that somebody who in the country is bothered by mice can get very far up any mountain. This is not at all an expensive summer rental property. This in not a Holiday Inn, which for a week would cost substantially more and wouldn't remotely have the equivalent view. The telltale is that the reviewers, while identifying the property, remained anonymous themselves, so as to avoid taking personal responsibility, behavior we find consistent with their treatment of the house.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Poorly maintained, dirty and a mouse problem

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Having rented many vacation properties, in my opinion this house is not in a suitable condition for renting. It is shabby, damp and really requires some attention spent on it. From the outside it looks lovely, but the interior is not well maintained or properly cleaned. I did not expect new furnishings, but I did not expect blinds that were held together with staples, holes in curtains, flaking paint and water/mold stains on the ceilings. We arrived to find a mouse nest in the hutch (and one very surprised mouse) and mouse droppings all over the kitchen work surfaces and cupboards, in and around the china, cutlery and coffee filters. While there, we set traps and caught 4 mice. Living in the country myself I understand the problem, but little seemed to be being done to rectify the situation. The mouse traps in place were old and dusty and looked like they hadn’t been touched in ages. The bed linen was stained and despite looking in the linen closet, we couldn’t find more items that weren’t stained. Many of the pillows were old, lumpy and heavily stained too. One of the beds had a wooden board under the mattress and it still sagged terribly. In general the house required significant cleaning as there were layers of dirt and dust all over the place with cobwebs inside the pots in a cupboard. Due to the mouse activity and unclean condition of the cooking pots and utensils we decided to eat out. The bathrooms were newer and clean. No fire alarms or CO2 detectors were installed. The location of this house is perfect for families with children being set back of the road and also an ideal location for all the sights of the White Mountains.

Owners response: We are very sorry that these renters felt this way. The house is an old summer family house. It is not a hotel. It has been lived in and enjoyed by many satisfied renters and family members. The furnishings are not new, but adequate and acceptable. Previous renters have found charming what these renters objected to. The cleaners come between rentals and leave it in good condition for the next family. We are constantly trying to update the house. Last year new bathroom fixtures were installed. This year, there will be a new living room floor. We do have a (family friendly) pest control plan with Orkin, but apologize for any mice that get through. We really want the house and the renters to be well-matched. As you can see from the other very positive reviews, that is the case.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

summer stay

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We had a great time. Enjoyed great fishing and boating, the fireplace, and, most of all, the great library. Thanks for the memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

summer vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Thanks so much for another great week -the lake, the hikes, the screened porch, the grill, the big table in the house -all great for a fun week with friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a great time. Here are some of the things we enjoyed:
Lake, fishing, a snapping turtle, canoe, catching 2 fish, floating in tubes, reading all of the wonderful books, painting on the porch, seeing wildlife, berry picking.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

family gathering

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We had a wonderful week! A great place for our family to vacation together -the children loved it. thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

summer vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time! The house captures"New Hampshire" perfectly. the wonderful, peaceful setting, relaxing atmosphere and lovely views fit our family well. (Even the dogs had a great time.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June wedding

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

...Had a wonderful stay. What a great house in the woods with a beautiful view and a peaceful lake. Our daughter's wedding was fabulous. Many Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review