reviews for: listing #22170 - Dominican Republic, Caribbean Villa rental

Unique Seaside Villa Playa Laguna
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cabarete
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $314 /nt
    $1,300 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Better than advertised !!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

The house is beautiful, the big pool refreshing and Playa Laguna beach appeared to be for just the four of us. The security of the area is unbelievable and Teresa, the housekeeper, a diamond. Conveniently situated between Sosua and Cabarete we very much enjoyed both and had a great time. Highly recommended.

Muchas, muchas gracias!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

We are a family of six from Toronto and rented the villa for a week after reading the reviews. We fully agree with the owner’s response: vicious, petty and mostly untrue comments. Yes, no flat screen TV but who comes to a tropical island for vacation to watch TV. The villa was as described and the service, utilities, security, the pool and the nearby beach were all great. The location is perfect for all types of travelers. l highly recommended spending a holiday here.          

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Had a really nice stay!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

We are a family of six from Greece and we stayed at Villa Playa Laguna for a week from April 7 to 14, 2011. The villa was just as advertized and we had a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Pleasant Surprise!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

We are a family of six from Greece and we stayed at Villa Playa Laguna for a week from April 7 to 14, 2011. The villa was just as advertized and we had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Disappointed

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We were highly disapointed upon arrival to what we thought would be a fantastic seaside villa. The villa pictures that were posted on vacation rentals showed a fantastic view of the ocean from the upstairs patio. Much to our surprise, there was a 5 story condo building under construction right in our back yard. Every morning we were awakened at 5 am not to the sound of the ocean, but the sound of saws, hammmering, and workers shouting at each other. The 80 meter walk to the beach was filled with garbage and dead rodents. The picture of the beach was nothing like the dirty beach itself. Needless to say, we never used that beach. The entire house was in disrepair. The sliding patio doors upstairs and downstairs did not lock at all, which concerned us, as we were told to lock our valuables up in the house when we departed. There was no water pressure anywhere in the house. We were told not to flush toilet paper down the toilets. The pool had a huge leak and needed to be filled everyday. The gardens were unkept and overgrown. The kitchen appliances were outdated and the stove actually had to be lit with a match! The downstairs bedroom had no fitted sheets and the beds were very uncomfortable. The main road leading to the home was filled with pot holes and in great disrepair. It is also advertised that there is 24 hour security. We did not see any security in the area. The only thing I can say positive about this home, was that Teresa, the housekeeper, was very pleasant the entire time. I have rented from vacation rentals many times in the past and this was truely the first time I felt that I did not enjoy my vacation! Also be aware that driving in the DR is very challenging as their are no driving regulations. Driving to dinner from this location to town was almost taking your life in your own hands. The people of the DR were very accomodating and very nice. There was a small market close by which offered all of the items we needed for our stay. One more thing, the furniture in the living area downstairs was virtually unusable as it was very uncomfortable and the televisions in the bedrooms were very outdated. Overall, my expectations were not what I thought they would be. If roughing it is your kind of vacation, this is the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: The venom of this review speaks by itself… The writer of this review was anxious to “discover” these unspeakable crimes even before he entered the villa, as I faced his arrogant and negative attitude from the first moment I met them at the airport. He was rude and insulting and I informed him that, while everything will be done to make their stay pleasant, they should not expect any special courtesy from me. I suppose in dozens of satisfied renters one can expect one who can’t even stand the air he breaths. He is right, however, about the antiquity of some items, as the School of El Greco oil painting that hangs in one of the walls is at least 300 year old.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review