reviews for: listing #22206 - Narrowsburg, New York House rental

Delaware River Retreat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $275 /nt
    $800 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

A really wonderful week with all the nice touches

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

My family and I had a really fantastic week staying at this house. Casey was very prompt responding to email inquiries leading up to the rental, and things went better from there. The house was in excellent condition and clean, and just exceptionally beautiful, from the deer eating the front flowers as we drove in, to the expansive back deck where we played cards and had cookouts.

We had never been in the area ever before, and found Narrowsburg and the region quite charming and plenty to do in our week.

But what made this house stand out the most were the small details - the laundry baskets in each bedroom, the extra propane tanks for the grill, the post-it notes next to some switches when it wasn't apparent what they were for, the basket of brochures, and the welcome note as we walked in.

Thank you, Casey!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Group Weekend Rental

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

A group of friends and I stayed here for a summer weekend and had the most wonderful time, we didn't want to come home! The house is bigger than it even looks in the pictures. Four comfortable bedrooms, two with private bathrooms, perfect for four couples. The kitchen was big enough for all of us to be in at the same time making meals. We would then go out onto the deck and eat at the 8 person table while be surrounded by sounds of the woods. You are in complete privacy but are a mere five minute walk from the river. Landers tube rental is right down the road and after a nice relaxing breakfast on the porch we all walked down and rented tubes for the day. Then we came back, showered and spend a relaxing evening grilling veggies and burgers. Late at night we made a bonfire and sat around enjoying the woods. Overall it is a fantastic house for a great price and I can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Glad you had a great time and were able to enjoy the river!
Best,Casey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Property was nice and secluded. We were attending a wedding just over the Skinners Falls Bridge so the location was perfect for us to be able to go back and forth over the two day period we were there. The house was very clean and very spacious for my wife and I and our married children and grandchildren. Casey and Steven ever very attentive to any of our needs.

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will make the Delaware River Retreat a frequent getaway. Hope the wedding was just perfect. Many thanks for your kind words.

Best,
C&S

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time Highly Recommend

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Me and my family had a great time we got exactly what we wanted, beautiful home, very cozy & spacious and best of all no one bothers you. It felt like it was our home. We also went snow tubing at Vila Roma 15 minutes away lots of fun for all. But what really made the trip great was Casey, talk about responsible, she answered all my questions and concerns in minutes when your taking going away you want it to be perfect well casey made sure it was. Hope to be back soon.

Owners response: We are thrilled that you had such a great stay and experience. Many thanks for your review! Visit again soon, perhaps when the weather is warmer.

Best,
Casey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

I stayed with my family at this property over the last weekend. Unfortunately we were all in town for a funeral of a relative that lives in Narrowsburg.
I have to say that during the pasts weekend, Casey was a godsend. Casey worked with me to reserve the location only a few days prior to the need and as well as coordinate my family's schedule for arrival and departure. Thankfully she was also willing to accept pets and my parents could bring their dachshunds. (Wish more property owners would respect responsible pet owners and allow them as Casey did.) The property looked as it did in the pictures and provided a good location to gather after the issues of the day. The property was clean, beds were firm, and surrounding woods allowed plenty of places for the dogs to explore.
I have been visiting Narrowsburg every year for almost 30 years as my mother's family has lived there since the late 1800s. It is a lovely town on the Delaware River that allows for so may outdoor activities. Rest and relaxation is exactly what you can expect there. You can drive to many other small towns using Narrowsburg as a home base. Casey's location near Skinner's Falls makes it even better and come summer this is a huge asset. I have always loved this little corner of the world. Thankfully I now know I can email Casey about reserving this location if the family homestead is filled with relatives. Thank you Casey and we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad we were able to accommodate you. We hope you'll visit again soon under happier circumstances. -Casey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Memories Ever!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

I stayed here 2 years ago with my husband and 2 other couples and we had the best time ever! We hope to stay here again soon if possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your positive review. Come and visit us again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just perfect

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Casey was so accomodating and did everything to make sure that we had a wonderful weekend staying in her house.

The house was perfect, and has been beautifully renovated.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay, Exactly as described!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We found exactly what we were looking for at this house - clean, spacious, well stocked kitchen, cozy fireplace, adorable town nearby, great hiking, supermarket and ample space for 8 to eat and relax comfortably. We were impressed by the quality and variety of items in the kitchen, the size of the bedrooms and the overall comfort of the house.

We visited both Peck's Market and the General Store in Milanville and they had all the supplies we needed. We hiked along Ten Mile River and our 2 yr old chocolate lab had the time of his life!

Overall we had no complaints and highly recommend the house to future visitors.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review! So glad you found everything as described. We hope you will come again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Relaxing and Cozy

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at this property. There was plenty of room, though we were only two. There are three bedrooms on the main floor - we stayed in the master which has a half bath.
Another, larger master bedroom is on the second floor with a full bath which was really nice as well. The fireplace and deck were great and we enjoyed reading all the notes and pictures left by previous guests in the guestbook.
There were more kitchen utensils than I even know how to use and everything was very clean and organized.

For activities I would suggest rafting or kayaking, hiking or even painball (at Kitatinny in Barryville down Rt 97). We drove to Lake Wallenpaupack and rented a pontoon boat (from the Rubber Ducky place, best prices) for the day, really fun :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you had a good time, and we hope to have you back again soon! We're having a great summer season.

All best,
Casey

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquil Weekend Away

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

My husband and I spent a peaceful weekend at the Delaware River Retreat. The property is well maintained, well equipped and very comfortable. The owner couldn't have made the rental process any easier for us - they gave us excellent information about the property and its location and were prompt and very friendly in their communications. The local area has lots of cute towns to visit. Breakfast at Narrowsburg's Main Street Cafe is very good. Their homemade cinnamon rolls are delicious! We would totally recommend this property and look forward to revisiting soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Weekend

Review submitted: October 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

This place is great. A few friends and I rented this place for the weekend. Though we were only five, the place can comfortably accommodate up to 10 people.

The house is in perfect shape. We stayed in a cold weekend, and the heat (+ fireplace) was working perfectly. It’s really charming – located next to the Delaware River in a beautiful, rural environment. The house itself is comfortable, clean and well maintained. The bedrooms are large and comfortable. The kitchen is modern and packed with everything you need to cook, and the living/dining room areas are really cozy – we stayed in front of the fireplace for hours.

The best aspect of this place is the owners – Steve and Casey. We contacted them at the last minute and they did everything they could to accommodate us quickly and emphasized that we could reach them at any time with any problem (or even if we just wanted some hiking tips). It’s great to deal with people who obviously put a lot of care into the house and that are trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

I’d love to return to this place again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome retreat and getaway!!

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

Had a truly wonderful time at this beautiful retreat. The panorama could not be better and the area is just breathtaking. We got to relax, cook, kick back and worry about nothing. It was truly an escape. The house is beautiful with its spacious kitchen and lovely fireplace. We will def. be back! The owners are really wonderful also, very easy going and great to deal with. We highly recommend this rental to anyone that needs a great get away and little escape.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

our September getaway

Review submitted: March 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We and a couple of our friends & our two dogs! stayed in this house for a long weekend in September of 2007. The people and the animals in our group had a wonderful time. The house is in a great condition and very comfortable (we all loved the spacious kitchen!). The area is very quiet…exactly what we were looking for. It was an ideal location for our short, but very relaxing and we hope to go back in the near future! Oh… and one more thing…the owners couldn’t be easier to deal with and more accommodating!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 2, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We and a couple of our friends & our two dogs! stayed in this house for a long weekend in September of 2007. The people and the animals in our group had a wonderful time. The house is in a great condition and very comfortable (we all loved the spacious kitchen!). The area is very quiet…exactly what we were looking for. It was an ideal location for our short, but very relaxing and we hope to go back in the near future! Oh… and one more thing…the owners couldn’t be easier to deal with and more accommodating!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review