reviews for: listing #22283 - Delray Beach, Florida Cottage rental

Beach House East of A1A! Private Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $2,000 /wk
    $3,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Getaway

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Excellent home, alot bigger inside than you can imagine. Comfortable fits 5 people plus a dog. Great location, great beach, and real great owner.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We were delighted with this cute little beach cottage. It is private, very well equipped, beautifully renovated, and spotless. Our family of five was very comfortable here. It is just a short walk to a beautiful, uncrowded beach, and a quick drive to the lively town of Delray Beach. Chris, the owner, was reliable, available to answer all my questions, and graciously agreed to a few special requests that I had. This is old Florida at its finest--get here before a developer buys the whole darn neighbourhood. We are already planning for next year. Thanks Chris!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Beach House

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Perfect Beach Cottage close to the sops and bars on Atlantic Avenue. Will definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sean

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Great time. Next door to the beach. Close to the bars and shops on Atlantic Avenue. Really nice cottage that has been totally updated. Will be back soon

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach Cottage

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We couldn't have asked for more. Great location and amenities. This place really feels more like home than a rental unit. Hope to go back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So close to the beach!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Location, location, location! I was looking for a property close to the beach. Chris, the owner was quick to get back to me with availability and gave me a very fair price for 3 nights. He is very professional and easy to communicate with. I was traveling with my children ages 4, 7, 8 and 10. There was more than enough room for the 5 of us. The pictures and descriptions are accurate. My older kids shared the large bedroom and my youngest and I shared the smaller bedroom. Both bedrooms had ceiling fans and portable fans which was great to keep the air circulating. The house has central air which you can adjust to your liking. The living room is a good size with 2 couches and behind a curtained closet is a washer and dryer. This came in handy for wet beach towels. Laundry detergent and dryer sheets were provided. The bathroom shower is large with reliable hot water and water pressure. If you've rented other vacation homes, you know that's not always the case! There is also a shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser for your convenience. The kitchen has a dish washer and a large refrigerator. Paper towels and toilet paper were also provided. We didn't use the golf cart or hot tub but nice to know we could have if we wanted. There is an outdoor shower and hose to rinse off after going to the beach. The beach is less than a five minute walk down the block (not a busy street at all). We spent most of our time jumping the waves. Boogie boards, etc. were available to use as well. The location was convenient to visiting our friends in both Palm Beach and Broward counties. I felt safe in the neighborhood, which is always a concern when traveling with children. We utilized the Wifi and had movie nights with the assorted dvds that were available. I recommended this property for families. The price is fair, the beach is close, you have privacy and you can save money by cooking at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surfrealistic Experience!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

What a wonderful find! The owner has created a 21st century time machine and placed it into a rare, remaining vestige of Old Florida. Inside, you will find all the finest modern amenities including HiDef Cable TV and wifi. Great modern kitchen and bath and fantastically comfortable beds. Step outside and into a Florida that was last experienced by most in the 1950's and 1960's. Unspoiled beaches and a mid-20th century ambiance. You don't need a car because the beach is just 300 feet away, a great surf shop is a next-door neighbor and a rather nice Deli and sandwich shop is just around the corner. There is a golf cart supplied for those who would like to take a spin up to the beach or around the neighborhood. There a some nice restaurants and a Supermarket within a moderate walk /short drive across the intracoastal bridge just a half mile or so north of the house on Woolbright. This is a wonderful place to relax or be as active as you'd like. Night life of Atlantic Blvd in Delray is just 3 miles south and west of Briney Breezes Blvd, so if you feel the need to get back into today's Florida, it is literally minutes away-- great restaurants, taverns, coffee and ice cream / frozen yogurt shops and etc. We had an absolutely wonderful 2 weeks and can't wait to repeat a stay in this truly unique and fantastic beach house! We used to live in FL for 28 years and it has been a long time since we enjoyed this type of FL -- Treat yourself, it won't last forever! The owner is extremely responsive and has thought of everything -- the house is fully equipped and meticulously clean and maintained. I have already recommended it to many friends.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Surfrealistic Experience!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

What a wonderful find! The owner has created a 21st century time machine and placed it into a rare, remaining vestige of Old Florida. Inside, you will find all the finest modern amenities including HiDef Cable TV and wifi. Great modern kitchen and bath and fantastically comfortable beds. Step outside and into a Florida that was last experienced by most in the 1950's and 1960's. Unspoiled beaches and a mid-20th century ambiance. You don't need a car because the beach is just 300 feet away, a great surf shop is a next-door neighbor and a rather nice Deli and sandwich shop is just around the corner. There is a golf cart supplied for those who would like to take a spin up to the beach or around the neighborhood. There a some nice restaurants and a Supermarket within a moderate walk /short drive across the intracoastal bridge just a half mile or so north of the house on Woolbright. This is a wonderful place to relax or be as active as you'd like. Night life of Atlantic Blvd in Delray is just 3 miles south and west of Briney Breezes Blvd, so if you feel the need to get back into today's Florida, it is literally minutes away-- great restaurants, taverns, coffee and ice cream / frozen yogurt shops and etc. We had an absolutely wonderful 2 weeks and can't wait to repeat a stay in this truly unique and fantastic beach house! We used to live in FL for 28 years and it has been a long time since we enjoyed this type of FL -- Treat yourself, it won't last forever! The owner is extremely responsive and has thought of everything -- the house is fully equipped and meticulously clean and maintained. I have already recommended it to many friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and Private Surf Shack

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Couldn't have had a more relaxing time over the 4th of July holiday staying at this wonderfully modern "Surf Shack". Located just east of A1A in the quiet and safe neighborhood of Briney Breezes, this charming bungalow is well equipped and furnished affording a much more comfortable stay than any hotel could offer us. We found the decor extremely tasteful including a Salvador Dali clock and painting, as well as high-tech surf board racks mounted high on the cathedral ceiling walls. The two wall-mounted flat screen TVs with full cable kept the kids entertained while the high-speed, wireless internet kept the iPad in demand. The fenced-in back porch with a vacant lot behind was very private and secluded for our outdoor meals and dips in the 6 person hot tub. We thoroughly enjoyed the use of the golf cart to shuttle our coolers and gear (boogie boards, flippers, diving masks, umbrellas all provisioned) to the beach. And, because there is no public parking anywhere near the beach, we found the beach to be sparsely populated during one the busiest holidays. Lastly, our nice owner allowed us to park an 18' sport fishing boat in one of the two driveways. All in all, we couldn't have been more delighted with our accommodations. Hang Ten!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach House Stay!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

The Beach House is fantastic. We enjoyed the location which is within minutes to Delray Beach's wonderful restaurants and excellent shopping; just several blocks to the Intercoastal Waterway with many outdoor restaurants to choose from; and grocery shoppings is just a few blocks away. Public golf courses were very close as well. We really enjoyed the golf cart and the hot tub was a real treat. Our favorite space was the outdoor living area which is covered and we were able to bbq frequently. It is also pet friendly and our little Lucky dog really enjoyed it there too. We would defnitely recommend the Beach House to anyone wanting a great escape and we hope to return real soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Owner is extremely helpful! I probably sent him a couple dozen annoying emails with questions/concerns, etc. I asked him about everything from the house contract to dining out, to renting a car. He quickly and kindly replied to every single one. When we arrived, the house was ready and waiting in perfect condition. We have 2 babies and the house was extremely comfortable for all of us. It is very very very well equipped compared to numerous beach houses we have rented in the past. It is in close proximity to everything!! Ideal location. The pictures don't do it justice, but all of the descriptions are completely accurate. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone! Thanks Chris!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Serenity

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Review Submitted June 21, 2012 Date of Stay May 8, 2012
Hi. I was checking out different areas of Delray after selling my home and found this lovely place by chance. Out of the three places we stayed , this was by far my favorite So much so that I almost didn't want to write this review cuz I want to stay there again and again and would hate to loose out to popularity. Seriously, it is sweet, spacious but little , dog friendly and we Iove the neighborhood. You just don't find places like this any more. And the owner is very nice and accommodating. My kids had never surfed and we had several lessons from Tray at Nomad surf shop. He is fabulous!! Deli sandwiches ext door are extremely yummy too. Enjoy my little slice of serenity pie and remember. Save a week or two for me. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach House

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

The Beach House is fantastic. We enjoyed the location which is within minutes to Delray Beach's wonderful restaurants and excellent shopping; just several blocks to the Intercoastal Waterway with many outdoor restaurants to choose from; and grocery shoppings is just a few blocks away. Public golf courses were very close as well. We really enjoyed the golf cart and the hot tub was a real treat. Our favorite space was the outdoor living area which is covered and we were able to bbq frequently. It is also pet friendly and our little Lucky dog really enjoyed it there too. We would defnitely recommend the Beach House to anyone wanting a great escape and we hope to return real soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best serenity

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

Hi. I was checking out different areas of Delray after selling my home and found this lovely place by chance. Out of the three places we stayed , this was by far my favorite So much so that I almost didn't want to write this review cuz I want to stay there again and again and would hate to loose out to popularity. Seriously, it is sweet, spacious but little , dog friendly and we Iove the neighborhood. You just don't find places like this any more. And the owner is very nice and accommodating. My kids had never surfed and we had several lessons from Tray at Nomad surf shop. He is fabulous!! Deli sandwiches ext door are extremely yummy too. Enjoy my little slice of serenity pie and remember. Save a week or two for me. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome Family Vaction

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Owner is EXTREMELY helpful! I probably sent him a couple dozen annoying emails with questions/concerns, etc. I asked him about everything from the house contract to dining out, to renting a car. He quickly and kindly replied to every single one. When we arrived, the house was ready and waiting in perfect condition. We have 2 babies and the house was extremely comfortable for all of us. It is very very very well equipped compared to numerous beach houses we have rented in the past. It is in close proximity to everything!! Ideal location. The pictures don't do it justice, but all of the descriptions are completely accurate. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone! Thanks Chris!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Get-a-way

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

The owner, Chris, was easy to work with - the perfect mix of down-to-earth and professional. The house is extremely well kept with cerebral and aesthetically pleasing decor. It took about a minute to walk to the beach at the end of the block (less time to tote the umbrellas and chairs provided on the golf cart). It was a short drive/cab to the shops, bars, and restaurants, but we spent most of our time in the comfortably luxurious house, with a private hot tub, and beautifully empty beach a minute walk away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Private Surf Shack

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Couldn't have had a more relaxing time over the 4th of July holiday staying at this wonderfully modern "Surf Shack". Located just east of A1A in the quiet and safe neighborhood of Briney Breezes, this charming bungalow is well equipped and furnished affording a much more comfortable stay than any hotel could offer us. We found the decor extremely tasteful including a Salvador Dali clock and painting, as well as high-tech surf board racks mounted high on the cathedral ceiling walls. The two wall-mounted flat screen TVs with full cable kept the kids entertained while the high-speed, wireless internet kept the iPad in demand. The fenced-in back porch with a vacant lot behind was very private and secluded for our outdoor meals and dips in the 6 person hot tub. We thoroughly enjoyed the use of the golf cart to shuttle our coolers and gear (boogie boards, flippers, diving masks, umbrellas all provisioned) to the beach. And, because there is no public parking anywhere near the beach, we found the beach to be sparsely populated during one the busiest holidays. Lastly, our nice owner allowed us to park an 18' sport fishing boat in one of the two driveways. All in all, we couldn't have been more delighted with our accommodations. Hang Ten!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 3, 2011

We are from Miami and just wanted to getaway for the weekend. This house was perfect! Just a little over an hour drive. The house was fully stocked with everything you could need for a weekend stay or a month's stay. Kitchen had all you could want to cook a great meal even a fondue set (which I didn't do since I was just looking to relax), bathroom is stocked with a few goodies in case you forget things like sunscreen or lotion also had plenty of towels. And in case it gets a little rainy there's a wide variety of books, a computer and two big plasmas to keep you entertained. My favorite was the HOT TUB! Best hot tub I've ever been in really hot and jets were strong. Oh and I forgot the best part the beach is 5 or 6 houses away from the beach and with the golf car its really easy to just take a quick drive home to get anything you might need. Wonderful stay and landlord was really helpful and nice! Couldn't have asked for anything more

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Restful family retreat

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

I stayed here with my son, who lives in Florida, and my daughter. It was a reunion and a retreat, and perfect for our needs. The owner thought of everything in supplying the cottage, even surfboards and a golf cart, neither of which we used! But they were there if we wanted them. We ate all of our meals on the front patio, and made the 2 minute stroll down the lane to the beach many, many, many times each day. We were comfortable and happy in every respect, and enjoyed the glorious hot tub after a day in the sun. The beach there is lovely. On Memorial Day, there were people, but not so many. But the rest of the time, it was almost like having a private beach! For a couple, a small family, or even a single person wanting a sweet retreat, you can not do better than this. We didn't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best location, house right off of beach

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Very modern, clean and cozy little house right next to the private uncrowded white send beach. Much better than any hotel, tastefully remodeled and very comfortable for family of 3-4 people or for the couple with kids. Great new futon, all you may need in the kitchen and the bathrom. Literally 2 mins walk to the beach, but we really enjoyed the rides on the provided golf cart. Location is perfect too - minutes away from Delray Beach, Boca Raton on the south side and Palm Beach on the north side. Less than half an hour from Ft. Lauderdale and about an hour from Miami and famous Miami Beach. We loved it and definetely will come back. The owner was very accomodating. Thank you so much, this was our first vacation in Florida and we simply fell in love with its beauty.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Restful Family Retreat

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

I stayed here with my son, who lives in Florida, and my daughter. It was a reunion and a retreat, and perfect for our needs. The owner thought of everything in supplying the cottage, even surfboards and a golf cart, neither of which we used! But they were there if we wanted them. We ate all of our meals on the front patio, and made the 2 minute stroll down the lane to the beach many, many, many times each day. We were comfortable and happy in every respect, and enjoyed the glorious hot tub after a day in the sun. The beach there is lovely. On Memorial Day, there were people, but not so many. But the rest of the time, it was almost like having a private beach! For a couple, a small family, or even a single person wanting a sweet retreat, you can not do better than this. We didn't want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location! Awesome Hot Tub

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We are from Miami and just wanted to getaway for the weekend. This house was perfect! Just a little over an hour drive. The house was fully stocked with everything you could need for a weekend stay or a month's stay. Kitchen had all you could want to cook a great meal even a fondue set (which I didn't do since I was just looking to relax), bathroom is stocked with a few goodies in case you forget things like sunscreen or lotion also had plenty of towels. And in case it gets a little rainy there's a wide variety of books, a computer and two big plasmas to keep you entertained. My favorite was the HOT TUB! Best hot tub I've ever been in really hot and jets were strong. Oh and I forgot the best part the beach is 5 or 6 houses away from the beach and with the golf car its really easy to just take a quick drive home to get anything you might need. Wonderful stay and landlord was really helpful and nice! Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay! Very relaxing

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We are from Miami and just wanted to getaway for the weekend. This house was perfect! Just a little over an hour drive. The house was fully stocked with everything you could need for a weekend stay or a month's stay. Kitchen had all you could want to cook a great meal even a fondue set (which I didn't do since I was just looking to relax), bathroom is stocked with a few goodies in case you forget things like sunscreen or lotion also had plenty of towels. And in case it gets a little raining there's a wide variety of books, a computer and two big plasmas to keep you entertained. My favorite was the HOT TUB! Best hot tub I've ever been in really hot and jets were strong. Oh and I forgot the best part the beach is 5 or 6 houses away from the beach and with the golf cart its really easy to just take a quick drive home to get anything you might need. Wonderful stay and landlord was really helpful and nice! Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best location in South Florida, great house right off the beach

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Very modern, clean and cozy little house right next to the private uncrowded white send beach. Much better than any hotel, tastefully remodeled and very comfortable for family of 3-4 people or for the couple with kids. Great new futon, all you may need in the kitchen and the bathrom. Literally 2 mins walk to the beach, but we really enjoyed the rides on the provided golf cart. Location is perfect too - minutes away from Delray Beach, Boca Raton on the south side and Palm Beach on the north side. Less than half an hour from Ft. Lauderdale and about an hour from Miami and famous Miami Beach. We loved it and definetely will come back. The owner was very accomodating. Thank you so much, this was our first vacation in Florida and we simply fell in love with its beauty.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Struck Gold In Northern Delray

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Tucked up at the northern end of Delray Beach, this beach house was the best place my two teens and I could have chosen to stay while visiting my mom in Delray. Way better than getting a hotel, believe me! - First - location, location. location - it is literally down the street from the ocean. Then the house itself - it is immaculate, modern, beautiful details - the kitchen is beautiful - the appliances are fabulous, you can cook in, or BBQ. The bathroom has a huge shower, beautiful sink....decor all over the house is well tended to. Comfortable huge leather couch was perfect for my son to sleep on, and an oversized well-stuffed futon was great for my daughter. There's a flatscreen TV with a home theater in livingroom, and in the bedroom, another flatscreen, and access to PC. The bed and beddings were as good as a 5 star hotel, really.
Outdoor shower (love it) and large jacuzzi in backyard. Don't forget to go to the deli around the corner. The owners are super nice and they make the most incredible fresh sandwiches you'll find anywhere! Now, as for the owner of the beach house, you could not ask for anyone better. He is so nice, easy to make arrangements with, the kind of guy you'd like your daughter to marry some day!
Again, immaculate (which is number one in importance to me). comfortable, great location, great owner.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

STRUCK GOLD IN BRINY BREEZES!

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Tucked up at the northern end of Delray Beach, this beach house was the best place my two teens and I could have chosen to stay while visiting my mom in Delray. Way better than getting a hotel, believe me! - First - location, location. location - it is literally down the street from the ocean. Then the house itself - it is immaculate, modern, beautiful details - the kitchen is beautiful - the appliances are fabulous, you can cook in, or BBQ. The bathroom has a huge shower, beautiful sink....decor all over the house is well tended to. Comfortable huge leather couch was perfect for my son to sleep on, and an oversized well-stuffed futon was great for my daughter. There's a flatscreen TV with a home theater in livingroom, and in the bedroom, another flatscreen, and access to PC. The bed and beddings were as good as a 5 star hotel, really.
Outdoor shower (love it) and large jacuzzi in backyard. Don't forget to go to the deli around the corner. The owners are super nice and they make the most incredible fresh sandwiches you'll find anywhere! Now, as for the owner of the beach house, you could not ask for anyone better. He is so nice, easy to make arrangements with, the kind of guy you'd like your daughter to marry some day!
Again, immaculate (which is number one in importance to me). comfortable, great location, great owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review