reviews for: listing #22353 - Grand Haven, Michigan Apartment rental

Hang Your Hat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown Grand Haven
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $175 /nt
    $500 - $1,200 /wk
    $850 - $850 /mth

sort by:

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Our stay at Hang You Hat was the perfect home away from home. It was exceptionally clean, which is very important to us. It was dog friendly, which was great for our Boston Terrier. The kitchen was stocked with all the dishes, spices and all the small appliances & pans you would need to prepare and serve meals. We invited friends and family for cookouts. the gas grill was very clean with plenty of propane. The location is perfect - just far enough way from the riverfront noise but within a couple blocks of the boardway and downtown. Lots of restaurants in the area - once you are there, you don't have to drive. Walking distance to the beach as well - and the house has a wagon to haul your stuff. What a great deal!! And the owner, Nancy, goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect. We plan to rent again in the Fall for a long weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host you for this stay, and for the upcoming one in the fall. Thank you for helping future guests know what to expect when they come to stay at HYH in GH! I think you have just about covered it all! A home that is clean and well furnished with about all you could possibly need is my goal in providing a comfortable stay, even for your pet :0) I think I even saw you getting in some "porch time", relaxing, reading and just enjoying your vacation. Wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love the charm of this cozy rental!

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

This was our first experience with a vacation rental and I couldn't have been more pleased! The Top Hat is absolutely charming and immaculate, we loved how it was tastefully decorated. Nancy provided everything imaginable to make us feel at home. The convenience of the location made it possible for us to walk to town, the waterway and some great restaurants. Grand Haven is a great vacation destination. We enjoyed the quaint town and the variety of shops and restaurants it has to offer. We spent most of our time either strolling the boardwalk, sitting near the waterway watching the boats go by or laying on the beach. It was also convenient to be able to cook some of our own meals with all the amenities Nancy provided, barbequing on the deck was great! We would recommend J.W's for dinner, Tip a Few Tavern for Mexican food and if you're near the boardwalk a pronto pup! Thank you Nancy (Mom) for all your hospitality, we thoroughly enjoyed our week! We will definitely be coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm blushing over all the praise for Grand Haven and my little cottage. What a pleasure it was to host you for your stay in Grand Haven. You have discovered so many of the things that make our little town such a popular place to "get away from it all": great food, great beaches, great location right downtown where a short walk brings you to them all! I would love to host you again, anytime! Just remember, Grand Haven and HYH in GH, is a year round place to enjoy some R&R :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Love

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

From snowy cold Wisconsin, we arrived in snowy Grand Haven and our home for the week - Hang Your Hat. On our many hikes along the channel, and on the pier to the lighthouse we saw beautiful ice formations and the rugged beauty of the wind blown broken ice on the Lake. We enjoyed delicious meals ans service at Elegance of the Seasons, Kirby's, JW's, and Fricano's Pizza. We also had yummy desserts at the Baker's Wife and Culvers. We were fascinated by the heated streets and sidewalks in downtown Grand Haven - they were free of snow and ice. The rest of the town has snow packed sidewalks and streets, and snow piles of 6 feet plus on the curbs. Thank you, Nancy, we had a relaxing, fun time in the cozy, warm "Hang Your Hat" flat.
J & M

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My husband and I came to Hang Your Hat for a relaxing weekend getaway. The cottage was beautiful and inviting with all amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to returning! Thanks, Nancy!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host you for this special time and provide a little extra (sparkling wine) to help celebrate the occasion! (I love it when guests let me know there is a special reason for coming to Grand Haven) I hope you took advantage of the beautiful sunsets over the "Lake" and were cozy in front of the fireplace. We know there are many great places to enjoy a romantic dinner in Grand Haven, so come again and explore our inviting little "hometown".
PS Be sure to thank the man at Lowe's for recommending Grand Haven!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for humans and dogs

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I first walked into Top Hat and the good feeling continued. There wasn't one thing I needed that wasn't provided, including sharp knives! The apartment was immaculate and everything was labeled so I could open a drawer or cabinet and just read what was in it without having to paw around. It also made it easy to return what I'd used to the right place. I loved how all the décor was coordinated - and didn't look like it came from the dollar store or Wal-Mart. Nancy has done a great job of providing a true vacation home.
My dog enjoyed his placemat and crockery and the hooks in the hall were handy for his leash. The only negative - and it's minor - is the lack of tread on the stairs. It made it a little slippery for my dog to get up and down. It did not stop us from taking the one block walk to the river walk.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I love to make Hang Your Hat the place you come to know as "Home", which means everything you need is at your fingertips, except the sharp knives which are on a magnet bar up away from the reach of small hands. Helping my guests enjoy a safe and carefree stay by providing many of the items they might have at their home is important to me. This is why you will find a cheese grater, muffin tins, mixer, rolling pin, crock pot, vases (for the flowers you buy at the Farmer's Market)and much, much more!
Pet friendly is also a key element for Hang Your Hat where families (including their dog) can come to enjoy Grand Haven. Many of the businesses downtown welcome pets, and of course, they are thrilled by having a Dog Beach located right next to our City Beach :0)
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and to notice the care taken to make Hang Your Hat the place you will come to know as "Home".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

JUST like home but BETTER!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We could not believe how wonderful Hang Your Hat in Grand Haven was until we walked through the front door.

ALL the amenities of home, peaceful setting and just ONE block from the main strip and within walking distance to EVERYTHING in Grand Haven!

The house was immaculate, cozy, inviting and perfect for our family. We WILL be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michelle, It was a delight to host your family for this special time you shared with me about. Families are important, and so I try to make their stay as carefree as possible by including those items needed for little guys: high chair, booster seat, pack 'n play, step stool, books & games. The wagon is great for heading to the beach or farmer's market which is an easy walk from the house.
Thank you for noticing the hard work done to keep HYH in GH clean and cozy. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay!
Yours,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary stay

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Nancy,

Wanted to write a quick note to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at Hang Your Hat this past weekend.

We could really tell that you are passionate about your place and about making people feel comfortable and welcome while on vacation- everything was perfect and the attention to detail was outstanding. Simple, little things like the quality of the towels and soaps/shampoos; the quality of the shower head; the quality/thread count of the sheets; the decorations on the walls; and the quality of the home furnishings all reinforce a sense of luxury away from home. We really appreciated those little details.

While we didn’t utilize the kitchen or the laundry facility during our stay, we both commented on how nice those facilities were.

We will definitely stay at HYH again.

Thanks!

Derek

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home away from home !

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

From the minute we walked into the front door, we knew we would love our stay at Hang Your Hat!Nancy the owner has everything available you may need from dishes,linens,soaps,ect.And a TV and dvd's for rainy days or when you just want to take a breather from all the fun you are having in Grand Haven.The boardwalk is just two blocks away and we loved watching the boats coming through the channel. And did I say immaculate,the four of us really appreciated how clean and fresh the apartment was.Nancy also stopped by a couple times to make sure everything was going well.We definately hope to make Hang Your Hat a yearly visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It was a delight to have you as my guests at HYH in GH! I am so blessed by those who come to Grand Haven and find my little house a place they can call "home". Thank you for all your kind comments!
And, yes, location is so important for those coming to Grand Haven, as you have found out; downtown is a great place to be as you can leave your car and walk to shops, food, and parks right along the water. I would love to have you as my guests again, any time of year! My door is open year round, so come explore the other seasons of Grand Haven.
Warm regards, Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Hang Your Hat is a great place to stay. It is clean, well located, and accessible to lots of things. We had a great get-away and would highly recommend it to others. I hope to return again. Thank you Nancy for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love meeting my guests and showing them a special look at Grand Haven, like the walk we took over the dunes with Teddy. Being able to have your pet stay with you on vacation is always nice, and Teddy was such a good dog. I look forward to hosting you again and providing the place you will come to know as "home", the place you "Hang Your Hat"!
Best regards,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another wonderful stay at Hang Your Hat

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Nancy, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay last weekend! This is the 3rd time I've been to Hang Your Hat in Grand Haven and it was great as usual. Winterfest was alot of fun! Summer and winter, Hang Your Hat is the best place to stay! I know we will be back. Thanks for all you do to make it so comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Karen, you are always welcome at HYH in GH! I can tell that you truly call my house your "home", especially when you come to explore and enjoy the "white" side of Grand Haven! I think the secret is out now: Grand Haven, year round! And, Hang Your Hat is, too, with cozy flannel sheets on each bed, and a fireplace for gathering around to share memory-making times with friends and family.
Warmly,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely loved staying at HYH

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

We absolutely loved staying at Hang Your Hat! Your home is equipped and decorated beautifully. It has been a memorable experience and I will always plan to stay at your house when I visit Grand Haven in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great trip to Grand Haven

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

Thank you so much for another great trip to GH. It was a great family vacation that will never be forgot. It was great to meet you this year. Thank you for all the special touches, from Bella (the dog) to Owen (our baby). The cooler is already packed with the garden goodies you brought. You can't beat the new HD flat screen tv's. We are already planning for next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a great week

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Thanks for a great week! It was a last minute vacation that will have long memories. Great location and amenities. We will definitely recommend to others.
Cheers! from our family and pets!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a blast!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Nancy, thank you for a wonderful week at HYH in GH! We had a blast! We loved all your little details and really felt welcome. We always enjoy the beach and shops and we like trying new restaurants when we come out to GH. The weather was great (thanks for the air conditioning). You've inspired me to maybe do something like HYH someday. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovey home!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Nancy, it was so nice to have an opportunity to meet you. What a lovely home! We can tell you put a lot of work into making it a warm and cozy place. My husband and I really needed to get away and relax. We definitely found the right place. We really enjoyed our walks along the boardwalk and watching the fountain at night. You have thought of everything to make this feel like home! We liked it better than staying at the B&B. We will be back and will tell our friends about Hang Your Hat.
May God bless you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First time here...

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

...we are the best of friends and needed a little getaway from our daily life. WOW! We definitely found that here! Everything was so cozy and warm. We admired and loved all the details. Needless to say we will certainly be back - maybe with family or other friends. But, we will definitely be back for another "best friends" worry-free weekend. So thank you for this lovely place we will always have to look forward to.
Warmest regards, Brianna & Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You so much for another "Grand Visit"!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We enjoyed the coziness of the "Top Hat" and even snuck in a cool cup of coffee on the balcony! We had it all - warm to cold temperatures, sun and snow. The trees were beautiful - all frosted in white - so many pines! We've never seen snow here before!
Thank you for making Roger's birthday so comfortable - it is so easy to visit here. You think of everything, even the lovely tea.
The little "fireplace" was cozy and satisfied our desire for a fire! Great idea.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review