reviews for: listing #22403 - Deep Creek Lake, Maryland House rental

Lifes a Bear Hideaway/Cozy Lake Area Cottage in McHenry
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  McHenry
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $235 - $250 /nt
    $750 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Lifes a Bear hideaway.

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

We stayed at this home, Lifes a Bear Hideaway as an escape from hotels when we came to work in West Virginia.Its about 40 minutes to WV, with a beautiful drive through the mountains. Its a beautiful home and everything was as described or better when we got there. We had 7 of us there and there was plenty of room for us all to have a little of our own space. The hot tub was a great feature.The weather was pretty cold while we were here , so after a hard days work it was nice to come back and get in the hot tub, relax, and keep warm while enjoying the outside. We would love to stay here again. Hopefully next time it will be in the summertime. Karen was right on top of things in getting back to us on our request to stay. I didnt give her much time since I only found the home 3 days before our departure. She pushed everything through and was great. Thanks Karen. Hope to get the chance to stay in your home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The place is bigger than it looks, and very clean. My family and me enjoyed it very much,and if a country setting is what you want then you want this place. It will be the first place we look at when we go back to Deep Creek.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Name fits house, saw a momma bear and cub three nights

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

House was great. Very clean.

Name fits house, saw a momma bear and cub three nights. That cute little bear cub could get in garbage can and throw trash out, even with turning can backwards in wooded container.

House was on dead end road, so it was very quiet and peaceful.

Close to Funland (better arcade), Smiley's (better rides) and the Wisp Ski Lift Roller Coaster.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a very relaxing place to stay

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

This cabin was perfect for our a romantic retreat for my boyfriend and I. It is close to local restaurants and within walking distance from a grocery store, yet still feels very secluded (probably because of the calming creek and woods that surround it). The hot tub was wonderful, but our favorite part by far was the hot chocolate machine (it was very snowy while we were there). We also really enjoyed all of the games and puzzles this house had to offer. Those, along with the old-school VHS tapes that were a wonderful blast from the past kept us entertained for our snowed in week! We would definitely recommend this house for a getaway, it has everything you could want to kick back and relax!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect place for us!

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We spent the weekend in "Life's a Bear" and loved it! It was exactly what we wanted! My fiance and I stayed here with another couple and it was a blast! It was wonderful to have the hot tub and so much space to spread out in the living areas. I was surprised how big the place was once we walked inside and it could easily fit a large group without being crammed! Also, it was great being so close to Wisp and the restaurants! Next time we come, we hope to stay for longer than a weekend. The time just flew by! We definitely will stay here again and recommend it to anyone whether you are a couple or a big family! We cant wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kathy D.-Great New Years Stay

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We enjoyed a very relaxing two days at "Life's a Bear". The house is much larger than it appeared in the pictures. Our rental was at the last minute, booked over Christmas and Karen the owner was very easy to work with. Our daughter and her friends enjoyed the hot tub, everything was ready to go for them. The fireplace lept the house very warm and there was plenty of room for everyone to spread out. We had a great New Yrs. eve meal at the Santa Fe Grill and a tasy breakfast at Little Sandy's Diner. We hope to return agin in the coming year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Holiday Getaway

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Thank you Karen for allowing us to rent your mountain getaway!! The house was clean and very well stocked. The view of the ski slopes was beautiful along with Wisp only being a couple minutes away by car and a great 20 mins. walk. We felt off the beating path but the location was very convenient with restaurants and grocery stores 5 mins. away. The gas fireplace was so warm and welcoming. The weather was accomodating until our last day when the "blizzard" hit as we were packing our car. Still a great vacation!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A special time away

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

This was the perfect place for my wife and me. Everything was exactly as promised in the web description, and the home was clean, comfortable and ready for us when we arrived.

There was plenty of space for our son and grandsons to visit for a few days; the kids enjoyed the games and other things available for use. After their departure,our daughter and her boyfriend spent several days with us, and we especially enjoyed meals on the spacious deck.

The welcoming committee was comprised of a black bear less than 50 feet from the driveway when we pulled in. The location on a no-outlet street meant little traffic and lots of quiet. Yet we were very near so many opportunities to enjoy everything the lake and surrounding community had to offer.

We returned relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated. We would definitely consider returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Family of 10 finally has a vacation!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

We were so tired of trying to the hotel thing with two rooms as we have 8 children. Finally we wised up and decided to seek out vacation homes. This was a our first adventure doing so and it was wonderful. The home is clean, comfortable, loaded with great touches and amenities (hair dryers, crock pot, blender, etc). Having a gang of kids, it was nice to have several televisions at the ready as well. It is very convenient, it seems out of the way, and in the woods, but it really is right off the main "drag" and so easy to get to anything! We made smores, had a little nature hike around the property with our little kiddos while the bigs went fishing at the lake. We had a wonderful time, thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

convenient yet private

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Our family of four spent a ski weekend at 'Lifes a Bear' and had a great time. The amenities were perfect, location ideal, and overall experience was great. Owner was more than accommodating and responsive and offer tips on the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

October stay

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

Just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful time. The house was great...we love the little propane stove :)

Thanks so much for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this place

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Rented a couple time lasts year, this was my first visit this year but am in the process of selecting more dates in Feb. This place is outstanding for a ski vacation. Clean, plenty of room, fully equiped, wonderful view of the slopes, once again we had a blast. Ski conditions were great, ate in, at Ledo's and the Black Bear...life is good at Life's a Bear. Karen keeps the place in great shape and could not be more accommodating. Until I can afford my own place, I am going to keep coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

weekend

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

I have to tell you we had a fantastic time this weekend and big part of it was how wonderful your place is!!! We were highly impressed and it felt so much like we were staying at an aunt's place and not a strangers. Very warm and inviting and just a total joy. Thank you so much for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I do NOT recommend for couples

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We had a good time but there are a few things we would have liked to known before.
1. For the people staying in the loft bedroom. You must climb down the narrow stairs, walk thru the family room, living room , kitchen and then down the hall to the bathroom.
2. There is a washer and dryer but have a warning regarding washing light colored clothing due to the WELL water which is pretty foul smelling and not pleasent to shower in.
3. While there are 4 TVs. only 2 get Full cable , the other 2 are very basic.
4. We were very happy the weather cooled off a bit because there is NO air-conditioning.
5. All the outside areas need some TLC, curb appeal. The wood decking and the hot tube need to be pressure washed badly. The gas grill was not hooked up. Many of the outside lights were burned out.
6. On a positive note the funishings were very nice and the place was clean. The owner was very responsive when I called about the loft TV not being hooked up. BTW I think all the TVs need an up-grade.
The main reason we will NOT stay there again is due to the bathroom situation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

WONDERFUL!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

we just got back from a weekend at "life's a bear hideaway". we are four young-at-heart senior cousins that meet once a year. we chose life's a bear this year. i must say, we were IMPRESSED!!! this place was just beautiful, so well kept, neat, clean. we needed NOTHING. the decor was so attractive. and the place had all the "little extras." we were so comfortable there. so much space. we weren't on top of each other. the only complaint i have is THAT WE DIDN'T GET TO STAY LONGER!!! :-) we are hoping to be able to stay there again next year. a big thank you to the owner of this cabin. it was awesome!!! and one other thing, is that it was so close to everything!! that made it nice since we aren't very familiar with the area.

again, thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

I rented this property directly from the owner and communication was outstanding. It was great being able to ask questions directly. The house was very clean, there was nothing that we might need that was not already provided. The view of the ski slopes from the hot tub was beautiful along with Wisp only being a couple minutes away. We felt off the beating path when it comes to privacy but right in the thick of things when it comes to convenience. The gas fireplace really made the family room feel cozy. My only hesitation in giving this rental an excellent review is that others will want to stay here and it may not be available when I want it. My son and his friend agreed that this has been the most enjoyable ski vacation at DCL yet and this house was a big part of it being so great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you had a great time Bob.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic getaway

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

I rented this property directly from the owner and communication was outstanding. It was great being able to ask questions directly. The house was very clean, there was nothing that we might need that was not already provided. The view of the ski slopes from the hot tub was beautiful along with Wisp only being a couple minutes away. We felt off the beating path when it comes to privacy but right in the thick of things when it comes to convenience. The gas fireplace really made the family room feel cozy. My only hesitation in giving this rental an excellent review is that others will want to stay here and it may not be available when I want it. My son and his friend agreed that this has been the most enjoyable ski vacation at DCL yet and this house was a big part of it being so great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

What a great vacation! Your lovely home was the perfect getaway. We agreed it's the cleanest, most well stocked home we've ever rented. We have fallen in love with the Deep Creek area....what a classy place. We're so excited since it's only 2 hours from home. No more driving 10 hours to the beach! Thanks for sharing your wonderful home. We loved the hot-tub, wireless internet and the State Park Pass was a great bonus!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

Josh and I want to thank you and your husband for letting us stay in your beautiful home for our Honeymoon. It was very comfy and cozy and felt just like home. We hope to come back every year for our Anniversary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

What a beautiful place you have. We felt right at home and you really thought of everything that made the visit/vacation really awesome! The living room is fantastic and we were in agreement that this is the best place we've stayed at Deep Creek. Thanks for making everything perfect and we really enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to return next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 22, 2009

Thanks for a great weekend! Your home exceeded our expectations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

Four days of glorious peace and quiet....just the two of us! My husband and I came up by ourselves for some much needed R&R. Thank you so much for making your home a very comfortable and well equiped home away from home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 18, 2009   Date of arrival: January 18, 2009

We enjoyed your home so much and were pleasantly surprized to find it so spacious. The boys loved being able to watch their own programs on the 2 TV's. We also loved the board games and books. With this great location and proximity to the slopes, we'll be planning on returning again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

Thanks so much. We had a very relaxing time and the best sleep in a long time. Really enjoyed the hot tub. Your home is very welcoming, warm and cozy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 25, 2008

Thank you for being so accomadating in extending our stay to 8 days, although this still wasn't enough in this beautiful home. We would love to return here one day, probably after we complete seeing all 50 States and start again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

Thanks for sharing your home! We felt quite at home and have enjoyed out stay with you. All the lovely touches make your home very cozy. We hope to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2008   Date of arrival: March 30, 2008

Thank you so much for sharing your home! It is comfortable, beautiful and convenient. Has a great weekend of lovely weather. Hope to be back in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2008   Date of arrival: January 21, 2008

We throughly enjoyed our stay. Our boys 10 & 13 loved the hot tub and we all enjoyed being so close to the Wisp. Your house is wonderfully equipped and so very clean. We all relaxed in your very comfy cozy retreat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review