reviews for: listing #22431 - Tybee Island, Georgia Condo rental

3 waterview 1BR condos sleeping 1-6! Pools and beach!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach and Racquet Club
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $160 /nt
    $575 - $925 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Get Away!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We usually stay at Beachside Colony but was able to get a last minute reservation at Captains Quarters due to a cancellation. Oh my goodness, so glad we did! Had a wonderful time, loved the accommodations, reservations were a breeze, will definitely stay again. Thank you for letting us stay. Alice Jones

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Alice, we know you're busy planning a family wedding, so your taking the time to write such a lovely review is very much appreciated. We may have turned you into a North Beach addict.:) It's such a wonderful spot, isn't it, to see the huge cargo ships pass, the shrimpboats, the dolphin play off the beach (the one great spot on the island for that.), etc. It's so nice I think to be away from the noisy, crowded beaches and have some more quiet, peaceful beach. Thank you again for visiting and for your comments. We'll look forward to the honor of having you visit again we hope.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A hidden treasure

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This was the first time we've ever chose a place blindly online, but I am glad we trusted Susan our contact and her information shared about this condo and the wonderful TYBEE BEACH! The condo was nice and just the right size for our family of four who came in for our daughters gymnastics event in nearby Savannah. It was also our kids first experience at going to the ocean. They loved it! Tybee Beach are is a hidden treasure that i think is not known by many. Lucky us,our room was right by the pool, and we got to enjoy watching the dolpins every day both in the morning and evening. It was quite a delight! We hope to come back and experience this wonderful place again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Todd and Elaine, we so appreciate your taking the time to write this lovely review for us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the condo..and Tybee! (was chosen the number one beach in America for all the good reasons.:) A search on cnn.com will bring up that article.) This IS the one spot on the island where dolphin are generally seen playing off the beach; it's where the dolphin tour boats come! :) It's wonderful that you enjoyed those wonderful animals as well. The beach seems almost private as you may have noticed since there aren't any big public parking lots in the area AND the security gate keeps out people who are not guests! We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECTION in the Captain's Quarters!!!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

We've been here less than two hours, but I had to sit right down and write a review because it is deserved. First, I'm online which I need. We've stayed in a number of condos here randomly and not had that before. The owner wouldn't guarantee because it's wireless in the pool area and from the office, but she said this condo could usually pick up the office internet and everyone who can is welcome to use it per the association.So far,it's working great. AND...this condo has a complete kitchen with even a dishwasher! We've never had that before and it's so handy with three children. The opened up wider bedroom door is WONDERFUL! All we've had before is those tiny doors you can't get in easily. AND...there's an extra closet in the bedroom we've never seen before and shelves in the bathroom we've never seen before.
We have 2 televisions which is also new to us..and SUCH comfy and cozy furniture. The main thing is how immaculate everything is!!! Obviously the owners take great care in making sure there is a thorough cleaning between each guest. My wife is very picky and she's so very happy.We have beach chairs and beach towels and an eating table on the balcony..never had those things before either.
We LOVE all the nautical decorating. The owner had sent us a packet in advance of a lot of area information, so we're headed out to do some things we never knew about before thanks to that. When we get back tonight, we can watch movies that have been provided for us! There are other nice condos here I'm sure; we've just never had one like this one OR such an easy time getting in! I recommend for restaurants the Sundae Cafe and A.J's and Singray's since we've been here before. Anyway, taking the time to write this review we thought was important because we'd get busy when we get home and forget. .Clean, Clean, Clean my wife says to say. Oh..this whole complex isn't great if you have a disability; there are a lot of steps around. Other than that, it's good for anyone! (no pets though..against the condo rules we were told. Sadly had to leave "Muffin" home but we understand.We lucked into April weather in the 80's and love that too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gentry..thank you and your family so very much for visiting us AND for taking part of your vacation time to write such a special review. Yes, "your" condo has been changed from how they were built. We didn't like the little corner kitchenette with no dishwasher so we added that. We re-did a lot in the bathroom, opened up that narrow bedroom door, AND put another closet in the bedroom so there would be storage for linens for the sleeper, etc. You're at the beach:), so we feel nautical decorating is important. A lot of the cabinet and door "beachy" scenes were owner painted, so we're glad you like it all.:)
The guest packets are honestly time consuming and expensive to send, but we feel owners have a responsbility to provide as much info as possible to help visitors plan their time when in a new area. Even repeat visitors to Tybee like you often don't know about a lot of activities or places to visit, like the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge.
Again, your kindness and your visit are both very much appreciated.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Condo!!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

This condo is perfect. It is in a great location! The view from the balcony is beautiful, especially when its time for the sun to set! The condo is stocked up with everything you could need; dishes, towels, linens, appliances. The beach is clean and private, quite relaxing. The reservation process was easy, the landlords are pleasant to deal with. I have zero complaints and will return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cayla...we always so very much appreciate it when our guests take the time to write us such a lovely review. We know everyone is very busy these days; your thoughtfulness is very kind.
We're glad you enjoyed Tybee even though it was very unseasonably cool for your stay! :) I wish we could control that; it was rare for now.
We'll look forward to your next visit with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My ten years of experience tells me to advise ignoring the ONE bad review and believing the others!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

I signed on to write the owners for availability for our next trip, and I happened to scroll and see one bad review for the Captain's Quarters out of a zillion five star. I don't like the concept of reviews, but I decided to write one because it's needed. I am in the travel business; it's more and more common every day I find for travellers to threaten bad reviews if they don't get some money back. It's quite a game. I rather
suspect that might be the case with that review, because I've stayed in the Captain's Quarters 18 times so far over almost ten years. It's a great condo..offers so much that many here don't...and these owners are great. They changed their keybox not long ago. For a while we couldn't get in and called them. Guess what..it was our fault..we just didn't read!!!! The information they sent us in the mail (with our huge package of area information..who else DOES that?) was correct. We went to the wrong key box out of old habit. Even though it was OUR fault, they brought us a box of candy just because we had a little inconvenience they didn't cause! This many five star reviews probably tells a story I don't need to tell; I just got mad that someone would trash these overboard lovely people and their property.

Owners response: Bob, thank you so very much for your kind review and comments. Yes, it does make the review process "suspect" these days when many travellers are learning to use review as a "scam tool", so to speak. We've had one party threaten a bad review if they didn't have at least half of what they had paid waiting for them in their condo when they arrived. This was a call made from their home the day before they were coming to this area. Hopefully most people can filter through reviews and determine what is true by majority opinion.
We always appreciate your visits and look forward to having you back on Tybee with us when you can.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Vacation getaway

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

My wife and I booked this rental from Sue and Stu with only a weeks notice, They were wonderful to work with, emailed the forms and details to us and check-in was a breeze. This is a wonderful location right on the Savannah River leading to the heart Savannah only 15 miles away. The beach is beautiful, the large ships passing by are amazing. This is a gated community and no pets are allowed so you are assured of a good nights sleep. We loved the location and would love to be able to come back. We spent nine nights there and had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you two so very much for visiting us AND taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us/
It IS a wonderful geographic location, isn't it? Actually, it's not on the Savannah River. (Stu is a Coast Guard licensed master captain and has the charts, etc.) The Savannah River starts just west of Tybee at Cockspur Island basically. Since Tybee is an island, it has other islands in view, so one could easily feel like being on a wide, wide river. It juts out into the Atlantic Ocean though like Hilton Head. (the lights of Hilton Head are gorgeous from this spot on clear nights.)
The Colregs will show this as the Tybee Roads area of the Atlantic Ocean.
Even though it's not river though, the ships do have to pass by to get into the river and watching them is a treat of which we never get tired! The dolphin play off our beach too (this is where the dolphin tour boats come), shrimp boats are often in view, etc.)
A great new year to you and we so hope to have you visit us again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dolphin Watch

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

We were so impressed with our wonderful condo! We came down for my brother-in-laws wedding this weekend and found this to be the perfect place to bring our kids, so close to the pool & the beach! I can't wait to plan a trip for next year!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, Ashley! We appreciate your taking the time to write us such a lovely review. This is a wonderful spot, isn't it, for easy access to the biggest pool on the island and the beach...AND to see the huge cargo ships and shrimpboats, etc. pass offshore and watch the dolphin play. We're blessed to be situated in the one great spot on the island for these views! We're glad you enjoyed the condo and so look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation/Anniversary

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Captain Stu and Susan, my husband and I wanted to take a few moments to say thank you for making this a memorable Anniversary/ Family vacation. Captain’s Quarters is a great retreat. The condo was very neat and clean. All we had to do was enjoy it. The kids really enjoyed their own bunk beds- made them feel special. The condo is very convenient to shopping and food. The food was FANTASTIC. We had everything that we needed and more. My husband and I have never stayed in a condo where beach towels, chairs and umbrellas were available in the room. Definitely a Wow factor. The swimming pool was very large. My kids liked it more than the beach LOL...mind you we were only on the beach a few times. The goody bag was so thoughtful. I would recommend AJ’s, Breakfast Club and The Crab Shack on Tybee Island. I would also reconmmend the Savannah tour in Historical Savannah and Jimmy Johns for a quick sandwich and Lady and sons for a great dinner experience. Everyone is so helpful and friendly too. Great Vacation!!!

Thanks again Captain Stu and Susan for EVERYTHING and look forward to returning soon!

Would definitely recommend this condo to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Dana for the lovely comments, especially since you didn't have cable service for a day and a half. We so appreciate your understanding that Comcast problems weren't in our control and that we worked feverishly to get the situation resolved. We're so very glad that your family vacation combined with your anniversary provided such pleasure for you. AND...your wonderful children charmed everyone.:) Everyone does enjoy visiting Paula Deen's "Lady and Sons", and her family also has Uncle Bubba's Seafood House on the way out to Tybee which many visitors do not realize. That is worth a try as well. We agree that a trolley tour of the nation's largest historic district in Savannah is a must for all visitors...it's the main reason the Paris newspaper has named Savannah the most beautiful city in America.
It's wonderful for all Tybee visitors that the trip back and forth to Savannah is so easy, short, and pretty.
Oh..the pool is the largest by far on the island and tends to work well for all
sans all the awful crowding of so many places.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit..and DO bring the kids again.:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"The Captain's Quarters"

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

I would like to give thanks to the wonderful owners of the The Captain's Quarters, Mr. Stu and Mrs. Susan. This was a wonderful condo. It was furnished to meet all of our needs. The condo was very clean and enjoyable. This was the very first condo/resort I have ever been that catered to your every need. My family and I had a wonderful experience and plan to return to Tybee Island, especially " The Captain's Quarters. Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so very grateful when our busy guests take their valuable time to write us such lovely comments!! We're so glad everything met your needs and that the experience was enjoyed. Thank YOU so much for visiting, and we very much look foward to hosting you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beware

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We were very surprised to find the "captains quarters" dirty upon arrival based on the other reviews. The carpet was filthy with what appeared to be years of dust/dirt. There was indoor/outdoor carpet taped over the wall to wall carpeting in the hallway. There was dust caked on the ceiling, return vent etc. The condo is very outdated but we would have been ok had it been clean. The owners had someone come to shampoo the carpet but were unwilling to offer any other solution. The mattresses were very old and uncomfortable. The condo is way too small for 6. The description should only indicate 4 max. The wireless connection is not reliable inside the condo, only on the deck. The building overall is aging but in decent conditiIon. The view is nice and pool area was fine. The owners seem like nice people but the condo description is very misleading and the positive reviews must be in reference to one of their other condos. We do not plan to rent from these owners again in the future.

Owners response: Goodness. We hope these visitors did not have personal problems prohibiting their vacation enjoyment. First, the condo was cleaned as always by a professional cleaning co. The owner of that, knowing how picky we are, has her number posted on the fridge for anyone to call her to come if there is any cleaning issue. These guests did not call her. Our other guests ARE intelligent enough to know which condo they are in.You see the previous five star review posted on July 2 by a guest in this condo..just before this group. That five star is our 12 year norm. The mattress is not old,and there is a feather topper which many comment on as being wonderful. It is not possible to FEEL the mattress through that topper and the visitor cannot have basis for this comment. The guests called on day four of their stay, having decided the carpet was dirty.It is cleaned often, but sand can be a challege anywhere beachfront in summer. So, we had it professionally cleaned for them the next day. The complex mgr. could verify that the condo is not dated. It's one of the very few with a dishwasher for example. It has a full kitchen rather than the corner efficiency, an opened up bedroom wall, new bathroom decor, an extra bedroom closet, new wall t.v, couch and chair this year and so forth.Wireless is available in the pool and clubhouse areas and no one is promised otherwise. It often does work in this suite though. Many are pleased that the condo sleeps six with queen bed, queen sleeper, and bunks. The guests had seen complete and up to date picture before coming. No surpises and no misrepensation or someone else would have mentioned that in hundreds of guests over 13 years.The indoor outdoor carpet in the hall was to help with summer ssand and many have expressed appreciation for that easy cleanup area.
These guests wanted a refund. It was not warranted and they used the condo for a full week. Perhaps they wanted a large, luxury suite. We have those available for more money of course had we had any idea. We received none of these complaints during their stay, except for the carpet which we didn't agree with but took care of.Read our guestbook when you come. You'll not only be able to judge by your own experience but also that of countless others. We expect that most can easily determine what this review is about. We won't ever yield to refund blackmail but will do whatever is necessary to take wonderful care of our guests AND solve any problems that might crop up quickly.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

Charming stay in Captain's Quarters

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

I wanted to write a quick note to you expressing how much my husband and I loved our stay in your condo, Captain's Quarters.

Our vacation/1 year anniversary trip was absolutely wonderful! After spending hours at the beach, traversing the island, or in historical Savannah, it was wonderful to have a nice, clean, and comfortable place to come back to. On the rainy days, we were able to make ourselves “at home”, curl up on the couch, and watch a movie. It was PERFECT! I also have to say, I have never seen so many dolphins in one place, playing constantly throughout the day. I think that was my favorite part! And we could view all of that right from the condo! We were even able to go out and swim with them being only about 15 yards from us!

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your condo! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Brandy...thank you so very much for taking the time for such a lovely review.
NOTHING is more important than our visitors having a great experience....guests should be treated like personal family.
This IS THE great spot for seeing the dolphin, isn't it? :) It's where the dolphin tour boats come!! (also the cargo ships, shrimpboats, etc. are wonderful to observe.) I'm glad the movies provided were enjoyed during the rain.:)
We appreciate your visit and courtesy and look forward to next time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation!!!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Had the best vacation! Enjoyed every bit of it! The condo was everything we were told it would be and can't wait to go back again. Loved being by the pool and watching the dolphins playing. Close enough to Savannah that we spent a couple of days there on River Walk, Trolley tour, Dinner boat cruise....had a blast doing it all! Condo had everything that you needed just buy any food that you need. Best place we have ever eaten breakfast was at the Breakfast Club...ate there 3 times, had something different every time and didn't have one bad thing. Thanks Susan....you're the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Penny...thank you (and all our reviewers) for taking the time to write a review and for the very kind words. When away from home, proper service and supplies and cleaning and repair emergency help on standby, etc. are so critical. We're so glad you feel you got proper hospitality and that you enjoyed the spot. It amazes me how many people shop price only as if over 150 of these condos have anything in common; they are all private homes and everything is very different. It's important to ask all the right questions.
Thank you again so very much and we hope to have the honor to serve you again on Tybee!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you for sharing your condo with us. The condo looks exactly as your pictures shows and was clean and comfortable. We loved using the pool and going to the beach to watch the dolphins and cargo ships coming in. Thank you for sending so much information in advance so we were able to plan out most of our trip before we came. Savannah is only 20 mins. away and enjoyed many day trips there (river cruise, trolley cruise, ghost tours, paula deens, river walk etc) We had a really great vacation and appreciate all of your help in making it great. ONLY CON TO TYBEE ISLAND IS YOU NEED QUARTERS TO PARK EVERYWHERE ON THE ISLAND.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Christina,

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us.
I Do want to point out that you DO NOT PAY TO PARK at the Beach and Racquet Club where you stayed. :) In most areas of the city you do pay to park near beach and shops and restaurants; that's probably the case in most cities these days as they try to meet their costs. I know how hard City Hall struggles with the budget. I'm sure town officials wish Tybee could afford to provide free parkiing on the island, but it just cannot. The beach renourishment that has to be done every few years, for example, costs many, many millions of dollars by itself.
Thank you so much again for visiting, and we hope to spoil you rotten another time soon!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

My new vacation get-a-way

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you again from Ky, Anneleise and Logan
How can we thank you for sharing your beach home with us!!!! It was truly a time to remember. Even though I live in Beaufort I was in another world while my sister, nephew and myself stayed in your lovely condo. I love how you did the bedroom. That is the look I am trying for in my condo in Beaufort. Of course I only have the marsh and river for a view, but oh what the lowcountry can give us in beauty. Again thank you for letting us stay in your home and we hope to do it again next year. Hope the cleaning crew found everything ok. We wanted to keep it as nice as you do. We treated it as our home away from home! I know I am gushing but there is no other way to be!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ky...we are so grateful for your taking the time to write such a charming review.
We appreciated your visit and hope to spoil you rotten again soon on Tybee!
When I hear from people "just looking for the best price", I become very concerned about whether or not they have thought about the important things....AND things that can cost them a lot when here!
Over 100 owners at the Beach and Racquet Club (like any neighborhood) have homes that are very different in quality and do things very different ways!
(not only in terms of the home, but supplies and extras and service and cleaning and repair emeregency help and so many other things.)
We feel wonderful that you were happy with your stay. All the best and we'll be looking forward to next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY AWESOME

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

BESIDES BEING A GREAT DEAL THIS PLACE IS RIGHT ON THE BEACH HAS A GREAT SWIMMING POOL AND FURNISHED EVERYTHING ALL YOU HAD TO DO IS BRING THE NECESSITIES AND FOOD WE LOVED IT TOOK OUR GRANDSON ON HIS FIRST VACATION IT IS GREAT FOR THE FAMILY IF YOU DONT WANT ALL THE CROWDS AND NOISE WE ARE GOING BACK AGAIN JUST MY HUSBAND AND I MARYJOY WILL ALWAYS ANSWER YOUR CALLS AND THEY EVEN LEAVE A NICE GIFT BAG OF ITEMS THE ISLAND OCEAN AND CONDO WAS THE BEST WE HAVE EVER STAYED AND WE TRAVEL ALOT. THANKS SO MUCH FRO A AWESOME TIME

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location on Tybee Island

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Our first visit to Georgia, and especially to Tybee Island was a pleasant surprise indeed! The condo was exactly how it was described and very comfortable. The view was great and we walked the beach everyday, how grand! The short drive to Savannah was very convenient, so much history to experience and enjoy. We explored the city and surrounding areas almost everyday and discovered something new every time. Especially enjoyed the city squares, River Street, and Paula Deen's restaurant. We will definitely visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lives up to its promise

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We (2 adults and 2 kids) spent 4 nights in April 2011 in this fantastic condo. Our initial skepticism was immediately gone when entering the condo and we appreciated that we found everything we needed. Our kids liked the tools for the beach and we the beach chair, towels and sun umbrella. The most convincing part was the cleanness of everything and the great welcome bag. We also enjoyed the restaurant tips (Sundae Cafe) and the short distance to the lighthouse and Savannah downtown. All in all we would like to come back to this property and were happy that it lives up to its promises.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

LOVE BAREFOOT JOY

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

We had never been to Tybee Island before and had a wonderful time there. It was a great place to relax. The beach was beautiful, always something going on there--the ships passing through the channel on their way into Savannah was breathtaking and then their return to the sea. Great places to eat on the island. It was so easy to get to Savannah and so much to do there. Everything we needed to be comfortable for our stay at Barefoot Joy was there. All you really need to do is pack your clothes and come. It was decorated so cute and the welcome bag was so nice. We would recommend this place to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Time!!!!

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We had an amazing time. It was so awesome to be right on the water and see the cargo ships coming in and out. Being on the beach was great as well. We will definitely go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised with this property on Tybee Island. We had never vacationed there before and we had a great time. Our rental condo was wonderful and the view was fantastic. The property is convienient to almost everything you'd possibly want to do. Our favorite thing was the proximity to the beach. We love to fish and it was so easy to just walk out and cast our lines. The condo was very well kept and offered everything that we needed or wanted. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

My stay at BareFoot Joy

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

The owner of this property is wonderful. The condo was very well equipped with all the supplies that you would need for a beach vacation. She has taken the time to make sure your vacation is truely enjoyable. The property was quiet, which was very nice. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a nice quiet vacation. I can't wait to return next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

"The Captain's Quarters" at the Savannah Beach and Racquet Club

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

I just wanted to drop a note to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your Savannah Beach and Racquet Club "The Captain's Quarters" condo. It is a marvelous place. My parents had a great time and we truly enjoyed our stay. The unit was clean and roomy-just what we wanted. The pictures provided online were true to the unit. Susan and Stuart also provided little extras like coffee, tissue paper, paper towels, items you might forget until you get to the store. The condo was very well stocked with clean linens. We enjoyed talking to the cats, watching the ships roll in as they navigated into the Savannah River and back to the ocean. Once the tide went out walking on the beach was great and later in the day you can stand on the deck/walk and watch the dolphins play with the kayakers. It was a little cool for the pool but the pool was clean with restrooms on site, so you didn't have to return to your condo. Also a deck was available for relaxing and viewing the ocean. The location was great because the Tybee Island beach pavilion was close by as well as downtown Savannah. Oh and you are in a very secure location that requires scan card entry-very safe and secure. I highly recommend this location.

Thanks again,
Cindy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Barefoot Joy is my favorite place to stay at Tybee!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

I brought my mom to Tybee for her birthday and Mother's Day in May. We stayed at Barefoot Joy and had a fabulous time! The condo was exceptionaly clean and the goodie bag was a real treat. The view from the balcony was amazing. This part of the beach was so peaceful. There was actually one day that we were the only people out on the beach. The owners are so sweet and helpful. We actually went back to Tybee in September and had to stay somewhere else due to pets. We made the comment more than once that we wished we were back at Barefoot Joy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation spot

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at the Barefoot Joy. View was wonderful. The extras provided were very helpful. We saw so many dolphins I lost count. I would recommend this condo to anyone. We went during August. It was a perfect time. We felt like we had the beach all to ourselves. Thank you for sharing this treasure with us. We will hopefully be back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This was a very nice place to stay, the description & pictures were very accurate. The lady booking our stay was very thorough & answered all of my questions. The homeowner also was kind & quick to respond when I had a few extra questions closer to our stay. I loved the unit & the view, this was a wonderful place & I hated to leave. I have missed it & can't wait to go back next year!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Family Vacation!!!!

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We had a great time staying at Tybee Island. This was our family vacation (husband, myself, and our 16 year old son). We didn't want to go home at the end of the week. The view from the waterfront condo was great. Everyday we watched shrimp boats coming and going...and every afternoon there were a lot of dolphins following around behind them and playing. It was great to be able to watch these boats and dolphins from the balcony of the condo. It was nice to be able to sit on the beach from 9 am until 1 pm. We would not see more than a few families on the beach at a time. It was sort of like being on a private beach. There were great places to eat within a few miles of the condo (Crab Shack, Uncle Bubbas, and Cafe Loco). The weather was fantastic (BUT HOT). Sunshine everyday with temps around 100. Savannah was just down the road, so it was a great day trip. Thank you for sharing your condo with us. The gift bag was great. All the items came in handy. We hope to rent from you again in the future. Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location, Great Condo!

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this condo for ten days in May, 2010. Upon arrival we were greated with a gift bag full of goodies....nice touch. We were pleased to find the condo was immaculately clean, was well stocked with towels, kitchen ware, etc. and was in a fabulous location! The sunsets right from our 1st floor balcony were breathtaking! We were also just steps away from the pool and beach. We had a great stay on Tybee Island and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this condo to all our friends and family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

Thanks for sharing your vacation home with us!!! It was perfect. And..the gift bag was so thoughtful and so well used! Our daughter thanks you for the stuffed shark! She loved it! I think this will be our home away from home. It's the perfect spot too...we will NOT stay on the crowded, noisy, full of bars south end of the island.That's no place for children.
Do we have to go back to Tennessee??? We loved it all. Thanks againl.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We loved it!!! VERY relaxing. It was also so nice to not see all the high rises and chain restaurants and hotels here that crowd Destin and Myrtle Beach and Panama City. Very nice.....we hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

LOVED the place! Thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with numerous pictures and island knick-knacks that gave it unequaled charm. So many extras!! GREAT sleeping accommodations. Loved the look and feel of the condol. This will definitely be a return destination for us....Unit 204A...the Captain's Quarters. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review