reviews for: listing #22450 - Destin, Florida House rental

la villa de capo
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Emerald Shores
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $895 - $2,595 /wk

sort by:

What a great location

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I are from Germany. This was our third trip to Destin, Florida. We plan to return. When we do it we're gonna book a year in advance in order to get this fantastic home again.

The house is a stone throw from the private beach and across from the heated pool. All the rooms are very large and beautiful decorated. The kitchen is newly remodeled with new appliance and is spotless. Everything like bathrooms and shower was very very clean. We were at home in such a fantastic property and it was our best decision to rent this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Fun

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Beautiful home and awesome hosts. Would recommend to anyone. We had a great time. Ready to go back:)

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One word.. Amazing

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Well.. Perfect is the way I would describe our vacation. Great house, Great location, Great beach, perfect weather. Dan and his family are excellent hosts.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay in Emerald Shores

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Our family including grandparents and three children stayed in this beautiful home while visiting Destin Florida for vacation. The home was very nice and clean and was a wonderful place to stay. We had all the amenities of home with a washer/dryer, grill, full kitchen, TV's, electronics, Wi-Fi, beach toys, chairs, umbrellas and Cabana beach access. A pool was right next to the home and we played tennis everyday on a nearby court. The beach was in easy walking distance, approximately 300 feet. The owner made our first time renting a home a good one. He communicated with us before the trip and while we were there to make sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely rent from this owner again if we vacation in Destin again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding property

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

This is a beautiful, well maintained, spotless home with caring owners in a quiet, peaceful neighborhood.
The interior is decorated in a tasteful, comfortable, well thought out manner, and we had a wonderful, relaxing visit. Everything was provided, appliances are new, there is plenty of comfortable seating.
The beach is a very short walk through the charming neighborhood. We loved our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacationer

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family enjoyed your home and would recommend it for anyone vacationing in the Destin area. I so much appreciated the owner's phone calls to see how things were going as well as recommending restaurants. The property description was exact.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The house was great and the owners are very responsive when questions arise. Very clean! Very close to the beach. No surprises, we got what we were told we were getting. The pictures are exactly what you will find in the home. We had my family which included 3 teenagers, my parents, and my aunt! There was enough space for all to relax and enjoy our stay. If I visit Destin again I will be looking to stay here. I do wish the pool would have stayed open later than 10 PM.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing home & wonderful owners

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My family (including 3 kids) stayed June and July in this beautiful home. We thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities it provided as well as the hospitality of Dan & Nora. The home is located right across the street from the pool which is SO convenient. The beach is just a short walk or you can take the tram in the neighborhood. We loved being in the heart of everything in Destin, yet feeling like we're at home. Thanks Dan and Nora for an amazing summer and allowing us to make your home our own for a couple of months. Blessing to you and yours!
S. Ramsey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

A very clean property about a two block walk to the private beach. Walk was easy with the supplied wagon to carry all of our chairs, umbrella's, buckets with shovels and boogie boards. The pool is right across the street and was very nicely maintained and clean. Our family Loved this property!! We enjoyed the big screen TV and Netflix every night of our trip. We recommend this property!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Only one complaint....

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Everything was lovely and comfortable in this property. My only complaint is that our stay had to end! See you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely white sand beach, pool, golf, beautiful house and fun nightlife!

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

This is a jewel! The white sand beaches are absolutely fantastic! The house has big rooms, is spotless and has a new kitchen which is fully equipped. The house is comfortable, but beautifully decorated in Florida style so you know you are on a sensational vacation! It is located right next to the pool. We are active so we loved jet skiing right next to the dolphins! There are several excellent golf courses, we like Freddie Couples' The Plantation course. We found many excellent restaurants in the area, Marina Cafe has a splendid view and wonderful food, and McGuire's has the best hamburgers. We fully enjoyed the dueling pianos at Howl at the Moon. We found it very easy to book, the owners are prompt and very helpful. We would highly recommend this house to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

visiting mother from norway

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

dear nora and dan,
I'm nina's mother from norway.we are so very happy to know that nina and frank are being takeing so great care of ,what a beautiful home,so very well equipted ! it has been a great place for them to live and also for us the grandparents of our grandaughter ane,all the best to you.

fonian & jens

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

The house was as listed. It is even better than the photos. The house was very clean and everything was in place.
Dan was wonderful to work with. He answered all my questions before and even those after we had booked the house. He returns calls in a timely manner. The directions and all of the instructions were great. We had no problems at all with finding the house and stores in the area.
I would highly recommend the house to family and friends. We hope to go back at some point.
The main pool is just across the street. The upper balcony is wonderful to sit and feel the breeze and read a book or nap. Rooms were all a great size and there is plenty of room to move around the house.
The beach is nice and clean and just a short walk from the house. There is a nice trail to walk, run or ride your bike along the beach front road.
Thank you Dan and Nora for allowing us to rent your beautiful home.
Walden Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

My children and I met my sister, brother-in-law, and (grand)mother in Destin for a week's vacation. The Villa de Capo was wonderful. The home was very clean and looked exactly as shown in photographs on HomeAway. Dan was very accomodating, calling to ensure we arrived safely, offering tips on places to eat, and making sure we had the correct codes for entry to the property and beach area.

The house was very well kept and very clean. Updates have been done to the kitchen and most everything you might need to cook is there. The bedrooms were all comfortable and the bathrooms all very clean. The only shortfall was the pull out sofa, but that is typical of pull out sofas. My son didn't seem to mind, but an adult might find it too uncomfortable.

The house is a short walk away from the private gated beach and a few steps away from the swimming pool. Other guests in community seemed to be families on vacation and more mature couples. So community is very peaceful and relaxing - no loud music or late night parties (at least on Fall Break).

I would definitely recommend Villa de Capo to others. Dan is a great home owner to work with and his property is wonderful. We would rent again if returning to Destin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Boerresen family

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We are a family from Norway consisting of two adults and a baby (3 months on arrival). Our family has been taken very good care of by the owner during our stay of nearly 6 months. Information before arrival was good. The property is clean and well maintained.

The house has an inviting atmosphere. The staff at Emerald Shores take very good care of the outside areas, both the house and common areas. We have had many visitors from Norway while staying here. At the most we were 8 adults and the baby. This was no problem, but we would not recommend beeing more people than that.

The area is quiet with no passing trough traffic. The pool areas is good fun for kids.

During our stay the short distance from the house to "Yoga by the Sea" and "Destin Crossfit" have been a big plus. Also the short walk down to the sea has been excellent.

We have had a very good stay and will recommend this property to anyone, espacilly families with small children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

One word describes this home, AWESOME!!! The location was very convenient for shopping and eating out with many main attractions within a short distance. The neighborhood was pleasant and great for a morning or afternoon stroll. And, you can't ask for a more beautiful beach front. The Gulf of Mexico is right next door and the water and white sand was beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great holiday get away

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Great escape from the hectic holidays.
Beautiful house, great space, super clean and perfect for a girl's weekend. Lots of comfy chairs and spacious kitchen too. Will definitely make it an annual destination.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Girl's Weekend!

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

This vacation house the best! Immaculate, spacious, and walking distance to the beach. We felt secure in this quiet neighborhood. Everything we needed was provided (towels, coffee maker, dishes, glasses,etc.) and shopping right around the corner.
Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

March 2010 Spring break vist

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

The property was in great condition,we loved the location within steps from the pool and only a short walk to the beach. Photos and description are right on. Kitchen had all the amenities we needed for the few times we ate in. Home is equipped with televisions and VCRs for some evening entertainment. The location is great with nice shopping malls and movie theaters, pleanty of great restaurants near by. I highly reccomend this property for someone looking for a nice family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location, steps to pool,short walk to beach

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Dan & Nora,
Thanks!!your home is in fabulous condition,all the rooms are very comfortable,this is a great location within steps from the pool and only a short walk to the beach.photos and description are right on,kitchen has all the amenties we needed for the few times we ate in.bedrooms are all equipped with
t v & vcr/cd for evening enterainment.the location is great with shopping malls and movie theater within a few miles,lots of great family restaurants nearby,I highly recommend this home for a family looking for a nice vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

West Chester, Ohio Family

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Dear Dan and Nora,
thank you for the use of your beautiful home for our family vacation.this was our first opportunity to vacation as a family of six since amelia joined us last july.the beaches are amazing,the facilites are fantastic and you home was beyond anything we could have asked for.we hope to return to destin and when we do it will be to your home in emerald shores!
blessings to you and your beautiful family.
p.s. we are from west chester ohio,go buckeyes!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

lovely and "homey" comfortable comments

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Dan and Nora,
thank you for letting us rent your beach home on short notice. this was a restful vacation so much so ,our grandson does not want to go home. everything is lovely and "homey" comfortable,thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest from paris france

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

Dear dan & Nora,
we are from paris france and we've been coming to destin for vacation for 20 years.we've spent 2 weeks in your beautful home,it was great !!! we are going to miss it when we arrive back in paris,thank you so much,we really enjoyed our stay in your lovely home,hope to come back soon! take care best regards. p.s. thanks for the great recomendations of the fine restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation spot

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

My family and I had a great time in Destin for spring break. There's lots to do with the beautiful white beaches, pool, golf courses and tennis courts. I would recommend the area and the house for families with teenagers as well as small children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family from Paris, France

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

We are Christina, Philippe, Amelia, Caroline, and Eric- We are from Fance and we've been coming to Destin for vacation since 20 years. We've spent 2 weeks in your beautiful house. It was great and we are going to miss it when we will arive in Paris! Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay here. Hope to come back soon! Take care- Best regards.

p.s. Thank you for the great restaurants suggestions

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Melrose family from Weaverville, North Carolina

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

Dear Dan and Nora,
Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home. It has been several years since our last family vacation and this was a great place to spend this long awaited one. The beaches here are the most beautiful one our family has ever seen. None of us are wanting to leave to go back to Weaverville, North Carolina. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the wills from west chester ohio

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

Thank you for the use of your beautiful home for our family,the beaches are amazing, the facilities are fantastic and your home was beyond anything we could have asked for.
we hope to return to Destin and when we do, it will be to your home in Emerald Shores. Blessings to you and your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

Dan and Nora,
Thank you for the use of your beautiful home for our family vacation. This was our first opportunity to vacation as a family of six since Amelia joined us last July. The beaches are amazing, the facilities are fantastic and your home was beyond anything we could have asked for. We hope to return to Destin and when we do it will be to your home in Emerald Shores! Blessings to you and your beautiful family.

p.s. We are from West Chester Ohio, Go Buckeyes!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Dan and Nora,
Thank you for letting us rent your beach home on short notice. This was a restful vacation so much so, our grandson doens't want to go home. Everything is lovely and "homey" comfortable.
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

We are from France and we've been coming to Destin for vacation for 20 years. We've spent 2 weeks in your beautiful house - It was great and we are going to miss it when we will arrive in Paris! Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay here. Hope to come back soon! Take care- Best Regards.
p.s. thanks you for the great recomendations of the fine restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

March 2010 Spring Break Visit

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

The property was in great shape. The rooms were all very clean and comfortable for my family. This is a great home located within steps from the pool and only a short walk to the beach.

Photos and description are right on. Kitchen had all the amenities we needed for the few times we ate in. Bathrooms were all in great shape. Bedrooms are all equipped with Televeisions and VCRs for some evening entertainment.

The location is great with a nice shopping mall with movie theater within 2 miles, plenty of great restaurants nearby, but still in a quiet neighborhood setting. I highly recommend this property for someone looking for a nice family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review