reviews for: listing #2246 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii House rental

Ocean View Home at Poipu Beach, A/C, Editor's Pick
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $343 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,400 /wk
    $5,600 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Ideal vacation home for a family.

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

We stayed for a week in this wonderful property for our 40th Anniversary Celebration. We were with our daughter, son and daughter-in-law and thier new little baby. The house accomodated us very well and the downstairs was ideal as a quiet place for the baby. The accomodations were wonderful with great facilities.

The location was ideal with quick access to the beach for fun water activites. It was also a good home base for all the island activities. I would recommend you stock up on food in Lehuie before heading to the house as the market selections close to the house are very limited.

Chris was a wondeful host and quickly took care of a couple of minor issues that came up during our stay. Thanks, Chris.

We all had great time and would love to come back to this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house at a perfect location!

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

Location was perfect, the house was clean, well maintained, and had everything we needed for seven of us. We even found equipment for snorkeling, surfing, sand toys, etc in the laundry room. The big plus was the outside shower with hot water.

Chris(owner manager) provided us with the layout of the house and accurate descriptions of the amenities ahead of time so we knew exactly what to expect. He also responded quickly to our questions and requests throughout our stay of five nights.

We enjoyed snorkeling, swimming, hiking and sometimes just sitting on the beach relaxing. The beach and restaurants are all within walking distance. The big shopping center (Poipu shopping village) is only five minutes drive away.

I wish to return someday and would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Owners response: Mahalo for the kind review! We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Chris and T

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Fantastic Location

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

We had a wonderful week here. It was so relaxing and renewing-much needed. We loved hiking, exploring the different beaches, and the peaceful setting. The home was great, having everything we needed and a fantastic location. We would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We usually stay in hotels but this was much better

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

We had a great time here! We usually stay in hotels but this was so much better. This was like a home away from home... very cozy and had everything we needed. We loved the location and view. We hope we can return.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This house was perfect for our family

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We loved staying at the house in Poipu. It was very comfortable and lived up to the website photos. Chris and Teresa are wonderful hosts and we will come back to stay there again. Also we will recommend this house to family and friends who want to come to the "garden island of Kauai". This house was perfect for our family of 6 adults and two children. We were pleasantly surprised to find it completely furnished with everything that you could possibly need; including a coffee grinder to grind beans fresh every morning. Chris and Teresa are very thoughtful in furnishing their home with everything that you need for your stay. They even provide cd's of Hawaiian music for your listening pleasure! We really enjoyed sitting on the upper level lanai both morning and evening to watch the ocean just a hundred yards away (approximately) or walking down to the end of the street to watch the sunset. Fabulous view! Great location to Poipu Beach, where we spent a lot of time. It is a perfect beach for small children and also for water lovers of all ages. We were very happy to come to Kauai and recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a great vacation destination!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Vacation Home!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This beautiful home was everything we hoped for and more. It was very clean when we arrived, and there was even a box of macadamia nut chocolates waiting for us. The beds were comfortable, and the space was great for our group of 6 (plenty of space for 7 too). We loved having the key in a lock box so that our teens could come and go with some flexibility, and the supply of beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, snorkeling gear and ice chest helped us get maximum enjoyment from the nearby beach. We enjoyed watching the turtles nearby and explored the island using the map and guidebooks Chris had at the place. The owners brought us fresh bananas from the trees on the property and some starfruit too. When the propane tank ran out, Chris brought another right over and we still had our grilled chicken that night. If you are looking for a great place to stay for a reasonable price, this is it.
Side note: If you go to Kauai and you like Mexican food, be sure to try Tiki Tacos in Kapaa...the very best.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

The place was perfect in every sense! It was private, Close to the beach (easy 5 min walk), Large, Everything was there, and it was Inexpensive (Please don't raise the price). We moved 1/2 way through on stay on Kauai but not because of the accomodations. I wish we could have stayed here our entire time!! This was not a luxurious place. Neither were we looking for luxurious. It was very comfortable. We would definately stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for the kind review!

No plans to raise the price. As owner/manager, I decided to offer my home for a good value that people will want to return to and also recommend to their friends.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was everything that we expected it to be

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

We would highly recommend this vacation rental, and give especially high marks to its owner/manager, Chris. The house was everything that we expected it to be, exactly as it appeared on the website. It was so well equipped that it really felt like a home away from home. Chris was so friendly, from the time we made the reservation through our time on the island. He even came over to cut down ripe bananas for us! We were thoroughly impressed with the whole experience. We felt like we were living the Hawaiian dream-- at least for our two weeks there! Thanks, Chris, for making our stay such a special one. You are one in a million!

Mike & Patsy, Vancouver, WA

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

W will definitely try to come back again…. Soon!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Chris- thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! It was perfect for our family. We all had a great time seeing and touring around your island paradise – Mahalo! This will be a family vacation our kids will surely tell their kids about. It’s sad to go but we will definitely try to come back again…. Soon!

Mahalo, mahalo, mahalo,

The Wyckoffs

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family absolutely LOVED it here!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Our family absolutely LOVED it here! IT really becomes a “home away from home.” The place had everything! We went shopping for some things, but luckily anything we forgot was right here at “home.” We woke up a couple morning to whales breaching and sea turtles, got some good video! The beach and shops were just a short walk and the kids loved it! This place is absolutely perfect!

Thanks Chris! Jacksons and Alcantara families

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family had a blast!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

Once again, a wonderful vacation at Aikane Kauai! Our family had a blast! We did a lot at the beach and around the island. The location couldn’t be better! There is no better way to experience Kauai. The diving was spectacular! Thank you for all the care you take in providing an excellent vacation home!

Mahalo!

The Bowers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superb location with amazing views

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

What a wonderful home for 3 generations of our family to celebrate a significant birthday together. Superb location and a beautiful space with amazing views of the blue. The young (and young at heart) delighted in the boogie boards and swim noodles and walking to the beach whenever the mood struck. Thank you for the warm hopitality.
Diana, Henry and Family, Cincinnati/Berkeley/Toranto

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had the best time and definitely will return.

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

We had the best time and definitely will return. I cannot imagine doing the hotel/condo option ever again...
Thanks again and again,
JoAnne and family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love everything about this place

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

We love everything about this place. It was much more than we expected. Thanks for all the little extras such as the beach shoes, snorkels, masks and boogie boards - we used them everyday. The location had something for everyone. We will be back soon we hope. Chris, thanks for the surfing advice.

Ron, Bev & Shirley from Western Australia:

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We felt like we were living the Hawaiian dream

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We would highly recommend this vacation rental and give especially high marks to its owner/manager, Chris. The house was everything that we expected it to be, exactly as it appeared on the website. It was so well equipped that it really felt like a home away from home. Chris was so friendly, from the time we made the reservation through our time on the island. He even came over to cut down ripe bananas for us! We were thoroughly impressed with the whole experience. We felt like we were living the Hawaiian dream-- at least for our two weeks there! Thanks, Chris, for making our stay such a special one. You are one in a million!

Mike & Patsy, Vancouver, WA:

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything that it was advertised to be

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

We had a fabulous Vacation in Kauai staying at this house. It was everything that it was advertised to be. The house itself is beautiful and clean. We enjoyed sitting on the Lanai and watching the ocean. The house is equipped with everything you need: coolers, boogie boards, beach chairs, etc. Would definitely stay there again.

Jerry & Maggie, Indiana:

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything a perfect vacation should be!

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

Chris, you thought of almost everything a perfect vacation should be! You have an excellent accommodation, fully equipped homey place and great location. Unparalleled! I love the North Shore but Poipu is the best place to be. Overall your home is five stars.

Mahalo Chris, you exceeded our expectation.

Maraming salamat, Mahalo,

Gircie, Roel, Linda, Buddy, Rainen, and Letty of Los Angeles

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent stay (no surprises).

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Chris,

Excellent stay (no surprises). Would certainly recommend your lovely home to anyone. Thank you for all the extra touches.

Mr/Mrs Wallace.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a fantastic place

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

Hopefully you will be reading this entry when you first arrive. If you have stayed here before, you know what a fantastic place AIKANE Kauai is and what great guy Chris is. If this is your first visit you have a treat in store for you. If you plan to line up island activities like ziplining, horseback riding or power hang gliding you better do it right away. We have been to other Hawaiian islands, but the people of Kauai have been the most gentle and giving people. Now just enjoy.

Schwartz Family. Las Vegas, NV

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best we've stayed at

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

We had a great stay at "Aikane". This house is the best we've stayed at... love the house boogie boards, mats, snorkel gear, makes it real easy. Glad to have met you...best of luck. We'll come back!
John and Family

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful home

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

What a wonderful home for 3 generations of our family to celebrate a significant birthday together. Superb location and a beautiful space with amazing views of the blue. The young (and young at heart) delighted in the boogie boards and swim noodles and walking to the beach whenever the mood struck. Thank you for the warm hopitality.
Diana, Henry and Family, Cincinnati/Berkeley/Toranto

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2006   Date of arrival: March 24, 2006

We had a terrific time and the house was the perfect arrangement for us. We really appreciated your attention to detail - you made us feel really comfortable so that we didn't have to worry about the little things. We got a lot of use out of the guidebooks, boogie boards, etc., and your shopping recommendations were right on target. The bed in the master bedroom was so comfortable that we actually wrote down the make of the mattress! (or was it just Kauai in general that made us sleep so well?) Anyway, thanks for making our first 'internet vacation' a success.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review