reviews for: listing #22504 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Cute Beach Cottage with Pool/Beach Access
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Rookery
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $150 /nt
    $500 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Lovely cottage!

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

I needed a place that would house my family and my girlfriend's family. We were so thrilled to have found this place. The price is reasonable and the cottage is lovely. This is one-half of a duplex cottage. The surrounding area is quiet and the beach that we had access to was absolutely lovely. We were there during the first week of March, and even though the weather was iffy, we were able to enjoy the beach much of the time. The area was very quiet, even though we were surrounded by cottages in this community. The tennis court was in great condition, and the pool and hot tub were quite nice. I was happy that it was down a ways on the peninsula, because the kids on Spring Break didn't seem interested in leaving the condos on Gulf Shores. The queen I slept in was very comfortable. The sofa bed was a little bit uncomfortable for the teen boy that slept there, but that was easily remedied by putting the mattress on the floor. The manager, Kimberly, was lovely to work with when I was planning the trip. We plan to come back to this place. We are grateful to have found it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great time was had by all!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

What a great location. The description by the owner(Connie)and her manager (Kim) were dead on. What a lovely place. In the mornings, you could hear the surf crashing onto shore and the birds singing in the trees. Everything was just as advertised. Clean as could be. All appliances worked, the TV was great (flat screens in three of the four rooms) and the beds were very comfortable.

We were highly impressed with the customer service of Kim, the manager of the property. Between emails and txt messaging, Kim was available day and some nights. She really went beyond the call of duty.

We will recommend this property to anyone who wants a comfortable, quiet and wonderful vacation in Gulf Shores Alabama.

Thank you Connie and Kim,

Mike & Jackie
Lenexa, Ks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at "Another World" cottage

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

The cottage was beautiful, cozy and welcoming. The "Rookery" was a terrific area, very well maintained. Pool and spa were beautiful and clean. The location was peaceful, quiet, yet near enough to go "into town" and have fun. Good beach access. I plan on staying there again next summer!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very relaxing and charming cottage

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Thank you very much for let us rent your nice and charming little cottage. The kids had a blast playing at the beach and swimming in the pool. The house was clean and welcoming. We really enjoyed our vacations at your place. Thank you again.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream vacation

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

We are a family of 7 and the house was perfect for us. First of all the interior
was even more beautiful that the pictures we had seen. The decor was gorgeous.
There were t.v.'s in every room which was great for 5 kids. The community pool was great and we were only walking distance to a private beach. There were beach chairs,umbrellas and beach toys provided. A screened porch was terrific to relax on
rocking in rocking chairs in the morning. It was amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We arrived at the beach cottage and felt at home right away! The house was perfect for my family. The decor was beautiful, it was clean, and close to everything we were wanting to do. We were close to the beach, and could sit there for hours enjoying the waves and sand. If the beach wasn't what we wanted, the pool was great, and close to the house.
We enjoyed touring Fort Morgan and Fort Gaines. The ferry ride to Dauphin Island was great and we even saw dolphins swimming! All the restaurants were great also, Lamberts, LuLu's,Tacky Jacks 2, Ft Morgan Pizza. On the days it did rain we still had a great time! This was a great get away and hope to be back really soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

May 9-19 Bussinger vacation

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Very nice accomodations and big enough for our family. Everything was nice and clean. If I had any suggestion it would be to replace the living room furniture with something that looked a little "beachy". The sofa and chair looked liked something from my parents basement. Don't get me wrong. It was adequate and comfortable, just not cosmetically soothing. Overall a great trip and the fish were biting.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Awesome Place to Stay!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had a great time. Loved the location. Practically had the beach to ourselves. The pool and hot tub were excellent. Lots of space in the cottage. Very well maintained and clean. Just absolutely loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to maintain our house with all the comforts of home. The Rookery is one of the best kept secrets.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Great home away from home!

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We loved the cottage and felt right at home. The Rookery was a quiet and wonderful place to stay and the location of the cottage was perfect for us! We were able to park right in front of the cabin, we were right by the tennis court, the pool, and the grill. The rockers on the porch provided hours of tranquility as I was able to rock and read in the evenings while the kiddos watched small crabs, frogs, and lizards stroll (or hop) along the sand in front of the cottage.

The home was very clean, the kitchen had just about everything we needed, and the beach across the street was great to visit in the early morning and late in the evenings.

There were beach toys for the kiddos and noodles for the pool, beach chairs available for our use, and movies, games, and books available for usage as well.

The pool is one of the best pools we've experienced, especially for a property of this size (there are actually two on the property). If you have kiddos you will love this pool! It has a graduated entry and the area of shallow water is very large and spread out with the Tiki bar in between the two areas. The hot tub is very large and during our stay we were often the only ones at the pool making it feel like our own.

If you eat out then try The Shrimp Basket in Gulf Shores. It is priced well and never fails. Lulu's, The Hangout, The Oyster House, and Tacky Jack's are all overpriced and not as good in our opinion. The Track is great for the kiddos--go early and get half-price tickets or take advantage of the two for one deals.

The ferry over to Dauphin Island is close but be prepared to pay for the ride---it was over $30 for our group of 7 people in our mini-van. The kiddos and adults really enjoyed The Estuary which featured sea life of all kinds.

We loved our stay at Another World and had no problems while we were there. We can't wait to go back again and are looking forward to our next stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review