reviews for: listing #22541 - Jaco, Costa Rica House rental

Spacious & Private Oceanfront Home with a Large Pool
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $180 /nt
    $750 - $950 /wk
    $2,400 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

House near Tarcoles

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

There were 8 adults on this trip. 4 stayed stayed in this house and 4 next door. We had a very relaxing time. We were looking for affordable lodging, not a 4 star resort or motel/hotel. We wanted to be immersed in the culture of Costa Rica. We felt very safe and secure here. The locals were all very friendly. Sure wish we spoke Spanish. These houses fit the bill. The houses were clean and bedrooms were air conditioned. A problem with a water heater and an air conditioner were fixed right away. In the 2 story only 1 main shower was working. We made do without the other 2 so never mentioned it. There is a fish camp next to one of the houses. It was interesting watching them as they headed out and returned each day. Patri did an absolutely wonderful job at taking care of our every need. We enjoyed coffee every morning with the Macaws and Frigates and local dogs. They seemed to know we were dog lovers and were waiting for us every morning when we stepped outside. Walked the beach a few times everyday. You won't want to swim here. Very rocky and the commercial shrimpers come too close to shore and keep the water stirred up. There is swimming a short walk away. We used the pools everyday. Tarcoles is a small fishing village. It is a close enough walk via beach, at low tide, or road for supplies. If you walk the beach you will encounter the boat "yard" where the locals mend nets and fix boats. We also took the bus to Heradura and Jaco a few times. Another reviewer mentioned how the trucks using their jake brakes was a problem. Yes you can hear them but actually this did not bother us. Very much enjoyed meeting Gino and Maria form Tico Style Tours, Gilbreth, of Jaco Travels and Herra and his family who kept up the grounds and pool. Herra brought us different local fruits each day from his garden. What a joy that was trying fruits we had never heard of before. Being so close to the ocean and being able to hear it at night was so relaxing. We grilled fresh fish and shrimp from the fish coop. We had a very good time. Thanks again to Patri for helping make this a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We were just there in June. The house fit us just perfect. We had 3 couples and had a blast. The pool was very enjoyable when you wanted to cool off ffrom the humidity. Patri was the best !! she handeled all of our excursions.. Geno and his crew were awesome. They cooked our catch of the day and the lobster were outstanding, Espically right there on the beach. Renting a car is a must just to explore costa rica. Do Not Go To OutBack Jacks !!! The food is terriable and expensive for what it is. The Crocadile tour is well worth the money. The local bakery right down the street was a great suprise for a light breakfast or desert. If you like to drink bring some money. Imperial beer ( costa rica beer) very good but at 32.00 us a case was a little high.. The local food was very good and affordable. The beach was a little rocky but you can find better beaches just down the Road. It was a great trip and cant wait to go back. Thanks again Parti, You are the best.. Pura Vida !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Costa Rica and felt at home. Patri and staff were helpful and responded to our requests and needs. The house is quite basic but comfortable and great for families with young children (a fancy home would be hard with little ones). The grounds were very well kept. Our view and sunsets each night were spectacular. The pool was awesome expecially after a day adventure to cool off and refresh. Patri helped us with tours but we also booked some things on our own that we had researched. The Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs are a must to see but you would need to plan at least an overnight. We would have taken 2-3 nights had we known or expected the travel time to be as long as it was. We enjoyed a lunch at Outback Jacks which is very close to the house on Rt 34 (I think). We also did the Tico Tour with Gino...boat ride, line fishing, beaches, fresh caught fish cooked on the beach, a nature walk and snorkeling..with Gino's expertise and knowledge of his native region. We felt secure and safe, Jarra checked the grounds regularly...we often saw his walk by and check beach while we were sitting on the balcony in the evenings. If we had researched a bit more before planning our vacation we probably would have only rented the house for 3-5 days, not because of the house, but because there is so much to do and see in Costa Rica. We probably would have done a few days in Tarcoles, a few in Manuel Antonio and a few in Arenal/La Fortuna. So much to do, a week was a little too short! Thanks for a great vacation!
Sylvias and Duncans

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice, but

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We just spent a week at this rental in the small fishing village of Tarcoles. the pool and grounds were so pretty and well kept. The house was very dated. It was clean but the beds were soft and the plumbing needed desperate attention. Patri and her workers were very attentive and kept the outside very clean. We have traveled in other remote places and weren't too surprised about most things, but amazed that others had rated it as a 5 star, outside yes, inside no way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Canadians

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful time in Tarcoles. Patri the caretaker was more than helpful during our stay. She arranged tours for us and answered our numerous questions. The staff that kept the pool land grounds clean were very friendly. We were within a 5 minute walk to Outback Jacks restaurant and it was one of our favorite dining spots.

Our only complaint would be that our air conditioners didn't seem to keep up with the heat. I think if we had mentioned this earlier Patri would have resolved the problem. All in all we had a great stay. I think that anyone staying here should have a vehicle as the beach area isn't as nice as others nearby.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation Getaway!

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

This was our first time in Costa Rica and we really enjoyed our stay at "Casa Cabo Alto"! The pool was refreshing after our daily excursions and the views of the Pacific were awesome. The grounds were well maintained by the staff on a daily basis and they were very helpful in getting us extra items that we needed. It was exciting to wake up to macaws eating almonds from the alomond trees on the property, and picking fresh mangos was fun. We even managed to get a couple of coconuts down from the tree next to the pool! The air-conditioned bedrooms were a comfortable place to lay your head at night. The washing machine was a nice feature and we used it several times. We found several food markets and a pharmacy within a short drive and there was a fun bar/restuarant within walking distance that we enjoyed several meals at. I would highly recommend a local crocodile tour and ziplining tour that the property manager can help set up for you. Overall, we had a great experience here and would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

This house was plenty big enough for our group of 8 - The pool and beach were beautiful - we were able to walk on the beach as far as we wanted in either direction. There was a bar within walking distance and many main tourist attractions are within an hour drive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We stayed for one week at the house with a group of 8 people and had a great time. We could pick mangos and lemons from the trees in the backyard and you could routinely see the Macaws eating in the almond trees in the backyard. The staff was great, Patricia was extremely helpful and available. She can help book any tour or adventure you may want to do. Hara, the groundskeeper, was also extremely helpful and friendly. The 'house' pets were also a welcome surprise. Pinto kept a watchful eye over us and we all felt safe with them around. Overall we had an amazing time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Our family of 12 had a wonderful week at both of this owner's properties. The four kids ages 9-15 enjoyed the pools, hunting crabs on the beach, and the spacious upstairs with its huge beds and own kitchen. For those interested in cooking or barbequing their own food, the outdoor covered patio and supplied kitchen offer everything needed. The proximity to groceries and stores at nearby Herradura and Jaco, and to various activities and swimmable beaches close to the houses provide for an excellent vacation.
The property manager was excellent in taking care of anything needed for the houses, making arrangments for car rentals and excursions, and checking with us daily.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

THE TARCOLES EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

If you are looking for a real Costa Rican experience this is the place to stay. Away from the bustling scene of Jaco you can relax in this charming fishing village. With the new controlled access toll road you can get from the airport car rental facility to the village in just over an hour. The tolls are reasonable and well worth the price. The village is easy to find since the Tarcoles River is well-known for its croc population. The rental comes with a small very helpful staff. They can show you the village and what it has to offer. Tired of too much serenity the staff can tell you about the many sites and activities the area has to offer. Jaco is the nearest large tourist town with plenty of shops and restaurants. It is an easy 15 minute ride south down the coastal highway. The highway is newly paved, striped and marked with road reflectors for night time driving. The village of Tarcoles has several very good restaurants some only minutes walking distance away from the rental. The staff shows up daily (the staff has Sundays off) to clean the outside of the property. You are on your own on the interior of the property although for a small additional fee inside cleaning is available. Like to cook your own fresh fish? The main part of the village has a fresh fish market with an extensive variety of local fish. The are open daily, but get there before noon on Sunday. The main part of the village also has a grocery store with all of the necessary products to prepare a real Costa Rican meal if cooking is your thing. Or if you just like to have something around for a light lunch or breakfast they have all you need. The rental is very versatile. You can live the life of a Tico, or you can do the tourist scene, or you can mix it up a bit. In any event you will have a relaxing, comfortable and clean place to stay at the end to your day. A car is recommended but not required. Make your transportation arrangements before you arrive so you can get around without delays. Oops! I almost forgot. If the almond trees on the property are setting their nuts you will be greeted with a raucous display of macaws feeding in the trees. Have your camera ready for some great photo opportunities. In fact never be without you camera. Even a quiet walk on the seashore will provide for some never to be forgotten pictures. Pura Vida and have fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Vacation 2010

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at this home and appreciated Susan (owners info and help). The area was what we expected and about 20 minutes north of Jaco, right on the beach- lovely sunsets every night. We also had vrbo #58219 right next door and this arrangement worked perfectly for our family of 9 adults and 2 babies. This was a great vacation and we loved Costa Rica, had a great time on a zipline with 25 lines that Patri the property manager setup of us, also a crocodile tour that was great. Gino the maintance guy was very helpful and loved to talk to us about his country, very interesting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review